2009 Adelaide Board POTY R1 Vs. Collingwood

Just on that, I was the one pro Ebert at the time and I am happy to say I was wrong. Ebert is not a bad player but Dangerfield has the potential to be elite.

Also what I found really interesting is that Hawthorn didn't rate Ebert at all. I spoke to Todd Viney at the season launch and his comments were "we didn't rate Ebert at all!" When I asked him how they rated Dangerfield he said they rated him highly but where not interested because they thought they had enough of the similar types in Hodge, Mitchell, Lewis and Sewell and were really after a small forward that had a bit of pace.

Anyway, back to the game.
POTY
5 - Andrew McLeod - I'll be honest, when I heard about the microfracture surgery I shat myself and thought he will be a shell of his former self. But bloody hell he turned the clock back today. A quite 2nd quarter but he was a star.

4 - Tyson Edwards - Like McLeod he was brilliant, probably unlucky not to be BOG but when ever we needed a steadier, Edwards came up with the goods.

3 - Bernie Vince - After seeing him in that practice match against Sydney, I was convinced he is in for a big year. Today he was HUGE. Made a couple of errors but overall he was just a gun and a half.

2 - Nathan Bock - Other than the first goal of the match and the second goal from a pissy free kick, Cloke was not a factor. Bock gave him a bath and kicked a goal himself for a good measure. In for another great year.

1 - Simon Goodwin - This really was a toss up. Any number of players could have been picked here, Stevens, van Berlo, Otten, Douglas etc but to me Goody was steady presence all day long and in the last couple of minutes when the game was very much in the balance, Goody needed to win a particular contest and he did just that. He would love the freedom as a HBF. Possibly in for an AA year.

BTM

3 - Scott Stevens - Is this guy our Mr Fix it or what?! Was pratically our lone forward in the first half and caused all sorts of trouble to Presti in the first quarter. He is one of the most important players in our team and played well both forward and back today

2 - Richard Douglas - Probably a bit unlucky not to get my voted in the POTY but then I suspect I rated his game a lot higher than many. He was in everything and that going back with the flight of the ball spoil on the last line of defence is one of the reasons why this kid gets the vote. He is also in for a good year.

1 - Andy Otten - Have I mentioned how much I LOVE this kid. He is a great player. He is a perfect replacement for the Hound. He even did his best Bassett impersonation coming in to spoil a certain mark to Anthony who has Rutten well and truely beaten in that contest. He is a gun. Always thought he would make a very good defender and he is relishing the opportunity to play as a 3rd tall. In a couple of years with more experience and confidence in his ability, he will be unleashed into the midfield....watch out! He already plays with a great poise. In his 3rd game he looked like a veteran.

ROTY

3 - Andy Otten - See above....might add that he might just give the rising star award a shake this year.

2 - Jarred Petrenko - What a little bulldozder. He doesn't run around them, he runs through them! LOVED his game today. Kicked a goal to top it off but his attack on the footy and the man was brilliant. Loved the smarts he displayed when he stopped running since there was no advantage and then got up to laugh into Anthony's face :D

1 - Patrick Dangerfield - He just showed a couple of things which suggest he will be a star. The one particular player a liked was him running through the pack, picking up a contested ball, still running and standing up in the tackle and getting a handball out to a team mate. He is a player.

Agree with all of that.

Same for me thanks.

Nice work! :) :thumbsu:

POTY:
5) Mcleod - Was vintage Mcleod on display in the middle of "the G" today, can't remember the last time he went on so many "Mcleod runs" down the ground, hopefully he can keep it up all year.
4) Vince - After reports from the Sydney game I immediately slotted this bloke into my DT/SC team and he has immediately repaid the faith. Great game, was just every where and whilst there were a few off kicks, is so cool and calm under pressure and with that booming, accurate right boot and tall, strong, solid body he's developed, I think he will tear a heap of games apart this year.
3) Edwards - Well, we didn't only get a taste of Vintage Mcleod today, it was Vintage Edwards too, combined really well with the youngsters and provided that cool head whenever it was needed.
2) Goodwin - A really solid game from Goodwin, similar to Edwards just seemed to move around and provide that cool, experienced head whenever it was required.
1) van Berlo - A great comeback game from VB, kicked a couple of cracker goals and made me look like an idiot for berating him for not passing off when he took a grab just outside 50, only to cooly slot it from 60. Ominous signs from VB, if he can play like that underdone, just wait till he's got a couple of games under his belt.

