What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread

Maybe it has finally clicked for him that humans can lift their arms above their heads :p

this guy was recruited with stuffed shoulders. He has had several further operations on his shoulders. i doubt he can raise both arms at the same time...

Three years ago Eade told me that he Cordy would never get to AFL standard. We keep on flogging this dead horse. He has taken up a valuable spot on our list for too long.

Hopefully he proves us wrong or they delist him this year.

Enough is enough.

Making it clear again Griff lied to the club

Great Interview! I love his passion. It was also great to hear him talk about his plans for the club.

I actually welcome Luke's not so subtle dig at Will and the kick up the arse for Ayce. Cordy has to be pushing hard right now as its career on the line

Yeah I think he's creating that competition for spots keeping Will on his toes and giving Ayce a glimmer of hope and he's also done it with the 3 young talls for that second KP post in defense. Ayce has has had a good preseason to his credit.

Out of the blue he walked past me while I was seated at the window of a bar near my place the other day and I thought maybe that was a sign. At first I didn't recognise him just that he look familiar, and then on the backpack he was wearing was the bulldog logo and the number 49....which made me chuckle a bit. I really like Ayce something about him as a bloke. Get the dukes up big fella, hit the packs hard and you will be a star!

Wish we got $20mill in grants p.a. - we'd be completely debt-free!

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/afl...extra-325-million-by-afl-20150223-13mn5e.html

"The AFL's expansion into Sydney's rugby league and soccer heartland has hit a financial bump, with the league forced to tip in an extra $3.25 million into the Greater Western Sydney Giants last year.

Documents obtained from the Australian Securities and Investments Commission show the Giants slid to an operating loss of $529,315 in 2014 despite the AFL pouring in $20.16 million in grants for the year."

Wish we got $20mill in grants p.a. - we'd be completely debt-free!

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/afl...extra-325-million-by-afl-20150223-13mn5e.html

"The AFL's expansion into Sydney's rugby league and soccer heartland has hit a financial bump, with the league forced to tip in an extra $3.25 million into the Greater Western Sydney Giants last year.

Documents obtained from the Australian Securities and Investments Commission show the Giants slid to an operating loss of $529,315 in 2014 despite the AFL pouring in $20.16 million in grants for the year."
Is that after the usual distributions that go to all clubs?

I get your point, but does it matter? $20 mill spread amongst us, North, Saints and Demons rather than 'plastic team' would set us all up for years, even ignoring the additional 3.25mill they got. It's a travesty.
No what I'm saying is we get $10m or more don't we from standard AFL distributions? And THEN we get an equalisation disbursement or whatever BS name they give it. So GWS might be getting say $11-12m PLUS $20m or they might be getting $20m INCLUDING the amount all the other clubs get (so only about $8-9m in top up grants, which may not be a lot more than we get.
Big difference.

NB: I haven't looked at the last couple of annual financial reports so I may be out on some of these numbers.

No what I'm saying is we get $10m or more don't we from standard AFL distributions? And THEN we get an equalisation disbursement or whatever BS name they give it. So GWS might be getting say $11-12m PLUS $20m or they might be getting $20m INCLUDING the amount all the other clubs get (so only about $8-9m in top up grants, which may not be a lot more than we get.
Big difference.

NB: I haven't looked at the last couple of annual financial reports so I may be out on some of these numbers.

Sorry, I should have been clearer, I take your point, and assumed you were highlighting something along those lines (although I don't have all the figures), and agree the difference could be significant.
But the bottom line is they are pouring, even say 4-5 mill extra, into a franchise that will amount to nothing, money that could have been better spent elsewhere in the competition. The excess, whatever it is, plus the initial outlay, will never be recouped by the AFL, as the Giants (lol) will never be anything other than a soul-less entity. Even if they make the finals, who will really care, other than a handful of their "supporters"?
It is a complete and utter waste of money. For siginifcantly less than that, they could have had a Tassie team up and running, with real supporters, real sponsors, a real stadium, and a real contribution to a national competition.
(I'm just totally against anything to do with this shitful pretence of a club, btw, in case you didn't notice! :p)

I'm sorry but your categorical position is over the odds mate - and I hate GWS as much as the next person.

They may amount to something eventually, and franchise clubs like the Giants do not always end up being soulless entities. In time something may grow, and if the AFL thinks that this is a required investment, you have to question why, and what is in it for them. They don't do things for no reason. If they thought Tassie was a better option in the long run, they would have put a club there.

Sorry, I should have been clearer, I take your point, and assumed you were highlighting something along those lines (although I don't have all the figures), and agree the difference could be significant.
But the bottom line is they are pouring, even say 4-5 mill extra, into a franchise that will amount to nothing, money that could have been better spent elsewhere in the competition. The excess, whatever it is, plus the initial outlay, will never be recouped by the AFL, as the Giants (lol) will never be anything other than a soul-less entity. Even if they make the finals, who will really care, other than a handful of their "supporters"?
It is a complete and utter waste of money. For siginifcantly less than that, they could have had a Tassie team up and running, with real supporters, real sponsors, a real stadium, and a real contribution to a national competition.
(I'm just totally against anything to do with this shitful pretence of a club, btw, in case you didn't notice! :p)
Fair enough, I know how you feel. I share your contempt.
However the AFL strategists are no mugs. They are in it for the long haul and they know they have to persevere to get a decent share of the market in the biggest city in Australia. Tipping bucketloads of money in is probably well worthwhile over a 25 year haul. One other pre-requisite to cracking the market is that GWS will have to get some sustained success so don't expect the concessions and grants to ease off any time soon. Same thing happened with Sydney Swans, as we have seen over the last few years. Success in western Sydney is vital to the AFL, much more so than rewarding the rusted on footy fans in Tasmania, or fighting a rearguard action against soccer in western Melbourne.

Fair enough, I know how you feel. I share your contempt.
However the AFL strategists are no mugs. They are in it for the long haul and they know they have to persevere to get a decent share of the market in the biggest city in Australia. Tipping bucketloads of money in is probably well worthwhile over a 25 year haul. One other pre-requisite to cracking the market is that GWS will have to get some sustained success so don't expect the concessions and grants to ease off any time soon. Same thing happened with Sydney Swans, as we have seen over the last few years. Success in western Sydney is vital to the AFL, much more so than rewarding the rusted on footy fans in Tasmania, or fighting a rearguard action against soccer in western Melbourne.
Aren't they also fighting a rearguard action against soccer in western Sydney? I would have thought so.

Yes. News headlines today reported a GWS loss last year in spite of all the AFL funding.
In my opinion the battle for market share in Western Sydney is already lost, and there's no way back. Would have thought you'd be better off investing in your existing markets like Western Melbourne where the population is growing at a similar rate, and there is at least an existing support base for the game to build on.

The AFL is clearly worried about the rise of soccer/football, but if pumping money into Western Sydney is the main front on which they are going to fight the war, they should just surrender now.

In my opinion the battle for market share in Western Sydney is already lost, and there's no way back. Would have thought you'd be better off investing in your existing markets like Western Melbourne where the population is growing at a similar rate, and there is at least an existing support base for the game to build on.

The AFL is clearly worried about the rise of soccer/football, but if pumping money into Western Sydney is the main front on which they are going to fight the war, they should just surrender now.

Never a truer word was spoken!