- Banned
The way he moves has a touch of O'Meara about it
A big enough touch to use a first round pick on him?
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
I think Twomey mentioned that Hewett may go in the twenties and that Freo may consider taking Hartung. No inside info but thought it was a chance.
Underlined his elite endurance last week at the combine, when he ran an all-time record 16.6 in the beep test. Hartung set himself to break Bradley Hill's 16.1, set in 2011, and willed himself up and down the line. The Dandenong Stingray is small but has elite foot skills, a burst of speed, and clearly can run all day. He brings some zip to every game he plays, be it through the middle, close to goal or streaming from half-back.
Every player we have drafted in the first round has had elite foot skills, so I can see Lloyd being interested in him.
Yes, that and the elite endurance + his ability to play many positions. Sounds like a good little package.
Oh and the speed.
Hartung is a touch on the short side
Hartung has the touch of a B.Harvey about him IMO.
No dick-heads is equivalent to no lying-snivelling-arse-wipes;so if the 'touch of B' is to do with the kid's character he won't fit the list management model.Hartung has the touch of a B.Harvey about him IMO.
Also, the draft is on Fox Footy every year, so i would assume 2013 would be no different. Normally mid/late arvo WST
Just made my third pick. Unfortunately, I had planned to pick Tom Vandeleur but he was taken at the pick right before me. So I had to settle for Mitch Harvey.
I don't think he's necessarily drifted. It's more that people have finally stopped overrating his draft position - which is anywhere from the third round onwards. Like I said in my write up, those who had only seen him play once or twice were getting carried away.
RTB doesn't seem to handle the less athletically gifted with any compassion or latitude. In fact down right aggressive seems to the norm for "fat" players. If the guy genuinely has no endurance I am, sure that RTB will have some strong words for whoever picks him.To tell you the truth his video kind of reminds me of an Ash Hansen type, which wouldn't go well with a low endurance base, you wouldn't have thought.
Could Tuck the Younger be considered young talent at 24? How has he been going in the SANFL?
FWIW I have had some word that Brissie are very keen on McCarthy and Acres is a good chance for us now. Source is a player manager
Would not be unhappy with Acres at all. As long as we can nab someone like Brown or Giles with out second pick.FWIW I have had some word that Brissie are very keen on McCarthy and Acres is a good chance for us now. Source is a player manager
I can see it happening. They have no key forwards developing, so they pick him up early and draft midfielders with all the picks they have in the 20's.FWIW I have had some word that Brissie are very keen on McCarthy and Acres is a good chance for us now. Source is a player manager