List Mgmt. 2022 Trade & List Management Thread II

Key Dates:

Friday 07 October at 5.00pm

Close of AFL Restricted Free Agency Offer and Unrestricted Free Agency Period.

Monday 10 October
NAB AFL Draft Nominations open (9am)
AFL Restricted Free Agency Matching Offer 3 Day Period Ends (5pm)

Wednesday 12 October at 7.30pm
AFL Trade Period closes – players and selections

Thursday 03 November at 9.00am
AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) commences

Wednesday 09 November at 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) closes

Friday 11 November at 9.00am

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) commences

Tuesday 15 November by 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) closes
AFL Trade Period closes – selections only

Monday 21 November by 3.00pm

NAB AFL Draft Nominations close

Monday 28 November at 7.10pm

2022 NAB AFL Draft Round One (Venue TBC)

Father/Son, Academy & NGA and Players Bidding opens.

Tuesday 29 November

AFL Trade Period – selections only (5.45pm to 6.30pm)

2022 NAB AFL National Draft Round two until completion (7pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period opens (10pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) commences (10pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period closes (11pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) closes (11pm)

Wednesday 30 November

NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft (3pm, online)
NAB AFL Rookie Draft (3.20pm, online)

Thursday 01 December by 4.00pm

Final AFL Club List Lodgement

North want him just need st to come to the party 🎉
I Want More GIF

Dioes anyone have any faith in Brady getting the best deal for us? I personally lost alot of faith after the CCJ trade
Just the CCJ trade?

How about the BBB fiasco, Xerri getting 3, Ziebell getting 2, lowballing players we can't afford to lose, Taz, Lazzaro and co signed until 2199, Greenwood getting 4, knocking back Brodie with a good pick because he was set on a shit truck who knocked us back etc etc

On SM-G991B using BigFooty.com mobile app

KEY TO UNLOCKING PORT-JHF DEAL

Port Adelaide throwing in a third draft selection is likely to convince North Melbourne to give up No.1 pick Jason Horne-Francis, reports the Herald Sun’s Jon Ralph.

Horne-Francis has requested a trade home to South Australia with the Power reportedly the only club he is considering - and realistically the only club in the state which can afford him in terms of draft picks, with Adelaide tied up getting Izak Rankine.

The Kangaroos have said two first-round picks - Port Adelaide’s current top pick No.8, which will drop back to No.9 on draft night, and their 2023 first-rounder - will not be enough for them to trade away Horne-Francis.

Speaking on Fox Footy’s Trading Day, Ralph suggested the Power would be willing to give up an extra pick - such as a future third-round selection - to get the deal done.

“I think right now North Melbourne will say he’s been a tough player, he’s been a young, wild, impulsive player, and we’ll get the most we can get for him right now. I don’t think there’s any way he stays at North Melbourne next year,” Ralph said on Fox Footy.

“The Roos’ list boss Brady Rawlings said today eight and that future first-rounder isn’t enough, we knocked back more than that in those mega-trades from Adelaide and Richmond next year.

“The Power’s not interested in putting players in, the likes of Miles Bergman or Josh Sinn. I asked Chris Davies about them today he said they’re certainly not interested in leaving, we’re gonna keep them here.

“I think in the end what will make the deal right, and allow North Melbourne to ‘win’, is 8, the future first-rounder and then maybe something like a future third-rounder.

“They (Port Adelaide) just want to get this bloke done, theyknow he’s a generational player, they know he’ll be so much better than he has (shown) previously. If they have to throw in an extra third-rounder to get him at their club now, they’re prepared to do it.”

The pick 8/future first-round pick offer already equates to the rough value of pick 1 on the AFL Draft Value Index, though that depends on how Port Adelaide goes next season
A 19yo generational player is worth a hell of a lot more than points that equate to pick 1 and a third rounder.

Pick 2 from WC dont care how they get it done, and a quality player or next years first.

We'd basically get a mid first rounder and Cadman for JHF which seems pretty fair. I certainly wouldnt be sure we win out of it.

But getting Wardlaw and Cadman, along with Logue and hopefully Clarke balances out our list pretty well.

Thought I'd take a look through Port's list to see what other players might be worth including in the JHF trade. Very slim pickings indeed - far slimmer than I'd thought might be the case.

The flip side to that is the 2023 Rd 1 pick. Before looking over their list I'd thought they'd had a down year and would likely bounce back into finals, so we'd be looking at a pick in the teens. But not so sure about that now and reckon the 2023 1st is more likely to be about the same as this year.

But still think they need to find a pick in this year's top 5 to make it worth our while. How they do that, no idea, but not our problem!

He a piece of trailer trash s**t, but can football.

I guess I could learn to love the flog if he came LOL

Way off the mark with that. Butters is a legit good kid. He came from my local club, and is as genuine as they come. Bit of a larrikin/smart ass but the sort of teammate that everybody loves because he will always give 110%.

If we get butters and pick 8
Do we go back to cadman at 1

FYI Butters and the Cadman boys are good mates, both played their junior footy at Darley. If we were to get Butters I’d have no hesitation in pulling the trigger on Cadman at 1.

Way off the mark with that. Butters is a legit good kid. He came from my local club, and is as genuine as they come. Bit of a larrikin/smart ass but but sort of teammate that everybody loves because he will always give 110%.

FYI Butters and the Cadman boys are good mates, both played their junior footy at Darley. If we were to get Butters I’d have no hesitation in pulling the trigger on Cadman at 1.

Maybe we could tell Butters that we'd commit to taking Cadman at 1 if he comes over as part of the JHF deal?

And here's me engaging in the sort of baseless speculation about trade negotiations that I normally cringe at ...

Maybe we could tell Butters that we'd commit to taking Cadman at 1 if he comes over as part of the JHF deal?

And here's me engaging in the sort of baseless speculation about trade negotiations that I normally cringe at ...
LTK ftw. giphy.gif

On SM-S901E using BigFooty.com mobile app

If JHF continues down the road of just expecting everything to work for him without putting the hard work in I can guarantee that Butters will have a more successful career.
Given how shit we were and JHF having an unsettled year his stats compare very favorably with Butter's 2019. Fact is JHF has a much higher ceiling and only a fool would think he wont get his shit together.

I’ve been in a filthy mood all day in regards to that sh*t kid who has betrayed us. I will despise him and his crappy new club for all of my days.
Anyhoo. My thoughts on trade period.

That kid😡- I hate him but he is still a generational talent who will have a huge career. The current offer of pick 8, 2023 1st is no where near enough. I honestly can’t see any of their players agreeing to come to us, so the onus is on the prison bar bogans to upgrade pick 8 to pick 2. How they do that is on them but something involving Mitch G, pick 8 and Rioli should get it done.
Pick 2 and 2023 1st still stings a little but I will get over it. Wardlaw, Cadman and 2 firsts next year is a good step.

Bowes - not gonna happen guys. We are still far from any sort of destination club.

Hunter Clark - can’t see this getting done either. Saints will want more than we are prepared to pay.

Hill - meh, have never been into this one.

Logue/Tucker - will cost both “assistance” picks. Logue is a gun and will help us immensely but not sold on Tucker. Would be dirty if Tucker took games off Powell, Phillips or even Ford.

Clarko - his “allegations” are already hurting us despite it not being our fault. I have no doubt it will blow over but it stings.

Thomas - A tricky one but he is contracted for 2 more and I back Clarko to turn him around. Tarryn will be a superstar if he gets his head right.

Endgame - we won’t get the mature bodies we are after with the exception of Logue and Tucker but in a perfect world we should get Wardlaw and Cadman and 2 firsts next year. A pox on Port - I hope they crash and burn. One of Walker or Jedi could get another life for one year.

10.30 to 11.40 - Bucks is absolutely spot on

I’ve been having a deja vu moment thinking about Bucks and how he f Ed north and we went on to win 2 premierships and he ended up winning no premiership either as player nor coach and JHF and how he’s treating north right now. JHF risks being the new Buckley 🙄

View attachment 1525555
Yeah Butters is worth more than pick 51.

Our issue is pick 1 = quality.

It's so hard to get in quality.
It’s not supposed to be fair.

We aren’t a ****ing charity - It doesn’t have to be close to fair.

I want to buy your house, I don’t knock on your door and offer market price.

I’m offering 10-30% above market price if I’m trying to merge the block and redevelop.

Sometimes more.

Butters, 8, 2023 R1(~15) for Jason

No butters, then we demand WCE or another future 1st as part of the deal.

As for how good Butters is, he’d want to be pretty good as we could easily just take Moir or Dursma’s young bro, both of whom look pretty special.

Definitely beneath you.

I’m shocked to be sitting here.

I heard we're deep into Bowels, so that is a grand sign. Pick 7 would be immense.
Too close to home for me to laugh, but I did try.

I can see my bowel! The hideousness of my stomach, currently, will haunt my dreams forever.

**** 7, we’ll take next years 1st and 2nd.

For those playing at home from what I’ve seen which is admittedly very little.

Reid > Wardlaw
Curtain > Busslinger
Watson = Sheezel but has the pace we need and is super beyond dangerous.

Combining what we have, plus what we should get (Cadman and Cowan), positioning ourselves for Reid and Curtain is critical. Pairing Curtain with McKay (and Logue) is set and forget for a decade.

Reid, LDU, Thomas and Phillips should be the stuff of legend.

And that’s not taking into consideration McKercher, Sanders and Pickett Jr as NGAs and Father Son.

And only we could be made to feel this bad when the reality is so different. We’re in a great spot and Clarko will have us in the finals in 2024. Jason or no Jason.

ok guys I got a real left field one here. Good ol scoops said exclusively that he can reveal some clubs are sniffing around Josh Bruce. How about we trade for him just so he can’t kick any more goals against us? That gives us at least one extra win next season 🤞🏻