Why the majority of Carlton Fans are Angry!!

Though I would have conveyed some points in a different manner, this thread is spot on.

Clearly not all supporters are bothered by this decision - that in itself is a bit worrying, and if we fail to make finals next year, I wonder what they will all be saying.

This bloke is largely the reason we have watched the shit we've displayed over the years, and as soon as something younger and better comes along in Judd and the number 1's, we turn our backs and kick him out the door.

Despite how good people think we've been this year, we finished 7th. The Hawks, and the Eagles are 2 teams that are likely to improve a lot on this year - we are not guaranteed finals.

It is pathetic that supporters barrack for Melbourne, make fat jokes about a past captain and former number 1 midfielder, yet want to take the moral high ground because Fev has had a few too many beers on occasion over the years :rolleyes:

we not talking just a few beers though are we??? Ireland? piss agains the window? bingle? bagging captain on national TV? poor body language i.e leaning on fence? hugging opposition supporters? thats just the start god knows what got swept under the mat....glad we got Judd because now we have a strong role model to look up to! Both on and off the field.

OP well written.

The issue isn't Fevola FC it is that by the looks of things we are going to pay another club $300k+ to potentially use fev and win a flag.

Even more significantly I suspect we are going to get nothing close to the value he provides to us on the field and as such I am expecting a Carlton side without Fevola to win 2 or 3 games less than in 2009.

I assume everyone is happy with another average year.

This is bullshit. I'm livid with this decision and very disillusioned about the club.

*sigh*

I hope they know what they're doing, cause this is likely to set back our premiership window to god knows when.

They better have a plan to get Pavlich.

I didnt bother reading the entire OP, there were so many inaccuracies. Point 4 was the only one that made any sense.

im pretty angry about this and i hoping fev doesnt go but if he does, theres only one way to fix it.

bring back digby morell as or full forward that will be succesfull:thumbsu:

I would suggest that a fair swag of those who have "voted" for Fev to go are opposition supporters. Amongst Carlton supporters I know, only 10-20% are happy for Fev to go; on the other hand 50-60% are very angry with the decision. Make no mistake, if Fev goes the fracture line that will run through the CFC will be bigger than the Grand Canyon.

What is your sample size?? Is it a random sample??

Thanks in advance :)

The entire OP is based on the premise that the club made the decision because of media pressure. If there are other reasons, then the entire OP is shot down.

The problem is that if there are other reasons, the club will be loathe to air them publicly as it will diminish Fev's trade value. Even after trade week, it might be seem to be kicking him while he is down.

Sometimes we have to accept that there are things that we don't know about and further vilifying a player to sate the appetite of a horde of angry supporters is not necessarily the right way to go.

I have been reading all these post and i am actully suprised, how many want to get rid of a 80 to 100 goal kicker. Without realising that we have NO ONE to replace him, i agree totally with blueboy11. The only way i would let him go is if we get 2 players who have the capacity to kick 80 goals consistently.

Doesn't look like happening, so we give him to Collingwood for cloke who is a dud and pick 14, big risk. He ends up kicking 80 to 100 goals at the club we despise, bc he is on his last last chance. His behaviour improves, he kicks 8 against us. Collingwood potentially win a flag, Carlton struggle to make the eight after being touted to be having a crack at top 4 and potentially a flag in the next couple of seasons.

Membership falls by 20 percent, so finacially we a worse off? So how does Carlton benefit exactly? OH thats right we made a statement to the world that behaviuor like this wont be tolerated anymore!

Football is a about winning games, and winning finals and premeirships! If we trade FEV we MUST get something in return that is going to make us a better team on field, otherwise the football club has failed. So yes trade him but get something in return that benefits the CFC 2 guys that can kick bw the 40 goals each consistently, or dont trade him. Pretty simple and logical i think. Lets just see , lets see!!!

We have to realise that we don't need to replace 80 goals through the incoming players. Without Fev our structure changes and somebody that was scrapping to get 1 goal per game getting 10% of the delivery, might now get 3 goals per game by virtue of getting 50% of the delivery.

Fev averages about 25-30% of our goals and gets 75% of the delivery. Some of our other goalkickers feed off errant forward entries and scraps to get their goals. If the delivery to them is deliberate their output will be increased.

I don't know if people have forgotten but out of the square, Waite is an excellent one on one player. Furthermore his recovery is better than Fev's and his leap is better. His leading out is not as good as Fev's though and he does not crash packs. He does bring the ball to ground for the crumbers however.

People want Waite's versatility and athleticism further down the ground but coming back from a knee injury, I wouldn't mind easing him back at full forward, and I expect he will create plenty of goals off the ground with that athleticism as well.

blank-picard_facepalm.jpg

Sometimes we have to accept that there are things that we don't know about and further vilifying a player to sate the appetite of a horde of angry supporters is not necessarily the right way to go.

The club can also not expect that supporters pay for their memberships, stick by the club through its dark period, and then turn a blind eye when they decide to get rid of our most important player (Just when our premiership window finally has opened)

The decision will likely set us back after we've already spent years at the bottom, and while Fev may not be liked by all, for a great number of supporters he is their favorite player.

It's not something that we can be expected to just blindly throw our support behind with the current information on hand.

The club can also not expect that supporters pay for their memberships, stick by the club through its dark period, and then turn a blind eye when they decide to get rid of our most important player (Just when our premiership window finally has opened)

The decision will likely set us back after we've already spent years at the bottom, and while Fev may not be liked by all, for a great number of supporters he is their favorite player.

It's not something that we can be expected to just blindly throw our support behind with the current information on hand.

I would say that supporters need to show faith from time to time. It seems to me that there has to be more to this than a bunch of suits getting their knickers in a knot over Fev being a tool at the Brownlow.

