Banter Who will be Better in 2025, Collingwood or Carlton? Part 4

Banter threads are not to be taken too seriously. Have fun. Let others have fun.

Who will be better in 2025

• Collingwood

Votes: 101 52.1%
  • Carlton

Votes: 93 47.9%

Yeh because the GF rematch with Dogs/Dees at the G worked really well with a massive crowd of 58K...
I think it is a waste to use a GF rematch to start the season, leave a few weeks in so respective teams are building into the season.

But what would a regular Dees v Dogs game get at the G?

Rd 1 2023 Dees v Dogs at the G on Sat night got 48k. So a 20% increase in crowd, when they went with GF rematch in first game of season.

Probably about right, might get an extra 10k theatre goers who go along for the rematch / opening game.

Somehow i don't believe you mate, put Carlton in on Anzac day and i reckon you'll have something to say.
Can you imagine the uproar. Can guarantee it would be page 1 front and centre of every major newspaper in WA, SA, VIC , TAS and possibly NSW and QLD , if collingwood/ essendon were deprived of this fixture. Those that say they couldn't give a shit speak for the absolute 1% minority of those clubs supporters

He'll have a meltdown mate.

Somehow i don't believe you mate, put Carlton in on Anzac day and i reckon you'll have something to say.
Why?

Carlton played on ANZAC Day back in the early 90s and nobody cared.

So no drama in sharing it around.

Pies playing Essendon will get a big crowd of you switch the game to April 27th.

Exactly the same as if you put Carlton v Richmond Rd1 game on Sunday arvo it would get a big crowd.

I think it is a waste to use a GF rematch to start the season, leave a few weeks in so respective teams are building into the season.

But what would a regular Dees v Dogs game get at the G?

Rd 1 2023 Dees v Dogs at the G on Sat night got 48k. So a 20% increase in crowd, when they went with GF rematch in first game of season.

Probably about right, might get an extra 10k theatre goers who go along for the rematch / opening game.
You are probably right and I don't care too much when we play in Rd1 but you probably want the 1st game to get 80K+ no matter which teams are playing.

As the new opening round shows, AFL changes priority all the time. Priority now is kicking off the season with a bang in NSW and QLD. The "traditional" season opener of Carlton v Richmond ain't the season opener anymore.

Still get big TV ratings, as footy fans just want to watch footy.

Brisbane v Geelong, a PF rematch into Sydney v Hawks (two strong teams from 2024) to kick off 2025 is a great start to the AFL season.

As the new opening round shows, AFL changes priority all the time. Priority now is kicking off the season with a bang in NSW and QLD. The "traditional" season opener of Carlton v Richmond ain't the season opener anymore.

Still get big TV ratings, as footy fans just want to watch footy.

Brisbane v Geelong, a PF rematch into Sydney v Hawks (two strong teams from 2024) to kick off 2025 is a great start to the AFL season.
I was more talking about the first game in Victoria so the first game in Round 1.

Ain't VFL anymore. But yes AFL does normally go four MCG games in Rd1

Thurs night
Fri night
Saturday
Sunday

Nobody would care (even Carlton fans I'd imagine) if they put Hawks v Essendon as Thursday night and Carlton v Richmond as Saturday or Sunday both games would still get the 80k+ crowds.

And the Fadge point was that during the what 15 years of the "traditional" season opener between Carlton and Richmond, that the majority of clashes were meh for neutrals - either both outside of finals, or an expected blowout between a premiership winning Tiger team up against the battling blues.

Much better to kick off the season with a PF rematch like they will in 2025.

Ain't VFL anymore. But yes AFL does normally go four MCG games in Rd1

Thurs night
Fri night
Saturday
Sunday

Nobody would care (even Carlton fans I'd imagine) if they put Hawks v Essendon as Thursday night and Carlton v Richmond as Saturday or Sunday both games would still get the 80k+ crowds.

And the Fadge point was that during the what 15 years of the "traditional" season opener between Carlton and Richmond, that the majority of clashes were meh for neutrals - either both outside of finals, or an expected blowout between a premiership winning Tiger team up against the battling blues.

