Preview QF1 Geelong v Collingwood Sat Sept 3 2022, 435pm @ MCG

This, along with no Q3 St Kilda / Q4 Hawthorn centre square brain melts and we should win comfortably.
One thing that the Pies aren't good at is centre clearances and contested possession. So I'm hopeful that they shouldn't get a run on from the CB, but they will get a run on if we continue to turn the ball over between the arcs.

Trying to remember how they got all of theirs back in round 3. Maybe I don't want to though!

Nah he's a lock. Will benefit from only playing a half on the weekend, and also a good break before the QF. Was looking a bit tired to me so smart move by the club to get a rest into him. No way he's not playing - has been one of the big reasons we've played the way we have in the second half of the year.

I think the club has been wanting him and Parfitt up around the ball to give us that really hard inside grunt heading into finals ....... Danger, Guthrie, Holmes and Smith giving us some great outside run. Blicavs and Selwood the icing on the cake. Do we have the best midfield > no - do we have the most balanced (and possibly the deepest) > yes and I think it's one of our strengths.

We have been building on our capability between the arcs , early on we had a tendency to misuse it and turn it over - either stuffing up a promising build up or allowing the opposition to go inside 50.
We now have a very large amount of players who populate that area and our turnover game has gone off the charts - we use it so , so much better than the first half of the season. We have the grunt and now the ball users to really punish and we keep possession so much better as a result.
Huge bonus with Close , Miers and even Stengle on occasions to get up the ground to support and get back into F50 to be options , add that to Smith , Tuohy and Duncan delivering it to our forwards and we can really score rapidly.

Lack of spots probably, in fairness he's been pretty average since that last quarter heroics.
Personally Zuthrie makes more sense but guys are gunna get squeezed and you "could" justify it with Atkins since we have Parfitt back. I'd still have both though.

Pendelbury - I'd be telling Atkins and Parfitt to nail him - he always fakes a disposal to buy himself more time and it works - just keep running at him and when he fakes don't buy it - you get that extra 1/2 second to close on him and make the tackle.......

Trying to remember how they got all of theirs back in round 3. Maybe I don't want to though!
Think I might watch it later this week and have a look. We managed to handle it relatively well back then when we weren't playing too well, but the Pies have also improved since then too. Evens out.

We have been building on our capability between the arcs , early on we had a tendency to misuse it and turn it over - either stuffing up a promising build up or allowing the opposition to go inside 50.
We now have a very large amount of players who populate that area and our turnover game has gone off the charts - we use it so , so much better than the first half of the season. We have the grunt and now the ball users to really punish and we keep possession so much better as a result.
Huge bonus with Close , Miers and even Stengle on occasions to get up the ground to support and get back into F50 to be options , add that to Smith , Tuohy and Duncan delivering it to our forwards and we can really score rapidly.
Yeah agree. Was at a Cats game recently with a mate who follows another team, and he's had a bit to do with AFL clubs. And when I tell you he hates Geelong, I mean he really hates Geelong. But he's a very good analyst of the game.

Anyway, he said he knew Geelong were playing good footy but it wasn't until he saw them live and how they set up the ground that he realised how good they were. He used the term "brutally efficient" and I'm not sure I could come up with a better way to describe the way they play. He also said that there's too much external focus on the likes of Cameron / Dangerfield / Hawkins and Stewart. He doubts if we lost one of them it would make much difference - it's the brutal efficiency in the way Geelong play that means someone else would just slot in and play their role and the machine would still keep ticking over.

Also made a good point that all teams have at least one strength (maybe a couple). But Geelong seem to be the best at disarming the oppositions strength and just exploiting any minor weakness.

Thought I'd share the observation. Was interesting coming from someone who wasn't a fan.

Oh, we’ll beat Collingwood at the G and I’m not convinced it’ll even be a challenge infront of a 70/30 split crowd. I’m flying over from SA meeting an old mate from NT who goes for the Pies. It’s more disappointing cause I think we’d win by 100 at
100 points? BTW Is this you?
1661150105867.jpeg

It's going to be a long two weeks waiting for this to come around. I can't believe the H&A season is over, the year has gone by so quickly. I have no qualms about the time or the venue. You have to win the premiership at the MCG, so the more we play there the better, IMHO. Besides, when the Catters have played at the G this year they've shown it holds no worries to them. I'm quietly confident about the game. The Cat's defense is not going to make the same mistakes we've seen other teams make against Collingwood. Our forward line is like way better.