BTM:
3) Stevens - Always the team player, to have the versatility to seamlessly switch between the forward line and the back line is so important to the team.
2) Porplyzia - Quietish game from Porps, but just gave it to him for his ability to take a contested mark and then cooly slot a goal from 45 out in the last quarter, an absolute team lifter.
1) Maric - Guess I gotta give it to him for the heart he shows and of course throwing Otten out of the way so he could be the one getting into Anthony:D

ROTY:
3) Otten - Toss up between himself and Petrenko and the decision is made harder considering their contrasting gamestyles, but barring a couple of moments where his lack of experience was evident, played like a seasoned veteran, class player and will play many games for us in years to come.
2) Petrenko - I must say now, having finally seen him play properly, I love this bloke. Hard at it, tough, super quick, agile, smart, I think we have a genuine quality player on our hands, think he could be the answer to our small forward woes, just loved the way he provided that "forward 50 defensive pressure". Has got that real touch of Daniel Kerr about him in terms of his tenacity a the man and footy and also in the way he moves.
1) Dangerfield - Perhaps not as influential as Petrenko or Otten but still had a very pleasing game. This bloke is ready to play AFL football, is a massive unit, super quick and just loves the competitive stuff, it may be tough, but I'd be trying to get as many games into this bloke this year as possible.

I must say it was genuinely pleasing to have so many teenagers in the side all contributing, the last time we had similar numbers was back in the mid 90's when the likes of Roo, Mcleod, Edwards, Goodwin, Johnson, Vardy etc. coming through, something we've lacked over the past 8-10 years, exciting times.

Edit: Just a note to Rucci and all the others who spent all of last year criticising our selection of Dangerfield over Ebert, using the whole Ebert's already playing AFL, where's Dangerfield etc. argument:

Stats rd 1 of 2009:
B Ebert 7d 1m 1t 0.1
P Dangerfield 15d 4m 3t 1.1

Not justification at all, but gee, perhaps it was such a bad decision.

Normally I feel so decisive on these things but I am having so much trouble narrowing it down today. Even after watching the match twice it feels like a blur. I'll give it a go.

Player of the match:

5 - Andrew McLeod: To my mind our first quarter was the launching pad that allowed us to soak up the inevitable charge by Collingwood and it was spurred on by this man who played a brilliant quarter of football. Rarely wasted a possession and worked hard after half time to get back into the game.
4 - Nathan Bock: Dominated Travis Cloke and generated so much quality drive. He seems to have really adapted well to the idea of sending it into the corridor whenever possible. Him and Otten combine fantastically. I reckon Bock had ten bounces today, he carried the ball almost every possession. He was a rock.
3 - Bernie Vince: A couple of unfortunate mistakes and aimless kicks put him a touch below Bock in my rankings but he has well and truly stepped up to that "just below elite" level and 30+ possessions today in a tight contest proved it. Deceptively strong in his body and a penetrating kick. If only that shot on goal in the last quarter had been a metre straighter he could have made the last few minutes a lot less nerve wracking! Absolutely stepped up to the plate in the absence of Thompson and is clearly our second-best midfielder now.
2 - Scott Stevens: Some of his marks were just superb and he is as reliable a kick on goal as anyone in our forward line from 40 out, which is a big call when you consider he shares it with Porplyzia and Walker. When he wasn't up forwarding becoming the leading goalkicker for the match, he was mopping up balls in the backline. Just another day in the office for Stevens.
1 - Tyson Edwards: 26 of his 28 possessions were uncontested and I couldn't be happier about it. His left foot entries into the forward line are exquisite and I can't recall him wasting a single possession during the match. This guy was gone for all money 10 months ago. What a star.
Honourable mention - Andy Otten: This isn't a frivolous entry either, to my mind he deserves to be thought of in the top 6 for the match. He was the link man and set up so much play for us this match. Took some crucial marks and effected some brilliant spoils.

Best team man:

3 - Ivan Maric: Once again showed that he will fly the flag whenever he gets a chance, coming to the rescue of Petrenko and getting in the face of Anthony. Often threw himself at the ball and won it for us, and really stepped up in the second half when the clearances were really turning against us.
2 - Jared Petrenko: Now here is a model for how a young kid needs to make a debut. Petrenko threw everything but the kitchen sink into the match, flying into contests, attempting to bust through tackles, hitting the ball at blistering pace and lacking crunching tackles every oppurtunity he got. How inspirational must it be for team members to watch a debutant throw himself around like that?
1 - Richard Douglas: He was in everything today, throwing himself around at contests and flying through the air trying to intercept play. So often he created enough pressure to force Collingwood to turn around and muck around with the ball, bringing our defenders back into the game. Looked so comfortable out there today, which I haven't felt in the past.
Honourable mention - Ben Rutten: Didn't have the best of days but geez, we missed him when he was gone. Kept Anthony fairly quiet and took some fantastic marks on the wing when other teammates were under a lot of pressure.

