Winner and margin Carlton vs Essendon

Means nothing now my friend. We've done the suffering, we've done the reaping of the rewards, now we'll leave the left overs for you, preferably during the draft lock out. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

The dark days are over at Princes Park, they're only just beginning at Windy Hill.

FWIW, Blues by 73.

We beat you earlier in the season without Lucas and Neagle. Carlton had a full team. The only team you've beaten above 12th is Collingwood- twice.

There is no chance of Carlton making the finals this year, we were 4th after round 11 last season so don't get too carried away with sitting 8th by half a game.

I forgot that we didn't have Lucas last time we played them :D
I was thinking Carlton by 26
now I think Essendon by 10 because we can add on Lucas' 7 goals.

Carlton $1.30
Essendon $3.30

They forget that these games are always close.
Carlton has 1 player with the ability to kick large sums of goals. We have MORE!
Reimers, Lonergan and Lovett to run a Muck!!
Putting $300 on Essendon today. I won't be upset if I lose it if they play well.

I keep reading this stuff about Reimers. Apart from wearing orange boots, what else has he done in his career up to now? He may be a decent player one day, but fair dinkum guys the stuff that has been written about him on this site and on Bomber Blitz is way over the top.

We beat you earlier in the season without Lucas and Neagle. Carlton had a full team. The only team you've beaten above 12th is Collingwood- twice.

There is no chance of Carlton making the finals this year, we were 4th after round 11 last season so don't get too carried away with sitting 8th by half a game.

Don't forget Port Adelaide, might not mean much but they are currently 12th, were above 12th when we played them (also being stated as one of the best teams in the bottom 8 - but what a crock of shift that was) and are still one win above you guys!

I keep reading this stuff about Reimers. Apart from wearing orange boots, what else has he done in his career up to now? He may be a decent player one day, but fair dinkum guys the stuff that has been written about him on this site and on Bomber Blitz is way over the top.

Barring Marc Murphy he's done as much as any of Carlton's youngsters yet Carlton are allowed to talk up Gibbs, Kruezer, Jamison et al... they've done FA!

He just got amongst the best in just his 12th game of football last Friday night, when you're 14th on the ladder and looking for positives... there's one right there!

Don't forget Port Adelaide, might not mean much but they are currently 12th, were above 12th when we played them (also being stated as one of the best teams in the bottom 8 - but what a crock of shift that was) and are still one win above you guys!

And we're the team that beat you in this very season! Port Adelaide are pathetic at the moment and it's a known fact! The Chad is down, Westhof has done FA, the skill and the effort has been like a bottom 4 side yet they'll still finish above Essendon......... and Carlton!

Barring Marc Murphy he's done as much as any of Carlton's youngsters yet Carlton are allowed to talk up Gibbs, Kruezer, Jamison et al... they've done FA!

He just got amongst the best in just his 12th game of football last Friday night, when you're 14th on the ladder and looking for positives... there's one right there![/quote]

Thats a fair call, but when I read that he is gonna towel up (depending on what post you read) Judd, Stevo or Murph, the word "kidding yourselves" comes to mind. As far as Carltons kids, I am sure every Dons supporter would prefer (if they were being honest) Gibbs (has beaten comprehensively Chad Cornes and Heath Shaw in his last 2 games), Kreuzer (already been a matchwinner once this year in less games than Reimers) and maybe Jamo than Reimers.

He may end up a good player, but some perpspective guys please.

On a lighter note, I expect the Blues to get the chocolates on Sunday, as I think our kids are really getting to enjoy the taste of winning, and probably have more class all over the field than the Dons who are a couple of years or so behind the Blues in terms of development. One thing that is going to hurt over the next 2 years or so is that your best 2 players (Fletcher and Lucas, who have both been awesome) are just about done.

The same as all of Carlton's kids...

And we're the team that beat you in this very season! Port Adelaide are pathetic at the moment and it's a known fact! The Chad is down, Westhof has done FA, the skill and the effort has been like a bottom 4 side yet they'll still finish above Essendon......... and Carlton!

