Analysis 2017 List Management Discussion

I never believe that stuff. Good recuiters will find good players. This year we effectively swapped a second rounder for 3 late picks. Seemed to work out well. Nothing stopping us from trading more future picks, getting picks for gibbs or kruezer, trading one pick for numerous picks, FA's, a few rookie upgrades etc. There are always ways. The key then is to then get good players with whatever picks we have. So far under the new regime it seems to be going very well.

Onwards and upwards I say and after 20 years of watching very average players in Navy Blue I think what is happening now is awesome!

...............and a bloody relief.

I do. Look at recent history in '11 and '12 after the first round.
Recruiters would look at what they may get post first round and plan accordingly.

No better show of that, then us taking three picks in the ~60's in this years draft......because it was deep.

why is it doom and gloom? I think it's great. It is just part of the 66 game rebuild the club set down and is following through. It's not about what we get rid of it's about the talent we bring in. After next year it will be about constantly refreshing the list each year. we had a lot of deadwood on the list and now most is gone but the job isn't finished yet. not a negative at all, actually bloody exciting

Sorry, it was more a reference to most people here writing off certain/a lot of players before Xmas.

There's a long way to go and plenty of things can change, I like to see things as glass half full....

agree. i don't get the no experience argument. there is heaps plus cripps weitering have real leadership qualities. I don't think it's an issue. We may also recuit one or two more genuine leaders as well.

Bottom line is I prefer to have exciting young talent on our list than carrying 7-8 not good enoughs. Rebuild to list so far has been great. One more year to go

What use is it having 'experienced' VFL or bottom 2 calibre players on the list? The only reason is as meat shields for the young kids. We dont need more than 2 or 3 of these type of players.

Keep turfin the crap SOS

Who are the out of contract Giants we should start monitoring there NEAL form?

If Silvagni can possibile spin more magic next year, I'd be very happy with any 1 or 2 of these young players all very good acquistions.
Jacob Hopper
Dylan Shiel
Devon Smith
Jonathan Patton
Matt Kennedy
Josh Kelly

What use is it having 'experienced' VFL or bottom 2 calibre players on the list? The only is as meat shields for the young kids. We dont need more than 2 or 3 of these type of players.

Keep turfin the crap SOS

There's a lot of similarities between the military and team sports.

Do you know what would happen to an infantry platoon if it discarded all its senior and junior non-commissioned officers? You lose a lot of valuable experience corporate knowledge and leadership. You gotta keep some senior blokes.

No mention of the LT. Sounds right.

ditto for Daisy. I'm not sure what value people see in him. Too many people being influenced by his form well before he was injured and a Blue. Offers nothing more than the 44th player on our list. I would prefer to see a half fit LeBois get a game before Daisy. Maybe he can donate some post-footy time to CFC after stealing a paycheck for the last few years (I know its not his fault, and he does seem like a genuinely nice guy).
Absolutely spot on. There is something seriously wrong if Thomas is at the club in 2018.
As you rightly pointed out, not his fault, but he adds no value to this side. Was well on the decline two years before he even came to Carlton...

Absolutely spot on. There is something seriously wrong if Thomas is at the club in 2018.
As you rightly pointed out, not his fault, but he adds no value to this side. Was well on the decline two years before he even came to Carlton...

Would you want us to keep him on a greatly reduced wage?

I certainly see some merit in it. He does have premiership experience, and was previously part of a side that appeared to a bonded well together. Plus depth.

thats why now we have lots of coaches and support crew. we will still have a lot of experienced heads around. more than enough

Yeah, we've already established plenty of good players with experience will be left if we cut the garbage.

SOS and Co balance it out every year depending upon how many kids we get. Last year Wright Kerridge etc this year w Silvagni. That's on top of Murphy Gibbs Simpson Docherty Kruezer Rowe Curnow and more. We even kept Walker as a coach. Experience isn't the issue

And out of all of those players, I'd suggest Curnow, Simmo, Doc, and Cripps would be the guys you would want imparting knowledge re AFL training and playing standards/ putting extra yards and hardness etc. Not Simon White or Liam Jones.

I certainly see some merit in it. He does have premiership experience, and was previously part of a side that appeared to a bonded well together. Plus depth.
I just don't see the point Mal. I get accused of being a "hater" of Thomas, but I'm not. It's just, that in my view, he's done as AFL player. He adds no value to the side. In fact I'd be very disappointed if he plays any senior footy in 2017 at all. His wage doesn't concern me, what concerns me is that we're a player short every time he's on the ground...

If Silvagni can possibile spin more magic next year, I'd be very happy with any 1 or 2 of these young players all very good acquistions.
Jacob Hopper
Dylan Shiel
Devon Smith
Jonathan Patton
Matt Kennedy
Josh Kelly
We're going to need to get a good deal for Gibbs to execute any deal involving Shiel, Kennedy, Kelly or Hopper while maintaining a first round pick.

The Giants will definitely be in the market for top 15 picks though.

I just don't see the point Mal. I get accused of being a "hater" of Thomas, but I'm not. It's just, that in my view, he's done as AFL player. He adds no value to the side. In fact I'd be very disappointed if he plays any senior footy in 2017 at all. His wage doesn't concern me, what concerns me is that we're a player short every time he's on the ground...

My thoughts exactly

Exactly. He can coach all he likes on the training track. Should not get near our best 35, let alone best 22.

I agree that his value on the field is diminishing and would prefer not to see him in the seniors.

But he's an extrovert and brings a lot of energy and knowledge to the group off field, training, etc. Hard to put a price on that.

And he may provide value playing in the VFL developing the youngsters.

I reckon they should at least consider keeping him on a greatly reduced salary.

We're going to need to get a good deal for Gibbs to execute any deal involving Shiel, Kennedy, Kelly or Hopper while maintaining a first round pick.

The Giants will definitely be in the market for top 15 picks though.

Can't see us getting much more for Gibbs than what was offered this year. It will be a late first rounder and if we really push, maybe a late 2nd rounder. He will be a year older after all.

Interested to see how we go pushing for one of their young guns. Have we heard many rumours from decent sources? I would think it would be tough to pry away any A grade young players via trade.

I agree that his value on the field is diminishing and would prefer not to see him in the seniors.

But he's an extrovert and brings a lot of energy and knowledge to the group off field, training, etc. Hard to put a price on that.

And he may provide value playing in the VFL developing the youngsters.

I reckon they should at least consider keeping him on a greatly reduced salary.

I'll put a price on it. LESS THAN $700K