2009 Trade Discussion- Part 7

How many trades do you have left? Seems like you're midfield has been destroyed!

Given the amount of 0's you'll be copping, I'd be keeping Rich. What about bypassing Bartel and picking up Kornes/Thompson/NDS/Stanton etc for Beams or Barham if you have the cash? That way you could keep Boak and Coughlan.

Hard to know what to suggest not knowing how many trades or cash you currently have. And do you have one of Ablett or Swan? If so, might be easier for you to skip Bartel.

thanks for the quick reply. My midfield consists of gibbs, corey, rich, coughlan, haselby, boak and then barham and beams on my bench. Ive only got 13k in the bank so any trade i do will involve me trading out taylor walker who is one of my reserves in my forward line. I also have 10trades left for the year and give or take my forward, back and rucks are set. I worked on my forward and backlines in the 1st half of the year knowing there are always more options for the midfielders.

I've got $346,900 to spend on a forward, so agonisingly close to getting Didak, but it can't be done :(

Any suggestions for the best to get (not Higgins or Franklin)?

Brown, Brennan, Davey are the standouts and I'm probably leaning towards J Brown.

Thoughts?
I think I'm going back to the drawing board, and would lovea couple of opinions on my options...

1)
Out: JZ, Robinson
In: Riewoldt, Stanton

2)
In: Bartel, Jono Brown

3)
Out: Warren, Robinson (Ziebell on forward bench with Hentschel)
In: Didak, Thompson

What do people think?

I would think that Ballantyne would be ahead of Walters

I wouldnt be so sure about that, i reckon Walters will play alot of senior footy for the rest of the year. Ballantyne and Walters are quite different whilst being similar. Ballantyne should not leave the F50, he is too dangerous there for him to be anywhere else. Walters on the other hand has played alot of footy in the middle in the WAFL recently and when he was a colt he and Yarran basically ran the swans colts middle. Walters should roam around 80 metres in and push down where as you want Balantyne leading up as a target. Sorry to be long winded but that is my reasoning as to why Walters will play 5-10 games in the last half of the year.

Midfield is my weakest point by far, and have a must win league match this week so cant afford to cop a 0
Current mids are

Gibbs, corey, cross, Kornes, muston, cogs (hartlett,anthony)

Had my heart set on bartel next week but the trade needs to be done this week and I am 14k short, so basically if i trade cogs can get anyone under 430k.

Murphy v Dal Santo v Thompson v tuck

Or do i go value and risk it on someone like salopek who is extremely cheap.

Hey guys, I have had raines on the pine all year and have left him in the team due to injuries elsewhere...but now I want to trade him out this week!

Money isnt an issue for an upgrade, what do people think out of Fisher, Hodge, Gilbee, Mackie and Ryder (or anyone else I have missed). I am really unsure on who to upgrade to!

Looking forward to some replies.

I really can't decide what to do. I really want to trade out Monfries ASAP, but don't really want to trade right now with only 7 trades left. I can straight swap him for Jonathan Brown (who is a bargain and I don't want to miss out on), or do nothing this week.

What do you think?

Do it. 7 trades left is alot better than most on here have left due to the injury problems, and it also sounds like this will make your forward line set. You are basically bringing in a keeper with one trade, and he is sure as hell going to average more than Monfries.

Is Ballantyne a certainty to play this round? I ask because the word here last week was that he was supposed to play last round but he didn't.
Tossing up whether to bring him in this week because it would backfire if he doesn't play as I have no coverage with Goodwin and Warren out.

Hey guys, I have had raines on the pine all year and have left him in the team due to injuries elsewhere...but now I want to trade him out this week!

Money isnt an issue for an upgrade, what do people think out of Fisher, Hodge, Gilbee, Mackie and Ryder (or anyone else I have missed). I am really unsure on who to upgrade to!

Looking forward to some replies.

Fisher or Mackie would be your best options from that list IMO.

Though, if you don't have him already and have the cash, go Enright.