Maybe so but didnt Collingwood beat you by about 70 earlier this year. You got us in round 3, but so did Richmond and St Kilda in the first 2 rounds. We have lost 3 times since you beat us, you have lost 8, our points against in that time has been about 93, yours is around 120 over the same period. We have a full forward who could conceivably kick 10 (lets be honest with the delivery he will get, who will stop him), you have a full forward that is averaging about 2 goals per game. We have a midfield that includes at least 3 players that would get a game before Essendons best mid, so I would really like to hear an argument that makes sense as to how Essendon will win this week. Not gonna happen guys, Blues by 50+.

He just got amongst the best in just his 12th game of football last Friday night, when you're 14th on the ladder and looking for positives... there's one right there!

Thats a fair call, but when I read that he is gonna towel up (depending on what post you read) Judd, Stevo or Murph, the word "kidding yourselves" comes to mind. As far as Carltons kids, I am sure every Dons supporter would prefer (if they were being honest) Gibbs (has beaten comprehensively Chad Cornes and Heath Shaw in his last 2 games), Kreuzer (already been a matchwinner once this year in less games than Reimers) and maybe Jamo than Reimers.

He may end up a good player, but some perpspective guys please.

On a lighter note, I expect the Blues to get the chocolates on Sunday, as I think our kids are really getting to enjoy the taste of winning, and probably have more class all over the field than the Dons who are a couple of years or so behind the Blues in terms of development. One thing that is going to hurt over the next 2 years or so is that your best 2 players (Fletcher and Lucas, who have both been awesome) are just about done.

Towel up as in line up and shirtfront. He would become an instant legend if he did that against your mob.

I'm sick of hearing this 'You've beaten no one business' - and i'm probably not in the right place to say the following, but what the heck. We've defeated 3 of last years top 8, one team twice - something we haven't done in many a season. we've also accounted for Fremantle & Melbourne, not that hard.

Since hitting our straps back in Round 4, we've won 6 games to sides at our level or below + Collingwood. We've Only lost 3 games to 3 teams more than likely to play in September. That is quite some achievement for a side thats been sitting bottom two for the best part of the last 7 years. We might still be losing games, but we're competitive and haven't been caught out giving up as such once this year.

The Adelaide game we were with them for most of the game, and it was only first quarter jitters that cost us a chance in the Brisbane game. The only game we never had a chance of winning was the Geelong game, as we played poorly for 4 quarters.

So you might think we've beaten no one, but it's not just the wins. It's the way we've played football, it's they way we handle ourselves on field, and it's the way the Carlton of old would probably be sitting on 2 wins.

To be honest, i see this Sunday as our biggest test. We don't go into games favourites all that often, and when we do, we struggle to live up to the expectations. So i wouldn't be all that surprised to see us drop a game we shouldn't.

We win it, we're told we haven't beaten anyone, Lose it, we cop criticism, Draw - well, god forbid.

Hope for a good old fashioned tight Carlton-Essendon game :thumbsu:

Mate wouldnt it be better if he got the bloody ball...ridiculous post! This is the 2000's ate, not the 80's.

If Judd was playing at 50% after being hit, and Reimers was playing at 50%, I know who'd be more disadvantaged.;)

It's all a bit of a joke. Reimers is known for his agro, so every is taking that to the extreme.

If Judd was playing at 50% after being hit, and Reimers was playing at 50%, I know who'd be more disadvantaged.;)

It's all a bit of a joke. Reimers is known for his agro, so every is taking that to the extreme.

Most non-Carlton upporters reckon Judd is about 50% now, still racks them up mate. Hear what you are saying, I am dying for some good discussion about this weeks game, get frustrated when I read shit like that mentioned previously.

Dont get too upset...

Judd "is" your team, and luckily for you guys, he's 100% fit.

I just worry that if Judd gets injured, you guys will become horse s___ once again.:D

Maybe so but didnt Collingwood beat you by about 70 earlier this year. You got us in round 3, but so did Richmond and St Kilda in the first 2 rounds. We have lost 3 times since you beat us, you have lost 8, our points against in that time has been about 93, yours is around 120 over the same period. We have a full forward who could conceivably kick 10 (lets be honest with the delivery he will get, who will stop him), you have a full forward that is averaging about 2 goals per game. We have a midfield that includes at least 3 players that would get a game before Essendons best mid, so I would really like to hear an argument that makes sense as to how Essendon will win this week. Not gonna happen guys, Blues by 50+.

