Player Watch #12: Jy Simpkin - 21/22 SBM - 23/24 CoCapt

He works but his disposal is so costly that I can't see where he provides a benefit.

It's still very clear his best work is in the contest. Does not have the required attacking flair.

You’d be hard pressed to find a worse kick of the ball in the comp. I honestly can’t think of a worse kick.

Constantly miss kicks them, completely misses 20-25m targets, tries to over kick the ball because he can’t kick 40m and he absolutely torches the footy going inside 50.

embarrassingly bad.

We should primarily be playing Jy as our long sought crumbing forward at Larkeys feet. His problem with kicking is all about depth and judging movement of players 15-30 metres away. He is diabolically bad at this part of the game. But he can crumb, is elusive, can handball at pace and can kick straight at goal. A weak tackler but can apply some okay-ish pressure.
Could stay in the midfield rotation to some extent but should be under strict instructions to handball or kick long and not use short to medium kicks.

You’d be hard pressed to find a worse kick of the ball in the comp. I honestly can’t think of a worse kick.

Constantly miss kicks them, completely misses 20-25m targets, tries to over kick the ball because he can’t kick 40m and he absolutely torches the footy going inside 50.

embarrassingly bad.
You need to watch a couple of Essendon games

It is what it is.

Culturally making him captain on the back of one of the worst seasons by a best and fairest winner in memory and one of the worst in the clubs history, along with McDonald is just f***ed.

The concussions, his hand injury, his own form, his kicking, the clubs woes and all the pressure on him being the captain may be getting to him.

Natural half forward, was turned into a mid then asked to go back to a part mid /part fwd role.

I understand why this has taken place & the reasoning behind it, but I don't think it's particularly helped him unfortunately.

there's an unhealthy dynamic on here to dump on blokes who are struggling, even though they give their all for the club.

Six weeks ago, Jy Simpkin was knocked into orbit by one of the more despicable acts ever seen on a football field, and he's backed up as soon as he could to help his side.

If he's off the pace, there's a reason.

Ease up.

there's an unhealthy dynamic on here to dump on blokes who are struggling, even though they give their all for the club.

Six weeks ago, Jy Simpkin was knocked into orbit by one of the more despicable acts ever seen on a football field, and he's backed up as soon as he could to help his side.

Ease up.

100% mate. I'm all for criticism (without vitriol) coming at blokes who watch their opponent burn us and don't give two shits, but Jy busts his arse no matter the circumstances or how he's feeling.

Ease up.

Agreed in principle, but these challenges and shortcomings by Jy are not new.

These challenges were evident when we resigned him on his mega deal and as the game has progressed from just ‘move it forward’ to now needing more precision to cut open defensive zones, it’s clear the coaching staff are desperately trying to find a place on the field to hide his disposal woes.

It’s a sad state of affairs.

I think another reason we have taken Jy out of the middle for the majority of the game is to protect him a bit. He can’t afford another concussion this yr. With all the rules relating to this he would need to sit out for quite a long period.

He got put into the middle at stages in the second half and we looked much better when he did. The ball wasn’t just being ran out with ease

I think he’s always looked at his best in the forward line.

I like him in the middle, but I reckon he could be a gun small forward.

At the moment it looks like the coaches are trying to play him in that high half forward role that Robbie Grey played, which could work if we could actually win a centre clearance.

Player Watch #12: Jy Simpkin - 21/22 SBM - 23/24 CoCapt