List Mgmt. Which young mids will work out?

Which ones of pir young midfield will make it at AFL level (over 150 games)

• Harry Schoenberg

Votes: 2 3.4%
  • Zac Taylor

Votes: 14 23.7%
  • Chayse Jones

Votes: 3 5.1%
  • Sam Berry

Votes: 10 16.9%
  • Sid Draper

Votes: 56 94.9%
  • Daniel Curtin (As a Mid)

Votes: 31 52.5%
  • Charlie Edwards

Votes: 9 15.3%
  • Jake Soligo

Votes: 55 93.2%
  • Billy Dowling

Votes: 16 27.1%
  • Lachie Scholl

Votes: 11 18.6%
  • James Peatling

Votes: 47 79.7%
  • Isaac Cummin

Votes: 29 49.2%

Cleric

Oct 14, 2011
We have a bit of a young midfield group, and a number of them will make it at AFL, and others won't. I'm using 150 games by the end of their career as the pass mark.

It doesn't have to mean that they play the 150 games with us, but throughout their career total.

Schoenberg’s career is already over. Might get a game if 6 mids are simultaneously injured in 2025. Emphasis on “might”. Even then, he’s delisted in October 2025. Ridiculous that we bothered keeping him on the rookie list over picking up a ruck IMO.

Chayce as a mid is a laugh. Not sure why we’re including him as an option. Zero football IQ and will never be a first choice player at any club in the AFL.

Berry is depth / sub only for mine unless BOTH of Peatling and Crouch are injured at the same time. The acquisition of Peatling and the rise of Taylor have pushed him down the depth chart, to the point where I don’t expect him to be at the club past the end of 2026. Could he be picked up by another club? Yes I can see that happening, but he’d have to improve his ball handling and kicking for anyone to pull the trigger.

Cumming’s future is clearly across half back rather than the midfield for me. An elite talent, but I wouldn’t be using him in the midfield considering Smith’s demise, Laird currently occupying a half back role, and Milera’s career hanging by a thread due to injuries. Oh and also, Cumming at half back also frees Nankervis up to play in what will be by far his best position, THE WING. 150 games is an absolute given. Not as a mid though.

For me, Taylor is absolutely going to make it as a midfielder. I love what he brings and expect him to be right up with Soligo by this time next year if he’s given the opportunities he deserves. I’m bullish on him getting to 150.

Draper has a lot of traits that suggest he’s a safe bet to make it, but you never really know until you see them at the top level so I’ll hold fire on how successful I think he might be until we’ve seen him play a few games.

Curtin as mid is a yes from me. It’s no more than a 51% chance of working out, but I just feel like he’s too talented for it not to. I do not subscribe to the theory of him being suited to a half back role, especially in a side containing Hinge and Worrell. Not sure he plays 150 games as a mid, but maybe he plays 100 as a mid and 100 in various other roles (most notably a third tall forward).

Soligo is an obvious yes.

Peatling is one I really like and am excited about. Yes. 150 games.

The big question marks here are Edwards, Sholl and Dowling.

For me, Sholl is a perfect example of a footballer who just wouldn’t make it in a good side, but can rack up touches in a bad side. So he’s a no for me. I expect him to be phased out of the best 22 by the end of 2025. Will he get to 150 games with us? Nope. 150 total? Maybe. I could see another club coming for him.

I really like Edwards but don’t feel there’s any way he can break into our current side with Nicks coaching for his career. And with very few “older” players in that midfield mix, I think he might become a victim of circumstance. Who knows, maybe Charlie makes it as a mid at another club. I’ll be surprised if it happens here. I suspect he struggles to reach 50 games, let alone 150.

As for Dowling, well, he’s my avatar, but I see him as more of a “Mr Fix-it” who can fill in around the ground, rather than ever taking on a full time midfield role at AFL level for us. Some half forward, some wing, some half back. “Make it as a mid”? Probably not. I really hope he gets to 150 games though and I think he’s a genuine chance due to his versatility.

Schoenberg’s career is already over. Might get a game if 6 mids are simultaneously injured in 2025. Emphasis on “might”. Even then, he’s delisted in October 2025. Ridiculous that we bothered keeping him on the rookie list over picking up a ruck IMO.

