Autopsy 2023 Rd 20 Blues beat flag favourites and move into the 8

Who played well for the Blues in Round 20 vs the Pies?

Just to accentuate your point, pies had ten players 29 or over. They are an older side than I realised. Almost this year, or bust for them.
Whereas we have a great five years of finals footy in front of us, hopefully.
They’ve been one of the oldest sides all year, 4th oldest in the comp from memory. Their performance takes on a very different perspective when you realise their age profile is closer to Geelongs than anyone’s. The Daicos boys the only thing stopping them falling over an age related cliff soon.

Best thing last night was seeing the Texan w@nker sookig it up on the bench..
Cox comes across as one of the more of the level headed, well adjusted people in footy. Often takes the piss out of himself on Twitter. He’s a lot of things (like a limited footballer), but he ain’t a w***er.

Hi all,
Great game tonight.
Congrats on the win.

Question (as I’m genuinely interested):

Does this performance mean you can get over the top of us in finals?
Is it proof you’re the form team to beat?
Or still work to do when the whips are cracking?

Where does this place you?

Was a tactically very interesting game.

Ps: I know I’m posting here on the good graces of the blues fans….but if you’re going waste you’re time trolling me and giving this a “stuff you”….all power to you!!

We're trying to keep it quiet that bit about Carlton being the form team to beat in the comp.

As much as we're improved it was notable how much Collingwood have dropped off from earlier in the season. That wasn't even close to Carlton's best team and they were comfortably the better team. If a team can keep the intercept marks from Howe / Moore / etc. down does the game plan still work as well? Getting out of jail in the last quarter against Port may have papered over a few cracks.

The pressure was too much for them. The shots at goal were terrible but field kicking wasn't great either.

racist Village Idiot Tex.

I keep seeing this guy labelled as racist and I think it's unfair. He made one comment in the heat of the moment, and if people knew the nature of the abuse he was reacting to I think they'd probably be a little more understanding as to why he reacted the way he did.

But at the end of the day he made an error in a moment of anger. It doesn't mean he deserves to be shamed and defined by it for the rest of his life. Save the labels for the actual racists, or the word just starts to lose meaning.

How good was Newman? Curnow gets BOG for sure but Newman was absolutely outstanding. So influential in that win. One of Gov's best ever games also - 400m games at 89% efficiency.

Gotta love Mason Cox checking Newman's number because he didn't even know who he was. Well Mason he's the bloke equal BOG while you got subbed in the 3rd quarter with 3 possessions and the reputation as one of the world's great flogs.

Marchbank!! What a brilliant game. A couple of errors but first game in 2 or 3 years under huge pressure and he was right in it. Had to watch the replay to pick up just how good he was - so smart with his positioning and cool under pressure.

Martin outstanding once again.

Players out for Carlton: Boyd, SOS, McKay, Walsh, Kennedy, Cerra, Williams
Collingwood: full strength
Newman reaching Andy McKay territory - brilliant and much underrated

So am I - a much underrated player is Owies - love his intensity

Love the fact 'The Owl' constantly gets under the skin of opposition and supporters.

A real pest/extroverted type of character, we haven't had one of those for a while :)

Love the fact 'The Owl' constantly gets under the skin of opposition and supporters.

A real pest/extroverted type of character, we haven't had one of those for a while :)
His follow up after hand balling over the top to Motts is fun to watch.

Runs the gauntlet past the frothing Collingwood Stain - aka Collingwood cheer squad.

The instinctual tackling/pressure acts by the team over the past few weeks has been a delight to watch.

Jesse's strong tackling was what we were waiting for. We know he has goal sense.

It just seems something has clicked for the team. It doesn't matter who gets the ball, who kicks the goals, if you apply pressure and work hard for each other and create space for each other, you have played your role.
You know what I think it was? I reckon the turning point for us was the embarrassing loss to the bombers in round 13. When our players came off the ground and copped what they did from the fans I think something snapped.

I think our blokes are genuinely terrified of copping a serve like that again.

That is all true i guess. Collingwood were sloppy, they did kick poorly for goal, and we did get some free kicks.

On the other hand they never got within 3 goals in the second half and we belted them by 33 in contested disposals - it was a comfortable win on the night, and we had player s missing too.

Crazy to focus on Collingwood there imo

The stuff they focus on with Collingwood is strange too. Why not mention their impotent forward line or tendency to get 3-4 goals behind and rely on coming from behind. If they are as good as everyone thinks, surely you don't rely on dominating the last quarter AND kicking miraculous goals from 50 out or on the boundary. It's an approach designed to fall apart in finals imo
Point I was trying to make was, as a starting point give the team who actually won the game some love before making excuses for the losers.

By the way still listening and waiting for him to give us some credit.

7mins to go in the first quarter, TDK goes up for a ruck contest in centre, bad bounce, TDK uses hand to keep opposing ruck away and gets called for a ruck infringement

I am an old timer but surely that is not a free kick and the umpire has ****** up, surely the rules haven’t changed that much and rucks can stop opposition rucks from winning the tap??
For the last 6 years or so, rucks can't use a straight arm with no bend in the elbow to hold the other ruckman off. Max Gawn got pinged for a heap of them in 2019. TDK got pinged at least twice last week and needs to work this out quickly, and just needs to have some bend in his elbow.

Right decision. Really shit rule. Harsh given the bounce led to the issue, but the solution there is to get rid of the bounce. TDK to get better with not giving these away.

They’ve been one of the oldest sides all year, 4th oldest in the comp from memory. Their performance takes on a very different perspective when you realise their age profile is closer to Geelongs than anyone’s. The Daicos boys the only thing stopping them falling over an age related cliff soon.

Very similar to Geelong last year, and Josh Daicos turns 25 soon - hardly a spring chicken...

Autopsy 2023 Rd 20 Blues beat flag favourites and move into the 8