2009 Big Footy Official Phantom Draft- The Real Deal (Discussion thread)

yup very happy with that effort from a Power perspective, only grabbing Butcher or Talia instead of Carlile would've been ideal. Although the prospect of Carlile at FB and Carlile at FF is quite a good one :)

Expecting any draftee let alone a KPP who usually take longer, to step up and deliver relativly good form in their first year is a lot. Certainly there are the Rich's and Hurley's who have very mature bodies but Griffiths doesn't seem to be one of these, from the videos i have seen very lanky. No doubt will be good, but i would keep your hopes reserved for a year or two before you see an impact from him

Is this the victorian bias or is this a real indication.

At the Carnival WA Dominated, SA beat both Vic Metro and vic country.

I know this is being simplistic but that would tend to indicate that WA had the best talent and Vic metro the worst talent.

So at the end of round 1 of those to play at the carnival

Vic Metro - 5 drafted
Vic Country - 5 drafted
SA - 2 drafted
WA - 3 drafted

simplistic I know but it would tend to suggest that the victorian boys are over rated.

I was thinking the same thing ... but don't forget WA had the likes of Swallow, Matera, Darling who were amongst their best players and ineligible for this year.

Interesting pick ahead Ysaye....

The mail is Troy Taylor

Remaining KP
Panos
Houghton
Fitzpatrick
Craig
Vardy

Remaining Notable Mids
Moore
Bastinac
Gysberts
Colyer
Christensen

I reckon Freo would like them all yet probably none will last to 36

Now my question is too C23, would you actually go mid or is because the Talia, Carlisle and Black are taken that you want a mid?

It's a good question Bombers41 and I'm sure there would have been a fair bit of talk if one of those talls were available and I skipped them. I honestly would have still selected either Jetta or Melksham ahead of any of those talls (Tarqs clarified that). Have them both ranked a fair bit higher than those talls mentioned and I don't subscribe to reaching for players, especially in the first round. Both Jetta and Melksham add plenty of value to the Blues and would round out our midfield perfectly. As Tarqs said, adding Waite and Jammo gives our backline a very good look IMO. No we aren't blessed with a great deal of depth with regards to tall options up forward but I don't think we are lacking goal kickers. Also I don't think it warrants us to reach places for a tall forward/back that are arguably not first round worthy. I don't think you pass on players as talented as Jetta and Melksham with position the Blues are in.

Carlisle, I'm worried a bit about his foot speed, especially the first few steps. Honestly can't see him playing as a key post down back, gets burnt on the lead too often. Smart player, good in a contest, good spoiler but I think AFL coaches will realise his deficiency and take advantage of it. Could be a solid forward but I'm still questioning whether his lack of pace when mean he becomes purely a contested marker. Think he is more of a swingman at this point though considering he has grown like crazy I probably should cut him a little slack. He has plenty of room for improvement with a good frame and long arms but still couldn't pin point how effective he can be. I would be selecting him at 12 TBH, to many question marks for mine.

Talia I think could be a solid defender, not sure he has the trickery to become a forward to be honest. Seems a smart footballer with good skills for a big fella, he could be valuable to our structure, him holding down CHB while Waite pushes forward but has he really shown he's capable? Yes he had a good carnival taking CHB honors but he's been swung around a little at TAC Cup level and hasn't really taken games by the scruff of the neck. When you have more talented players (in my view) putting quality games together such as Jetta and Melksham, who also add plenty to our team, I think it's fair to say the latter is the best way to lean.

Black is someone I haven't seen a great deal of. Got hold of a couple of matches (both a little conflicting) but I'm still not convinced he can become a pure key position player at this point. He is a good prospect don't get me wrong, knows how to find a fair bit of the footy for someone who hasn't always played to sport and uses the ball fairly well (footskills can be a little inconsistent at times) for some standing at 192cm. I haven't seen him crash packs, produce consistent leading or produce strong make, all which are key components to being a key position player. He could fill out and use his leap and speed but I would want to be more confident if I was taking him ahead of Jetta and Melksham. Seems more of a flanker/3rd tall at this point.