Chayce as a mid is a laugh. Not sure why we’re including him as an option. Zero football IQ and will never be a first choice player at any club in the AFL.

Berry is depth / sub only for mine unless BOTH of Peatling and Crouch are injured at the same time. The acquisition of Peatling and the rise of Taylor have pushed him down the depth chart, to the point where I don’t expect him to be at the club past the end of 2026. Could he be picked up by another club? Yes I can see that happening, but he’d have to improve his ball handling and kicking for anyone to pull the trigger.

Cumming’s future is clearly across half back rather than the midfield for me. An elite talent, but I wouldn’t be using him in the midfield considering Smith’s demise, Laird currently occupying a half back role, and Milera’s career hanging by a thread due to injuries. Oh and also, Cumming at half back also frees Nankervis up to play in what will be by far his best position, THE WING. 150 games is an absolute given. Not as a mid though.

For me, Taylor is absolutely going to make it as a midfielder. I love what he brings and expect him to be right up with Soligo by this time next year if he’s given the opportunities he deserves. I’m bullish on him getting to 150.

Draper has a lot of traits that suggest he’s a safe bet to make it, but you never really know until you see them at the top level so I’ll hold fire on how successful I think he might be until we’ve seen him play a few games.

Curtin as mid is a yes from me. It’s no more than a 51% chance of working out, but I just feel like he’s too talented for it not to. I do not subscribe to the theory of him being suited to a half back role, especially in a side containing Hinge and Worrell. Not sure he plays 150 games as a mid, but maybe he plays 100 as a mid and 100 in various other roles (most notably a third tall forward).

Soligo is an obvious yes.

Peatling is one I really like and am excited about. Yes. 150 games.

The big question marks here are Edwards, Sholl and Dowling.

For me, Sholl is a perfect example of a footballer who just wouldn’t make it in a good side, but can rack up touches in a bad side. So he’s a no for me. I expect him to be phased out of the best 22 by the end of 2025. Will he get to 150 games with us? Nope. 150 total? Maybe. I could see another club coming for him.

I really like Edwards but don’t feel there’s any way he can break into our current side with Nicks coaching for his career. And with very few “older” players in that midfield mix, I think he might become a victim of circumstance. Who knows, maybe Charlie makes it as a mid at another club. I’ll be surprised if it happens here. I suspect he struggles to reach 50 games, let alone 150.

As for Dowling, well, he’s my avatar, but I see him as more of a “Mr Fix-it” who can fill in around the ground, rather than ever taking on a full time midfield role at AFL level for us. Some half forward, some wing, some half back. “Make it as a mid”? Probably not. I really hope he gets to 150 games though and I think he’s a genuine chance due to his versatility.
Great post :thumbsu:

I still hold out some hope for Pedlar.
Not sure if he will ever get the tank to be a full time mid but has some traits that our midfield could use with his burst out of stoppages.
Hopefully he can get a clear run at it this year and avoid another season plagued by injuries

If we are a fair dinkum side in the next 2-3 years, the following players likely don’t see much time in the team at all or are delisted within the period:

Shoey
Jones
Dowling
Berry

Pedlar im still holding out hope for. But the fact he can’t hit the side of a barn door says he’ll probably join that group above, who lack class and any discernible standout traits. Dowling and Berry should be depth players at best.

He looks fit in the training images for once.
He was first choice for us before the foot injury. Is fit again we hope. Played some great games. I remember the "chayce jones I was wrong" thread.

That said, they probably don't make it. But they are not done yet.

As it stands, my order of most likely to least:

Soligo, Draper, Curtin, Peatling, Dowling, Edwards, Sholl, Berry, Taylor, Jones, Pedlar, Rachele, Schoenberg (and Cummings isn't a midfielder).

