Autopsy Round 5, 2022: St.Kilda v Gold Coast

Interesting hearing King say yesterday that he has gone from 88kg when he first got to the Saints, to 95kg now. Given he's had four pre seasons of lifting weights, it's not a massive increase. Love that they are prioritising his athleticism and not getting sucked in to make him as big as possible, as quick as possible. Daniher is only listed as 97kg and I don't see a need for King to be much bigger than that.
There is no problem with King Physically although he has not played on the 3 top full backs yet. I think it is his marking, he does drop at least 4 a game and in good positions as well- pretty frustrating because he could easily have had at least another 6/7 goals to his name.

This is ages but we've been the sixth oldest I think
View attachment 1376847

We haven't got as many kids as other sides as we sat out of drafts to bring in established talents and mature state league players. It messes with our averages. We don't actually have as many really old players as others either. Especially older players in our best 22 so our middle aged list is a bit unusual in that they are low on experience but higher on average age.

There is no problem with King Physically although he has not played on the 3 top full backs yet. I think it is his marking, he does drop at least 4 a game and in good positions as well- pretty frustrating because he could easily have had at least another 6/7 goals to his name.
He's done well in the past on Andrews and Weitering. It'll be good to see him up against May in a few weeks. I reckon he's got a lot better with the dropped marks this year. He's not marking absolutely everything, but I'm not noticing him dropping those ones he should be taking as much as last year.

We haven't got as many kids as other sides as we sat out of drafts to bring in established talents and mature state league players. It messes with our averages. We don't actually have as many really old players as others either. Especially older players in our best 22 so our middle aged list is a bit unusual in that they are low on experience but higher on average age.
Definitely want to see us grabbing more draft talent moving forward, but we’ve traded really well and have some “young” mid-career-age players who may still blossom with game time and be vital cogs.

Milera is a weapon because he try’s to hit targets. Lienart is just a bigger savage. We can do without that type of he is replaced by a play maker. And from what I’ve seen even though he is tall he doesn’t seem a great defender

Lienert wasn't as good as last week but he's got precision when needed. His kick outs make a difference too. Playing defence clearing the ball out is hard when you're pressured on every kick. If it's going to come back in, having it 100 meters from your goal is better than having it 50 meters away. Milera actually kicked a lot of average kicks in this one but the ones that hit were jaw droppers. He's playing pretty much as a free wheeling unaccountable wing right now.

View attachment 1376895
Good footballer has become elite.
That includes around 8 quarters as a mid. He has improved but he was on an upward curve before Enright got there. Even last year I reckon his second half of the season was better than his first. That may not be right but that’s what I sort of remember. Also winning 4 out of 5 usually helps stats. I think we should wait for the next 4 games before we declare to much. All I’d say is at the moment we are going very well. 4 weeks ago most completely lost the plot so 4 weeks is a king time in footy.

Was looking at the games played for each club side this week and we've fielded the 4th or 5th least experienced side. Not sure if the Hawk will play a less experienced side as I can't be bothered working out the average. Promising signs with a relatively inexperienced side with a few key outs
Pretty much equal in age and experience to Gold Coast on the weekend.

Screen Shot 2022-04-18 at 13.26.53.png

Lienert wasn't as good as last week but he's got precision when needed. His kick outs make a difference too. Playing defence clearing the ball out is hard when you're pressured on every kick. If it's going to come back in, having it 100 meters from your goal is better than having it 50 meters away. Milera actually kicked a lot of average kicks in this one but the ones that hit were jaw droppers. He's playing pretty much as a free wheeling unaccountable wing right now.
You liked savage so it seems you like players who seem to have one huge asset and that’s kicking long. Like savage clubs will start playing an attacking player on lienart. I have as second replaced at the moment behind windhanger.

Our averages will go through the washer next offseason. Both games played and age profile.

Good chance we lose Ryder Hanners and gears. That means only Hill will be in the list with 200+ games. (Still needs 5 more)

Kent probably gets delisted (28 this year) and Campbell (31)

We probably draft a first round pick. But it is also the right off-season to bring in or Atleast consider a bigger fish too.

