List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part I

I was diagnosed with Adult Attention Deficit Disorder ADD. It was like having 6 voices in your head at once when trying to answer a question. The answer often was the one that was the most outrageous. Same with actions. No filter was the issue.
I was prescribed dextramphetamine (speed). Whilst it seems counter intuitive the speed slows down the creative keft side of the brain allowing the ordered right side of the brain more influence.
Never felt better and more under control....pity I didn't do this 20 years ago.

So question is if you take a prescription based drug does that affect your drug results regarding performance enhancement?

I must say the Degoey video is pretty harmless and she seemed pretty into it. Who are we to exert our reality of what is moral and right.....it is up to the reaction from the person that behaviour is directed to....unless a law is broken...which it was not.

Moral outrage is just media trying to stay relevant and trying to out woke each other.

Degoey is a soft no from me as where there is smoke there is fire but the club should do a risk assessment and make the decision from there.

On SM-G977B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Great post, someone is suffering from a mental health or condition, makes wrong decisions that are very bad, and nobody is saying DeGoey's priors are anything but very bad, but for people to continue to attack him even after you and others who suffer similar conditions post here and try to explain is as low as can be in my opinion.
Really great to hear your medication is giving you the best life mate, stay well.

And like you, a soft no from me for DeGoey.

Yeah
Leaving for Sydney Saturday morning hopefully there in time for the game, 1st day of school holidays

Take carry on only. It’s like there is one baggage handler per city. Flights are all over the place. We had three changes of time and every flight was late. There aren’t enough staff for anything.

We got Virgin tickets through our frequent fliers. It’s the shittest airline I’ve ever flown, it looked liked a third world set up.

F me, the posturing on here sometimes.

People have seen enough of JDG to have an opinion on him by now, ADHD or not. Can still clean a f'ing bathroom.

I haven't even seen the vid, none of my business from what I hear. Still a hard f'ing no from me. Collingwood took him as a kid so they're cut some slack. We'd be taking him eyes wide open, and would be savaged for it when it blows up in our face. He's not good enough, often enough, to be worth the risk and money imo.

If everyone else looks low, fair chance you might be up on a high horse.

I was diagnosed with Adult Attention Deficit Disorder ADD. It was like having 6 voices in your head at once when trying to answer a question. The answer often was the one that was the most outrageous. Same with actions. No filter was the issue.
I was prescribed dextramphetamine (speed). Whilst it seems counter intuitive the speed slows down the creative keft side of the brain allowing the ordered right side of the brain more influence.
Never felt better and more under control....pity I didn't do this 20 years ago.

So question is if you take a prescription based drug does that affect your drug results regarding performance enhancement?

I must say the Degoey video is pretty harmless and she seemed pretty into it. Who are we to exert our reality of what is moral and right.....it is up to the reaction from the person that behaviour is directed to....unless a law is broken...which it was not.

Moral outrage is just media trying to stay relevant and trying to out woke each other.

Degoey is a soft no from me as where there is smoke there is fire but the club should do a risk assessment and make the decision from there.

On SM-G977B using BigFooty.com mobile app

This is the thing, young folks go to Bali, Ibeza and all manner of other places to get off the chain. If you go to a night club in those places it’s a smorgasbord of carnal pleasure. He’s hardly walked into a board meeting and groped a breast. You could take 500 more incriminating images per hour of others but the papers won’t buy them. De Goey is also high profile so would get girls ready to compete for his attention.

He’s done absolutely nothing in this case. The ADHD stuff is spot on too. I’m sure that they have medication exemptions in sport. Not sure that he could take a pure stimulant but there are some pretty good long dose ones now rather that the more spike ones. They must have some way of dealing with it or maybe you medicate out of competition times?

Do any other football facilities have a wellness centre like the one at Morrabbin?

Not being trite here but Morrabbin could be the best place for Jordan, would be there day in day out. But what would I know, never had a real mental health problem so ignorant on treatment.
Good shout.

Ive had my battles with depression and anxiety, nothing that required ant meds or "serious" treatment (not to downplay how serious both those conditions can be). Having access to facilities is one of the biggest battles with mental health issues.

This is the thing, young folks go to Bali, Ibeza and all manner of other places to get off the chain. If you go to a night club in those places it’s a smorgasbord of carnal pleasure. He’s hardly walked into a board meeting and groped a breast. You could take 500 more incriminating images per hour of others but the papers won’t buy them. De Goey is also high profile so would get girls ready to compete for his attention.

He’s done absolutely nothing in this case. The ADHD stuff is spot on too. I’m sure that they have medication exemptions in sport. Not sure that he could take a pure stimulant but there are some pretty good long dose ones now rather that the more spike ones. They must have some way of dealing with it or maybe you medicate out of competition times?
To me the issue remains that he chose to go to Bali for some Kuta nightlife in the mid season break. What he did there is a bit nothing to me (although youd probably argue with his profile and history he made a dumb choice to get on the piss and touch up a woman at a club, consenting or not. He had to be aware it would probably be filmed and would probably make the news). I dont think comparing him to you or I is really worthwhile. Nobody gives a shit about our weekend footy games and were not getting half a mil a year to play footy.

