List Mgmt. 2015 Draft, Trades and Retirements Thread Pt 1

WISH LIST: If we could trade for the following players, who should we get?

• Will Minson (Ruck)

Votes: 21 16.0%
  • Ryan Schoenmakers (CHB)

Votes: 26 19.8%
  • Zac Dawson (CHB)

Votes: 7 5.3%
  • Matt Suckling (HBF)

Votes: 18 13.7%
  • Shaun Hampson (Ruck)

Votes: 5 3.8%
  • Brian Lake (FB)

Votes: 6 4.6%
  • Sam Gilbert (CHB)

Votes: 8 6.1%
  • Matt Leuenberger (Ruck)

Votes: 43 32.8%
  • Tom Bellchambers (Ruck)

Votes: 7 5.3%
  • Courtenay Dempsey (CHB)

• Zac Smith (Ruck)

Votes: 23 17.6%
  • Trent McKenzie (Mid)

Votes: 10 7.6%
  • Steve Johnson (Fwd)

Votes: 18 13.7%
  • Nathan Wilson (HBF)

• Jake Carlisle (CHB)

Votes: 22 16.8%
  • Adam Treloar (Mid)

Votes: 5 3.8%
  • Harley Bennell

Votes: 34 26.0%
  • Jeremy McGovern (Def) (Re-signed with WCE)

Votes: 20 15.3%

or dog their combines so they appear rubbish. Mills with a dash time of 5.20's and Dunkley with a 10cm vertical leap.

Instead of saying things like

“I played with (Mills) in the academy and he’s an absolute ripper of a bloke,” Heeney said.

“He can get a lot of the footy and will be an absolute jet. I reckon the Swans will definitely get him in the side next year.”

I want to see quotes like this

“I played with (Mills) in the academy and he’s an absolute ripper of a bloke when he is sober,” Heeney said.

“He can get a lot of the footy, he just needs to learn how to kick and if he does he will be an absolute jet. I reckon the Swans will definitely get him in the side next year despite his links to the Bandidos.”

Horse: "I see a lot of potential in mills. I keep telling him, Work hard and stay on your anti psychotics and you'll make it!"

" we sent some scouts out and they've been really impressed with how he's played since getting his monitoring bracelet removed."

Just wondering, what happens if for instance one team (say pick two) just lobs all the academy names out there, Mills, Keays, Hopper one after the other. Would that mean all three clubs have to come up with the pick two equivalent, pretty harsh when effectively the last one would be the fourth player selected....
Club X nominates Mills for P2. Swans have to buy P2 with points from other picks. Club X slides to P3.
Club X nominates Keays for P3. Lions have to buy P3 with points from other picks. Club X slides to P4.
Club X nominates Hopper for P4. Giants have to buy P4 with points from other picks. Club X slides to P5.
etc...

Club X nominates Mills for P2. Swans have to buy P2 with points from other picks. Club X slides to P3.
Club X nominates Keays for P3. Lions have to buy P3 with points from other picks. Club X slides to P4.
Club X nominates Hopper for P4. Giants have to buy P4 with points from other picks. Club X slides to P5.
etc...

Club X is a real dick.

Is it really the end of the world giving up this & next years first rounders for Mills & Dunkley? If we're hoping to be a top 4 team for the next couple years at least we're unlikely going to be getting much better than Dunkley with our first pick next year anyway. And given our 1st round drafting when we don't have an academy or father-son prospect it's probably the safest option anyway. It keeps our midfield ticking over allowing us to focus solely on the needs areas with all our other picks/trades in the 2 drafts. Targeting players with foot-skills should be priority.
Both boys could have an immediate impact next year and maybe help not only with depth but help keep us afloat near the top of the ladder rather than a probable slide if we start gathering injuries.

Our defence needs a mini on the fly rebuild over the off-season and the pathetic trade-ban is going to hurt, but we need to find a couple of defenders from other clubs who aren't getting the game-time required and are hopefully ready to blossom. Hopefully at-least 1 KD and one running defender (preferably one who can hit the side of a barn from time to time). Unfortunately I don't think there's many decent options available.

Our record with first round draft picks is atrocious anyway (SF51 says hi!) so even if we do have to cough up extra picks to get Mills and Dunkley, at least we're investing in players who have a better chance of success.

Does anyone like the idea of Sam Day (Gold Coast Suns) as a potential KPD? He finds himself behind May and Thompson as a KPD and behind Lynch and Dixon as a KPF.

Would probably cost pick 12-20.

KPD is an area of the ground that needs a lot of focus even through Mill's and Dunkley are great midfield prospects.

Does anyone like the idea of Sam Day (Gold Coast Suns) as a potential KPD? He finds himself behind May and Thompson as a KPD and behind Lynch and Dixon as a KPF.

Would probably cost pick 12-20.

KPD is an area of the ground that needs a lot of focus even through Mill's and Dunkley are great midfield prospects.

We don't have those picks to give with Mills and Dunkley coming though and a 340k cap on who we can bring in.

That brown fella that filled in for essendon seemed to go alright. Surely were talking to him?

A running defender would also be great but im not sure where were going to find one of those.

Our next focus should be small forward. Benny is clearly going backwards and he isnt getting any younger. Should have taken lonie when we had the chance.

Dont think we'll target a ruckman. I reckon the club sees one of derickx/naismith/nankervis stepping up.

Forget Mills and Dunkley, for me our number one priority in recruitment in the off season should be to do whatever we need to do to get Brett Kirk back from Freo as our Midfield coach. Get Kirky, then get the deals done for Mills and Dunkley.

I get chills just thinking what kind of players he could develop Mitchell, Heeney, Mills and Dunkley into for our future, with their obvious talent and his work-ethic and tenacity it is a truly scary proposition adding them Kennedy, Parker and Hannebery.