If he did something more than we know, then I suspect there will be leaked rumours after trade week. The club publicly will say 'no comment' as it is unprofessional to discuss details, unless Fev starts a media war.

Right now however, is not the time to discuss details IF there is more to discuss as it might affect his trade value. We have to leave open all possibilities.

don't blame the club...................... fevola has had 8 chances and he has not learnt his lesson.

the club said if he has 1 more incident he is out the door, all the club have done is stuck to their guns.

I want the club to win games trade and be done with it move on and up, the total crushing of Fev as a person is way over the top. Carlton club officials should have stepped in and got him away from the cameras on Brownlow night and the captain sitting next to him all night at the end of the count should hve quietly got crown security to move him off site. Spend the next 6 months in rehab absolute crap.
So annoyed its not funny

I have been reading all these post and i am actully suprised, how many want to get rid of a 80 to 100 goal kicker. Without realising that we have NO ONE to replace him, i agree totally with blueboy11. The only way i would let him go is if we get 2 players who have the capacity to kick 80 goals consistently.

Doesn't look like happening, so we give him to Collingwood for cloke who is a dud and pick 14, big risk. He ends up kicking 80 to 100 goals at the club we despise, bc he is on his last last chance. His behaviour improves, he kicks 8 against us. Collingwood potentially win a flag, Carlton struggle to make the eight after being touted to be having a crack at top 4 and potentially a flag in the next couple of seasons.

Membership falls by 20 percent, so finacially we a worse off? So how does Carlton benefit exactly? OH thats right we made a statement to the world that behaviuor like this wont be tolerated anymore!

Football is a about winning games, and winning finals and premeirships! If we trade FEV we MUST get something in return that is going to make us a better team on field, otherwise the football club has failed. So yes trade him but get something in return that benefits the CFC 2 guys that can kick bw the 40 goals each consistently, or dont trade him. Pretty simple and logical i think. Lets just see , lets see!!!

80 - 99 goals need to be replaced

well the money we will save from fevola being traded and stevens retiring will give the club approx 1.2 mil

that should be enough money to find a new forward to go a part of the way to covering the 80-99 goals

add that the return of waite
add to that the incoming warnock releasing kruzer

we seem to have some options up forward

bulldogs made 2 prelims with no key fwd, we went oout first week of the final with the coleman medalist............................

80 - 99 goals need to be replaced

well the money we will save from fevola being traded and stevens retiring will give the club approx 1.2 mil

that should be enough money to find a new forward to go a part of the way to covering the 80-99 goals

add that the return of waite
add to that the incoming warnock releasing kruzer

we seem to have some options up forward

bulldogs made 2 prelims with no key fwd, we went oout first week of the final with the coleman medalist............................

Bulldogs would've beaten St Kilda had they had a player half as good as Fevola in their f50. Case dismissed!

Good to see there are a majority of people out their who given the information we have been fed by our fearless administration are fairly angry, betrayed and just plain gutted by this decision should he actually be sold to the highest bidder (which wont be high at all).

All the 45 year olds on here saying stick by the club no matter what have no idea to put it plainly based on what we currently know to be fact!

Enjoy a shit season next year!

2) Brendan Fevola embarrased himself on Brownlow night. He did not embarras the football club.
Really?
So verbally abusing your captain (they bleeped out whatever he called him when he finally woalked away from Fev) isn't embarrassing your footy club?

Huh, so what about abusing a club legend at the B&F.....does that embarrass the club? No?

Oh.....so what about creating an international incident by assaulting a barman whilst representing the country........not emabarrassed yet?

You're right.....Fev has never embarrassed the club and all this is a huge overreaction.

:rolleyes:

Relax mate. Fev won't go anywhere, and if he does it will be for a great deal.

I would say that supporters need to show faith from time to time

Sticking around through the previous years has been more than a show of faith from supporters. There are some things that we just need to show faith, but there are other things that are too big to just have blind faith. I'd say potentially trading our most important player and much loved by many would constitute as 'too big to overlook'.

Right now however, is not the time to discuss details IF there is more to discuss as it might affect his trade value. We have to leave open all possibilities.

Perhaps it is not the right time. Still, what if it were to affect his trade value? Is that reason enough not to say anything?

If we're trying to offload our problem onto another team, and hope we can screw them over by hiding information, what sort of standard are we setting? I thought trading Fev was meant to be making a statement about the club - this line of thinking would seem to contradict that.

So verbally abusing your captain (they bleeped out whatever he called him when he finally woalked away from Fev) isn't embarrassing your footy club?

90% of posters on here have made numerous fat jokes about Whitnall. Forgetting that Fev was drunk, perhaps we could say that he was just doing it 'the Carlton way' by emulating supporters?

Whitnall deserved it. Judd didn't.

Fev's basically a disgrace.

If it was Didak every Blues supporter would be slamming him mercilessly, yet he had his 'last chance' warning last year and was sensational this season. It's really saying something to suggest someone's dumber than Didak, but Fev must be coz he simply hasn't learned.

Can you guys not see that it's our club's credibility on the line here ?

• Fev wasn't riding around with a gun-toting maniac while shooting at cop cars.
  • Fev didn't withhold information from the police that could have prevented a mass murder occurring in the CBD.
  • Fev never lied to his team-mates.
  • Fev never lied to the board.
  • Fev never made our president look like a tool to the media by lying to him.

How you could possibly compare Didak to Fevola boggles my bloody mind!

I heard heaps of Carlton bros have gone off at Carlton over this Fevola thing and are gonna get their fully sick cousins onto Carlton on Saturday mate.

Why the majority of Carlton Fans are Angry!!