I think some people get a little fascinated with the 'perfect' team. I think you select the best player (first round) and work to your strength that way. By no means am I forcing this upon anyone else, just my opinion as there is more than one way to work the draft.

Is this the victorian bias or is this a real indication.
I think there's a little bit of this column and a little from the other.

It's probably fair to say that the majority of posters on the D&T board (and selectors in the PD) are from Victoria. Thus, they're likely to have seen more of the Vic lads than those from elsewhere. Thus, they're likely to rate them higher than might realistically be the case.

On the other hand, many of WA's best players were under aged and ineligible for this year's draft. Were they available, I suspect that the picture might be different and the first round of the draft probably would reflect WA's dominance at the National Champs.

Pick 20 Ryan Bastinac (Dandenong Stingrays, 183cm /74kg)

This was a tough pick but I promised myself that what I would pick midfielders on was a good level of skill and from that point of view Bastinac is the right pick. He probably isn't as exciting as Colyer (Maybe even a bit "vanilla") but I think there will still be some excitement at my next pick and this is a good bet to be a solid prospect.

Great pick Ysaye, I really like this guy, he reminds me of Marc Murphy albeit a left footed version. The one concern I have is that he didn't seem to dominate the bests in the TAC Cup.

In terms of selections, if you had gone Morabito with pick four would you have still gone mid with this pick?

RE - I'm more of the opinion that Shep is very good at steadying before finishing on the run, which a lot of the quicker guys have trouble with and causes their disposal reliability to suffer (everyone says it's something you can develop but in my experience it is a more difficult skill to acquire than it appears).

Gysberts wasn't really in the mix for pick 18 - Bastinac was the other I considered. Griffiths I loosely considered - still a very hard one to get a good handle on - he has some talent, but there is obviously very significant risk - if Melbourne aren't prepared to take a risk on a player of Swift's calibre with 2 early 2nd round picks last year (not that I had any issue with it!), I can't see Griffiths being a likely choice for them, given he has less upside and seems a much greater likelihood of having recurring injury issues troubling him.

There was a lot of mention of Bastinac in the preceding picks, and IMO, I think he's probably going to end up in the Top 15 come draft day - He's got bundles of class.

RE - I'm more of the opinion that Shep is very good at steadying before finishing on the run, which a lot of the quicker guys have trouble with and causes their disposal reliability to suffer (everyone says it's something you can develop but in my experience it is a more difficult skill to acquire than it appears).

Gysberts wasn't really in the mix for pick 18 - Bastinac was the other I considered. Griffiths I loosely considered - still a very hard one to get a good handle on - he has some talent, but there is obviously very significant risk - if Melbourne aren't prepared to take a risk on a player of Swift's calibre with 2 early 2nd round picks last year (not that I had any issue with it!), I can't see Griffiths being a likely choice for them, given he has less upside and seems a much greater likelihood of having recurring injury issues troubling him.

You make far too much sense to be on here....when are you going to wake up and smell the roses and get a recruiting gig, and leave us idiots to muddle about in fantasy land :thumbsu:;)

Wow. Although I'm worried about your tiger tall ratings, you didn't like Vickery last year. :(
I just went back and had a read of what I said in my mock last year. All pretty fair I thought and I did have him pegged very early to go to Richmond. I thought he was overrated at 4 or so where a lot of people had him and I think that seems like a pretty fair assessment. He did well last year no doubt and better as a first year ruckman that you have any right to expect. If you wanted to have a go at me about anyone last year it would be Hill who I thought was massively overrated. Yarran I also dropped right down but I think pretty much nailed.

On Griffiths it will come down to medicals. He has quite a few different injuries and if the results come back as there are no liklihood of them causing on-going problems he should go a lot higher than 19.

The guy this year who I have dropped down a lot is Carlisle. Doesn't have the pace for an AFL backman and not a goal scoring threat when forward. Very much a run of the mill key position I think and not a guy I would want to take in the first round. I know I disagree with more than a few on here.

