Player Watch #11: Jason Castagna - signed to 2023

Should Castagna be dropped for the Port game after his 2 disposal effort vs the Swans?

• Yes - for Cumberland

• Yes - for anyone

• No

• Make him Sub

Results are only viewable after voting.

When you look at all the small forwards across history - Milney, Betts, KB, Brad Johnson, Cyril, the mercurial Daicos, Dicky Harris - Castagna has this mob covered by the length of the Flemington and Terang (if you ever seen Terang racecourse) straights.
But has become a little stale up forward, so I think we need to reinvent him as that Judd-like highly-skilled midfielder, befitting of his sublime skills.
The thought of him streaming out of defence, hitting Jack or Tom lace out from 50 has me gushing like Brucey Mac.
PS. I apologise for nominating George's two-possession game v Sydney as the worst I have seen in yellow and black. Truth is Lounder, Oakley-Nicholls and dozens of others produced poorer ones. In fact, George's game was a bottler ..... underrated thoroughly and a masterclass in guarding space, which he does like no other.
I promise to only glorify our deity from here on ... I don't want to be responsible for the masses booing him.

So ..... at what point, or length of being on Big Footy do you qualify as being a genuine Richmond supporter?

How many posts I'm allowed to post on a particular thread before I should be cut off given you whinged the other day that I posted too much on here?

If I may, does that apply to the number of posts certain posters put up on AFL conspiracy and media conspiracy threads and ... yawn .. the umpiring thread (which is certain posters entire existence on here?

Or is it only the posters you disagree with that you have to go digging into??

I trust you'll be calling out any new poster who signs up or hasn't got a certain number of posts up before the first week of finals?

You're the polluter here ... playing the role of the grade five dobber :rolleyes:
tell me the truth please mate, if your son was good enough and busted his arse for 20 years and ended up drafted and playing for the mighty Tigers the team that is old man supported..... would you like to read about some of the s*** that goes on here especially when his coach has said mate hang around on minimum wage you are a good depth player for injury and until some of our kids take over in late 22 and then we'll see what happens after that.

You can have whatever opinion you like, but booing a triple premiership player when he gets subbed on is extremely poor form and makes me presume you are a bit mentally moronic.

The man always gave 100 % and for large parts of the last 5 years played an important role for us.

Creating whipping boys out of role players is just stupid.

tell me the truth please mate, if your son was good enough and busted his arse for 20 years and ended up drafted and playing for the mighty Tigers the team that is old man supported..... would you like to read about some of the s*** that goes on here especially when his coach has said mate hang around on minimum wage you are a good depth player for injury and until some of our kids take over in late 22 and then we'll see what happens after that.

Maybe rephrase your question by taking out the high number of assumptions.
hardwick told George: 'Hey hang around here on minimum wage and let the kids take over?"
He's not on minimum wage and Hardwick never even remotely said that.
The bullshit assumptions posters make on here that they pass off as fact are incredible.

As for my son - posters/opposition supporters will say what they will. I'm unconcerned and would support the kid.
Posters here playing the high moral ground on Castagna and others but denigrating Ginnivan, Dangerfield, Selwood, whoever.
Get off your horse.
What most people here are questioning is why he gets a game after how poorly performed he is. Like two possessions in a game v Sydney - indefensible And here we are weeks later seeing the same poor performance being rewarded.
Glorify home all you like, it's what we see most weeks that tells the tale.

Maybe rephrase your question by taking out the high number of assumptions.
hardwick told George: 'Hey hang around here on minimum wage and let the kids take over?"
He's not on minimum wage and Hardwick never even remotely said that.
The bullshit assumptions posters make on here that they pass off as fact are incredible.

As for my son - posters/opposition supporters will say what they will. I'm unconcerned and would support the kid.
Posters here playing the high moral ground on Castagna and others but denigrating Ginnivan, Dangerfield, Selwood, whoever.
Get off your horse.
What most people here are questioning is why he gets a game after how poorly performed he is. Like two possessions in a game v Sydney - indefensible And here we are weeks later seeing the same poor performance being rewarded.
Glorify home all you like, it's what we see most weeks that tells the tale.
you make some reasonable points, thanks and i agree with a lot you post, i also think george is not best 22

but if 5 or 6 youngsters are playing you can't play 10....... and grimes inj, dusty inj, dow conc, stack average form then funeral, and graham, shedda, ross and vloss playing sore and cotch at his best when he plays 60% GT. and young rioli going great but so taxing for a young fella
i have no issue with dimma having george as sub.

i have no problem if dimma picks george as the sub

😂
You’re joking right?

The only joke are the losers in here that have such shit boring pathetic insignificant lives that feel the need to come on this forum and constantly put down our players who have successfully made a living out of football. Pathetic losers in life.

The only joke are the losers in here that have such s**t boring pathetic insignificant lives that feel the need to come on this forum and constantly put down our players who have successfully made a living out of football. Pathetic losers in life.
It’s called an opinion
As far as I am concerned everyone is entitled to an opinion.You want him in the side, you don’t? Has there been derogatory comments made aside from his ability to play the game?

What’s been very average imo is the questioning of other posters right to comment . As far as some are concerned there’s no place for any discussion unless it’s positive feedback.

Then there were some who would train two nights the whole season ..... which just happened to coincide with the night the club held a pie night.
Count me in

You can have whatever opinion you like, but booing a triple premiership player when he gets subbed on is extremely poor form and makes me presume you are a bit mentally moronic.

