List Mgmt. 2014: The List

How selfish of GWS.

Should have been dealing for their #1 pick (Tom Boyd) last year than stack on all these KPF's and start playing them elsewhere.
They could have been trying to get themselves somewhat more competitive than to cause angst among the playing group.

On one hand they don't pick up a player (Wingard) for having concerns about him wanting to go home but pile on so many very highly ranked young KPF's knowing it impossible to have them all on the park at any one time.

It could come back to bite them.

I would love Cameron in the side but I am concerned we have a history of being too trigger happy in giving away early picks for players. We have a few really good young prospects gaining experience in the twos, but we really need to get more over the next couple of years to sustain the talent coming through in the long term.

I have confidence in Malthouse and the (sort of) new look recruiting department to make the right call on how much we give up to get a player like cameron or when to walk away, but will be watching very closely....

Better delivery from a half decent midfield, plus the ability to remain in the forward line = yes we want!

Third in the Coleman, AA FF with 60+ goals last year playing at FF as a 19/20 year old in his second season... in a team that finished dead last with one win (over Melbourne) suffering regular 10 goal plus floggings.

How often did the ball even get into their forward 50 last year FFS?

Edit: Averaged 20 less inside 50's per game in 2013 that the rest of the comp:

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ts-greater-western-sydney-giants?year=2013&st=Avg&gby=C&advv=Y

Throw the kitchen sink at him. And then throw the rest of the damn house at him.

Third in the Coleman, AA FF with 60+ goals last year playing at FF as a 19/20 year old in his second season... in a team that finished dead last with one win (over Melbourne) suffering regulat 10 goal plus floggings.

How often did the ball even get into their forward 50 last year FFS?

Throw the kitchen sink at him. And then throw the rest of the damn house at him.

Would be silly to say that we wouldn't like him but I think we have to be somewhat more practical.

Cameron alone doesn't make us a top 4 team, just the same way Cloke wouldn't have.
Would rather keep our first pick, and trade for talls elsewhere that may not be getting opportunity but have the work ethic and smarts to work into a role Malthouse wants.

Sure Cameron would be the Carlton thing to do, but I'd sooner go the path of last year, where we acquired 3 best 22 players for very little without losing our first, second or even third round selections.

Would love him, but not if it means it rips the heart of the club.

Reckon we could swing it so it wouldnt.

We need to be creative here. He is exactly what we need.

I think the Demons are best placed to land Cameron anyway.

They set precedent last year with their willingness to trade an early pick for Tyson.

Agree. Certainly have the money, and will have the picks to swing it.

We need to get Cameron to agree to play with us. Clubs will take a little under value in a trade to get a player to the club of his choice.

That said, I reckon we'll have the abilty to offer a sizeable sum of money ourselves on a backended contract (losing Scotland, Waite, Simpson, Carrazzo, Judd in the next few years).

Sadly, I reckon we'll finish around 10th this year so should have a 1st rounder in the top ten. Happy to see if we can upgrade that 1st rounder by offloading (a player plus 1st rounder) for an earlier 1st rounder.

Would happily swap second and third round picks for third and fourth round picks also.

I shit you not, we need to throw the kitchen sink at him.

Reckon we could swing it so it wouldnt.

We need to be creative here. He is exactly what we need.

Agree. Certainly have the money, and will have the picks to swing it.

We need to get Cameron to agree to play with us. Clubs will take a little under value in a trade to get a player to the club of his choice.

That said, I reckon we'll have the abilty to offer a sizeable sum of money ourselves on a backended contract (losing Scotland, Waite, Simpson, Carrazzo, Judd in the next few years).

Sadly, I reckon we'll finish around 10th this year so should have a 1st rounder in the top ten. Happy to see if we can upgrade that 1st rounder by offloading (a player plus 1st rounder) for an earlier 1st rounder.

Would happily swap second and third round picks for third and fourth round picks also.

I shit you not, we need to throw the kitchen sink at him.
As long as we ensure we retain good enough picks to bring in young players of talent through the draft it sounds great, but I doubt our ability to do so if we are trying to bring a big name like Cameron in.

Absolute gun - I don't remember a big forward dominating at such a young age in such a poor team. Patton and Boyd will be guns but Cameron is already a star - AA and almost won the Coleman last year as a 19yr

If Carlton were lobbying a bid, anyone care to guess what would be required to enter discussions??

6+yr, $800k contract - 1st (top5) and 2nd round picks plus good mature player?

Absolute gun - I don't remember a big forward dominating at such a young age in such a poor team. Patton and Boyd will be guns but Cameron is already a star - AA and almost won the Coleman last year as a 19yr

If Carlton were lobbying a bid, anyone care to guess what would be required to enter discussions??