Maybe so but didnt Collingwood beat you by about 70 earlier this year.

Collingwood have our measure exactly the same as you have theirs.

You got us in round 3, but so did Richmond and St Kilda in the first 2 rounds.

Round 3 is played for exactly the same amount of points as round 13 so how is it any different?

If you weren't prepared then it isn't the fault of the teams that beat you and you can only judge on realities.

You still haven't played those three teams again yet, so how do you know all three won't beat you again?

We have lost 3 times since you beat us, you have lost 8, our points against in that time has been about 93, yours is around 120 over the same period.

Fair points and is of concern for us.

We have a full forward who could conceivably kick 10 (lets be honest with the delivery he will get, who will stop him), you have a full forward that is averaging about 2 goals per game.

We have 2 dangerous options that are both easily capable of kicking 4+, you have all your eggs in one basket.

We have a midfield that includes at least 3 players that would get a game before Essendons best mid, so I would really like to hear an argument that makes sense as to how Essendon will win this week.

I don't think we will win this week but we quite easily can.

Last time we beat you with Lucas out of our team and you had Judd with 32 possies and fevola kicked 7 goals.

You had balls doing leg breaks for goals.

We were 30 points up late in the last until we put the queue in the rack and let you kick a couple of late ones.

Many carlton supporters are getting ahead of themselves and forgetting what butchers of the ball you are under pressure, as are we.

Your ladder position flatters you drastically as you still have not played Hawthorn, Sydney and the Dogs.

IF and it's a big IF, we can hold fevola to a reasonable return or he kicks like a broken down mule again, we could quite easily beat you and we have a forward line that is capable of kicking a bigger score than yours.

As i said previously i think you will win due to your midfield but it isn't going to be as easy as what many blues supporters think, if it happens at all.

Sensible talk, you say?

This game, obviously, is going to come down to goals (no shit, Sherlock), and more specifically, where they're coming from. That means, who's got the better backline v forwardline and who's getting the most goals from midfield.

Carlton are, effectively, a one-man band up forward. Sure, Kreuzer, Fisher, Betts etc. will all score a couple, or more every now and then, but effectively, it's Fevola or bust. We will most likely play Ryder on him, with Lovett-Murray and Fletcher zoning off their men (most likely Fisher and Kreuzer if he goes forward respectively) and covering the hole in front of him. That means that supply is going to have to be centimetre perfect. We all know Judd is capable of that, but how sure are we of Murphy, Stevens, Gibbs, Russell, Bentick, Armfield etc. under pressure? Furthermore, it'll be an interesting lesson for Kreuzer if Fletch moves off him as much as I want him to. I think your forward line will produce about 10 goals, most of them from Fev.

At the other end, Essendon has got a lot of options. Anyone of Lloyd, Lucas and Neagle can kick a bag, McPhee, Monfries and hopefully Rama can all kick a couple each. In the past, Waite on Lucas has been draw, and Lloyd has either been beaten (you win the game) or kicked a bag (we win the game) on Setanta or whoever else you put on him. What we saw last week was a forward line structure which had the potential to result in any mismatches in our favour being exploited. We had one key forward in the goalsquare, one about 25 out, directly in front, and one on each flank, about 40 out. These spots were filled by Lloyd, Lucas, McPhee, Neagle and the resting ruckman. If Neagle, Lloyd or Lucas is given a match-up where he is much stronger, he will be plonked in the goalsquare, and isolated. Also, if McPhee is given a short defender, he will be plonked in the goalsquare. This means that, effectively, Carlton has to play 4-5 tall defenders at any one time. If we do what I expect us to do, and rotate the forwards based on match-ups, I'd expect Ratten to counter that by playing his key forwards in positions (not to players), and letting whoever's in the goalsquare have Setanta, whoever's 25 out to have Waite, etc. If you did that, I'd be worried about Lucas and Lloyd playing up the ground a bit on likely 3rd choice, or shorter, defenders. If that happens, we'll win the game. Overall, I think our forward line will kick 13-15, including Monfries who'll be making Scotland accountable.

