List Mgmt. Contracts, trades, draft - 2022 superstar edition

Link to contract status of all players -

Would norf take Wardlaw? They've got a bunch of young mids,anyway say they take him.

Thoughts on Shezzel my nizzle? He had 37 touches in a TAC game so can find the footy, surely we take him and develop him into a mid?

With a big preseason rioli could be our best mid next year.from memory before his suspension he was covering the second most amount of ground behind gaff.mightve even been in front of gaff
He's the most creative player on our list and one of the toughest
Just needs to keep his natural aggression in check

On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Outside of fitness and strength and conditioning (which can be fixed) the one thing the club has struggled with since the changes to rules and as they have slowed is transition from d50 to f50 and back.
Can it? I would say that's putting alot of unproven faith in our S&C team and the potential for elite fitness only becomes more challenging as a player approaches 30. I would say there's alot more than one thing this club has struggled with of recent years and strength & conditioning absolutely being one of those things.
It's why gaff is a ******* liability not an asset. As although he runs to make space he just slows the game down and is a non entity the other way at the moment.

Why has the club looked better with Yeo in defence and Cripps playing good games. It's because that is linking the defence to the midfield to the forward line. Our midfield is weak and our offensive run is crippled by personnel and the inability of youth to maintain the required standard for long enough.

Taking one of our few key transition players who has great kicking, play reading and transitional ability to trade for a B grade mid is just a straight ******* terrible idea.
There's a fundamental disagreement here between us on Baker's quality which is fine but he's performed the exact role you're describing and he's done it very well and he's done it not just against sides like North and Essendon. The argument would be that he gets to do it in a better team and couldn't replicate that in the current eagles side with less of a team around him. Perhaps, perhaps not either way is speculation.

The club is ranked 18th in inside 50's per game. We would be so far behind if it wasn't for the games (apart from yesterday) that Nicnat wasn't available. Without him playing at his best our midfield gets destroyed hence less inside 50's. Less transitional run and good kick players means less inside 50's. If your midfield is getting obliterated you can have the best defence in the world and you will get slaughtered. If you don't have players able to make the hard kicks, run and carry for transition then you can't get it out of your back half. The club is averaging 40 inside 50's a game and most aren't great entries due to being too slow on transition. The club then gets slaughtered the other way due to not having the required fitness or the right players to be able to press hard and run back hard.
You've lost me a bit here but again, I think we're at fundamental disagreement against Liam Baker vs Willie Rioli. I will agree that the kicks Rioli can make break open games in a way that I don't think Baker has the ability to do. How many of these does Rioli do a game? What you're saying about fitness and players working back hard, to me, favours Baker over Rioli, Baker is playing games with close to 500 metres gained against quality teams and he works all game so I'm not really sure how he's not a good transitional player.
You still need a forward line who can kick goals and particularly the players who can get the ball into the forwards and then keep it in there if the forwards don't win the contest.

Willie might be too old for our premiership push but trading him out for a player that just limits how much we are hurt in the midfield is a horrid idea. It will just make the biggest problem the club has worse.
Agreed regarding the first sentence and a large reason why my post wasn't GET RID OF RIOLI but "hey maybe trading Rioli could offer some favourability for the future".

Your second sentence here is where my head is at. I think our rebuild is going to be slightly delayed by the quality of this draft. With the lack of a Sam Walsh type player at our early pick maybe we're back into a competitive finals team with enough time into a young elite developed midfield in say 5 years? This puts Rioli at 32 and Baker at 29 - like I said, with the amount of work it takes to get Rioli into tip top conditioning and his history of soft tissue injuries I think there's plenty of risk here on his ability to contribute at 32 vs Baker at 29. Also I'm purely mentioning this as an option if there's something we like at our second draft pick. Given the draft is supposedly not of high quality it seems like a fine opportunity to offer the second to Richmond and point to the Crows and Dawson last year and say that's the going rate, but if there's something we like maybe this makes a better team for our next flag tilt.