Great pick Ysaye, I really like this guy, he reminds me of Marc Murphy albeit a left footed version. The one concern I have is that he didn't seem to dominate the bests in the TAC Cup.

In terms of selections, if you had gone Morabito with pick four would you have still gone mid with this pick?

Wee Jessies - I have actually just been trying to choose the "best available" because I feel the talent runs quite shallow this year and I want to get as much value out my picks because drafting isn't going to get any prettier over the next four or so years (I was actually quite prepared to take Griffiths if he was available - which would mean I would have gone with two KPs). Other people on this board might argue is hypocritical, given that for years I have argued that need influences best available, amongst other things.

To put in perspective, my "wishlist" (Which is actually on my desk somewhere amongst all of my other work stuff) of players that I thought I might potentially get around this pick went for this pick ran:

Duncan
Stevens
Griffiths
Bastinac
Colyer
(Other names)

As it turned out, the other Phantom Drafters had similar ideas as me it would seem, and so I got to choose the fourth on my list. Which I think is either an indication of internet collective thinking influencing us, or it is because we are all working roughly on the same premise IE. that the talent runs out pretty quickly.

Anyway - the short answer is no my choice wouldn't have changed whether I had gone with Morabito or Butcher.

Thanks Ysaye, was interested to see your rating of the remaining players to that point, especially Panos and Houghton, which should probably have been my question and which you went on and answered anyway.

I like either of Mora or Butcher, to me it's 1998 revisited J-lo or Headland (give or take). I'm sure I would be shot down on those comparisons.

Pick 12 - Carlton - Lewis Jetta (Swan Districts/WA) - 181.4cm, 68.8kg - 04/05/89

Lewis is a blistering wingman that will bring a tremendous excitement factor to the Blues midfield. He ran a 2.95 at the draft camp and really does make the use of this speed on the field. He is very bold and loves to break the lines to either create scoring opportunities or goals for himself. He is very smooth with clean hands below his knees. His kicking skills are a delight to watch, one of the best in the draft in my view. He manages to hit targets regularly over many distances. Capable of pulling a kick at the last minute, spear passes or weights them perfectly for a team mate. Also seems to be able to hit targets basically at full speed which is a hard skills to master, just ask Rohan. Vision is very good also which adds to his kicking skills, catches things from the corner of his eye and able to dispose the ball accordingly, very effective players.

Great write up C23.

Do you see him as a "zone buster"?
I.e. evasive with his pace, long penetrating and accurate kicks......especially on the burst.

Given his "lack of tank" would you see him resting forward and if so would he be playing at the expense of a Yarran, Garlett, Betts type?

Any current day players you'd liken him too in terms of playing style?

Great write up C23.

Do you see him as a "zone buster"?
I.e. evasive with his pace, long penetrating and accurate kicks......especially on the burst.

Given his "lack of tank" would you see him resting forward and if so would he be playing at the expense of a Yarran, Garlett, Betts type?

Any current day players you'd liken him too in terms of playing style?

He is one of those players that can hit targets basically running at full speed. Definitely speed wise he's a 'zone buster', as i said he is very bold and that normally pays off in spades. He can kick 50 odd metres but i wouldn't call them penetrating at this point to be honest. It isn't Rich/Hurn like over that distance and at this point probably isn't able to bust a zone with his kicking. Saying that he has twigs for legs so get him on the leg machine and he may be able to add a few metres onto his spears. Over 40 metres i don't think you can fault his kicking, over that, he can hit targets but the ball can take a little longer, if that makes sense.

He could start off as a midfield impact player, he has seemed to stay the journey at WAFL level playing on the wing/half forward but obviously the AFL is a step up. May take a little time off those fellas playing across half forward but over time he wouldn't be playing at the expense of any of them. He is a wingman/half forward rather than a small crumbing forward.

A few fellas have come up with the Andrew Lovett comparison and i think that is a fair one.

2009 Big Footy Official Phantom Draft- The Real Deal (Discussion thread)