Rumour 2024 Hypothetical trade and FA Thread

Specifically, what is it you don't like about his performance of the last ~18 months?

Which games/opponents, in particular?
He's not a KPD. We need quality defenders who can play on the 200+cm forwards.

A KPD is the guy that mitigates the threat of the KPF. As a mature player, size is irrelevant - performance is relevant.

Which KPF has got hold of him in the last 18 months to make us think he can't do the job?

Genuine question - whilst I like the Saints, I've not followed closely. I was pretty keen on Doogie Howser as a KPD in 2023 Trade Period but happier to buy one than trade for one if the quality is there.

Jack Henry is the only quality KPD in the FA pool this year and there's no way he's leaving the handbaggers.

I'd prefer we look to trade our 1st and/or future first for players of this calibre. We should be gunning hard for KPD pre-agents like Weitering,Taylor, Ballard and McCartin. Not Battle.
Wait you rate Jack Henry but not Battle?

Yep, like most of us.
You running some kind of secret poll or making shit up?

Your reason for not liking Battle is that he can't play on 200cm KPF - then you favour a shorter player to play on 200cm KPF? :think:

You running some kind of secret poll or making s**t up?

Your reason for not liking Battle is that he can't play on 200cm KPF - then you favour a shorter player to play on 200cm KPF? :think:
Henry is 194 and taller than Battle and actually plays on the taller KPF unlike Battle.

Do you actually watch footy or just SYL's lap dog?

Henry is 194 and taller than Battle and actually plays on the taller KPF unlike Battle.

Do you actually watch footy or just SYL's lap dog?
Nope, never seen a single game - all my posts are based on the AFL 23 video game.

I'm Strapping Young Lad #6 best lap dog, but reckon I'll slide up the rankings with my support for Ramsden.

Thank f**k you're here, otherwise idiots like me, List Managers & Coaches wouldn't have a clue how to rate players!

Yeah, my thought too. Might be one to watch.
You brought him up as a possibility last year from memory? I know we’ve been keen in the past.

The comment from Lyon was just weird. Seems we’re right into him and he’s having a bit of sook.

Don’t mind Battle. He’s a solid player and at worst would add some quality depth to the list. Reckon he’d be in our lineup now if we had him.

Steven May is only 193. Height is irrelevant.
Tom Stewart is only 190cm. People get obsessed with height. If a player has defensive craft whilst defending the high ball, then height is only a number. The fact he has that, plus sound skills and decision making makes him a more than handy target for our backline.

Pffft 190!. Sicily is 188cm.

I was VERY excited about Baz before the ACL. A highly talented player that had a bad season - that's how you get a bit of value for an absolute gun.

But a guy who is out of form for a season and THEN does an ACL. Well - I just struggle to get too excited about that and fear that we're going to pay way too much for someone who now has a much lower ceiling than he had before.
I agree LP and I think the Jaegar thing scarred me a bit and yes this might be a bit irrational but heck I do not want to waste picks on someone who will “never be the same player” etc.

I was VERY excited about Baz before the ACL. A highly talented player that had a bad season - that's how you get a bit of value for an absolute gun.

But a guy who is out of form for a season and THEN does an ACL. Well - I just struggle to get too excited about that and fear that we're going to pay way too much for someone who now has a much lower ceiling than he had before.

I wonder if players like Doedee and Milera re-doing their ACL's will affect our bargaining position and the potential price.

Jack Henry had a great season back in 2021, but he hasn't been able to get back to that level since from what I have seen. He's had some injury issues which haven't helped either.

IMO neither Battle or Henry are the answer to our CHB issues.
He won't leave the Cats anyway. Which is why we should be chasing pre-agents like Weitering,Taylor, Ballard and McCartin.

The Dees used 3 firsts over two seasons to snare May and Lever. We should try something similar.