Is Ballantyne a certainty to play this round? I ask because the word here last week was that he was supposed to play last round but he didn't.
Tossing up whether to bring him in this week because it would backfire if he doesn't play as I have no coverage with Goodwin and Warren out.

Wouldn't classify him as a 100% certainty, but he's a damn good chance at getting a go this week. It was onyl a bit of soreness that kept him out last week I believe.

I brought him in this week anyway.

What's Coughlans job security like? This week, I will probably be looking at trading either he or Rich out to a gun, but I don't know which. Coughlan being out is worrying but when he has played, he's been good.

Also, any good forward rookies playing? I need one to replace Warren in order to not cop a zero.

It's not great if he has been dropped and ballantyne might play soon but he is the only forward rookie that you could get soon

I think I'm going back to the drawing board, and would lovea couple of opinions on my options...

1)
In: Riewoldt, Stanton

2)
In: Bartel, Jono Brown

3)
Out: Warren, Robinson (Ziebell on forward bench with Hentschel)
In: Didak, Thompson

What do people think?
Sorry to be persistant fellas, but i'd love an opinion on these options.

These are my last upgrades for the season (until end of year if no LTI).

Basically options 1 and 2 leave me with Warren and Hentschel on the bench in the forward line, but option 3 means less points on the ground, but Ziebell on the bench.

Can't afford Didak and Bartel :(

I'm tossing up whether to get rid of Travis Boak. Hadn't planned on getting rid of him as he was part of my final team but 4-6 weeks is pretty costly. And who knows how he'll be when he gets back.
At the moment i could do a straight swap to Cooney whose only showing signs of improvement. Have 7 trades left and Muston and Deboer as back up? Do people think Muston is a good enough back up for 6 weeks?

Sorry to be persistant fellas, but i'd love an opinion on these options.

These are my last upgrades for the season (until end of year if no LTI).

Basically options 1 and 2 leave me with Warren and Hentschel on the bench in the forward line, but option 3 means less points on the ground, but Ziebell on the bench.

Can't afford Didak and Bartel :(
i like option 1 mate. bringing in riewoldt who looks like getting 100 most weeks and a viable captaincy option. stanton looks good to and should average 100 and is also a unique option which you could use to make some ground on the leaders. i wouldnt be too worried about warren on the bench unless your gana cop an immediate 0, he should be back in a week or two and should play out the season and average 60-65

Have been convincing myself not to do anything this week, but the Houlihan to Hodge trade looks so tempting :(.......

There's only approximately 5k between them and it is a trade that I wanted done by the end of the season (but I want to do it later in the season) but I don't think their values will get closer than this so to say I'm tempted to pull the trigger is an understatement....

Very close to doing it but I have to hold off..........I think.

:confused:

I'm looking at bringing in Ablett for Rich this week or next, M Brown is the obvious downgrade to Ballantyne to raise the extra cash - but with Goodwin being out this week I need a rookie to cover him and this would leave me with both Ballantyne and Sidebottom who may not be named and a week to sweat no training mishap for Ablett.

I could just wait a week for the safety, would cost around $20K potentially and between 50-200 points waiting. Should I bring him in now or in lucky round 13?

would love some BF expert advice on this one.

currently haver seven trades remaining, with either two or three upgrades left to do, depending on form.

my budget is $163,700 and i have the following three options, with my thinking included:

1) Rich to Bartel: Would leave me with almost $20K, and is an obvoius good choice due to bartel's scoring. but as rich is clearly better then the rest of the my last 4 mids (muston, hartlett, joseph), should i keep him?

2) Joseph to anyone under $342,200: Clearly the least scoring potential of my mids, and the least indication for growth. but cant find anyone i would say is worth it. anyone?

3) Hartlett to Kornes/Stanton/Bruce/Dal Santo: Have something like $376K for hartlett, and these are the four best options under that. Stanton an Dal Santo are risks with more possible reward or failure, and Kornes and Bruce are solid dt scorers. but is this a smart trade?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2009 Trade Discussion- Part 7