• Soligo destiny is in his own hands at this point with being a midfielder. Will likely get first crack at 1st mid minutes and is in a position where he should be primed for a break out.
  • Draper scrapes Curtin as 2nd most likely, because versatility is a curse for Dan Curtin until he makes it, whereas with Draper it's only midfield.
  • Peatling you'd think would get an early shot at locking down a midfield role, alongside Soligio, and locking down a midfield role can just be about timing. Equally brings a defensive game that is in vogue at the moment.
  • Dowling is probably more of a wing option, however, he should go into 2025 as our first choice winger off the back of his 2024. The >1 GGA rate in what was a small sample size has me very curious if Dowling has it to be an elite winger, seeing offensively, he's borderline there in 2024.
  • Edwards is speculative, but I think he's got the game to give it a really good shake.
  • Sholl is holding a best 22 spot at the moment, but I think he's at risk of getting picked off by Draper/Curtin if they don't get an inside midfield slot early this year. Though could easily raise him up if you don't have faith in Dowling being legit - and as you can tell, I do have faith.
  • Berry is contingent on Peatling. They both fill that defensive shitwrecking mid role. Peatling makes it and Berry is reliant on injuries.
  • Alarm bells should be going off with Taylor. Again, another year where he's one of the worst on the endurance front. He may end up a best 22 player, but considering how midfield talent is starting to build up and how little is occurring on the fitness side, it's likely he'll end up capped as a 5-7th forward. The problem with slow burns is not many can afford to be slow burns.
  • Jones runs into the same issues as Sholl, except he doesn't currently hold a best 22 spot.
  • Pedlar and Rachele are probably stuck in the purgatory of could be midfielders, but our needs require them to be forwards.
  • It looks like the talent influx is well on the way to claiming Schoenberg career. Needs to get a move on quickly and start to rebuild momentum if he's to have any hope.

If we are a fair dinkum side in the next 2-3 years, the following players likely don’t see much time in the team at all or are delisted within the period:

Shoey
Jones
Dowling
Berry

Pedlar im still holding out hope for. But the fact he can’t hit the side of a barn door says he’ll probably join that group above, who lack class and any discernible standout traits. Dowling and Berry should be depth players at best.

wait wait wait..... Dowling? wtf are you on about. Played just 9 games of footy averaging 17 disposals. Yeah what a potato. You put a line through his name already. Sorry but thats one of the worst calls.

He is far superior to pedlar played better in the sanfl than pedlar ever has. Sorry peds has less chance of a game moving forward than Dowling. Berry is also way above delist level. On that list you have just one player who will be delisted in that time Schoenberg. Thats it.

Dowling delisted???? WTF
Watch this kid more closely, he is excellent by foot and is totally composed for a 19 20 year old. I'm big on him and won't be surprised if he doesn't play 200 games for us.
I'm with adelaidecrows and Golumless on this one.
Bad call Caroline

wait wait wait..... Dowling? wtf are you on about. Played just 9 games of footy averaging 17 disposals. Yeah what a potato. You put a line through his name already. Sorry but thats one of the worst calls.

He is far superior to pedlar played better in the sanfl than pedlar ever has. Sorry peds has less chance of a game moving forward than Dowling. Berry is also way above delist level. On that list you have just one player who will be delisted in that time Schoenberg. Thats it.
Calm down. Where did I say he was a potato? My opinion is he will be a depth player. Yes, he’s played 9 games and I haven’t seen enough to suggest he’s going to make it. I also think he lacks any elite attributes to take his game beyond honest workhorse. That’s not a far fetched notion at all. He’s not proven. And let’s not forget most players don’t make it.

Also I’ll be shocked if Jones is playing AFL footy in 3 years. Perhaps at Tassie. He ain’t it.

Calm down. Where did I say he was a potato? My opinion is he will be a depth player. Yes, he’s played 9 games and I haven’t seen enough to suggest he’s going to make it. I also think he lacks any elite attributes to take his game beyond honest workhorse. That’s not a far fetched notion at all. He’s not proven. And let’s not forget most players don’t make it.

Also I’ll be shocked if Jones is playing AFL footy in 3 years. Perhaps at Tassie. He ain’t it.

1st point of yours. Dowlings 9 game stats suggest he is going to be a player.

• ranked 8th for average inside 50s per game in just 9 games. 6 of those games were losses.
  • he also put himself into dangerous positions kicking 4 goals meaning he can read the play and is a goal kicking mid. Which are hard to find.
  • ranked 10th in the team for average disposals
  • ranked 3rd in the team for marks. again highlighting his ability to slink into space and read the play
  • ranked 8th in goal assists
  • 9th for contested possessions

No one is suggesting he is perfect. He didnt tackle as much which probably lead to his dropping and clearly needs to still find the ball more and impact games. But his 9 games were impressive for a young player.

