Coach Who should be our next coach?

15/8 Board toppled (reportedly will pursue Clarkson)
19/8 Alastair Clarkson to join North
21/8 Ben Rutten sacked
22/8 Coach selection sub-committee to be established to find a replacement
26/8 Committee members announced: Josh Mahoney (GM-Footy, chair), Dorothy Hisgrove (Board member), Andrew Thorburn, Simone McKinnis, Robert Walls, Jordan Lewis
7/9 James Hird, Dean Solomon, Brendon Lade, Adem Yze interviewed at EY
13/9 Daniel Giansiracusa reportedly interviewed
17/9 Don Pyke “not pursuing that at this stage”
21/9 Brad Scott contacted by the club but won’t make a decision on whether to pursue the role until after the Grand Final
21/9 Adem Yze has second interview and tours the training facilities at Tullamarine
22/9 Blake Caracella will put his hat in the ring
27/9 Brendon Lade appointed as assistant coach at the Western Bulldogs, out of the running for Essendon job
28/9 Brad Scott to be interviewed on Thursday
29/9

cool andy samberg GIF

Reid wrote to james and question the programmed and said don’t do it from memory, hird didn’t listen to him, hors isn’t the answer for our next coach.. 3 months of coaching in 7 years..

I wouldn't have Hird as coach for other reasons. Namely his state of mind after attempting suicide and the fact he's been out of the game. I'd be happy to have him on as an assistant coach. I think we can be the place where he rebuilds his footy credentials and potential uses as a launching pad to coaching elsewhere. However, I doubt he'd ever want the head role again.

He’s never getting the job in a legit process. His resume just doesn’t stack up.

I would hate to see him appointed as assistant coach. Would be the easiest in for him to take over as head coach as soon as Ross Lyon or whoever it may be shits the bed, they then get rid of head coach and in comes the blond head savour to take over. Big pass for me, need to move him, let him find his feet somewhere other than the Essendon FC.

Exactly, as soon as we had a few shit games there’d be calls for Hird to take over. It’s disappointing as I do love him as a great player and think he got screwed by the AFL, but it just can’t happen unfortunately.

Hird my first choice, get over it.
Lyon my last choice, **** off not needed or wanted by most supporters.
Appoint Chocco for two years let him sought through the shit.
Hardwicke would my dream appointment.

There's something about Dimma I just really don't like. I doubt anything happens there, but I also hope it doesn't

Hardwick strikes me as a bit of a flog. Clearly has some ability to coach but he’s the biggest sook in the game and has some of the worst takes I’ve seen as a coach, gets it wrong time and time again IMO. I’d steer clear.

There's something about Dimma I just really don't like. I doubt anything happens there, but I also hope it doesn't
Yeah me too.

I admittedly have barely watched any neutral games since 2014 (Grand Final each year plus one or two prelims total), so my knowledge of AFL isn’t what it used to be. But I also just don’t think he’s that good of a coach. He was lousy for a long time, then the team clicked when Rutten, Caracella and maybe even Balme (?) joined Richmond. Similarly to how Geelong under Scott have shown that it wasn’t just Bomba being a genius that won those two flags, I feel Hardwick has just played a part in a very successful club era.

And on a personal level, seems like an absolute w***er to me. Arrogant, whingey bogan, and didn’t he cheat on his wife as well?

Essendon supporters dismissing checks notes triple premiership coach Damien Hardwick's merit and efficacy as a senior coach is a new and unwanted frontier of utter derangement.

Even before the premierships he got Richmond, the league's very own 30 year madhouse, to successive EF's. We should be so lucky.

Essendon supporters dismissing checks notes triple premiership coach Damien Hardwick's merit and efficacy as a senior coach is a new and unwanted frontier of utter derangement.

Even before the premierships he got Richmond, the league's very own 30 year madhouse, to successive EF's. We should be so lucky.
I mean I wouldn’t say no, obviously.

One finals win would be great at this point, so by that criteria you’d probably take Sanderson, Ratten, B Scott.

I still think Hardwick’s a knob.

I mean I wouldn’t say no, obviously.

One finals win would be great at this point, so by that criteria you’d probably take Sanderson, Ratten, B Scott.

I still think Hardwick’s a knob.
you can be a knob and still be a great coach.

in fact, there’s probably significant overlap