List Mgmt. 2015 LIST Discussion - trades, free agency etc

Article by Ralphy from the HUN tonight and Fox Footy...We are interested in Sam Mayes from Brisbane, a mid/defender type, in a direct swap for Bell and Casboult Also a story about Lennon still not signed with Richmond, and possibility he might fall into our hands in the PSD. On checking Mayes stats with Inside Football, they look very impressive, but posters on Brissy board are saying he has "Nervous issues"? Could he and a late pick, say 39/40 do the trade for Bell & Casboult.

http://m.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-p...pre-season-draft/story-e6frf3e3-1227567903518

http://www.aflplayerratings.com.au/Ratings/Player/116656/Sam-MAYES
I'm trying to stay out of this discussion because I get too attached to players but seriously??? Casbolt and Bell for some kid no one has heard of and can't get a game at the Lions? And with all due respect, what is "nervous issues"??? No ! No! A rebuild doesn't mean push everyone out the door and get anyone that's left over after the other clubs have taken all the good players... I'll shut up now, but seriously, they're not really considering doing that? Surely not !

Article by Ralphy from the HUN tonight and Fox Footy...We are interested in Sam Mayes from Brisbane, a mid/defender type, in a direct swap for Bell and Casboult Also a story about Lennon still not signed with Richmond, and possibility he might fall into our hands in the PSD. On checking Mayes stats with Inside Football, they look very impressive, but posters on Brissy board are saying he has "Nervous issues"? Could he and a late pick, say 39/40 do the trade for Bell & Casboult.

http://m.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-p...pre-season-draft/story-e6frf3e3-1227567903518

http://www.aflplayerratings.com.au/Ratings/Player/116656/Sam-MAYES
Mayes for Bell and our third...

Or pick 17 and their second plus Mayes for Bell and Casboult.

Once again... people here are dreaming of a false economy.

Just like Kreuzer, Casboult is one of those guys who, while he isnt the best player in the world, is good at what he does do and plays a role. It's all very good to say lets trade him for a second round pick or a third round pick when his true value to the club as a contested marking forward and #2 ruckman is a late first round pick. However... his endeavour and attitude is something that makes him required at Carlton.

He has a family association with the club and is a life long supporter of the club.

You know what you are going to get every week with Levi. He will keep trying and will never leave you wondering if he held anything back... unlike some of his soon to be ex-team mates.

I can see the club getting rid of Warnock before they would even consider getting rid of Levi...

However, if a club dropped an OMG trade on the table and offered Levi a contract we wouldnt even consider matching... then he would be traded. But it would have to be something very good for the club.

Cas is contracted. No way we're letting him go for unders. It's a smart move to shop him around and see what we can get for him, you never know what a desperate club will pay up. The Dockers might offer pick #16 which I would be more than happy with and Levi could also get a shot at a flag which he won't if he stays with us.

if a club dropped an OMG trade on the table and offered Levi a contract we wouldnt even consider matching... then he would be traded. But it would have to be something very good for the club.

Yeah I can't see Levi or Carlton bothering in packaging him with Bell to Brissie.

The only semi-credible suggestion is Freo - If Ross Lyon rang up, said Pav is retiring, and offered Levi premiership immortality and big bucks on a 2-year deal then I wouldn't stand in his way. On the condition that Freo trade him back to the Blues cheaply once Freo's window slams shut in 2 years time! :p

I'm convinced. Carlton supporters are psychotic.

Ooh ooh. I know this one!

Psychotic
Psychosis
Mania
Tasmania
Tasmanian tiger
Thylacine
thylacine60 is a Carlton supporter

Very cryptic robbo!

(did I just prove your point?)

Yeah I can't see Levi or Carlton bothering in packaging him with Bell to Brissie.

The only semi-credible suggestion is Freo - If Ross Lyon rang up, said Pav is retiring, and offered Levi premiership immortality and big bucks on a 2-year deal then I wouldn't stand in his way. On the condition that Freo trade him back to the Blues cheaply once Freo's window slams shut in 2 years time! :p

And there's the one thing Lyon still can't deliver on.

For mine this is a really smart list management decision and exactly the type of thing we should be looking at doing, particularly in a draft as shallow as this one is considered to be.

I agree that it is smart list management and it is something we have not done well for some time.

However, there is some sort of risk with Kerridge as he has had some serious injury issues recently which have hampered his career quite dramatically. If he passes a medical with flying colours then all well & good but you do have to ask the question as to why he has missed so much senior footy.

I reckon that Kerridge isn't the only one being pursued either. I'd be reasonably certain (with no way of knowing for sure of course) that SOS would have created a list of around 25-30 names from around the league of young talented players who cannot get games where they now (things like being down the pecking order for their specific team role, homesickness for Victoria, fall-outs with the coach etc). The Blues will be trying to extricate a few of them on the cheap to fast-track the rebuild.

I was actually under the impression we were trying to improve our list and build for a future. I was blissfully unaware that we are actually just having a fire sale of anyone that's worn our jumper in the last five years... I can't believe the names that are being thrown up for trades...

That statement is nearing DaVillaBlues level of certainty.

You don't think that he'd go to the Crows to reunite with Eddie if given the chance ??

C'mon Mezz, we all know he wants to leave the Blues and I reckon there would be 3-4 clubs he'd be more than happy to join, Adelaide would certainly be one of them. Betts would be on the phone to him every day talking him into it.

I was actually under the impression we were trying to improve our list and build for a future. I was blissfully unaware that we are actually just having a fire sale of anyone that's worn our jumper in the last five years... I can't believe the names that are being thrown up for trades...

To build a list for the future you have to create positions on the list for new players, how do you do that if you don't jettison some of whom you already have ??

I hope we pick more wisely this time. Pagan tried and failed abysmally, with only Heath Scotland having any longevity.

I have had some Pagan-era flashbacks recently but you do have to take into account that Pagan had bugger all picks & players to trade with at that time (we finished last and got the draft penalties handed to us) so the returns for what he offloaded was considerably poor.

I'm trying to stay out of this discussion because I get too attached to players but seriously??? Casbolt and Bell for some kid no one has heard of and can't get a game at the Lions? And with all due respect, what is "nervous issues"??? No ! No! A rebuild doesn't mean push everyone out the door and get anyone that's left over after the other clubs have taken all the good players... I'll shut up now, but seriously, they're not really considering doing that? Surely not !
Definite upgrade on Bell.

To build a list for the future you have to create positions on the list for new players, how do you do that if you don't jettison some of whom you already have ??
Henderson, Yarran, don't start me on Waite, Eddie and Jeffy. Throw in Judd's retirement, how many more positions can we create... And the compounding issue is that those positions aren't being filled. We missed Carlisle, we missed Treloar, we're not getting Tomlinson, but let's Add to our losses above with Casbolt, Bell, Gibbs, Menzal, and let's move heaven and earth to get Mayes and Kerridge... Give me a spell ...

I have had some Pagan-era flashbacks recently but you do have to take into account that Pagan had bugger all picks & players to trade with at that time (we finished last and got the draft penalties handed to us) so the returns for what he offloaded was considerably poor.

Don't mean to play the hindsight card but some were particularly poor. Chambers 12 games, Longmuir 11, Harford 9, Saddington 20, David Clarke 9. Our drafting sucked at the time even worse, admittedly.

I'm just wary that we took quite a number of re-treads last year and maybe in a 'shallow draft' it's worth doing again this year but eventually we need to load up on kids.