That includes around 8 quarters as a mid. He has improved but he was on an upward curve before Enright got there. Even last year I reckon his second half of the season was better than his first. That may not be right but that’s what I sort of remember. Also winning 4 out of 5 usually helps stats. I think we should wait for the next 4 games before we declare to much. All I’d say is at the moment we are going very well. 4 weeks ago most completely lost the plot so 4 weeks is a king time in footy.
I don't know whether Enright has contributed or not, but Sinclair has definitely stepped up again this year. That's not a guarantee that it'll continue all year, but this is the best five weeks of footy he's played. He did really well when in midfield, but his form at half back is just as impressive. He looks as good as any half back in the comp at the moment. His run and carry, his kicking, his swooping on ground balls in defence and his accumulation are all functioning at a very high level. He took big strides forward last year (clearly, with a second in the b&f), but he looks like he realises how damaging he can be at the moment. Hopefully it continues.

I agree plugger. He still needs to perform the rest of the season. But right now he is performing as an elite footballer in the same vein as Enright. Half back/midfield.

Lienert is an average footballer. Not sure the big kick on him is always used to maximum effect by him.

I would love if we had Coffield injury free and back to his 2020 best.

Carlton, Fremantle and Sydney (a whole 12 months) are all younger than us on the weekend So points to them having a likely reasonable future. Sydney especially. 11 players under 50 games in their current 22. Parker, Rampe, Lloyd and Reid bring their games average above us though.

West Coast on the other hand...

1650253211416.png

I think there was two instances where he dished off to others in a no better position when he should have taken the shot himself , ironically it happed after he missed an easy shot on the run , its like he didn't want the responsibility to take the shot at goal
He isn't the only one as well, but being he is a good kick would love him to be having a crack when clear and there are no better options. I'd say we're better off turning it over for a kick in rather than a half forward turnover as well as we can set up better.

Occasionally around goal we're probably taking team first to the point where we make it hard for ourselves. Not a massive issue, but nice to see goals on the run

After the game, Jack Higgins was asked about the turnaround in form this year, and he said it was due to a strong pre season and a good defence coach coming in. Is that a dig at Hamill?

Well considering Hilly got 4 last week, I’d say he’s happy to go if he is the best option and happy to pass it off if he doesn’t believe he is.

Having said that, I am overseas and didn’t see the game at all so maybe he had more opportunities to do it himself this week and didn’t. Fine line between being called selfish ( as Higgins found out in round 1 , unfairly I believe) and doing the team thing.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app
Yeah nah just a couple he was in the clear and should have had a ping being he is a good kick but either didn't want to take responsibility or was trying play team 1st. No major issue, was awesome to see him kick 4 last week and I want more😃

We can lock Paton in the backline for the next 10 years IMO, he’s not going anywhere. The fact that he’s straight back in after the debilitating injury he had probably says it all.
I wouldn't call a broken leg debilitating but yes he is a very good reliable player for us and should be for many years to come

This is ages but we've been the sixth oldest I think
View attachment 1376847

That stat doesn’t bother me one bit because there’s no one in our older echelon of players that we really rely on aside from Ryder… we’ve picked up a lot of older blokes as depth but our performance is not reliant on them …

Ryder, geary, Campbell, hanners , lienart (cover for coffield), wood (cover for billings) all in that older group that we could happily live without …

Geelong on the other hand danger, smith, Selwood, hawkins , Duncan, Guthrie, Stanley, Blicavs, Dahlhaus all 30+ or 30 this year

Take them out and they finish bottom

That stat doesn’t bother me one bit because there’s no one in our older echelon of players that we really rely on aside from Ryder… we’ve picked up a lot of older blokes as depth but our performance is not reliant on them …

Ryder, geary, Campbell, hanners , lienart (cover for coffield), wood (cover for billings) all in that older group that we could happily live without …

Geelong on the other hand danger, smith, Selwood, hawkins , Duncan, Guthrie, Stanley, Blicavs, Dahlhaus all 30+ or 30 this year

Take them out and they finish bottom
Except people have said that for the last 10 years. They just replace the stars they lose

Autopsy Round 5, 2022: St.Kilda v Gold Coast