Also I'd just like to be clear that this isn't some furious response rant, if it reads that way it's 100% not my intention, I like reading your posts and respect your views so am happy to hear your views and just wanted to give you some more insight into mine and my thought process.
I don't think people "want him out". If you want to trade in good players then you have to give up good players (or picks). We only have a few people on our list with currency and he is one of them.
Thanks, it's nice not everyone sees the red rag to a bull when their favourite player gets called out, I wouldn't be mentioning him at all if I didn't think he was any good...

Ryan wouldn't go, would retire instead.

Willie might go but is a stupid idea.
In a team lacking X factor and class you want to send him out the door for a second round pick or vanilla mid.
After all we have invested in him?
Crazy, culture killer.

I'm not looking to dump him, in my first post I'm pretty sure (but maybe I didn't) I said the first offer would be to offer Richmond one of our seconds for Baker and point to Dawson/crows as that's the going rate. If there's something we think can be a piece of our next flag push at that pick maybe he's the currency that get it done. Seemed pretty close to Daniel and Maurice Jr before the Richmond game and it would be moreso a case of exploring if playing with them is something he's interested in or he wants to be an eagle for life. I don't think that's disrespectful or culture killing, just the business of AFL.

Again, I think Liam Baker has shown alot more than being just a vanilla mid this year and puts in alot harder across a full game than alot of our players with X factor. I think at times X factor could be interchangeable with credits for our team and I don't think bringing in players with high levels of application is ever going to be a bad move with some of the current attitudes seen over the past 3 years.

So after however many months or years (it does seem like years TBH) of rating A grade, B grade etc etc...

You pick one of our potential A graders (he can definitely go to that level - not saying he will but with commitment plus the right role he has the skills) to trade for guys who you have stated previously are only ever going to be B graders.....

If trading 2 for 5 or 6 plus Bruhn was a bad idea, trading Willie (or Ryan) for Bruhn or Robertson would be a hanging offence.

1. I rate Willie highly. But as I said - he's a cream on top player. In a top 4 side he's an A-grader and potentially the difference between a flag or not. In a rebuilding side - he gives us some X-factor and class. But he's not one of those players you build a team around, is he?

2. I have not said I want to trade him. I would like to keep him. BUT, like others here, you get sick of the "let's trade out a fringe player and trade in a gun". If you want quality, you have to give up quality. If everyone just shuts down any conversation about trading good players, then we need to stop talking about trading good players in. It's like when you go to the footy and everyone around you thinks every umpiring decision against their team is incorrect. It's sort of dumb.

3. I guess the difference is I think about it in terms of building a list to fast track to the next flag. I have no idea how Bruhn or Dev Robbo will turn out, but I have a suspicion one of them will be more than handy. I'm not all in to get them either - if a suitable deal can be done that doesn't involve our first pick, I'm open.

4. As I've previously said, F/S with anyone called Rioli is pretty big so would probably keep him.

Why do you guys overreact over one game, talking about one Elijah Hewitt?

Wasn't he best afield against Vic metro and ashcroft just two weeks ago?

He would be our most explosive player right now, maybe behind Yeo. I reckon we take him, probably 5-7 range so maybe trade down and get Crows second round pick
Well it’s the fact that he was basically unsighted against a group of guys the same age. We’ve got enough passengers.
Add in the fact that he was poor at league level this year makes me think he won’t be ready to provide a spark we need next year.
Wardlaw all the way for mine.

Ryan wouldn't go, would retire instead.

Willie might go but is a stupid idea.
In a team lacking X factor and class you want to send him out the door for a second round pick or vanilla mid.
After all we have invested in him?
Crazy, culture killer.

What the hell are you on about..??? You are screaming culture about a drug cheat, illegal drug user, unfit, overweight non contributor most weeks player who has done more to undermine club culture the last three years than most others at the club…

He had two years to present back in an acceptable shape and couldn’t do it.. its no surprise his best games for the year were the first few when he was fresh.. since then he has done little.. doesn’t chase, doesn’t tackle runs one way…

Sumich was 100% correct in saying Rioli and his mate Ryan should be back in the Wafl until they can contribute regularly each week. The club owes both of them nothing.

