TAS Will a team go to Tassie

Continually pumping $25 million a year to not even tread water is not a good business plan, and again i refer you back to the fact the despite supposedly having 30,000 members GWS couldn't sell out their GF allocation.
Why do you keep smashing that same stat?

You got anything else?

Also with how the TV rights unfolded GWS has already paid for itself, from which both our clubs will have benefited immensely.

But even then the AFL couldn't force a merger.

And no merger took place, despite AFL propaganda that it did. To put it very simply, when the AFL deiberately (and with North Melboune's connivance) refused to guarantee that Nauru Insurance Company as the only secured creditor of Fitzroy would not be paid $1 million out of the merger monies promised to the merged "North Fitzroy Kangaroos", the Nauru I.C. facing the loss of their loan struck first and appointed an administrator to recover what was owed. All the administrator did then was surrender Fitzroy's licence to compete in the AFL. However at no stage (and I am a shareholder of Fitzroy) did the AFL own Fitzroy.

That's why we're still in Melbourne in our own right to this day (having entered the VAFA for the 2009 season)

Under the terms of St Kilda's constitution that may be legally impossible to do, if the members own the club. St Kilda holds a licence to compete in the AFL competition, but that does not give the AFL ownership. In 2008, the AFL tried to buy North Melbourne's shares in which case had they succeeded they could have relocated the club to the Gold Coast as the AFL would have owned it.
You can keep sprouting that Fitzroy is still alive til the cows come home. But you know what, nobody cares. The fact is that Fitzroy are no longer in the AFL which means that they are dead. However they do live on in spirit as (a new entity) part of the Brisbane Lions. Like it or not, they are the facts.

Tasmania has a population of 500,000. The Gold Coast has an estimated population of around 600,000. I bet there's a hell of a lot more footy fans in Tassie though.
Yeah sure Tassie has a population of 500,000. But the problem is, half live in Hobart, the other half lives in Launceston.

So if 250,000 lives in Hobart, would 20-30,000 rock up in Hobart each week? Thats the question.

You can keep sprouting that Fitzroy is still alive til the cows come home.

I will. Everytime you keep ignoring the facts. Enjoy.

But you know what, nobody cares.

Don't confuse the term 'nobody' with your erroneous opinion. And in any case, you clearly care enough to comment.

The fact is that Fitzroy are no longer in the AFL which means that they are dead.

Rubbish. Football clubs at all levels change competitions all the time. Footscray, Hawthorn and North Melbourne did it in 1925 for example. They existed before then. They didn't die when they moved from the VFA to the VFL.

Fitzroy are now as they started in 1883. Playing out of the Brunswick Street Oval and representing the suburb of Fitzroy in Melbourne.

www.fitzroyfc.com.au

See these people at the BSO who care....? :p

Screen Shot 2020-05-04 at 5.04.02 pm.png

However they do live on in spirit as (a new entity) part of the Brisbane Lions.

The Brisbane Lions began in 1987. For the first ten years, they were known as the 'Bears'. Now they are known as the 'Lions'. Just as Hawthorn until 1943 used to be known as the 'Mayblooms'.

Like it or not, they are the facts.

As a shareholder of the club in 1996 and the shareholder of the very same club in 2020, I know the facts. You, as it is blatantly clear, do not. Also check in with the Supreme Court of Victoria. They have a different opinion to you.

I will. Everytime you keep ignoring the facts. Enjoy.

Don't confuse the term 'nobody' with your erroneous opinion. And in any case, you clearly care enough to comment.

Rubbish. Football clubs at all levels change competitions all the time. Footscray, Hawthorn and North Melbourne did it in 1925 for example. They existed before then. They didn't die when they moved from the VFA to the VFL.

Fitzroy are now as they started in 1883. Playing out of the Brunswick Street Oval and representing the suburb of Fitzroy in Melbourne.

www.fitzroyfc.com.au

The Brisbane Lions began in 1987. For the first ten years, they were known as the 'Bears'. Now they are known as the 'Lions'. Just as Hawthorn until 1943 used to be known as the 'Mayblooms'.

