List Mgmt. 2015 Trade & Free Agency Hellscape Discussion Thread (PG546: Anderson PG732: Bastinac)

If you really think that about Anderson you have no clue about football.
Your coming up with some pretty big calls about an oft injured 10 gamer mate.

You dont know how this deal will turn out, just like every other arseh*le in here. The point is about value afaic see. I consider Yeo to be an excellent young footballer and he went for pick 28 to Wet Toast after playing some pretty good footy for Brissy. If we get pick 21 for Basti and then use that for Jed, id still want Hawthorns pick 37 thrown in.

Yeah. I find it pretty easy to compartmentalise that stuff. If I disagree with the opinion of someone it doesn't mean I'm going to disagree with everything they say because of that one disagreement.
It would be boring if we all agreed, in fact this whole board would be filled with one post threads with a hundred likes.

EFA

What's weight does point 4 carry? He hasn't been a regular contributor to that side.

Can you guarantee that Pick 15 won't be better than Anderson?
The fact that he's being coached, developed and shown the correct way to prepare for a long AFL career by the best coaches and mentors in the league would carry plenty of weight for point 4..

I can't guarantee anything except I'm taking Mr Tatts lotto's offer of 4 certain numbers rather than take a chance on 0 numbers any day of the week!

Jesus man its only been a bit of aussie banter.

Childish banter (and bordering on too personal) and no need to call me Jesus.................Jee will do.

Just give the name calling a rest and discuss/debate the issue.

Based on the 2015 VFL Grand Final he's definitely not worth a first round draft pick......

This just reaks of utter desperation by this gullible club

Yeah I get why he would want to leave. I just don't get why hawthorn aren't putting up more of a fight to keep him seeing he is contracted.
They can replace a midfielder but CHB's the size and ability of Carlisle don't come around too often, they would be just using him as a pawn for a bigger agenda, literally.

Childish banter (and bordering on too personal) and no need to call me Jesus.................Jee will do.

Just give the name calling a rest and discuss/debate the issue.

I do try and debate the issue. Maybe you should be warning the people who start the name calling.

Oh who cares. If GWS really wanted him they would have kept him.
Could I point out that Anthony Miles was delisted by GWS at the end of 2013. Their judgement is not infallible

The fact that he's being coached, developed and shown the correct way to prepare for a long AFL career by the best coaches and mentors in the league would carry plenty of weight for point 4..

I can't guarantee anything except I'm taking Mr Tatts lotto's offer of 4 certain numbers than take a chance on 0 numbers any day of the week!
That is not an indicator of success, it's providing an environment to facilitate success, but it's no guarantee that any player in that system will instantly make it.

But he isn't a certain 4. If he was he has a Premiership medallion hanging around his neck.

Based on the 2015 VFL Grand Final he's definitely not worth a first round draft pick......

This just reaks of utter desperation by this gullible club
Any other year I would agree but all the analysts keep preaching the lack of talent, so I reckon he's as safer bet as any other.

TBH, his kicking is hit and miss......Had a set shot late in the final quarter from approx. 25 metres out directly in front and sprayed it out on the full.

May as well offer the Hawks a future 1st round pick as well, and totally destroy our future.......:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

I do try and debate the issue. Maybe you should be warning the people who start the name calling.

I've just asked both of you to desist after reading the 17 pages I'd missed since last being on this arvo, having edited many posts enroute due to the unnecessary stuff. Thanks for the advice! :thumbsu:

Play on.........

TBH, his kicking is hit and miss......Had a set shot late in the final quarter from approx. 25 metres out directly in front and sprayed it out on the full.

May as well offer the Hawks a future 1st round pick as well, and totally destroy our future.......:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:
Taylor Garner did that once, against Collingwood I think. He goes alright

Any other year I would agree but all the analysts keep preaching the lack of talent, so I reckon he's as safer bet as any other.
The analyst come up with these super draft and weak draft tags all the time and when they are analysed down the track the drafts usually come up comparable when analysing the level of talent.

In the 2006 super draft, you had Gibbs, Gumbleton, Hansen, Luenberger, Boak, Thorp, Selwood, Reid, Armitage and Nathan Brown as your top 10. Hardly a glowing endorsement for being labeled a super draft.

That is not an indicator of success, it's providing an environment to facilitate success, but it's no guarantee that any player in that system will instantly make it.

But he isn't a certain 4. If he was he has a Premiership medallion hanging around his neck.
There isn't any guarantee with anyone that enters the AFL will make it or won't get a career ending injury, just ask Richmond how R. Tambling is going or even us with D. Trotter and/or J. Smith but someone who's been in the system (an exceptional football program to be exact) has all the god given tools to succeed, along with a magnificent attitude, and before injury/illness struck has better AFL stats than Taylor Garner?.. well then I'll pull the trigger on 15 thanks.

But that's just me and I'm a nobody, behind a keyboard, in the WA desert..

Sigworthy Sherm. :thumbsu:

Almost brought a tear to the eye.

98cd701be53b466f38e252ba2201cade.jpg

I'm about to hit the sack, but will leave this for people to ponder.

AFL Points Index values pick 15 as 1,112 points. Pick 41 is valued at 412 points, the difference being 700 points. 703 points on the index is pick #27.

So his effective cost is around pick 27, a mid second round pick equivalent. If we can snag a better pick than 41 we will reduce the effective cost.

If Saints do the Carlisle trade with Essendon then our pick #34 would be closer to the ballpark for Anderson, assuming the trade is going to happen irrespective of the Carlisle trade or not.

I'm about to hit the sack, but will leave this for people to ponder.

AFL Points Index values pick 15 as 1,112 points. Pick 41 is valued at 412 points, the difference being 700 points. 703 points on the index is pick #27.

So his effective cost is around pick 27, a mid second round pick equivalent. If we can snag a better pick than 41 we will reduce the effective cost.

If Saints do the Carlisle trade with Essendon then our pick #34 would be closer to the ballpark for Anderson, assuming the trade is going to happen irrespective of the Carlisle trade or not.
Tas, you're trying to put logic and common sense into trade week, nobody is going to listen to you mate.

Hope you don't mind me posting here, but is there any concern amongst you North supporters that you may be strengthening a premiership rival for 2016 by providing them such a high pick for Anderson, thereby allowing them to chase Carlisle?

I would have thought that your second rounder and maybe steak knives would be far more appropriate for Anderson.

Hope you don't mind me posting here, but is there any concern amongst you North supporters that you may be strengthening a premiership rival for 2016 by providing them such a high pick for Anderson, thereby allowing them to chase Carlisle?

I would have thought that your second rounder and maybe steak knives would be far more appropriate for Anderson.
When Mitchell and co are finished they eventually will have to pay overs for their new midfield..........If you hadnt noticed we aint too far away ourselves to the ultimate success. You guys had your chance in your mini golden era and fell just short. Now you have to start again.

As far as I'm concerned Jed Anderson has requested to leave 1 year in advance of his contract expiring.........from what I've seen of him Im happy to pay that high for him against risking that on an unknown quantity.

I point you to Richard Tambling for example.