Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion Part 2

So the dockers for example should sacrifice one of their 11 home games to play at the MCG and lose that game? Gotcha lol

Why would you lose that game? That's a defeatist attitude.

Hawks decided to play home games in Tasmania and have become almost unbeatable there.

Why would you lose that game? That's a defeatist attitude.

Hawks decided to play home games in Tasmania and have become almost unbeatable there.
Hawks get on a plane, sleep in hotels, are away from family and usual fans....yet supposedly have a home ground advantage!!

The WA and SA sooks are hilarious

Travel is only a disadvantage to them, Port are disadvantaged by travelling to Tassie...but Hawks get an advantage when travelling to Tassie.

So the dockers for example should sacrifice one of their 11 home games to play at the MCG and lose that game? Gotcha lol
It's actually not a bad idea if for example Freo were in a premiership window to play a game at the MCG against a weak Marvel club eg North. Invaluable experience on the G and you shouldn't lose.

Nah.... I rather keep the 11 or 12 home games in Perth. Then have the mandatory or minimum 1 MCG game every year.

And the bonus is that using VICBias wowser logic, Freo would still get full home ground advantage and not actually suffer any travel disadvantage because they chose to sell a home game. 👍

First off it’s “Maiden” call. Second you obviously cannot comprehend what the word “Facts” means. Come back with something better than Vic bias trash if you want to continue this discourse. 😮‍💨
Ah so you know what I meant by my comment. Good for you.
I appreciate that advantaged people try to pick specific single points as some proof that an entire argument is false.

That I said that in this case, the bias was due to money, isn’t Vic bias, it’s money bias.
Simply look at the way the fixture is structured. It’s to maximise money, and nothing to do with an equal competition. You will deny it, and ridicule it, but that’s your “mating” call.

The “former VFL” bit I added because the competition protects the non viable parts of Victorian involvement in the competition, however it’s likely that they form the leverage to maintain the concentration of power & flow of dollars required to maintain viability of the Docklands investment. So it’s still money ultimately.

But yeah, dismiss it like you will.

If you mean port - they came fifth - and that was Richmond’s single top 8 scalp away from the mcg in seasons 2016/2017/2018

I’m not just talking interstate - they were beaten by bottom ten sides at Etihad…..

Yes they beat Port who were 4th at the time in Adelaide in July. But you only focus on the game in Adelaide in April when they were going through a bad patch losing 4 in a row.

They beat the Swans away from the G in 2018. And what on earth has 2016 got to do with anything, that was before they came good, they finished 13th. And why are you ignoring 2019?

Ah so you know what I meant by my comment. Good for you.
I appreciate that advantaged people try to pick specific single points as some proof that an entire argument is false.

That I said that in this case, the bias was due to money, isn’t Vic bias, it’s money bias.
Simply look at the way the fixture is structured. It’s to maximise money, and nothing to do with an equal competition. You will deny it, and ridicule it, but that’s your “mating” call.

The “former VFL” bit I added because the competition protects the non viable parts of Victorian involvement in the competition, however it’s likely that they form the leverage to maintain the concentration of power & flow of dollars required to maintain viability of the Docklands investment. So it’s still money ultimately.

But yeah, dismiss it like you will.
Still nothing.

Now do the non Victorian sides.
Where WA Clubs Are Disadvantaged:

No Academy Pipelines – Sydney, Brisbane, Gold Coast, and GWS get priority access to elite junior talent
More Travel - geography is a bitch
More away games - at unfamiliar grounds
MCG Grand Final – Poor Perth based fans can't walk to GF like they used to in WAFL days. They get shafted by airlines if they want to go.
Minimal MCG exposure - compounding MCG GF is that WA teams rarely play their during H&A
Rarely get prime time national Games – 7:30pm EST is prime time for commercial broadcast networks. But that is 5:30 or currently (4:30) WA time.

Where WA clubs Have an Advantage:

No selling of Home Games - a huge advantage over Melbourne clubs, who don't play their home games at the single venue.
10+ games with a true home advantage - self explanatory
Away games at neutral venues (or Optus) where the home team has also travelled - getting to play "away" games against North in WA, Melbourne in NT
Go home advantage - Less Competition for Players and WA players are over-represented compared to club numbers.
Financial Inequality – Powerhouse financials due to two-team town advantages in the second biggest footy State
Home ground advantage in week 1-3 of finals - unlike many VIC teams, WA get home ground advantage in finals.

There's a good argument Richmond would have made the GF in 2018, finished 2 games and percentage clear on top of the ladder but got no HGA in any of their finals.
Poor Kranky always ignores the fact that unlike his Eagles, Victorian teams don't get a home ground advantage in weeks 1-3 of finals.

The entire concept of "earning" home ground advantage in finals is something the WA wowsers have made up. Finals were always separate and just played at biggest venue to get bums on seats and $$ for the league.

Richmond were dudded in 2018
Then in 2019 they went and won a final in QLD
2020 they won all their finals outside of VIC.

After 30 years of being horrible, Richmond finally cobbled together an outstanding team, with an all time finals great in Dusty delivering them some flags.