As a shareholder of the club in 1996 and the shareholder of the very same club in 2020, I know the facts. You, as it is blatantly clear, do not. Also check in with the Supreme Court of Victoria. They have a different opinion to you.
The Brisbane/Fitroy Lions have won 11 premierships. This is where the story starts and ends. As a former Fitzroy supporter you should be proud of your club!! Kevin Murray is!!

The Brisbane/Fitroy Lions have won 11 premierships.

The Brisbane Lions have won three premierships.

Fitzroy won eight.

This is basic VFL-AFL history. Get it right. It's not that difficult to understand.

This is where the story starts and ends.

You know very little of the 'story'. You just think you do. That's blatantly obvious. I've told you the facts already. Even the Lions themselves acknowledged in 2010 that the Brisbane Lions and Fitzroy are different clubs. Do you know why?

As a former Fitzroy supporter you should be proud of your club!!

Not former. Current. Shareholder and paid up 2020 member.

Kevin Murray is!!

He is.

Here he is at a Fitzroy Football Club match at the Brunswick Street Oval about four-five years ago. Note, not in the AFL.

Seeing you clearly have very little knowledge about Fitzroy, Kevin is the one on the left.

proxy-jpg.864609

The Brisbane Lions have won three premierships.

Fitzroy won eight.

This is basic VFL-AFL history. Get it right. It's not that difficult to understand.

You know very little of the 'story'. You just think you do. That's blatantly obvious. I've told you the facts already. Even the Lions themselves acknowledged in 2010 that the Brisbane Lions and Fitzroy are different clubs. Do you know why?

Not former. Current. Shareholder and paid up 2020 member.

He is.

Here he is at a Fitzroy Football Club match at the Brunswick Street Oval about four-five years ago. Note, not in the AFL.

Seeing you clearly have very little knowledge about Fitzroy, Kevin is the one on the left.

proxy-jpg.864609
I remember Kevin Murray very clearly. And I know he sees the "Brisbane Lions" as part of the club he played for.

Yeah sure Tassie has a population of 500,000. But the problem is, half live in Hobart, the other half lives in Launceston.

So if 250,000 lives in Hobart, would 20-30,000 rock up in Hobart each week? Thats the question.
Bellerive Oval currently has a capacity of 19,500. It would be sold out for each of it's 5-7 home games.

I remember Kevin Murray very clearly. And I know he sees the "Brisbane Lions" as part of the club he played for.

He also attends Fitzroy Football Club matches, where he is on the honourboard.

Do you know why the Brisbane Lions acknowledged in 2010 that the Brisbane Lions and Fitzroy Football Clubs are different clubs and that Fitzroy still exists in its own right?

No?

Well find out before chiming in again with an opinion about Fitzroy and the Brisbane Lions that is incorrect.

And when you do, always remember the following.......

Screen Shot 2020-05-04 at 5.42.53 pm.png

Still in Melbourne. Not in Brisbane, Canberra, Tasmania or anywhere else.

Feel free to ask more questions, if you are struggling to understand. You'll get it eventually.

Is Geelong big enough? They're not that different.

Ummm, is there a world class city of 5 million people an hour's drive from Hobart that you guys keep secret?

They sell it out most games they get much better support in Canberra then western Sydney that’s for shore that’s why it’s bizarre when gws supporters like the general giant call for them to leave Canberra it would be a terrible move!
Continually pumping $25 million a year to not even tread water is not a good business plan, and again i refer you back to the fact the despite supposedly having 30,000 members GWS couldn't sell out their GF allocation.
I’m not sure what figure GWS received above the normal AFL distribution but I doubt it’s 25 million, and they are hardly treading water, it appears they are growing in almost every metric year on year.

Not selling their GF allocation isn’t a good indicator of member numbers, not everybody would be in position at a days notice to buy tickets get on a plane and book accommodation, the fact they had as many people at the games as they did was a big effort

Hold on, so GWS is given 25 million a year to prop them up? Thats 200 million in 8 years. I disagree with that. I say 15-20 million at most as you need to cover the teams 13 million dollar salay cap.

Not Saying the AFL has been smart in the financial decisions department.

Looking back now, One of the bigger mistakes is for All the Victorian clubs to give up their local suburban grounds to play their games at Docklands. Saints, North and Dogs had no leverage on the negotiation table because they were smaller clubs and they couldnt play anywhere else.

