Will Carlton be the 'bolter' in 2023?

You reckon they've got 9 in their best 22. Who would they be? I count 5: Hill, Mitchell, McStay, Howe and Lipinski. Bearing in mind, McStay, Mitchell and Hill were brought in this year when they made a prelim last year (which would make sense).
Crisp. Adams. Frampton. WHE.

Cerra is the perfect fit for Carlton. Exquisitely skilled on both sides but lazy. When was the last time you saw him chase down a player from behind and get them holding the ball? Never did it at Freo. Dare say he's never done it at Carlton either.

He did that a couple of times last week vs Brisbane.

You obviously don’t watch the Blues or Cerra a lot. Which makes your obsessive hate even stranger.

He did that a couple of times last week vs Brisbane.

You obviously don’t watch the Blues or Cerra a lot. Which makes your obsessive hate even stranger.
Nah, I watched that game. He didn't run down anybody - he did lay some tackles though (like he always does).
Have nothing against Cerra - certainly not hate.

Crisp and

Crisp and Adams arrived at Collingwood as 19 year olds. Bit of a stretch to say they are "top up" players. Frampton is not best 22. WHE I will give you.
You said traded in players not top up players. Crisp debuted in 2012 and played 3 seasons with the Lions before starting with the Pies in 2015. Adams debuted in 2012 as well and started with the Pies 2014. So they weren't second year players.

Strange post hey?
Do you always look at stats Arrow to access a footballers ability? or every now and then do you actually go to the games and use the eye test?
Of course there are other tackles rather than the chase down variety but a chase down tackle is probably the hardest to achieve because it's all about intent. You've got to be fully committed to be able to perform it. In my opinion it's actually a fairly good barometer to test a player's commitment in the game.
I don't think Cerra ever performed a chase down tackle in his 4 years at the Dockers. That tells me a fair bit about his intent.

Again, strange that you would single out one subcategory of one aspect of the game to justify your position of Cerra

Strange

You reckon they've got 9 in their best 22. Who would they be? I count 5: Hill, Mitchell, McStay, Howe and Lipinski. Bearing in mind, McStay, Mitchell and Hill were brought in this year when they made a prelim last year (which would make sense).

Howe, Frampton/Cox, Hill, Mitchell, Adams, Crisp, McStay, Lipinski, WHE

Doesn't matter when they were acquired, it wasn't part of your initial rhetoric

You said traded in players not top up players. Crisp debuted in 2012 and played 3 seasons with the Lions before starting with the Pies in 2015. Adams debuted in 2012 as well and started with the Pies 2014. So they weren't second year players. Docherty on the other hand would be an example of a player traded in the year after his debut.
Yeah fair enough and I don't mean to be splitting hairs with you, but in some ways getting a 19 or 20 year old is pretty similar to drafting anyway - because you are putting all the development into them from a young age. Crisp played a grand total of 18 games for another club, Adams played 30. They are not really the definition of traded-in players. Likewise, either is Docherty. Someone like Saad on the other hand, had played over 100 games when recruited to Carlton so the development has mostly been done somewhere else.

Can someone please remind me when Carlton's 66 game rebuild commenced?

(Serious question)

I think the paper it was written on was upside down, and also another piece of paper was covering the other 9.

And you two squeal about trolling and baiting, while posting this content

Just one aspect, seriously?
Cerra and Brayshaw were both drafted in the same year for the Dockers so I had a chance to watch them both closely - the difference couldn't be more stark. One player (Cerra) was more skilled while the other (Brayshaw) did everything he could to drag his side over the line. The aspect of Cerra that I highlighted was that he never performed a chase down tackle - the reason this was so noticeable was that a guy the same age and from the same draft would do 2 of these every game!

I hate to break it to you Arrow but Cerra is a cruiser. Yes, he's highly skilled. Yes, he will no doubt play 200 games and be a good AFL player but he's not going to will your team over the line. In my opinion he doesn't give 100 percent - it has nothing to do with him leaving the Dockers. There are other players who have left the Dockers that I tend to like because they actually do give 100 percent effort (Guys like Lloyd Meek for example).

My favourite non-docker player by the way is actually Mitch Robinson.

Cerra and Brayshaw were both drafted in the same year for the Dockers so I had a chance to watch them both closely - the difference couldn't be more stark. One player (Cerra) was more skilled while the other (Brayshaw) did everything he could to drag his side over the line. The aspect of Cerra that I highlighted was that he never performed a chase down tackle - the reason this was so noticeable was that a guy the same age and from the same draft would do 2 of these every game!

I hate to break it to you Arrow but Cerra is a cruiser. Yes, he's highly skilled. Yes, he will no doubt play 200 games and be a good AFL player but he's not going to will your team over the line. In my opinion he doesn't give 100 percent - it has nothing to do with him leaving the Dockers. There are other players who have left the Dockers that I tend to like because they actually do give 100 percent effort (Guys like Lloyd Meek for example).

My favourite non-docker player by the way is actually Mitch Robinson.

So now you want to compare Cerra to just one player, in respect to chase down tackles

All players have deficiencies, some more than others

Right now, Cerra would still walk into your side, chase down tackles or not

So now you want to compare Cerra to just one player, in respect to chase down tackles

All players have deficiencies, some more than others

Right now, Cerra would still walk into your side, chase down tackles or not
Yeah, he definitely would. And he'd walk into any side in the AFL. I said before that he was lazy and that is unfair and the wrong choice of words. Look, he's definitely a good player. Let's just move on.

I hope you have your eraser handy...
I’m bored of highlighting deficiencies
It’s been 10yrs of the same stuff.
After seeing they had 16 players 25+ on the weekend I’ve realised they might need to rebuild during the Tassie set up and might not be a serious contender to the back end of the 2030s
Which is quite disheartening to their supporters.
I’m putting on my positive pants and boosting morale.
The pressure is off now and see them regrouping and making a charge!!
Blues to redeem rd 23 and beat the pies by 7
McKay will kick 3+

After seeing they had 16 players 25+ on the weekend I’ve realised they might need to rebuild during the Tassie set up and might not be a serious contender to the back end of the 2030s
McKay will kick 3+
Curnow and McKay to kick 7 between them, and Pies still win by 5 goals.

McKay will kick 3+
Not sure why guys 25+ is some sort of crisis. Doesn't that mean we have a large core of the side who should be hitting their peak and have plenty of footy left?

The issue is we need to add to what we already have, and there is still time to do it. I don't like how this year has been, no one who goes for Carlton does, but I wouldn't be throwing the baby out with the bathwater and giving up, when most of our best players have a lot of football left in them.

Will Carlton be the 'bolter' in 2023?