What the hell are you on about..??? You are screaming culture about a drug cheat, illegal drug user, unfit, overweight non contributor most weeks player who has done more to undermine club culture the last three years than most others at the club…

He had two years to present back in an acceptable shape and couldn’t do it.. its no surprise his best games for the year were the first few when he was fresh.. since then he has done little.. doesn’t chase, doesn’t tackle runs one way…

Sumich was 100% correct in saying Rioli and his mate Ryan should be back in the Wafl until they can contribute regularly each week. The club owes both of them nothing.
download.jpg

1. I rate Willie highly. But as I said - he's a cream on top player. In a top 4 side he's an A-grader and potentially the difference between a flag or not. In a rebuilding side - he gives us some X-factor and class. But he's not one of those players you build a team around, is he?

2. I have not said I want to trade him. I would like to keep him. BUT, like others here, you get sick of the "let's trade out a fringe player and trade in a gun". If you want quality, you have to give up quality. If everyone just shuts down any conversation about trading good players, then we need to stop talking about trading good players in. It's like when you go to the footy and everyone around you thinks every umpiring decision against their team is incorrect. It's sort of dumb.

3. I guess the difference is I think about it in terms of building a list to fast track to the next flag. I have no idea how Bruhn or Dev Robbo will turn out, but I have a suspicion one of them will be more than handy. I'm not all in to get them either - if a suitable deal can be done that doesn't involve our first pick, I'm open.

4. As I've previously said, F/S with anyone called Rioli is pretty big so would probably keep him.
Not sure what world you living in but Rioli on the trade table would be something along the lines of pick 40-50 or possibly even further down to pick 60

We obviously rate him highly in our club but that's not how the rest of the league sees him and our position on the ladder makes it worst. We wouldn't get much in a trade for Rioli. He is better staying with us.
Our whole list come to think of it i can't think of many that would get a high pick in the late teens early 20s. Maybe Oscar Allen due to his age. McGovern is highly rated.

Apart from those two that's it from our entire list that has any high end trade value. The rest would get us nothing.
We simply can't trade. We have no trade value across our list. For most it's either delist or we keep. Trading is going to be extremely difficult for us over the next few years given our position on the ladder.

Not sure what world you living in but Rioli on the trade table would be something along the lines of pick 40-50 or possibly even further down to pick 60

We obviously rate him highly in our club but that's not how the rest of the league sees him and our position on the ladder makes it worst. We wouldn't get much in a trade for Rioli. He is better staying with us.
Our whole list come to think of it i can't think of many that would get a high pick in the late teens early 20s. Maybe Oscar Allen due to his age. McGovern is highly rated.

Apart from those two that's it from our entire list that has any high end trade value. The rest would get us nothing.
We simply can't trade. We have no trade value across our list. For most it's either delist or we keep. Trading is going to be extremely difficult for us over the next few years given our position on the ladder.
He's got x-factor that is rare. I think he's worth way more than you say.

Potentially stupid post warning for anyone easily triggered....

Heard Tom Browne (I know) tonight suggesting Brodie Grundy is as good as gone from Collingwood.

Would we consider him, on the proviso that Gaff is part of the package we sent back (assuming Gaff is actually happy to leave).

Grundy is 28, with another 5 years @ $1m per season (and I've previously said not to pay massive amounts for a ruckman, so completely contradicting myself... possibly even talking myself out of it).

Contract $ similar (Grundy probably on an extra $200k). Contract length 5 years (Gaff has 2 left). Both 28. Small possibility Collingwood would throw in a pick for the salary dump.

On SM-G986B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Potentially stupid post warning for anyone easily triggered....

Heard Tom Browne (I know) tonight suggesting Brodie Grundy is as good as gone from Collingwood.

Would we consider him, on the proviso that Gaff is part of the package we sent back (assuming Gaff is actually happy to leave).

Grundy is 28, with another 5 years @ $1m per season (and I've previously said not to pay massive amounts for a ruckman, so completely contradicting myself... possibly even talking myself out of it).

Contract $ similar (Grundy probably on an extra $200k). Contract length 5 years (Gaff has 2 left). Both 28. Small possibility Collingwood would throw in a pick for the salary dump.