Much better to kick off the season with a PF rematch like they will in 2025.
I agree I don't really care if we play the Thursday or Sunday. But the games in Round 1 between Carlton and Richmond are very rarely blowouts. Generally they are decided by 5 goals or less as you can see below:

2024: Carlton by 5 points
2023: Draw
2022: Carlton by 25 points
2021: Richmond by 25 points
2020: Richmond by 24 points
2019: Richmond by 33 points
2018: Richmond by 26 points
2017: Richmond by 43 points
2016: Richmond by 9 points
2015: Richmond by 27 points
2013: Richmond by 5 points
2012: Carlton by 44 points
2011: Carlton by 20 points

I also don't remember much complaints when Richmond were at the bottom and Carlton were consistently winning this game. Seemed to only be an issue when Carlton were at the bottom.

I agree I don't really care if we play the Thursday or Sunday. But the games in Round 1 between Carlton and Richmond are very rarely blowouts. Generally they are decided by 5 goals or less as you can see below:

2024: Carlton by 5 points
2023: Draw
2022: Carlton by 25 points
2021: Richmond by 25 points
2020: Richmond by 24 points
2019: Richmond by 33 points
2018: Richmond by 26 points
2017: Richmond by 43 points
2016: Richmond by 9 points
2015: Richmond by 27 points
2013: Richmond by 5 points
2012: Carlton by 44 points
2011: Carlton by 20 points

I also don't remember much complaints when Richmond were at the bottom and Carlton were consistently winning this game. Seemed to only be an issue when Carlton were at the bottom.
2025: Carlton by 150 points. That ain't good viewing.

I agree I don't really care if we play the Thursday or Sunday. But the games in Round 1 between Carlton and Richmond are very rarely blowouts.
The result ain't really the consideration.

GF rematches often aren't close, no guarantee that BL v Geelong will be close in 2025 either.

But there is more interest in the game compared to when a top team plays a bottom dweller.
??
Plenty of fans were bored of seeing Carlton get a win against Richmond back in late 2000s when Richmond were a bottom 4 regular, and then it flipped and it was boring seeing Richmond get their regular win (8 in a row yeah?) against the battling Blues to kick the season off for the 2010s.

Probably why the AFL has moved away from it as their season opener. Much better to fixture two strong teams from previous year to kick off the season 👍

But is Essendon better than you?
Beloved, only one fallen into sin could ask such a question.

You have fallen into the path of dishonour, the path of exile.

Take our hands, we will guide you from the dying light into the metro of honour, and perhaps even feed you a stalker two of celery, so we don't starve together.

Pie fans insecurities are hilarious. They're so desperate to be seen as the greatest powerhouse in history but they know their grand final choking record will forever hold them back in neutrals eyes.

Still remember posts in 2023 about how Carltons late surge into the finals tainted their experience of winning the flag because it stole some of their limelight 😂

Pathetic bunch the ol Pies faithful are.
Hahah there is no way this really happened. Walshy making up fluff again

And if someone even posted something like that, I expect it would have been posted in a sarcastic manner that the Carlton brainstrust don't have the mental capacity to appreciate....

'I wasn't able to fully enjoy my team's premiership because another team finished fifth'

FMD.

And if someone even posted something like that, I expect it would have been posted in a sarcastic manner that the Carlton brainstrust don't have the mental capacity to appreciate....

'I wasn't able to fully enjoy my team's premiership because another team finished fifth'

FMD.
Aren't you the campaigner who spent the whole 2023 off season sooking about the umpires giving Charlie free kicks against Daisy for sharting his jocks?

'
So we can't talk about Dementia in a sarcastic way, but mental health is given the old tick of approval.
In the words of a poster around these neck of the woods - real classy

So we can't talk about Dementia in a sarcastic way, but mental health is given the old tick of approval.
In the words of a poster around these neck of the woods - real classy
Where have I mentioned 'mental health'?

See, the way the English language works is that you need to read the words next to one another and in the context of a sentence or paragraph....

In my comment above, I used the word 'mental', immediately followed by 'capacity', which is an alternate term for 'intelligence'.

Oh my.

And unsurprising that your comment is supported by PinnochiArr0w.

Aren't you the campaigner who spent the whole 2023 off season sooking about the umpires giving Charlie free kicks against Daisy for sharting his jocks?
Why would anyone 'sook' about that?

It might have been highlighted, but it was proven that players getting an inordinate number of free kicks during the home and away season doesn't translate to finals performances, when the whistles are put away.

But is that your way of proving that Collingwood supporters didn't enjoy their team's premiership 'because Carlton'?

Maybe it was actually a Carlton supporter who wasn't able to enjoy their best season since the turn of the century 'because Collingwood'?

After all, we have seen time and time again that you have a tendency to misinterpret the most basic of comments...

Banter Who will be Better in 2025, Collingwood or Carlton? Part 4