This is why the AFL need to consider the implementation of being able to trade future draft picks (like they do in American Sports).

It would have to be limited though - (say up to 2 years in advance only) otherwise teams may sell out their future.

Would rather keep our first pick, and trade for talls elsewhere that may not be getting opportunity but have the work ethic and smarts to work into a role Malthouse wants.

You mean a first round pick that we are only going to use on an unproven tall FF/ KPP anyways?

Cameron is bona fide AFL Super star quality in the Brown mold. AA FF in his second year at 19/20 playing for the worst team in the comp (worse than us in the early 21st century).

He's 21 years old (as of a month ago).

Aside from the money, (which we should have a fair bit of with retirements and so forth) where is the risk?

GWS are in 'list reduction' mode as we speak. Wont want a bundle of fringe players or even a pick plus a player - they'll want like for like or a shit load of pick reductions (swapping our lower picks for their higher ones).

They'll want quality, not quantity.

Money is no issue. Scotland, Judd, Waite, Carrazzo and Simpson = $2 million plus a year that will be walking out the door over the next few years.

If anything is going to stop the club resigning Gibbs, this will be it.

You mean a first round pick that we are only going to use on an unproven tall FF/ KPP anyways?

Cameron is bona fide AFL Super star quality in the Brown mold. AA FF in his second year at 19/20 playing for the worst team in the comp (worse than us in the early 21st century).

He's 21 years old (as of a month ago).

Aside from the money, (which we should have a fair bit of with retirements and so forth) where is the risk?

We won't get Cameron and it's unlikely we'd go after him in 2015 when we're much more likely to be pulling someone in this year (2014)

How do you think it's going to work? ............ Let's not worry about 2014 because we may be able to lure Cameron in 2015?

GWS didn't get Franklin and that made them look like fools. Why would they trade Cameron now because he may want to go home in 2015?
They'd be compensated very well anyway whilst giving themselves some hope.

Hell, they'll probably pick him up again next year anyway if he plays hard ball as GWS will likely finish last anyway.

We'll have a pick in the top ten.

Something like this would be the starting point:

(Carlton) give pick 10, 28, 46 for (GWS) Cameron and pick 37 and 55.

I'd happily offer @ 5 million over 5 years to get him to nominate us as his preferred club.

Come on now.........................:)

We won't get Cameron and it's unlikely we'd go after him in 2015 when we're much more likely to be pulling someone in this year (2014)

He wants out this year mate. He's contracted and we'll (anyone) has to trade for him.

Assuming he gets a good offer from another team, he puts it to GWS to trade him there. Nominates them as his preferred club. Cites homesickness. They tell him to piss off and he enters the PSD next year and they get zilch.

How do you think it's going to work? ............ Let's not worry about 2014 because we may be able to lure Cameron in 2015?

See above. We enter discussions with the player, get him to agree to terms ($$$). He nominates us as his club of choice.

We then offer a 1st round pick plus a series of pick upgrades to GWS (like for like).

If we cant get it done, we save the money and draft a KPP in this years draft.

What do we have to lose?

GWS didn't get Franklin and that made them look like fools. Why would they trade Cameron now because he may want to go home in 2015?
They'd be compensated very well anyway whilst giving themselves some hope.

They wont want to risk losing him in the PSD? He walks next year and GWS lose a shitload of bargaining power.

They wont want to risk that. Theyre better off trading him this year, then next year.

Hell, they'll probably pick him up again next year anyway if he plays hard ball as GWS will likely finish last anyway.

There is a reason this has never happened and wont ever happen. The AFL doesnt want a (likely succesfull) restraint of trade case coming before the courts.

Why would GWS draft a player that doesnt want to be there? Would cut off their nose to spite their face.

They wont want to risk losing him in the PSD? He walks next year and GWS lose a shitload of bargaining power.

They then pick him up in the PSD :) ................easy.

GWS are not going to want to be the bent-over kings in the way Brisbane were last year.

Cameron is their marquee player and yes they may just lose him but it won't be to us................not this year at least.

They'll want more.

First rounder + second rounder + Menzel for Cameron and third rounder.

For reference:
The Blues gave up draft picks three and 20 along with young key forward Josh Kennedy, in return for Judd and pick number 46 from the Eagles.

(http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport/afl/judd-deal-done/story-e6frecrc-1111114619203)

That would be about the right asking price...............We'd be mad.

Cameron isn't Judd in what he can bring to our club and would fly in the face of what we're trying to build..........but yes........this is Carlton.

List Mgmt. 2014: The List