So that puts us 3-5 goals in front when we come to the midfield.

Clearly your midfield is better than ours. However, with Hille and Laycock, we'll be getting first use of the ball most times. With Welsh and Lonergan in exceptional form in tight, and some of our more piercing kicks (Stanton, Myers, Houli if he plays) I think our midfield should make it 40-60 to even. With Hille, Laycock and McVeigh all known goalkickers, and the rest capable of producing 3-4, I think we have you covered.

Essendon by 20 after a nervous last quarter.

Should be a good game and looking forward to it. I will say that we are a far better team than in round 3 and anyone who says any different hasnt watched us play. We are a far better unit.

But i wont be overly suprised if essendon roll us. Its a game carlton are favourites which could go in the dons favour. The dons coming off a win so will come with some confidence and with a few ins could be dangerous.

Still think it will be a well fought game but i would expect carlton to win by a couple of goals. But anything can happen and remember its Carlton v Essendon (form means nothing!)

Good luck dons.

Collingwood have our measure exactly the same as you have theirs.

Round 3 is played for exactly the same amount of points as round 13 so how is it any different?

If you weren't prepared then it isn't the fault of the teams that beat you and you can only judge on realities.

You still haven't played those three teams again yet, so how do you know all three won't beat you again?

Fair points and is of concern for us.

We have 2 dangerous options that are both easily capable of kicking 4+, you have all your eggs in one basket.

I don't think we will win this week but we quite easily can.

Last time we beat you with Lucas out of our team and you had Judd with 32 possies and fevola kicked 7 goals.

You had balls doing leg breaks for goals.

We were 30 points up late in the last until we put the queue in the rack and let you kick a couple of late ones.

Many carlton supporters are getting ahead of themselves and forgetting what butchers of the ball you are under pressure, as are we.

Your ladder position flatters you drastically as you still have not played Hawthorn, Sydney and the Dogs.

IF and it's a big IF, we can hold fevola to a reasonable return or he kicks like a broken down mule again, we could quite easily beat you and we have a forward line that is capable of kicking a bigger score than yours.

As i said previously i think you will win due to your midfield but it isn't going to be as easy as what many blues supporters think, if it happens at all.

Finally a reasonable debate. Yep, personally I dont want to make the 8 this year, I dont think we are ready, however we have clearly bottomed out and are on the up, of that there is no doubt. I dont think that Essendon have bottomed out as yet. You won in round 3, but mate seriously a lot has changed since then, particularly the defensive side of the game, no way will you score 150 again, and there is a chance we may still get 134.

Your point about Fev is valid, as is your point about judd getting 32 in round 3 yet we lost. My guess is that if the same thing happens this week (Judd getting 32 touches, and 2 goals from memory, and Fev getting 8) you wont get within 50 of us.

Essendons achilles at the moment is a midfield that is totally one sided, ok going forward but shizen hausen when they dont have the ball, can you seriously see the Dons winning the clearances this week? If you break even in the middle, you may have a chance, but as I say, I dont think you can, most will agree.

Bookmark this, Carlton will have about 60 more posessions, and about 30-40 more clearances/contested posessions, resulting in about 12 more inside 50's. With the class we have in the midfield compared to your non-accountable mids, those stats should result in an easy win.

I say again also, the big issue for the Dons isnt now, it is in the next year or 2 when Fletcher, Lucas and Lloyd have gone, and with the Coast coming in to the league, then West Sydney, you will be locked out of the draft to get the best kids.

One other thing about the Dons, the gameplan you are eimploying is pretty much a carbon copy of what Pagan has our boys doing the last couple of years, fact is it doesnt work. Defensive pressure keeps a team in the game from a scoreboard perspective even when the game isnt going totally the way it is supposed to, getting massive scores kicked against you every week is bad for a young teams mindset, and overall psyche.

Sensible talk, you say?