Rookie of the year:

3 - Andy Otten: Already mentioned him earlier, but he just shows class and a consumate footy brain way beyond his years. He takes a beautiful mark, seems to have great awareness of his surroundings, and looks to play on at every oppurtunity. The spoil on Anthony was Bassett-like. He is simply not the same player that we saw in his debut match last year. Poised, classy, ready.
2 - Jared Petrenko: A little bloke but what a solid body! Jet lived up to his nickname and used his pace with a confidence that belied his total lack of AFL experience. Some of his kicks were a bit off but he slotted an important goal, did some brilliant work in close, absorbing bumps and tackles and dishing off handballs, and laid some lovely tackles. His half-volley pickup at full pace (and subsequence bullshit free kick against) was just superb. Give him a couple of seasons and he could be anything.
1 - Myke Cook: How much faith does this guy get with the coaching staff? After a somewhat disappointing second term, Cook starts the premiership quarter on the field smack in the centre. His kicking is still disappointing but every other part of his game looks great. He really goes in like a rocket when he tackles someone and has bulked up like crazy from the skinny kid last year. No wonder his guernsey didn't fit properly! :p That mark in the last quarter was awesome, the kick afterwards was the opposite.
Honourable mention - Patrick Dangerfield: I ummed and ahhed about whether Danger should be 1 or Cook should be 1. I ended up going with Cook, but Danger had a strong case too. He kicked a lovely crumbing goal, and didn't even seem to fire up afterwards. He had a couple of classic Dangerfield "crash through the pack and still somehow get a handball out the back" moments and a couple of beautiful pressuring tackles. He's not quite ready to show his true class yet, but he did show that he is ready to play AFL, and didn't look out of his depth.

jo - for those of us who didn't participate much in the POTY awards last year, can you please update the OP with exactly what the criteria is for the ROTY? In fact, it would be good if you could spell out the acronyms too. (It took me a while to figure out BTM :eek: )

1) Dangerfield - Perhaps not as influential as Petrenko or Otten but still had a very pleasing game. This bloke is ready to play AFL football, is a massive unit, super quick and just loves the competitive stuff, it may be tough, but I'd be trying to get as many games into this bloke this year as possible.
Having been at the game I was able to see his leadership off the ball and what I thought was good inside work, now having watch the replay it was great inside work. What a hard nut for his age.

Seconded:thumbsu:

I was in awe for the entire first half of those legs and for the second half at the size of his chest.
On their little high 5 session after the game, and seeing him up close, how is he 18. Has a little baby face, barrel chest and dew legs. His arms aren't lacking either.

All our youngsters seem to be a lot bigger than last year, great stuff.

Normally I feel so decisive on these things but I am having so much trouble narrowing it down today. Even after watching the match twice it feels like a blur. I'll give it a go.

Player of the match:

5 - Andrew McLeod: To my mind our first quarter was the launching pad that allowed us to soak up the inevitable charge by Collingwood and it was spurred on by this man who played a brilliant quarter of football. Rarely wasted a possession and worked hard after half time to get back into the game.
4 - Nathan Bock: Dominated Travis Cloke and generated so much quality drive. He seems to have really adapted well to the idea of sending it into the corridor whenever possible. Him and Otten combine fantastically. I reckon Bock had ten bounces today, he carried the ball almost every possession. He was a rock.
3 - Bernie Vince: A couple of unfortunate mistakes and aimless kicks put him a touch below Bock in my rankings but he has well and truly stepped up to that "just below elite" level and 30+ possessions today in a tight contest proved it. Deceptively strong in his body and a penetrating kick. If only that shot on goal in the last quarter had been a metre straighter he could have made the last few minutes a lot less nerve wracking! Absolutely stepped up to the plate in the absence of Thompson and is clearly our second-best midfielder now.
2 - Scott Stevens: Some of his marks were just superb and he is as reliable a kick on goal as anyone in our forward line from 40 out, which is a big call when you consider he shares it with Porplyzia and Walker. When he wasn't up forwarding becoming the leading goalkicker for the match, he was mopping up balls in the backline. Just another day in the office for Stevens.
1 - Tyson Edwards: 26 of his 28 possessions were uncontested and I couldn't be happier about it. His left foot entries into the forward line are exquisite and I can't recall him wasting a single possession during the match. This guy was gone for all money 10 months ago. What a star.
Honourable mention - Andy Otten: This isn't a frivolous entry either, to my mind he deserves to be thought of in the top 6 for the match. He was the link man and set up so much play for us this match. Took some crucial marks and effected some brilliant spoils.

