What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread - Part 4

I am not sure how much is true with the Bevo/Grant story but where there is smoke there is generally fire. It has been around since Rohan Smith departed and is something we do not need and adds weight to the supporters who wanted Bevo and Grant moved on.

Bevo desperately needs an excellent start to the season a poor start and the pressure and media attention will be immense.

One of grant or bev had to go. Was clear as day. Clubs reverse review was a bit of a laugh
Season goes well and we're going deep into finals? Grant goes
Season falls to shit and we're not looking like we're in contention? Bevo goes

Mexican standoff at the moment

Bevos such a bloody bitch these days, your mate got sacked because the line he was directly responsible for was severely underperforming for two years, get on with it and stop causing drama with anyone & everyone like a high schooler
That's some solid confirmation bias from a nothing report.

Easy fix.

Bevo to AFLW coaching role.
Grant to AFL coaching role.

Just like in 1982 where we couldn't afford to outright sack Royce Hart, so he was appointed/demoted to u19 coach, and Bluey appointed senior coach. I don't think anyone noticed... 🤔

True Footy just put out his Every AFL Club's PASS Mark for 2024 .
He had the Dogs needing to make finals for a pass and I'd agree with his assessment.

In my opinion it's 7-8 pass, 5-6/finals win great season, top 4/prelim excellent season. If we go top 2/GF commence commissioning of Bevo statue at Whitten oval.

For the record I'm not on the Kane Cornes train when it comes to our list. I'm finding it hard to believe the trades, Naughton/JUH/Darcy potential and natural development will outweigh the Smith ACL and ageing of our stars.

Like it or not. This is the narrative that we are going to have to put up with all season.

It will only get worse if the season belly flops like a fat man falling off the 10 metre diving platform in the first 5 games.

And to be fair have we as a supporter group (let alone the media hacks) heard anything from the clubs on field leader since the rumblings of a coup surfaced last year?

I can't recall anything at all.

As a (long) tangental aside.

The Youtube algorithm recently pointed me to Carltons page and it stands in stark contrast to the content we put out.

For the most part the content is identical. Mostly boring context free training vision and light slice of life player interactions. And as much as I have enjoyed the unleashed and development academy vids they are very tightly focused and narrative driven. It still doesn't tell us much about the coming season and what to expect. Where Carlton are doing it a very differently is they have long form one on one interviews that seem to go for anywhere between 25 and 40 minutes with players, officials and indeed the head coach. Now, I have no idea nor any real interest in finding out if these are fairy floss interviews or whether they cover serious football related subjects. But I think thats beside the point.

It's an initiative that I'd like us to replicate. Because no matter how improved we may see our own fan engagement its still one that is very structured and highly controlled. One that doesn't really give us an insight into where the club been in the last few months, its view on the restructure, where it currently sees itself or where its going.

I used to find Beveridges siege mentality with the media and to a lesser extent the clubs own fans to be quite amusing. Now I find it somewhat tiresome. He doesn't have to talk to the media if he doesn't want to. Fans on the other hand deserve a little more than the same. This is especially so when he has the means at his disposal to sit down with anybody of his choosing, control the narrative and put forth his plans for the coming season on the clubs own platform. Not everybody wants to wait or go to the dirge of the season launch just to hear him speak empty rah rah platitudes.

Until he does we're going to have to put up with the the Where's Waldo?" clickbait articles that are popping up like a game of whack a mole right now.

I hope that Beveridge and the club aren't going to rely on on-field results to shut up the media. As that may well be a recipe for disaster.

Cornes is doing what Cornes does. Baiting. Just trying to bait Bevo knowing that he (Kane) can throw barbs at will without any real push back.

On a side note, my wife took our kids and a friend to the open training session/praccy match a few weeks ago and she said a number of players were fantastic. Bont, Libba and Cody in particular but Bevo unfortunately was a complete flog. Standing no more than 5 meters from the kids and fan base most of the time, he totally blanked all in sundry. Kids trying to say hello to Bev, at appropriate times, and he wouldn't even take a moment to acknowledge the kids and supporters that turned up.

He just seems like a man that has let total paranoia take over and disconnected from any form of criticism or reality.

I bloody hope he can sort his shit out this year and get it all together for all our sake. Honestly feel like this year could be one for the ages and we go all the way, or it could be even more frustrating than last year (if possible!)

Cornes is goading Beveridge. He's been doing it for the past 3 years.
He knows Bevo has a history of snapping and he's sweating for him too so he has more "content".

Cornes has admitted that it's his schtick to generate headlines and clicks to keep his job.

Cornes is doing what Cornes does. Baiting. Just trying to bait Bevo knowing that he (Kane) can throw barbs at will without any real push back.

On a side note, my wife took our kids and a friend to the open training session/praccy match a few weeks ago and she said a number of players were fantastic. Bont, Libba and Cody in particular but Bevo unfortunately was a complete flog. Standing no more than 5 meters from the kids and fan base most of the time, he totally blanked all in sundry. Kids trying to say hello to Bev, at appropriate times, and he wouldn't even take a moment to acknowledge the kids and supporters that turned up.

He just seems like a man that has let total paranoia take over and disconnected from any form of criticism or reality.

I bloody hope he can sort his s**t out this year and get it all together for all our sake. Honestly feel like this year could be one for the ages and we go all the way, or it could be even more frustrating than last year (if possible!)
No good, people representing the club need to do better than that - though maybe it is more because he is peed off / stressed / concentrating ??

Sounds a bit extreme to say

'He just seems like a man that has let total paranoia take over and disconnected from any form of criticism or reality.'

Let's be honest, if we weren't Bulldogs supporters and we worked it the footy media, we'd agree that Bevo would be perfect to target.

As annoying as it for the Bulldogs community, the reality is if you look at it impartially, Bevo only has himself to blame.

I bloody hope he can sort his s**t out this year and get it all together for all our sake. Honestly feel like this year could be one for the ages and we go all the way, or it could be even more frustrating than last year (if possible!)
That’s a shame, never could have said that about Bevo in the past he’s always been great with the fans.

He really is a completely different bloke these days

Would anyone be surprised if Bev walked at the end of this year, no matter how the season plays out? After last year with the Rohan Smith thing, the pre-Eagles game interview, the weekly post-game hostage videos, the Footy Dept upheaval and review, not seeing eye to eye with Grant, etc…. The club seems like it’s relatively prepared for it after the review and restructure. I’ll be keen to see how Bev fronts up when the pre-season media kicks off.

What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread - Part 4