As for Jones,

I think he is far more likely to be on the list than not. Could be in Tasmania, who knows. He proved himself a good running HBF in 2023 but injuries curtailed his 2024 season. Only 24. I do feel like he may move into that depth role player. The jury is out on him long term I agree but if he finds his 2023 form and stays injury free I think he will definitely be looking close to selection if not selected.

1. Draper
Easily the best talent.

2. Soligo
If he Can replicate his first half of the season then he'll be fine. 2nd half was poor but potentially had groin issues?

3. Peatling
From what I've seen his disposal needs a bit of work and needs to win the ball more rather than get 10 tackles a game

4. Dowling
No real exposed form to go off at AFL level but looks a good outside mid, think his game can translate inside. Good decison maker and looks comfrotable at the level.

Not going to rank the next few but just comment

Curtin - Was good as a mid at SANFL level but could not get near it in his limited chances at AFL. Looks a forward to me but reserve proper judgement in time.

Edwards - Haven't seen him play. Looking at his stats in juniors/SANFL, looks a fair way off.

Taylor - Fitness is the problem but he can play.

Pedlar - Is a half forward and now others are head of him. Hasn't shown anything in the midfield for 4 years.

Berry - Wont make it can burst, fend off and pressure but no outside game/fumbles/second to the ball often kill him. 2 year deal was a mistake, should have let him go.

Shoenberg is done, 0 afl qualities

Dowling delisted???? WTF
Watch this kid more closely, he is excellent by foot and is totally composed for a 19 20 year old. I'm big on him and won't be surprised if he doesn't play 200 games for us.
I'm with adelaidecrows and Golumless on this one.
Bad call Caroline
Excellent by foot?

Felt like we adjusted our midfield structure slightly in 2024

The CBAs had previously been shared between four full time mids. Three on the field, one on the bench. For the majority of the game.

Made it very difficulty for younger mids to get a look in, except as a half forward.

Last season we started sharing the CBAs among 5 or 6 players. A small change but hopefully will allow the likes of Draper, Taylor and maybe Pedlar to emerge

Excellent by foot?
Yep, in the AFL games he played his kicking was excellent. A few passes that required proper weight on the ball to allow teammates to run on to it were fantastic. Super impressed with what he can offer. Star material? Not sure if that but a super solid, versatile player.
You obviously don't agree, no problem.

Felt like we adjusted our midfield structure slightly in 2024

The CBAs had previously been shared between four full time mids. Three on the field, one on the bench. For the majority of the game.

Made it very difficulty for younger mids to get a look in, except as a half forward.

Last season we started sharing the CBAs among 5 or 6 players. A small change but hopefully will allow the likes of Draper, Taylor and maybe Pedlar to emerge
Which is what many of us having been calling on for years!

All of our midfielders except Couch are capable of playing forward or elsewhere, so we should be using deeper rotations.

Allows us to mix things up depending on how we are travelling on the day.

Shoey
Jones
Dowling
Berry

Replace Dowling with Laird. Laird is cooked.

I don't see Curtin making it in the midfield in the short-medium term, except maybe in one-off cameos.

He has good ball skills and is physically strong. But he also doesn't read the play well, is slow to react to the fact he hasn't read the play well, and is physically slow on top of that (due to his size).

I don't see Curtin making it in the midfield in the short-medium term, except maybe in one-off cameos.

He has good ball skills and is physically strong. But he also doesn't read the play well, is slow to react to the fact he hasn't read the play well, and is physically slow on top of that (due to his size).
That's a lot of assumption. Players take time to adjust.

On CPH2371 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Dowling is simply a footballer and is the right size which many on our list haven’t been. He has some deficiencies ie not the quickest but he wins his own ball and is an excellent decision maker with a decent kick picking a pass easily. As said above kicking goals ain’t easy and he can do that too. This is a player we should nurture very closely as he will repay it in spades.

yeah it was an amazing call by some to delist him in the future. The one draftee that impressed this year. The kid can play. It takes a minimum 2 years of constant playing to hit their straps. His played just 9 games and impressed in them all. I put it down to people wanting a Harley Reid type impact, if they dont they are useless.

List Mgmt. Which young mids will work out?