Take carry on only. It’s like there is one baggage handler per city. Flights are all over the place. We had three changes of time and every flight was late. There aren’t enough staff for anything.

We got Virgin tickets through our frequent fliers. It’s the shittest airline I’ve ever flown, it looked liked a third world set up.

I'd flown Virgin plenty of times , and as a domestic carrier they were fine. Honestly, they are big busses, plane goes up, get a coffee , plane goes down.

Then my family did a trip to Malaysia stopping over at Bali on the way home.
I think it was Air Asia to Singapore, and MAS to Bali. Both those flights were absolutely fine. Air Asia was a budget airline, but they were fine, and if you pre-booked your meal it was pretty damn good. ( Specially if you like asian food ).

Virgin International Flight from Bali to Melbourne. It had just flown in from somewhere else ( probably Australia to Bali ).
No Food. I think my wife might have grovelled for a sandwich.
No Blankets. Cabin was freezing cold ,especially coming from Bali and not really dressed for sub zero.
No Entertainment. They found a games console that wasn't completely flat , and my Daughter and I shared a headset to watch a movie, and made it through before the unit died.
The staff were apologetic and kept saying it would be better when they got new planes with more room.

I flew Easyjet and Wiz air in Europe.
Both were clean and had food available for sale.

To me the issue remains that he chose to go to Bali for some Kuta nightlife in the mid season break. What he did there is a bit nothing to me (although youd probably argue with his profile and history he made a dumb choice to get on the piss and touch up a woman at a club, consenting or not. He had to be aware it would probably be filmed and would probably make the news). I dont think comparing him to you or I is really worthwhile. Nobody gives a s**t about our weekend footy games and were not getting half a mil a year to play footy.

It’s a problem with a lot of players, they have mates outside of footy who don’t sacrifice their lives to training and clean living. Dayne Swan and guys from that era who would have been mentors to DeGoey were able to live a very loose life style and get away with it. The media knew about it and some openly participated with him. Jordan has become a media moral outrage target and now him taking a piss behind a tree becomes a story of him exposing himself.

Sure, but thats the gig now. You dont like it, i dont like it but unfortunately for DeGoey thats what he has to live with (or not, he can retire and play local footy and get most of his anonymity back).

I played with a few of the saints boys from 06-10 and partied with them, it was genuinely a different time but DeGoey can piss and moan about the good old days or accept the reality of the world he lives in now (which it should be noted comes with additional perks as well).

DeGoey has dome himself no favours this year.

Whether you believe there was a lot in those videos or not, just the choice of flying to Bali to get on the piss for his week off after his recent history shows he's got a "**** you" attitude.

Not really a fan of him pulling the girls tit out in public either, even if she didn't care

As a player he'd be very nice but he's not an elite mid. He's probably a rung behind Gresham as a mid forward.

I was keen before his latest incident but have gone cold. Not sure the reward is worth the risk now.

I'd flown Virgin plenty of times , and as a domestic carrier they were fine. Honestly, they are big busses, plane goes up, get a coffee , plane goes down.

Then my family did a trip to Malaysia stopping over at Bali on the way home.
I think it was Air Asia to Singapore, and MAS to Bali. Both those flights were absolutely fine. Air Asia was a budget airline, but they were fine, and if you pre-booked your meal it was pretty damn good. ( Specially if you like asian food ).

Virgin International Flight from Bali to Melbourne. It had just flown in from somewhere else ( probably Australia to Bali ).
No Food. I think my wife might have grovelled for a sandwich.
No Blankets. Cabin was freezing cold ,especially coming from Bali and not really dressed for sub zero.
No Entertainment. They found a games console that wasn't completely float , and my Daughter and I shared a headset to watch a movie, and made it through before the unit died.
The staff were apologetic and kept saying it would be better when they got new planes with more room.

I flew Easyjet and Wiz air in Europe.
Both were clean and had food available for sale.
I’ve flown on some of those Euro budget airlines and Virgin was worse. They didn’t even clean the plane. No entertainment no food one toilet for the whole plane. We always go Star alliance so get Singapore, Qantas, Emirates or BA etc. All are very good.

My legs were stuck into the backs of the seat in front, it was like one of those city hopper budget Euro flights but drawn out as long as possible. I wish I didn’t have to go with them on the way back.

Sure, but thats the gig now. You dont like it, i dont like it but unfortunately for DeGoey thats what he has to live with (or not, he can retire and play local footy and get most of his anonymity back).

I played with a few of the saints boys from 06-10 and partied with them, it was genuinely a different time but DeGoey can piss and moan about the good old days or accept the reality of the world he lives in now (which it should be noted comes with additional perks as well).