Hawks get on a plane, sleep in hotels, are away from family and usual fans....yet supposedly have a home ground advantage!!

The WA and SA sooks are hilarious

Travel is only a disadvantage to them, Port are disadvantaged by travelling to Tassie...but Hawks get an advantage when travelling to Tassie.
Yet you complain about west coast and Freo having 10 home ground games as too much of an advantage lol

Because it is not offset by 10 away grounds at the preferred home ground of their opponent.

Why, because Melbourne based teams are forced to sell their home games.

Collingwood travel to play 5 Non-Vic teams at their home ground every year. We rarely if ever actually get to play 5 Non-Vic teams at the G.

Why, because the AFL wants blockbusters between Collingwood and Melbourne, Richmond etc.

They don't give either team any advantage, a local derbies are mentally taxing...just ask WC who request to not play their Derby in final week of the season as it is too hard on the players.

Because Richmond were much better in September than May?
That’s why they lost to Collingwood?

I don’t think even you believe this argument but I do see a lot of the advantaged club fans rallying around it. That teams that got smacked away but win at home simply got better in between rather than the far more likely explanation that home ground advantage is significant.

Downright corruption in some cases, but selectively so it doesnt seem too obvious...but to anyone paying attention it IS bleeding obvious. Other clubs get the rub now and then, but I haven't seen such a consistent PATTERN as Collingwood getting late fees go their way in close games since late 2022 in my 30 years watching. It coincided with all the media hubub about them too. Hawthorn in 15-16 came closest. Arguably Bulldogs late in 16. Never remember complaining much about them prior to them. Surely I'm not alone.
you said the same in the game day thread. Evidence of this pattern?.

So you’ve pretty much conceded that a home GF is to your advantage.

Took about 180 pages to get there.
Then you haven't been reading my posts.

I've conceded the advantage of home ground GF since the thread started.

Reading is obviously not your strong suit.

Fans need to start boycotting afl games and hit them in the pocket. If they see blatant unfair umpiring just walk out of the stands, switch off the TV, tell the afl they'll be tuning out until it's rectified.

Unfortunately for many, including myself, footy has become an addiction, an opiate for the masses. Like a lot of modern day entertainment it's used to control us.
Yep, I've saying this for years in this thread, probably more in context for non vic fans.

Every fan has the right to boycott from the stands and the tv remotes. But they don't, instead jump on BF and sook about it.

What are the non viable parts? Are you talking the smaller vic clubs? If not please elaborate and if not.

The smallest vic club has 50k members (north), to be conservative they'd probably have at least double that on top of that are paying non members. So, the afl would consider them viable.

'So it’s still money ultimately.' Umm yeah, always has been and always will be.< This is why there is vic bias, it's leaned toward the most important factor.

The fans, they're the revenue raisers, and that's why HQ won't risk 150k paying North fans. Coz there's more vic fans, that's why the bias leads that way.

Not 'favouritism' it's money.

^ This has been explained eleventy billion times already.

Yes it is. The reasons have been explained eleventy billion times already.

Accept it or don't. Up to you.
Yet you’re still here even though your team benefits, so it’s either to gloat or sling shit at people.

Collingwood will likely win the flag and it’ll probably be against GWS, so there’s going to be another asterisk next to another MCG tenant flag.

But hey, VFL

It’s not just games at the mcg it’s also who you play.

So often your one game a year at the mcg is against a cellar dweller like perennially crap Melbourne. Meanwhile you play Collingwood at Etihad and hawks in tassie.

In round 12 2015 eagles played Richmond at the mcg - Melbourne in Darwin, Collingwood at marvel.

One game in round 12 at the gf venue out of three possibles.
That's true. Playing the Dees at the MCG in front of 25k people on a Sunday arvo doesn't really help you when you come up against a team like Collingwood in the finals on a Friday/Saturday night and there's a crowd of 80k+ wearing black and white screaming at you / the umpires all game trying to get any advantage they can possibly get. You'd rather play a team like Collingwood at the G during the season because you know there's always going to be at least 50k in attendance regardless of the opposition and it's good practice for the environment you could face in the finals/Grand Final. The Bulldogs game last night was a great example of that and that experience could really help the Dogs later in the season if they find themselves in a tense final at the MCG and there's a massive crowd in attendance.

It's a good point. The fairest thing would be Pies to get 17 games at the G to give all teams an opportunity to experience a finals like environment

The fairest thing to do would be to rotate the Grand Final venue and force teams like Collingwood to travel as much as the non-Victorian clubs. That's not going to happen though, so we're just trying to find small wins that can get us closer to a more equitable situation.

The "force teams like Collingwood to travel as much as the non-Victorian clubs" is just impractical/silly.

10 clubs in Vic (9 in Melb), and 8 outside.

Where do you think the majority of Vic club's 'away' games are going to be?
To 'fix' that would require massively screw the fixture (and cost the clubs/AFL a hell of a lot of money).

The latter part is also why the GF stays at the MCG...the AFL makes a LOT more money that way....and if you think that doesn't matter, how would you feel about them making significant cuts to their spending?

Bye bye GWS/GC.

Bye bye junior funding.

Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion Part 2