Player Watch #11: Jason Castagna - signed to 2023

Should Castagna be dropped for the Port game after his 2 disposal effort vs the Swans?

• Yes - for Cumberland

• Yes - for anyone

• No

• Make him Sub

Results are only viewable after voting.

He isn’t a Tigers fan. Most likely Essendon
Who knows what they are these days and the place has turned to shit with the amount of people sh!tting on all our players at every opportunity
at least the Daniel Rioli thread has become a no go zone for these "People" and now they gravitate here

Sure george kicking is crap but FMD the cursing going on is just PATHETIC and cant believe these people can continue "Because they know what the rules are"

But what about a rule that stops you from the constant non stop shitting on our players
like a troll

What you have stated here TT is nothing of relevance to your original post. As usual you have moved the goal posts. Which is probably a good thing if you can move them to the left HF flank as JC might be able to hit the behind post from there.:think:

Just off topic a bit but haven’t we been scoring heavily this season?. Second in the comp etc. Has the forward line been the problem ? Ok so Castanga has been replaced by Cumberland who looks a ripper but it’s not as if we hadn’t been scoring . I read somewhere we are rated 13th when we haven’t got the football.
This season looking at the stats Castanga is either rated above average or average in the main categories . Cumberland is rated elite in goals and average and below average in the others .
We have upgraded the 22nd player who happens to be a forward where things have been going well anyway .
What’s my point ? Castanga been coping it in the neck when his stats show he hasn’t been the disaster that everyone thinks and more importantly where he plays …the forward line hasn’t been the problem.
He’s not in the team … so what . If he is in the team .. so what . .. we will still probably kick lots of goals.

Just off topic a bit but haven’t we been scoring heavily this season?. Second in the comp etc. Has the forward line been the problem ? Ok so Castanga has been replaced by Cumberland who looks a ripper but it’s not as if we hadn’t been scoring . I read somewhere we are rated 13th when we haven’t got the football.
This season looking at the stats Castanga is either rated above average or average in the main categories . Cumberland is rated elite in goals and average and below average in the others .
We have upgraded the 22nd player who happens to be a forward where things have been going well anyway .
What’s my point ? Castanga been coping it in the neck when his stats show he hasn’t been the disaster that everyone thinks and more importantly where he plays …the forward line hasn’t been the problem.
He’s not in the team … so what . If he is in the team .. so what . .. we will still probably kick lots of goals.
Absolute garbage

I think it's more to do with his DE and decision making under pressure

JC Elite at guarding space?

As they do, when the simple eye test fails and reveals how poor he is, they run straight to the laptop and the stats sheet to try and skew them in a bid to make George out to be something he ain’t. Worst skills in the AFL and on that fact alone he should never be seen again. Stating the bleeding obvious his pressure has largely been non-Existent, so he’s neither good with or without the ball. Haven’t seen the final team … tell me he is out and not even a contender for the sun role?

Getting close to elite for marks. I’ve never got this guarding space put down . If he’s told to guard space then he guards space .. it’s not his choice . But if guarding space has won us 3 premierships then good on Dimma for getting Castanga to guard space.

We are 2nd in scoring and 13th when we haven’t got the ball .. so maybe this is an area we need to work on. Does that mean guard space .. who knows ?

As they do, when the simple eye test fails and reveals how poor he is, they run straight to the laptop and the stats sheet to try and skew them in a bid to make George out to be something he ain’t. Worst skills in the AFL and on that fact alone he should never be seen again. Stating the bleeding obvious his pressure has largely been non-Existent, so he’s neither good with or without the ball. Haven’t seen the final team … tell me he is out and not even a contender for the sun role?

The simple eye test . Classic .

I think it's more to do with his DE and decision making under pressure

It’s his kicking . You lose games for what ever reason and you change your half forward flanker who is a dodgy kick because you always have a few you can roll through and at least you are doing something. Looks like we have found a good one. Is he taking goals of the other forwards ..I don’t think so. I think he brings a bit of uniqueness to our forward which of course Jason Castanga certainly did . Either way I don’t think our forwards are a problem even with an aging Jack R.

I’m tipping now that his unique and his alone role as ‘space guarded’ has been debunked, fans of George will invent another purpose or role to justify his many inadequacies. Of course it will be a role that no one else can quite see but will justify his standing around not being involved and morale sapping turnovers.

Have you got round to digging his face out with a pen in all the premiership photos yet ? Could be very therapeutic.

So we haven’t been scoring heavily with or without Castanga ?2nd ..
We are 13th in the league with out the football?
Castanga stats aren’t either above average or average ?
We didn’t replace our 22nd player ?
Castanga hasn’t been copping in the neck ?
Mate you know exactly what I’m talking about. I don’t need to answer each individual point

Is that seriously the main thing you take out of all that footage?
That and his poor thinking ability and lack of calm. He acts first … sometimes not a bad thing … but he often looks rushed and hence, then comes the poorly executed kick or handball. Mind you, his average skills back then have only setup rated at this point.

I’m tipping now that his unique and his alone role as ‘space guarded’ has been debunked, fans of George will invent another purpose or role to justify his many inadequacies. Of course it will be a role that no one else can quite see but will justify his standing around not being involved and morale sapping turnovers.

Got a pretty good left foot on him. Not saying its elite and but passes the simple eye test.

Getting close to elite for marks. I’ve never got this guarding space put down . If he’s told to guard space then he guards space .. it’s not his choice . But if guarding space has won us 3 premierships then good on Dimma for getting Castanga to guard space.

We are 2nd in scoring and 13th when we haven’t got the ball .. so maybe this is an area we need to work on. Does that mean guard space .. who knows ?
I'm old. And older school. ..
games used to be won and lost on scoreboards. Castagna might be elite for marks and guarding space. What's the opposite of elite to describe his goal kicking?
Castagna's selection is a debate b/n Champion data and watching him tragically unable to kick a football through a couple of posts. Scoreboard at the ground tell me if we if we have won a game or not.
Noah C can kick goals and MRJ is the embodiement of pressure.

Have you got round to digging his face out with a pen in all the premiership photos yet ? Could be very therapeutic.
I've endured every year of the flag drought. Every one of the team of 2017 are absolute legends. Some double flag, some triple flag legends. But late 2022/pushing 2023 a couple of rule changes, a couple of average seasons and we are back with the field.
Flag hero Soldo is in the VFL. 2017 flag fwds Caddy, Towner, Butler have moved on. George is getting dropped so I'm happy about the selection. I just want to see how others Stack/Mansell ?? might go in the AFL. Seemed to have the basic skills.

Is that seriously the main thing you take out of all that footage?
With the greatest respect, Ghost.
What's your point?
A challenge for you ... compile a list of his last two season highlights.
And then let's be honest, you likely can't and then you'll work out what this whole debate/discussion is about.
He is no longer up to scratch.
As stated before, full credit to him on being a three-time premiership player. Would we have won three without him ... YES. But he has three.
But for a limited role player, he is nowhere even near 2017 level or 2018, which was probably his high point and has declined ever since.
A highlights package from eight years or nine years ago is irrelevant and does not sway me one bit.
Current form does.
And Castagna has been awful for a good two years.
Could you possibly devise a highlights package on Castragna on what he has served up for two years? No.
It would be a fair dinkum bloopers reel.

Player Watch #11: Jason Castagna - signed to 2023