I think the issue goes a bit deeper than that. The AFL media are like vultures waiting to pounce. The media in general are like that. It's not right, and at some point people need to stand up and not live in constant fear of having every move they make blown out of proportion.

But everyone just keeps apologising. Over and over again. I'd be like yeah the thing is i'm quite fond of tittys.... shoot me.

It's not the majority who are outraged. It's the noisy minority. F*ck 'em.

The bolded is a point ive reiterated numerous times. Hes risk v reward (reckon ive written that 400 times now).

We dont really have to throw caution to the wind and thats the point. Make him a reasonable considered offer (money, duration and behavioural clauses and if he takes it then we have mitigated the risk to a point and we assume the reward is comensurate.

Personally after nearly 60 years without the ultimate success i can handle the jibes of poor recruitment if it turns out the be a failure (bearing in mind we lose nothing in terms of draft picks or even salary really) more than i can handle continuing to be an also ran.

Fair call on the "naughty boy" comment, i certainly dont condone his behaviour, im simply pointing out that as it stands he has three of four cases being dismissed so hes not exactly a criminal, that doesnt make him a fine upstanding citizen, hes almost certainly a scumbag with hilariously bad judgement but my broader point is im not following the saints in the hopes we win humantiarian awards, premierships and success should be the goal and if we can better society as part of that then great.
Caution to the wind IMO is simply taking him on.

Behavioural clauses is an interesting point... I'm not sure if AFL player contracts actually allow stipulations to be applied to the extent that many believe.

Collingwood have always been very good at making legal problems go away. Elite at it in fact. $$$$$

Been diagnosed with ADHD. Heath Black who has the same condition and now works in the area said on SEN he recognised the behaviours of DeGoey as he was prone to do the same.
Basically said piling on to someone suffering mental health issues could lead to nothing good and could lead to worst case scenarios.
I don't want DeGoey but I hope he gets the assistance he needs, and hope some people understand the continuing abuse of him is pretty low and says more about them than anything else.
ADHD is not a mental ill health condition.

It can lead to a mental ill health condition as people with ADHD can be more likely to suffer from anxiety or depression.

I didn't hear Heath Black's interview nor have I heard anyone from JDG's camp that he is suffering from mental ill health. Just that he was diagnosed with ADHD & that makes him more susceptible to being unable to control his impulses.

And just to be clear, I think the Bali incident has been blown massively out of proportion... it was obviously consensual and just two young people having fun.

I'm just not sure the next time will be as innocent & if he's in RWB at the time then we all know how hard the media will go at the club.

Caution to the wind IMO is simply taking him on.

Behavioural clauses is an interesting point... I'm not sure if AFL player contracts actually allow stipulations to be applied to the extent that many believe.

Collingwood have always been very good at making legal problems go away. Elite at it in fact. $$$$$

All clubs have a Code of Conduct which players have to abide by otherwise they can have their contracts cancelled. (Ask Josh Bootsma!!)

As part of a new contract discussion, a club could amend or tighten that code for a specific player and include that in the new contract provided the player agrees to it and it isn't inconsistent with the requirements of the AFLPA standard contract.

James Harmes on radar he is being squeezed out at the Dees.

DeGoey has dome himself no favours this year.

Whether you believe there was a lot in those videos or not, just the choice of flying to Bali to get on the piss for his week off after his recent history shows he's got a "* you" attitude.

Not really a fan of him pulling the girls tit out in public either, even if she didn't care

As a player he'd be very nice but he's not an elite mid. He's probably a rung behind Gresham as a mid forward.

I was keen before his latest incident but have gone cold. Not sure the reward is worth the risk now.

It's an interesting comparison - Jade Gresham and Jordan De Goey AFL Stats Comparison

They are fairly neck and neck but Jade also missed 2 years of football leading into what should be his peak.

The comparison with Jack Billings is also closer than I thought - Jack Billings and Jordan De Goey AFL Stats Comparison

He ave 3 less touches a game but he's kicked 167 goals vs Jack's 105. Ave almost the same goal assists. He's done that in 17 less games as well so it could be argued that he'd be more impactful than Jack.

Give me your ideal recruit & no tyre kicking on players we would never get, posters $hit canned Lepinski when he was available & now he would walk into our side.
I think we need to be aiming for a midfielder between the ages of 22-25 since thats a gap in our current list with only Gresh established midfielder within that bracket. We hope Clark will join him, but that hasn't happened yet.

So I'd rather pay for more a Taranto type or target a younger fringe midfielder to spread the age range of our midfield around that bring in another 27-29 year old midfielder given the age of all our other mids.

It is also one of the reasons I am against bringing in an Amon as well. Too many already on our list in that age bracket which could to lead to a lot of pain during Max King's prime years if that many from our list all going over the hill at the same time.