Opinion Who Will Be Gone for 2022?

Who won't be on the Saints list in 2022?

bergholt

Good Ordinary Player
Mar 14, 2007
Brunswick
Pretty simple question - who will be off our list one way or the other by the start of next season?

Multiple choices here obviously. Everyone I haven't included is zero chance of leaving, I reckon.

Carlisle, Dunstan, Frawley, Hunter, Lonie, McKernan, Wood. Oh and Robbo.

That's my prediction.

Some have already announced retirements obviously and some have been made public that they won't be offered another contract but the rest are my picks to not be on our list.
I would certainly hope that Kent was on that list, rather than Wood.

it looks like 27 from 45 are safe and Hanners on top of that who will be listed but probably doesn't play again.

There would be 8 of the guys listed when Lethlean arrived if we lost all the suggestions. Long and DMac probably aren't going to be listed in a another couple of years if we continue the cull either.

Frawley, McKernan Carlisle - retired.

Dunstan, Billings - free agent compo

Alabakis, Hunter - de-listed

I don't think we will be able to go very deep on more leaving when you have to find very good/better players to back fill immediately. You can't wait for kids to come in and play a full season. That is why players like Lonie, Kent etc will be retained. Ross will become our specialist tagger. Billings is line ball and his departure will depend on adequate compensation, or otherwise we will match the offer.

Pretty clear bunch to go

26: McKernan (already retired)
24: Frawley
22: Carlisle (already retired), Dunstan, Hunter
21: Alabakis, Lonie

Then a few more possibles

16: Ross
8: Clavarino
6: Billings
5: Battle
4: Kent
3: Geary
2: Wood
1: Long

And some we think are unlikely to go

Allison, Coffield, Joyce, Ryder

Pretty clear bunch to go

What about Roberton?

Pretty clear bunch to go

Plus Kent to the first group with Hunter.

Then in descending order
Geary
Ross
Wood
Billings

And unlikely
Battle Long Allison Clavarino Coffield Joyce Ryder

Weird that Kent and Battle have the same number of votes
It sure is, given Battle [along with Long] gives a fig, tries his heart out and has a bit of "attitude" and Kent just doesn't do anything! [Oh, he does do a good headless chook routine though!]

Fascinating that Wood is so certain to stay - when we signed him I don't think anyone thought he'd be around long.
Played some good footy for us this year. Once again its the consistency issue.

At his age and stage in his career I can't imagine he will be demanding some sort of huge payday so he's ideal depth - that's why I'd be happy to keep him.

Same applies to Kent and the likes of Joyce and Hunter.

Fascinating that Wood is so certain to stay - when we signed him I don't think anyone thought he'd be around long.
He was really starting to hit some form before the back attack

DescriptionDateOpponentResultKHBDMGBTHOGAI50CLCGR50FFFAAFSC
Round 16​
Jul 4​
14​
8​
22​
6​
0​
1​
7​
0​