This game, obviously, is going to come down to goals (no shit, Sherlock), and more specifically, where they're coming from. That means, who's got the better backline v forwardline and who's getting the most goals from midfield.

Carlton are, effectively, a one-man band up forward. Sure, Kreuzer, Fisher, Betts etc. will all score a couple, or more every now and then, but effectively, it's Fevola or bust. We will most likely play Ryder on him, with Lovett-Murray and Fletcher zoning off their men (most likely Fisher and Kreuzer if he goes forward respectively) and covering the hole in front of him. That means that supply is going to have to be centimetre perfect. We all know Judd is capable of that, but how sure are we of Murphy, Stevens, Gibbs, Russell, Bentick, Armfield etc. under pressure? Furthermore, it'll be an interesting lesson for Kreuzer if Fletch moves off him as much as I want him to. I think your forward line will produce about 10 goals, most of them from Fev.

At the other end, Essendon has got a lot of options. Anyone of Lloyd, Lucas and Neagle can kick a bag, McPhee, Monfries and hopefully Rama can all kick a couple each. In the past, Waite on Lucas has been draw, and Lloyd has either been beaten (you win the game) or kicked a bag (we win the game) on Setanta or whoever else you put on him. What we saw last week was a forward line structure which had the potential to result in any mismatches in our favour being exploited. We had one key forward in the goalsquare, one about 25 out, directly in front, and one on each flank, about 40 out. These spots were filled by Lloyd, Lucas, McPhee, Neagle and the resting ruckman. If Neagle, Lloyd or Lucas is given a match-up where he is much stronger, he will be plonked in the goalsquare, and isolated. Also, if McPhee is given a short defender, he will be plonked in the goalsquare. This means that, effectively, Carlton has to play 4-5 tall defenders at any one time. If we do what I expect us to do, and rotate the forwards based on match-ups, I'd expect Ratten to counter that by playing his key forwards in positions (not to players), and letting whoever's in the goalsquare have Setanta, whoever's 25 out to have Waite, etc. If you did that, I'd be worried about Lucas and Lloyd playing up the ground a bit on likely 3rd choice, or shorter, defenders. If that happens, we'll win the game. Overall, I think our forward line will kick 13-15, including Monfries who'll be making Scotland accountable.

So that puts us 3-5 goals in front when we come to the midfield.

Clearly your midfield is better than ours. However, with Hille and Laycock, we'll be getting first use of the ball most times. With Welsh and Lonergan in exceptional form in tight, and some of our more piercing kicks (Stanton, Myers, Houli if he plays) I think our midfield should make it 40-60 to even. With Hille, Laycock and McVeigh all known goalkickers, and the rest capable of producing 3-4, I think we have you covered.

Essendon by 20 after a nervous last quarter.

When was the last time an Essendon team stopped Fev scoring at least 6 goals?

If we do as you say and we dont score more than 10 goals, your team will be swabbed, they have leaked 120+ points per game this year, why will this week be any different?

When was the last time an Essendon team stopped Fev scoring at least 6 goals?

If we do as you say and we dont score more than 10 goals, your team will be swabbed, they have leaked 120+ points per game this year, why will this week be any different?

Anything can happen, thats why!

people are getting way to pumped up about this cartlon side... two weeks ago they had only won 3 games.. the game against port adelaide they played one outstanding quarter which lucky for them got them over the line and they played well against collingwood which is always a close game which cartlon have lift for each time htey play... They are really not that good....... if we can get some players like houli, lovett etc back in the side i think we have enough ammunition to knock over carlton..

essendon by 13

ryder to play on fev and hold him to less than 4 goals.

hmmmmm very interesting..

we reached three wins two weeks ago you reached it 5 days ago...
now we have 6 wins and ur still on 3....

if ur calling the port win lucky then look back at our win v collingwood last week & u guys last year (50 points down ended up winning)..

u guys have some decent young midfielder and a back to form forward line but do you really think you can win.... we have finals to play for u have priority picks.... oh and btw if ryder plays on fev ill have $10 he kickes 6 or more!!:thumbsu::thumbsu: