Draft Watcher Young Talent Time 2013 - A Phantom Draft

Rookie draft for me. Of the WA 'smalls', I prefer both Charlie Cameron and Steven Edwards. And not only that, but he is also competing with the likes of Dwayne Wilson, Orazio Fantasia, Jay Kennedy Harris, Brady Grey and Clayton McCartney in the middle to later rounds.

In the lower leagues, I feel like Bourne would have a good impact up the ground on a wing. But not sure that will translate to the AFL, where you need to be two way players. He has a body like Jeff Garlett, which will likely see him remain up forward. In which case, a bit more tackling pressure like his teammate in Cameron would be nice.

Thanks mate, I'd be looking at him as pretty much that Garlett role at Richmond. We literally have nothing. No one that creates any fear in the opposition.

Charlie Cameron is another I like though does he have the offensive tricks to match his defensive game? Saunders is the other I'm big on as a small forward was hoping to get him as a rookie and saw him at 45 in yours. But then your write up has him as a probable rookie which makes me happy.

Impey and Wilson I doubt we have a pick for although there is some info on our board we may do some pick swapping with GC again.

Malcolm Karpany is an underrated one outside of you & TFLUA-Tiger's posts. I think he is probably on a par with Wilson without the same fanfare. Do you think that's a fair call?

JKH I don't rate. Grey I haven't seen much of at all but apparently he's one we are looking at seems we are going late into the draft. Fantasia I'm certain will be a star at SANFL level, but not convinced he makes the step up. Just a gut feel based on nothing. But it's probably better than most of the others that I do like. Finally, McCartney I keep changing my mind on. I have questions on his speed but then he has a real footy brain which seems to make up for it.

Thanks mate, I'd be looking at him as pretty much that Garlett role at Richmond. We literally have nothing. No one that creates any fear in the opposition.

Charlie Cameron is another I like though does he have the offensive tricks to match his defensive game? Saunders is the other I'm big on as a small forward was hoping to get him as a rookie and saw him at 45 in yours. But then your write up has him as a probable rookie which makes me happy.

Impey and Wilson I doubt we have a pick for although there is some info on our board we may do some pick swapping with GC again.

Malcolm Karpany is an underrated one outside of you & TFLUA-Tiger's posts. I think he is probably on a par with Wilson without the same fanfare. Do you think that's a fair call?

JKH I don't rate. Grey I haven't seen much of at all but apparently he's one we are looking at seems we are going late into the draft. Fantasia I'm certain will be a star at SANFL level, but not convinced he makes the step up. Just a gut feel based on nothing. But it's probably better than most of the others that I do like. Finally, McCartney I keep changing my mind on. I have questions on his speed but then he has a real footy brain which seems to make up for it.

If Fremantle hadn't have picked Josh Simpson last year, I would seriously consider Jarman Impey with our first round pick. He is every bit as good as Steven Motlop in my opinion, and I just don't see him not making it at AFL level.

As for the others, I rate Dwayne Wilson very highly (he should be higher in my draft) and Orazio Fantasia ahead of Malcolm Karpany. Both play that high half forward role well, but there is just something about Fantasia I prefer - think it's the way he moves, plus he reads the ball so well which makes him an effective crumber. I really like his midfield game too, could see him being a good burst player on a wing. Realistically, neither would be guaranteed selection in the national draft though. Karpany is a solid all round player though.

Alex Saunders is one I rate more highly than most. I do think he will be a rookie pick though, because he isn't the most natural small forward. He plays more a hard running, midfield role. Reminds me more of Brad Hill, having that similar endurance base. So it will be interesting to see what kind of role there is for him. The other I see as a rookie is Clayton McCartney, and that's because he is still very inconsistent. Plus I've found him to more get on the end of good play, as opposed to making it happen himself. But when he is on, he can be very good.

Charlie Cameron has enough tricks to make him dangerous up forward, it's the combination of that plus his defensive pressure which makes him attractive though. Similarly, with Brady Grey it's the extra size in the body and midfield ability which you're getting with him. Much more well rounded players as opposed to some of the others.

For Richmond, I would take as many as possible. I feel like speed and that ability to rip apart a game in the space of 5 minutes is what they are lacking compared to the other top 8 teams - both in the midfield and up forward. Best case would be Dwayne Wilson or Dayle Garlett being available at your second pick, but that likely wont happen with where you're picking. It's a shame #12 would be too early for Impey, because he'd be perfect.

Impey is the one I really want. We don't do well with indigenous kids and I feel like we have gotten a bit gun shy after Troy Taylor, Relton Roberts, Alroy Gilligan, Carl Peterson, Richard Tambling and the list goes on and on. But Impey is a Victorian with no go home factor, like a Gilligan or Roberts and seems like a good kid like Peterson and Taylor and hopefully doesn't get picked before the next Buddy. :D

Salem is the one we want at pick 12 and he's very unlikely to be there so I'm hoping we can suck a team into letting us downgrade to get Impey and maybe a Dunstan. Come on GC or Saints do a deal.

I'd say Cameron is more the type we would lean towards because his defensive game shows a real desire to compete, and we could certainly do with a Brad Hill type. The more the better, our forward line needs some re-shaping.

I'm just trying to recall good small forwards I saw this year. I went to a few sandy games this year given they had a few players I liked. Karl Amon was not bad for them at times I think? Will probably be there at Richmond's later picks.

Karl Amon is another one of those that I see going late. I'm not quite as big on him as others, because I don't see him as having a defined role. He plays more like a midfielder than small forward, but isn't a big ball winner. With his speed and foot skills, I think developing him down back would be the best option. Should come into calculations from the third round, although I do prefer others.

Chris I hope you don't mind but I posted your picks at the current draft positions on our board. Personally I have been interested in Giles, Tsitas and Robertson knowing that we were going to have a number of second round picks. If (and it won't) it fell this way I would be ecstatic. Are any renowned hard workers on the track who try to get the best out of themselves. Would rather heart than (cl)ass at club.
7. Brisbane - Jack Billings
22. Brisbane - Trent Dumont
25. Brisbane - Cameron Giles
28. Brisbane - James Tsitas
33. Brisbane - Nick Robertson
34. Brisbane - Darcy Cameron

Chris I hope you don't mind but I posted your picks at the current draft positions on our board. Personally I have been interested in Giles, Tsitas and Robertson knowing that we were going to have a number of second round picks. If (and it won't) it fell this way I would be ecstatic. Are any renowned hard workers on the track who try to get the best out of themselves. Would rather heart than (cl)ass at club.
7. Brisbane - Jack Billings
22. Brisbane - Trent Dumont
25. Brisbane - Cameron Giles
28. Brisbane - James Tsitas
33. Brisbane - Nick Robertson
34. Brisbane - Darcy Cameron

Brisbane are in an interesting position now, what with so many second rounders. I was doing a little tinkering of my draft, and the second round is a bit more difficult to predict than in previous years. There will be some hugely varying opinions on players. If Brisbane can get it right, then they would have done well. Otherwise...

If you're looking for hard workers, then you can't really go past the likes of Dumont and Tsitas. Really all of those guys would fit. Always hard to predict just how someone will handle the change in lifestyle once they hit the AFL environment though, particularly moving interstate. And just to give you something else to think about, here is what I was considering for my next update...

#7 - Marcus Bontempelli
#22 - Zak Jones
#25 - Trent Dumont
#28 - Darcy Hourigan
#33 - Eli Templeton
#34 - James Tsitas

With later/rookie picks probably going towards some back flankers (Bennett, Langdon, Herbert, Bourke, Wasley-Black) and maybe a couple of talls/ruckmen.

Brisbane are in an interesting position now, what with so many second rounders. I was doing a little tinkering of my draft, and the second round is a bit more difficult to predict than in previous years. There will be some hugely varying opinions on players. If Brisbane can get it right, then they would have done well. Otherwise...

If you're looking for hard workers, then you can't really go past the likes of Dumont and Tsitas. Really all of those guys would fit. Always hard to predict just how someone will handle the change in lifestyle once they hit the AFL environment though, particularly moving interstate. And just to give you something else to think about, here is what I was considering for my next update...

#7 - Marcus Bontempelli
#22 - Zak Jones
#25 - Trent Dumont
#28 - Darcy Hourigan
#33 - Eli Templeton
#34 - James Tsitas

With later/rookie picks probably going towards some back flankers (Bennett, Langdon, Herbert, Bourke, Wasley-Black) and maybe a couple of talls/ruckmen.
Gee, if they get that lot they could end up in front after all!!! I think Jones will be a gun.