Ins: Jezza, Duncan, Stanley,
Outs: Sav, Ceglar, ???? Probably O'Connor

no Atkins in your 22?

BTW no concerns about Cox sinking the knee in at the centre bounce yesterday?

crickets GIF

Opur game plan allows for defeat at centre clearances, it's the second possession we base our game on and it has most sides bluffed

When sides have got a run on is, it has been CB dominance (port and saints slaughtered us for a Q, quite embarrassing really). I’m fairly confident we won’t hand you the ball like Sydney didn’t.

For your sake I hope it bluffs your semi final opponent.

Ours doesn't rely on centre clearances either.

From memory we generate the most scores of any team from opposition turnovers and concede the least from that source.

Pies through the second half of the season have played a lot of teams that hack the ball, with the exception of Sydney.

My concern with Atkins is is complete drop off in form in the last three weeks, its about 60% lower than his expected by position and a 66% drop off compared to himself. Selwood is in a similar boat with a drop off of 43% in both. Atkins' mid season purple patch seems a long way away, he could be vulnerable right now as there isn't much space for him to go down back either.

Name​
Form relative to position​
Form relative to Self​
Gametime​
Cameron Guthrie​
60.1​
47.6​
171​
Brandan Parfitt​
51.5​
57.2​
209​
Patrick Dangerfield​
-8.9​
-16.4​
150​
Joel Selwood​
-43​
-42.6​
135​
Tom Atkins​
-59.4​
-67.4​
192​

Z.Guthrie is in form right now, would be wasted as a sub

Name​
Form relative to Self​
Gametime​
Tom Stewart​
33.3​
-22.1​
260​
Zach Guthrie​
26.1​
40.2​
254​
Zach Tuohy​
24.2​
2.6​
258​
Jed Bews​
-39.3​
-11​
247​
Mark O'Connor​
-49.7​
-11.7​
217​

Miers has been in great form in the 2nd half of the year, his early season form was atrocious, It made me biased against him but I just have to get over it.

Name​
Form relative to Self​
Gametime​
Gryan Miers​
60.5​
62.8​
247​
Tyson Stengle​
25.5​
-11.7​
263​
Isaac Smith​
18.6​
0.9​
167​
Brad Close​
9.3​
4​
258​
Gary Rohan​
-8.6​
-3.1​
159​

That's without considering how to fit in Menegola, Duncan, Henry forward or back which flows to Kolodjashnij( pre-concussion was up +30%/+30%) and Rohan.

I'm glad I'm not the match committee,

My concern with Atkins is is complete drop off in form in the last three weeks, its about 60% lower than his expected by position and a 66% drop off compared to himself. Selwood is in a similar boat with a drop off of 43% in both. Atkins' mid season purple patch seems a long way away, he could be vulnerable right now as there isn't much space for him to go down back either.

Name​
Form relative to Self​
Gametime​
Cameron Guthrie​
60.1​
47.6​
171​
Brandan Parfitt​
51.5​
57.2​
209​
Patrick Dangerfield​
-8.9​
-16.4​
150​
Joel Selwood​
-43​
-42.6​
135​
Tom Atkins​
-59.4​
-67.4​
192​

Z.Guthrie is in form right now, would be wasted as a sub

Name​
Form relative to Self​
Gametime​
Tom Stewart​
33.3​
-22.1​
260​
Zach Guthrie​
26.1​
40.2​
254​
Zach Tuohy​
24.2​
2.6​
258​
Jed Bews​
-39.3​
-11​
247​
Mark O'Connor​
-49.7​
-11.7​
217​

Miers has been in great form in the 2nd half of the year, his early season form was atrocious, It made me biased against him but I just have to get over it.

Name​
Form relative to Self​
Gametime​
Gryan Miers​
60.5​
62.8​
247​
Tyson Stengle​
25.5​
-11.7​
263​
Isaac Smith​
18.6​
0.9​
167​
Brad Close​
9.3​
4​
258​
Gary Rohan​
-8.6​
-3.1​
159​

That's without considering how to fit in Menegola, Duncan, Henry forward or back which flows to Kolodjashnij( pre-concussion was up +30%/+30%) and Rohan.

I'm glad I'm not the match committee,
How is "form" calculated and what do the points represent (e.g is 60.1 a % higher than average, or rating points?)