On another thread, which was started by a North Supporter, claimed that North, Saints and Bulldogs saved the AFL from bankruptcy because those 3 clubs constanly played home games at docklands on Sunday afternoon.

The question is, If the AFL put in money to Turn Western oval or EJ whitten oval into an AFL standard ground and had the capacity to hold 30-35,000 seats, would that be a better deal for the dogs financially compared to docklands?

Some Saints fans want to play AFL games at Moorabin. Again, If Moorabbin becomes an AF standard venue that Holds 30,000 seats, would that be a better deal than playing at Docklands?

Geelong Play games at kardinia park and that holds 36,000 seats.

I have said this on previous threads that Princes Park/ IKON park should return as an Alternative AFL venue. That Ground holds 25,000 seats. You could upgrade it to 30,000 seats. If that ground was used again in the AFL, I could see that ground used 1-2 times a week. Carlton would host games there. North hosting games would make sense as is a few kms North of Melbourne.

But then you look at Tassie if they can get a Team in the AFL. Can they get the best deal? You got 2 stadiums. 1 in hobart and one in Launceston. both grounds have 20,000 seat capacity.

The other problem is where should they train during the week?

I’m not sure what figure GWS received above the normal AFL distribution but I doubt it’s 25 million, and they are hardly treading water, it appears they are growing in almost every metric year on year.

Not selling their GF allocation isn’t a good indicator of member numbers, not everybody would be in position at a days notice to buy tickets get on a plane and book accommodation, the fact they had as many people at the games as they did was a big effort
If they have 30,000 members surly they would have sold out their GF allocation.
The 30,000 figure looks very rubbery to me and coupled with the fact they have never sold out a home game at the spotless.

Ummm, is there a world class city of 5 million people an hour's drive from Hobart that you guys keep secret?
The very same city is a one hour flight from Hobart.

Do you really think Geelong footballers are always travelling to Melbourne to get their fix of the high-life? It's an occasional trip. People get all excited about all the things they can do in a big city, but the reality is they don't do much of them. Being a professional footballer is a pretty regimented lifestyle. Pretty much every person I've ever spoken to who argued they have to live in Melbourne because they need all the big city excitement, had a very boring existence. I do more stuff here in Hobart than when I lived in Melbourne (my home town). It's just easier to get around and be spontaneous here. Try not to take that opinion personally. You aren't your city. Where you live doesn't imply anything about how active you are in doing things.

B

Because its fact
Not it's because you've cracked on about the same stat about 9 times now in this thread and I don't think it's truly the compelling winning point you seem to think it is.

It's certainly no match point or check mate.

Now if you had something else as 'evidence' you might actually uncover yourself as someone who's got a bit of backbone to the position they hold.

Now I'll try sound like you.

If the game didn't need growing and could last staying solely in Melbourne, then why aren't all 10 clubs packed to the rafters each week? Y'know a city that's had a 100 years of the game? (There's plenty of reasons why, but if I decided to be a flipping melon and just parrot that point for no reason I could).

Hawthorn has averaged 15k in a town of 90k playing mainly teams like a Freo and Port with no support. Of course and actual Tassie team would draw 20k - 30k.

Hold on, so GWS is given 25 million a year to prop them up? Thats 200 million in 8 years. I disagree with that. I say 15-20 million at most as you need to cover the teams 13 million dollar salay cap.

Not Saying the AFL has been smart in the financial decisions department.

Looking back now, One of the bigger mistakes is for All the Victorian clubs to give up their local suburban grounds to play their games at Docklands. Saints, North and Dogs had no leverage on the negotiation table because they were smaller clubs and they couldnt play anywhere else.

On another thread, which was started by a North Supporter, claimed that North, Saints and Bulldogs saved the AFL from bankruptcy because those 3 clubs constanly played home games at docklands on Sunday afternoon.

The question is, If the AFL put in money to Turn Western oval or EJ whitten oval into an AFL standard ground and had the capacity to hold 30-35,000 seats, would that be a better deal for the dogs financially compared to docklands?

Some Saints fans want to play AFL games at Moorabin. Again, If Moorabbin becomes an AF standard venue that Holds 30,000 seats, would that be a better deal than playing at Docklands?

Geelong Play games at kardinia park and that holds 36,000 seats.

I have said this on previous threads that Princes Park/ IKON park should return as an Alternative AFL venue. That Ground holds 25,000 seats. You could upgrade it to 30,000 seats. If that ground was used again in the AFL, I could see that ground used 1-2 times a week. Carlton would host games there. North hosting games would make sense as is a few kms North of Melbourne.

But then you look at Tassie if they can get a Team in the AFL. Can they get the best deal? You got 2 stadiums. 1 in hobart and one in Launceston. both grounds have 20,000 seat capacity.

The other problem is where should they train during the week?
Do some reading. A Tassie team would be based in Hobart which is a brilliant, thriving small city. Bellerive is unlikely to be significantly upgraded, so York Park would get a cheap upgrade to 25k - 27k.
And, no, to spend hundred of millions bringing Moorabbin or Whitten Oval up to 30k would not be better financially for anyone.

Hawthorn has averaged 15k in a town of 90k playing mainly teams like a Freo and Port with no support. Of course and actual Tassie team would draw 20k - 30k.
I see.

Do some reading. A Tassie team would be based in Hobart which is a brilliant, thriving small city. Bellerive is unlikely to be significantly upgraded, so York Park would get a cheap upgrade to 25k - 27k.
And, no, to spend hundred of millions bringing Moorabbin or Whitten Oval up to 30k would not be better financially for anyone.

the reasons I asked this is because If Whitten oval up to 30-35k might help the Dogs.

Geelong plays it home games in a 36,000 seat kardinia park.

I was hoping Princes Park or Ikon Park to a 35,000 seat arena as a negotiating tool. So If Carlton or North are into a bad deal with Docklands, both those could of said "Look, Its better to get 30,000 at Princes Park than get 30,000 at Docklands because Princes park offers cheaper rent."

North, Saints and Dogs are suffering because of the bad Docklands deal. Also there is no Alternative smaller grounds to use.

Tassie is a weird case.

I am another person that wants Tassie in the AFL.

York Park needs a cheap upgrade to 25-30,000 seats. So Does Bellrieve oval.

I see.

the reasons I asked this is because If Whitten oval up to 30-35k might help the Dogs.

I was hoping Princes Park or Ikon Park to a 35,000 seat arena as a negotiating tool. So If Carlton or North are into a bad deal with Docklands, both those could of said "Look, Its better to get 30,000 at Princes Park than get 30,000 at Docklands because Princes park offers cheaper rent."

North, Saints and Dogs are suffering because of the bad Docklands deal. Also there is no Alternative smaller grounds to use.

Tassie is a weird case.

I'm not sure they can do much more to upgrade Bellerive. It's in a nice spot right on a beach, but it's also situated right in the middle of a suburban area surrounded by people's houses. Things like parking are a big issue.

The goal with a Tassie team was to upgrade UTAS Stadium's capacity initially (which wouldn't cost much). They'd used Launceston for the big drawing games in the first few seasons while building a brand new stadium in Hobart.

I see.

Tassie is a weird case.

Who is going to pay the hundreds of millions to get Whitten Oval up to 35k. The AFL dies the fixture so how would that help with negotiations? Good way to send clubs broke.

A question for my fellow Tasmanians...

If the AFL goes ahead with their plan to create a new second tier league 'Eastern AFL' combining the AFL reserves of all clubs (except the 4 WA and SA clubs), along with the strongest VFL clubs, should Tasmania push for entry into this league?

Is it a worthwhile product to want to be a part of, or is there too much risk in the AFL using it against us if the public don't get around what is predominantly going to be a reserves league?

You can keep sprouting that Fitzroy is still alive til the cows come home. But you know what, nobody cares. The fact is that Fitzroy are no longer in the AFL which means that they are dead. However they do live on in spirit as (a new entity) part of the Brisbane Lions. Like it or not, they are the facts.

Are they the facts? I was pretty sure that the Fitzroy FC that exists today is still the same entity that played in the AFL, legally. The shareholders voted to continue to club after the "merger".

A Fitzroy supporter can probably clarify.

TAS Will a team go to Tassie