On SM-G986B using BigFooty.com mobile app
1657530647713.gif

Well it’s the fact that he was basically unsighted against a group of guys the same age. We’ve got enough passengers.
Add in the fact that he was poor at league level this year makes me think he won’t be ready to provide a spark we need next year.
Wardlaw all the way for mine.
Didnt he get 30 and 1 against ashcoft and vic metro?

What a shit take. So your going to have an agenda against rioli forever.
Mate if you actually watched the games rioli has showed more heart and spirit then most of the players you like if you like any. That's the dumbest take.

If we somehow magically have a cat bounce for finals push it will be because of rioli and Ryan similar to 2018

The second we are ready Ryan and rioli are lock and loaded and are the difference maker in us getting flag

What a s**t take. So your going to have an agenda against rioli forever.
Mate if you actually watched the games rioli has showed more heart and spirit then most of the players you like if you like any. That's the dumbest take.

So you think what he has done and how he presents is good for our club culture also? Interesting…

Get off it. It's been done to death Rioli and the urine weed scandal. He actually paid the price way over for it when you consider B Smith from Bulldogs basically doing what he wants on cocaine and getting just a one game suspension.

All Rioli had was a bit of weed. Weed is soon going to be made legal. It's hardly a drug. It's like having a cigarette. He well and truely learnt from it.

But as for being unfit you could say that for our entire list this season though. Every player came out fat and unfit rnd 1. We basically didn't have a pre season. Not a Rioli issue that because I think if anything it proves when the standards of our Strength and conditioning has dropped the players struggled to do it on there own.

The club and staff that are meant to be the ones training our players are the ones that F**ked up and let us all down. To single out Rioli when the whole list came out round 1 unfit and fat. That isn't a individual issue.
That's a coaching and football department staffing issue. I know what happen. The club had a sook because of salary caps on football department and they didn't do shit due to it. Nisbetts can pack his f**king bags and piss off. It's all on his head. He sacked half our staff. Had a sook and let the club sink by putting no money towards our football department all because he didn't want to pay the extra finances required to the AFL once clubs go over the department spendings cap.

Rioli with a good preseason next season will be close to our best player when his fit and firing.

Sent from my CPH2025 using Tapatalk

Get off it. It's been done to death Rioli and the urine weed scandal. He actually paid the price way over for it when you consider B Smith from Bulldogs basically doing what he wants on cocaine and getting just a one game suspension.

All Rioli had was a bit of weed. Weed is soon going to be made legal. It's hardly a drug. It's like having a cigarette. He well and truely learnt from it.

But as for being unfit you could say that for our entire list this season though. Every player came out fat and unfit rnd 1. We basically didn't have a pre season. Not a Rioli issue that because I think if anything it proves when the standards of our Strength and conditioning has dropped the players struggled to do it on there own.

The club and staff that are meant to be the ones training our players are the ones that F**ked up and let us all down. To single out Rioli when the whole list came out round 1 unfit and fat. That isn't a individual issue.
That's a coaching and football department staffing issue. I know what happen. The club had a sook because of salary caps on football department and they didn't do s**t due to it. Nisbetts can pack his f**king bags and piss off. It's all on his head. He sacked half our staff. Had a sook and let the club sink by putting no money towards our football department all because he didn't want to pay the extra finances required to the AFL once clubs go over the department spendings cap.

Rioli with a good preseason next season will be close to our best player when his fit and firing.

Sent from my CPH2025 using Tapatalk

1/ Weed isnt like cigarettes
2/ its not going to be legal anytime soon
3/ regardless at the time it was illegal
4/ he had two years to get himself fit but spent it trying move weed on a plane and no doubt partaking in it still himself
5/ if he couldn’t ( and the rest of the team) couldn’t motivate themselves to get fit then they have no place in the afl.
6/ he will still be fat when he returns next pre season

Up until his suspension Rioli was my favourite player but since then its been all excuses and cover ups..
Smith cant be compared as they were caught under different circumstances … in my opinion both should be sacked but Smith at 21 can at least play the youth card while Rioli 24 cant.