The man always gave 100 % and for large parts of the last 5 years played an important role for us.

Creating whipping boys out of role players is just stupid.
To be fair whilst I was at the game I didn’t boo him, and I’m not a fan, I thought the boos coming out if 3121 was poor and could have been better directed at the maggots

Yeah he shouldn’t have been playing but no questioning that he’s giving his all.

Save that rubbish for players that don’t try, don’t play for the jumper.

We don’t have anybody in that category imo

It’s called an opinion
As far as I am concerned everyone is entitled to an opinion.You want him in the side, you don’t? Has there been derogatory comments made aside from his ability to play the game?

What’s been very average imo is the questioning of other posters right to comment . As far as some are concerned there’s no place for any discussion unless it’s positive feedback.
Of course everyone is entitled to an opinion, so here we go.

I'll give you 3 different examples of mine. *please note.

1. Most, that are highly critical and abusive of players ('he is useless and utter crap' compared to 'he's not in my best 22') on their supported team are those that cannot kick a football themselves over 25metres thru the middle.
2. Don't understand the facets of the modern game and some of the way role players are used. (MRJs 10 possession game including several stuffs up would be at least the equivalent of Walshs 40 touches with 80metres gained and no goal assists)
3. If they saw a $1 coin laying on the ground they would quickly grab it but after five minutes be whinging why wasn't it a $100 bill.

*maybe I have added a bit of mayo to get my point across;):tonguewink:

The only joke are the losers in here that have such s**t boring pathetic insignificant lives that feel the need to come on this forum and constantly put down our players who have successfully made a living out of football. Pathetic losers in life.
but but but, they have that right, they paid top dollar for their membership or their foxtel. :D:D:D:D:D:D;)

Of course everyone is entitled to an opinion, so here we go.

I'll give you 3 different examples of mine. *please note.

1. Most, that are highly critical and abusive of players ('he is useless and utter crap' compared to 'he's not in my best 22') on their supported team are those that cannot kick a football themselves over 25metres thru the middle.
2. Don't understand the facets of the modern game and some of the way role players are used. (MRJs 10 possession game including several stuffs up would be at least the equivalent of Walshs 40 touches with 80metres gained and no goal assists)
3. If they saw a $1 coin laying on the ground they would quickly grab it but after five minutes be whinging why wasn't it a $100 bill.

*maybe I have added a bit of mayo to get my point across;):tonguewink:
Okay 🙄
This thread has certainly digressed, however as you pointed out at the start of the post everyone is entitled to their opinion.
Anyway this has been done to death, so signing out permanently from this thread. Final word Let’s hope we don’t see George kicking backwards over his shoulder in this years finals 😉

images

There is a Man
He is a Good Man
But He is a Great Coach
He is a Coach that dragged my team from being the laughing stock of the AFL for 30+ years
He is the Great Coach that has now been at my club for 13 years
He is now a great Coach with 3 Premierships and still coaching

If This great Coach believes that Castagna has a part still to play in the team
I trust this great Coach alot more than Fools that constant question his decisions

This Man is Damien Hardwick
1660724007837.jpeg

AFL players pretty much stay off social media I'd reckon. If my kid was famous I'd advise them to stay off it or have someone run your account. Filter the nastiness. The racist stuff that Parker got and other indig players tells us that there's an ugly side out there
I respect your access to the coaches chats with players and their wages. ....As for what wage George receives. He'd be better off than minimum wage rookie listed players. If George is a plumber then he's taken a paycut to play AFL.

Let's be honest, trolling and trolls are words that get thrown around to excess on this here board, but anyone who believes #11 has had a passable year (make that two years) and is providing value to the side by commanding a spot - even if only the 26th best player at the club (which he ain't even that) - is simply taking the piss.

The start and end of story is #11 has the poorest skills of any player currently on an AFL list and it is an indictment on our football dept, skills coaches, whoever that they haven't only not improved, but have worsened. He is a complete liability with the ball in hand and that someone down there hasn't told him ... hello Hardwick, hell anyone ... to ditch his embarrassing routine of kicking around corners only to gift the other side a free by putting it out of bounds in the opposite pocket is to our detriment.

watching him cough it up three times that directly started a chain to goal down the other end of the ground against West Coast should have been enough - coming just a few weeks after the worst game ever played by a man in yellow and black against Sydney when he was a virtual witches hat (sorry if witches are offended). But no, play on, pick him the next week and watch him butcher it and help cost us a game against the impervious and impenetrable Gold Coast Suns.

I challenge anyone to name me a player on an AFL list with poorer skills than #11??? I know you can't.

Anyone posting on here, from the 16yo kids to the 20 and 30-somethings, to those over 50, have all seen enough to see his limited skill set and execution don't cut it. Is that much to ask to see a routine drop punt fly off his size 11 boot??? (Again, apologies to the executioners, who are offended - execution implies some sort of skill).

But take it as gospel, he's in this week. Dumbwick can't do without him and then he's a lock for Perth or Brissie in week one.

It's become that embarrassing that his defenders on here throw up one random act - a handball or tackle - each week to try and demonstrate his worth, as if no footballer ever got a stat. Like the week one moron declared to all and sundry 'I thought he was good, he kicked a goal' after another emphatically woeful effort with one highlight.

P*** off with all this supposed persecution crap, he's a highly paid professional expected to perform his job to a competent level and ability, not some suburban footballer plying his trade in his spare hours after work as a bricklayer, or council dog catcher.

Player Watch #11: Jason Castagna - signed to 2023