Analysis 2017 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Re-signed earlier this year; Nathan Wilson might be looking to move, but supposedly the word is he's off back to WA.

It was reported over the weekend that he has said publicly he is not homesick anymore and is glad he didn't leave and he is happy at the Giants. Could be forced out though, who knows.

The list of GWS guys out of contract at seasons end is not huge. Im tipping they will have to let go/trade a few who have not been mentioned. Six months in-between seasons is too much.
Lang showed a bit on Friday night and would get a lot more game time with us, would be a nice addition if cheap.

That can only be if the player doesn't want to be traded, I would have thought.
ShanDog and I have had a debate about this, and it seems the AFL gets final say on these trades to protect club and player from having the rug pulled out from under them shortly after re-signing.

Remember that clubs make plans around these things, and players build their lives as such.

It was reported over the weekend that he has said publicly he is not homesick anymore and is glad he didn't leave and he is happy at the Giants. Could be forced out though, who knows.
Still may go, as they having Cumming sitting there, who they actively chased after. Unless Shaw goes (retirement or bizarre trade), I don't see him sticking around without facing fierce competition for his place in the side.

ShanDog and I have had a debate about this, and it seems the AFL gets final say on these trades to protect club and player from having the rug pulled out from under them shortly after re-signing.

Remember that clubs make plans around these things, and players build their lives as such.

Still may go, as they having Cumming sitting there, who they actively chased after. Unless Shaw goes (retirement or bizarre trade), I don't see him sticking around without facing fierce competition for his place in the side.

It certainly looks a bit of a grey area, but the way it reads to me is that if player and club are happy with trade, then it's good to go. I think it's more a protection for players to prevent them being traded against their wishes, or to prevent a player having any pressure put on them to consider a trade against their wishes. Works both ways though.

Have there been any examples where the clause has been imposed? I can't think of any off the top of my head. I remember feeling very sorry for Josh Kennedy when the Judd trade was being tabled. I suspect that had he been within 12 months of a new contract, that would have been the type of scenario the provision was created for.

I would be very very happy to get Devon Smith. A goal kicking mid/high half forward is just what we need in his age bracket for our front half. If we did a three way trade deal that involved letting Gibbs go for his wife's sake and getting Smith would be on board with that. Also think Smith himself is a guy that wants more time in the midfield as too talented to just be stuck up forward.

I'm pretty nervous about Smith, given his difficulties in getting on the field regularly (with his bung knee).

Quigley comes into play a little later.

Knightmare may be most peoples favourite and credit to him for being a great resource.
I just like Bishops style and read into players, a little more.
I like Bishop as well.
Probably the poster i read the most on the D&T board.

Maybe, but Bolts obviously see's something in him. He brings more to the table than what he does in 120 minutes of footy.

I have no issue if they want to give him a one year deal on base money but I would expect he is playing reserves for most of the year. Clearing out about 10 players and replacing them with some good trades and young talent, plus we have others that should be ready to step up, I would be disappointed if he was anywhere near best 22 in 2018

Leaves White Graham Boekhurst Buckley Lamb Simpson and maybe Smedts & Palmer as players waiting to see what happens during the trade period

I am surprised they would sign Thomas before Simmo though o_O

Daisy is no star these days but he played fairly solid footy towards the end there and so given our lack of experience and depth I'm not unhappy if he gets another round at the Blues.

Could we also get McVeigh and Rocky?

If the kids mature quickly with some decent experience you never know we might win a few next year

Daisy is no star these days but he played fairly solid footy towards the end there and so given our lack of experience and depth I'm not unhappy if he gets another round at the Blues.

Could we also get McVeigh and Rocky?

If the kids mature quickly with some decent experience you never know we might win a few next year

McVeigh re-signed with the Swans.

Do we really lack experience especially if Thomas & Simpson stay? I reckon we have heaps

I have no issue if they want to give him a one year deal on base money but I would expect he is playing reserves for most of the year. Clearing out about 10 players and replacing them with some good trades and young talent, plus we have others that should be ready to step up, I would be disappointed if he was anywhere near best 22 in 2018

Leaves White Graham Boekhurst Buckley Lamb Simpson and maybe Smedts & Palmer as players waiting to see what happens during the trade period

I am surprised they would sign Thomas before Simmo though o_O

Suspect Thomas will be the Armfield of 2017. Phased out but provides insurance. Like Armfield, probably a very decent group member who adds behind the scenes.

Spot on I reckon. Possible transition to off field role. Sets standards at training. Good people.

clowns on talking footy (duck and b.t.) srating that a deal sending gibbs to Adelaide, cameron to brisbane and rockcliff to carlton is a good deal for all parties.
supposed experts dont even understand that rocky is a free agent.
that Tom Brown (a bit of a flog) reporting that rocky will be a blue.
Yeah. So, so dumb... at least Watson said that Carlton was getting reamed in that deal because Gibbs is better than Rocky...

Morons.