Best team man:

3 - Ivan Maric: Once again showed that he will fly the flag whenever he gets a chance, coming to the rescue of Petrenko and getting in the face of Anthony. Often threw himself at the ball and won it for us, and really stepped up in the second half when the clearances were really turning against us.
2 - Jared Petrenko: Now here is a model for how a young kid needs to make a debut. Petrenko threw everything but the kitchen sink into the match, flying into contests, attempting to bust through tackles, hitting the ball at blistering pace and lacking crunching tackles every oppurtunity he got. How inspirational must it be for team members to watch a debutant throw himself around like that?
1 - Richard Douglas: He was in everything today, throwing himself around at contests and flying through the air trying to intercept play. So often he created enough pressure to force Collingwood to turn around and muck around with the ball, bringing our defenders back into the game. Looked so comfortable out there today, which I haven't felt in the past.
Honourable mention - Ben Rutten: Didn't have the best of days but geez, we missed him when he was gone. Kept Anthony fairly quiet and took some fantastic marks on the wing when other teammates were under a lot of pressure.

Rookie of the year:

3 - Andy Otten: Already mentioned him earlier, but he just shows class and a consumate footy brain way beyond his years. He takes a beautiful mark, seems to have great awareness of his surroundings, and looks to play on at every oppurtunity. The spoil on Anthony was Bassett-like. He is simply not the same player that we saw in his debut match last year. Poised, classy, ready.
2 - Jared Petrenko: A little bloke but what a solid body! Jet lived up to his nickname and used his pace with a confidence that belied his total lack of AFL experience. Some of his kicks were a bit off but he slotted an important goal, did some brilliant work in close, absorbing bumps and tackles and dishing off handballs, and laid some lovely tackles. His half-volley pickup at full pace (and subsequence bullshit free kick against) was just superb. Give him a couple of seasons and he could be anything.
1 - Myke Cook: How much faith does this guy get with the coaching staff? After a somewhat disappointing second term, Cook starts the premiership quarter on the field smack in the centre. His kicking is still disappointing but every other part of his game looks great. He really goes in like a rocket when he tackles someone and has bulked up like crazy from the skinny kid last year. No wonder his guernsey didn't fit properly! :p That mark in the last quarter was awesome, the kick afterwards was the opposite.
Honourable mention - Patrick Dangerfield: I ummed and ahhed about whether Danger should be 1 or Cook should be 1. I ended up going with Cook, but Danger had a strong case too. He kicked a lovely crumbing goal, and didn't even seem to fire up afterwards. He had a couple of classic Dangerfield "crash through the pack and still somehow get a handball out the back" moments and a couple of beautiful pressuring tackles. He's not quite ready to show his true class yet, but he did show that he is ready to play AFL, and didn't look out of his depth.

I'm going to second all of these, and not just because you are a mod. :D

Andy Otten was superb. In the second term he had to cut in front of a leading Anthony with Rutten on the hammer right in front of me, and while I cringed and thought we'd be picking up Otten atoms from all over the turf for the rest of the game, the kid went, effected the spoil, and got up. Fantastic stuff.

POTY
5 - McLeod - Provided excellent rebound out of defence, always hit targets. Oh how we will miss him when he retires..
4 - Bock - Easily one of the most important players in our team, and best defender in the competition along with Scarlett. Negated what all victorians were calling "the Cloke factor".
3 - Edwards - Kicked a goal or two and was always there, created opportunities left right and centre
2 - Stevens - Kicked a bunch of goals and did some absolutely spectacular things, gets better each game.
1 - Vince, got heaps of touches, didnt notice him as much as some of the other players but his influence on the match was evident.

BTM
3 - Maric - This man could almost be the future captain.. If it wasn't for VB. Sticks up for his team mates and is always the first in there. Especially today when "angry head anthony" gets in petrenko's face.
2 - Stevens - Really is mr fix it, is everywhere when you need him and is rarely beaten.
1 - Otten - Put his body on the line a few times today, looks the goods.