I think brisbane would be crazy not to take a gamble on conlon with one of their picks in the 30's. Its an obvious need for their side. It may backfire but with all those picks in that range they can take the risk.

Sent from my GT-S5830 using Tapatalk 2

Hi Chris,
asking the same question of Knightmare:
Wondering if anyone would have Hodge/Chapman/Selwood type personality and leadership who could be around at #13 or #32?
Carlton are seriously lacking this.

Thanks.

Marsh reminds me of Membrey and we know how he fell off, maybe a fair bit quicker

I don't see much of Membrey in Marsh personally, they are quite different players. In his draft year, Membrey was basically a full forward in a midfielder's body - his game was for the most part about strength and contested marking. Whereas, Marsh is almost the opposite. He is (for the sake of this argument) a midfielder in a full forward's body. The benefit of that compared to Membrey is that he offers far more flexibility, as well as having far more natural talent.

Ultimately, will Marsh go where I have him? No. But those who are suggesting him for their team's second round pick will be sorely disappointed.

Gee, if they get that lot they could end up in front after all!!! I think Jones will be a gun.

A lot would have to go right. And even then, I'm not convinced Hourigan and Templeton will be that highly rated by a lot of recruiters.

I think brisbane would be crazy not to take a gamble on conlon with one of their picks in the 30's. Its an obvious need for their side. It may backfire but with all those picks in that range they can take the risk.

It's an interesting one. I do think someone will take the risk on Conlon earlier than what some may expect given his injuries. But, is that club Brisbane? I probably wouldn't if I were them. They've lost 5 young players who would likely have been pencilled in as best 22 in 2014, plus Simon Black on top of that.

So yes, they have the sheer volume of picks to take that risk. But they need players who will have an impact in their first couple of seasons - and players who can replace the run and carry they've lost from the mass exodus. If there is one positive for Brisbane, it's that none of their young KPFs have left - they still have Paparone and Close from last year, along with Freeman this year.

Hi Chris,
asking the same question of Knightmare:
Wondering if anyone would have Hodge/Chapman/Selwood type personality and leadership who could be around at #13 or #32?
Carlton are seriously lacking this.

Thanks.

Perhaps asking a bit much, if you're looking for someone to emulate either Hodge or Selwood. But...

For me, arguably two of the best leaders in the draft would be Dom Sheed and Luke Dunstan. The problem is that Sheed will likely be gone by the time Carlton pick, while it may also be a tad too early for Dunstan (although my own personal rankings don't exactly reflect this). Lewis Taylor and Christian Salem would be two players I'm sure Carlton would love to slip through to them, while Matt Crouch is the type who leads by example.

Come the second round, I'm sure they would again love for James Tsitas to be available. While Ben Cavarra is another one who has shown good leadership qualities.

Yeah I don't think you've watched him enough, watch him for Wesley, hardly puts a foot wrong.

Reckon you've watched him a few times and set an image of the player you think he is, rather than what is actually the case.

He'll stand out as one of "the" talents next season, more so than he did this year.

I've seen him play something like seven games now and he had a few on field problems in three of them and in two of those he was just doing really stupid and unnecessary things.

I hope he stands out a little more next year. At the moment there a just a few things that fell short of expectation especially when i watched him in the Colts.

Even if he doesn't become a gun he'll be better than Polec. Likewise Templeton will be better than Docherty. Though I don't see Templeton getting to the Docherty pick.

I've seen him play something like seven games now and he had a few on field problems in three of them and in two of those he was just doing really stupid and unnecessary things.

I hope he stands out a little more next year. At the moment there a just a few things that fell short of expectation especially when i watched him in the Colts.
Eastern what happened to being the major sponsor of Simon Tunbridge ?

G'day Chris,
The Fonz wants to know who Port is likely to target at 21. He asked for three candidates.
Thanks.

#7 - Marcus Bontempelli
#22 - Zak Jones
#25 - Trent Dumont
#28 - Darcy Hourigan
#33 - Eli Templeton
#34 - James Tsitas

That would be a massive draft, from all reports. Not sure why people are saying there is no depth in this draft, if Brisbane can realistically get that much quality with those picks.

G'day Chris,
The Fonz wants to know who Port is likely to target at 21. He asked for three candidates.
Thanks.

Port Adelaide are in a good position to stay local - Luke Dunstan, Trent Dumont and Dwayne Wilson.

That would be a massive draft, from all reports. Not sure why people are saying there is no depth in this draft, if Brisbane can realistically get that much quality with those picks.

The way it has ended up so far, Brisbane finished with more of the 'bigger names' of the second round. So taken out of context, it may make things look better than what they are.

I consider the draft to have a number of tiers...

#1 to #4 - Boyd, Scharenberg, Aish, Kelly
#5 to #15 - the likes of Billings, Kolodjashnij, Bontempelli, Taylor, Acres, etc...
#16 to #25 - the other fringe first round picks, like Crouch, Dumont, Gardiner and others

But then after that top 25, it evens out quite dramatically. For example, I have Darcy Lang inside the top 30 and George Hewett in the second round. Substitute those two players in for Brisbane's picks, and suddenly it doesn't hold that same 'BigFooty appeal'.

Port Adelaide are in a good position to stay local - Luke Dunstan, Trent Dumont and Dwayne Wilson.

The way it has ended up so far, Brisbane finished with more of the 'bigger names' of the second round. So taken out of context, it may make things look better than what they are.

#5 to #15 - the likes of Billings, Kolodjashnij, Bontempelli, Taylor, Acres, etc...
#16 to #25 - the other fringe first round picks, like Crouch, Dumont, Gardiner and others

But then after that top 25, it evens out quite dramatically. For example, I have Darcy Lang inside the top 30 and George Hewett in the second round. Substitute those two players in for Brisbane's picks, and suddenly it doesn't hold that same 'BigFooty appeal'.

Muppets like Callum Twomey, the bloke can't even get a suit tailored, releasing a "top 30" creates an impression that there isn't any depth, I tend to think its a really even pool, enough quality in the first 3 rounds for me.

With 6 picks including 7, 3 in the 20's and 2 in the 30's I expect the Lions will take a risk or two. Perhaps the ex hawk Thorp? Maybe McCarthy at 7!! The 'stable' week in/week out Lions players are still at the club so if they can 'fluke' a gun and one very good player out of the draft they will be in front - easier said than done!!
Will be interesting to see whether the Doggies want to build on their already strong developing midfield or whether they go for a utility in Sharenberg, Bontipelli or even a project/development player like McCarthy as a tall. The Bullies have used early picks in other years on projects.
Whatever there may be some surprises.

With 6 picks including 7, 3 in the 20's and 2 in the 30's I expect the Lions will take a risk or two. Perhaps the ex hawk Thorp? Maybe McCarthy at 7!! The 'stable' week in/week out Lions players are still at the club so if they can 'fluke' a gun and one very good player out of the draft they will be in front - easier said than done!!

Will be interesting to see whether the Doggies want to build on their already strong developing midfield or whether they go for a utility in Sharenberg, Bontipelli or even a project/development player like McCarthy as a tall. The Bullies have used early picks in other years on projects.
Whatever there may be some surprises.

I don't see Brisbane going for a genuine key forward like a Thorp or McCarthy, not with the addition of Paine to go with Paparone, Close and Freeman. If they wanted to take a 'risk' I think it would be more likely they go for a Bontempelli, Kolodjashnij, Acres or Marsh - a midfielder with real size. Otherwise, I think they'll just stick with the best midfielder plus some half backs. Perhaps they use one of their many second round picks on someone like a Sam Bennett or Nick Bourke, a high ceiling guy not getting much attention. They can still surprise with later picks.

As for the Bulldogs, I'd just keep it simple and take whoever is available of Aish, Kelly and Scharenberg. Outside midfield skill is what they need. They don't need to overthink things.

Looking at GWS list, after taking Boyd, they really should be going best genuine midfielder with preferably bigger body. They , like Collingwood have shorter type mids atm.

Industry types seem to be saying Kelly is the man but he just doesn't strike as a Pick 2 to me.

GWS also has an aversion to S.A. kids, so rule out Aish and Scarenburg.

I'm trying to work out a personal Phantom Order but am stuck at #2 lol.

I see GWS going Billings or Bontempelli. They look #2 quality to me.

PS: I think Carlton might go for McCarthy at #13. Do you see anyone beating them to the punch? #13 seems about his right place and God knows Blues have to pull the trigger on a KPF.

McCarthy looks to have J.Riewoldt's natural style and a few extra cm's to boot.