AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Come on Cats, this year is hard enough without giving The Scarlet Gash something to cheer
Timely reminder that we already have a bloke every bit as good as stengle- and pay him probably half of what stengle would have cost.
View attachment 2034168
Mids mids mids mids mids.
Macrae + parker + caleb daniel (sinclair to fulltime mid) for zero trade cost- suddenly we have a shot at contending before the likes of roma, steele, sinclair, wilkie get too old.
We may as well do something to our midfield with our 'warchest'.
I don't care whether we go that way- or the complete reverse; ie not bring anyone new in and trading out a steele or marshall or sinclair type for a top 10 pick.
We need to sh*t, or get off the pot.
Are the likes of 29yo sinclair, roma, steele, wilkie ever going to play in a flag contending saints team?
Might be possible(?) but it's not going to happen without drastic action.
If we don't want to take THAT drastic action- we need to be brave and look at major ways of adding extra elite talent in the 18-20 bracket.
What mids are FA like Stengle?Timely reminder that we already have a bloke every bit as good as stengle- and pay him probably half of what stengle would have cost.
View attachment 2034168
Macrae + parker + caleb daniel(sinclair to fulltime mid) for zero trade cost- suddenly we have a shot at contending before the likes of roma, steele, sinclair, wilkie get too old.PLAYERCARDSTART35Caleb Daniel
- Ht
- 171cm
- Wt
- 72kg
- Pos.
- M/F
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 5star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 5star
- M
- 4star
- T
- 4star
- CL
- 4star
- D
- 4star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 4star
- T
- 3star
- CL
- 3star
- D
- 4star
- K
- 3star
- HB
- 5star
- M
- 4star
- T
- 4star
- CL
- 2star
PLAYERCARDEND
I don't care whether we go that way- or the complete reverse; ie not bring anyone new in and trading out a steele or marshall or sinclair type for a top 10 pick.
Are the likes of 29yo sinclair, roma, steele, wilkie ever going to play in a flag contending saints team?
If we don't want to take THAT drastic action- we need to be brave and look at major ways of adding extra elite talent in the 18-20 bracket.
Got to spend the war chest on someoneTimely reminder that we already have a bloke every bit as good as stengle- and pay him probably half of what stengle would have cost.
View attachment 2034168
Macrae + parker + caleb daniel (sinclair to fulltime mid) for zero trade cost- suddenly we have a shot at contending before the likes of roma, steele, sinclair, wilkie get too old.
one first rounder is plenty for meHad a day to think about this
What could a club offer/have that could let Jack S go?
He is 29 start of next year with three years to run.
Would have to be two first rounders but what club needs an inside mid and has picks that would work..?
The cats or Essendon don’t have the picks. If that cats gave this years first (pick 7) and next years first (pick 3) and stengle…they can have the man of steel
Not as solid, but caminiti, sharman, and shoey if we want to go more attacking could all play a role in replacing battle.. we've also got keeler and van es (long shot) developing..i say its not.
because we have players to step up, sharman, caminiti, maybe hayes if he's fit, ari etc.. what we need are some gun mids. If we can turn battle into a pick 6 gun mid then it's an obvious net win.. I mean really this is list management 101, if this doesn't make sense to you nothing willWhy make a hole to fill a hole?
A great post there Sunshine Sainter.
We live in an "instant gratification" society.
And as you say above......we naturally want it with our footy side....that incredibly elusive 2nd big shiny cup.
I like you have been waiting about 100 years....lol.
I ain't getting any younger !!!!!!!
The one thing that "Fred" has been consistent about is that there will be no short cuts this time.
Loved his interview with the "Lord of the Scotch"
Great that we now have a Prez who is speaking out....loudly....about the inequalities of the AFL "free enterprise system"
Prez admits that he wasn't hands on enough pre Ratts getting the DCM.....he simply trusted his Lieutenants getting the correct info to him....ummmm !!!!
We simply have to "get it right" this time with Tassie on the Horizon.....I can almost taste the delicious draft concessions etc that they will receive.......ala GWS and GC when they entered the comp(we picked an awesome time to bottom out back in 2013/2014....NOT !!!! )
I reckon we need an AFL standard Key Forward as well.I reckon we need another small pressure forward too.
Max King.I reckon we need an AFL standard Key Forward as well.
We are so far behind by the time we start and really haven't got much to feel confident about. You can't draft your way out of this and bottoming out like North did while Tassie comes in is exactly what we did when GWS and the Suns were coming in. We can demand standards. We pay our memberships so own a stake in the club. It's dangerous for any organisation to ignore their stakeholders.
We deserve some level of accountability for 14 years of failure. I have just as much right to complain about the club as you feel to complain about my posts.
Max King.
I like the idea mostly because you can stuff up one top 5 pick but it’s almost impossible to stuff two up. And before anyone quotes me yes I know we had 7+8 in 2017 but we had one of the worst recruiters in history at the time, and top 5 picks are a different ballgame to late top 10’s.My feeling is that we will keep Battle.
BUT I have been thinking and if we are going to get band one I can see the appeal. On an open market a pick like 6 if it ends up that is way overs for him.
Battle is a very good player, not elite though.
The issue is even the high end of the draft is a gamble. But I can see the appeal of adding two top ten picks at this stage.
Talk about overrating our own players , Boy oh BoyHad a day to think about this
What could a club offer/have that could let Jack S go?
He is 29 start of next year with three years to run.
Would have to be two first rounders but what club needs an inside mid and has picks that would work..?
The cats or Essendon don’t have the picks. If that cats gave this years first (pick 7) and next years first (pick 3) and stengle…they can have the man of steel
Agree. Stengle is a good player and you'd take him on your list, but that deal is ridiculous. He really saved us from ourselves there.Thank GOD that deal didn't happen! Feck me dead that is just madness. Bloke only came right 2 years ago in the Geelong system. Absolutely playing with fire Saints smh. Imagine we get the Adelaide Stengle for $4.5m over 6........ what are they thinking!
They tried. They failed. I don’t blame them. But we need to go the youth approach in it’s entirety this off season.