ROTY
3 - Petrenko - Absolutely awesome game for a debutant, not afraid to take em on and never beaten. the HTB decision against him was terrible.
2 - Otten - Well, he also looks the goods as a 3rd floating tall in the defence. Not absolutely ready for a midfield role yet.. But must be soon.
1 - Cook - Not scared one bit, has the flair and run that the adelaide crows need.

Having been at the game I was able to see his leadership off the ball and what I thought was good inside work, now having watch the replay it was great inside work. What a hard nut for his age.

How exciting is this? A third-gamer, still trying to find his place in the side, only in due to injury, and he's still out there trying to get everyone going when the chips are down in front of 40,000 screaming opposition fans at the MCG. Dangerfield is a captain in the making.

I'm going to second all of these, and not just because you are a mod. :D

Andy Otten was superb. In the second term he had to cut in front of a leading Anthony with Rutten on the hammer right in front of me, and while I cringed and thought we'd be picking up Otten atoms from all over the turf for the rest of the game, the kid went, effected the spoil, and got up. Fantastic stuff.

Amen to that :thumbsu: He just has an awareness of where people are and knows exactly what spot to get into. It's going to be so exciting to watch his career :)

POTY

5 - Bernie Vince
4 - Andrew McLeod
3 - Tyson Edwards
2 - Nathan Bock
1 - Nathan Van Berlo

BTM

3 - Ivan Maric
2 - Richie Douglas
1 - Trent Hentschel

ROTY

3 - Jared Petrenko
2 - Andy Otten
1 - Patrick Dangerfield

Very unlucky Myke Cook

No room for Otto brucetiki?

He was better than Walker and Cook, and I would argue Petrenko.

Not this week, unfortunately there's only three players I could pick, and when all of our youngsters played fantastic football, Otten, along with Dangerfield were the unlucky ones to miss out this week.

If they keep playing like this, they'll make this list in due course.

What a wonderful afternoon at the G. Managed to annoy many collingwood fans with my loud interjections.

5 Vince
4 McLeod
3 Edwards
2 Stevens (close to an elite player at the moment)
1 Bock

unlucky - Otten Goodwin Douglas VB

Team man

3 Douglas
2 Otten
1 Marich

Roookie

3 Otten
2 Petrenko
1 Dangerfield

POTY
5 McLeod
4 Vince
3 Bock
2 Stevens
1 Edwards

BTM
3 Douglas
2 Rutten
1 Dangerfield

ROTY
3 Jared Petrenko
2 Andy Otten
1 Patrick Dangerfield

POTY:
5. Mcleod - ran rampant all day. Let's hope he stays pain free.
4. Vince - really starting to win a ton of the ball these days. His kicking is elite and could be vital if we are to beat the flood-o-matic saints this week.
3. Edwards - top effort from Mr Button. The only player in our side who can kick well on both feet.
2. Bock - GUN. That is all.
1. Stevens - will finish in the top 5 in the B&F this year. Smart, skilled and consistent, he always contributes.

BTM:
3. Otten - his best AFL game so far (by a mile). Reads the play brilliantly.
2. Hentschel - set up Tex for his first kick. Saved our bacon when he went back. His field kicking is superb.
1. Rutten - did a decent job despite not having much of a pre-season.

ROTY:
3. Petrenko - he is going to be a real fan favourite in a year or 2. He has the build of a Pacific Islander rugby player and is just as fearless as well :thumbsu:
2. Otten - showed a lot of poise. Will become one of NC's favourites as he is disciplined and extremely versatile.
1. Danger - there must be a better weights room exclusively for players wearing the number #32 jumper as he is a massive unit now. Will only get better with more game time.

Late vote because I only got to the watch the game in full without interruptions yesterday.

5 - Vince
4 - McLeod
3 - Edwards
2 - Bock
1 - Stevens

3 - Douglas
2 - Rutten
1 - Maric

3 - Otten
2 - Petrenko
1 - Dangerfield

5-McLeod
4-Vince
3-Edwards
2-Stevens
1-Douglas

3-Maric (for the Anthony sqaure up)
2-Douglas (the Spoil)
1-Porps (the corageous hard ball get and ridiculously good handball with about a minute to go)

3-Otten
2-Petrenko
1-Rodney

POTY
5. Bernie Vince
4. Andrew McLeod
3. Nathan Bock
2. Scott Stevens
1. Tyson Edwards

BTM
3. Richard Douglas
2. Ivan Maric