List Mgmt. 2017 Trade & FA Targets Part 2

Quite seriously, I know somebody who chose to become a North fan, purely because she hates football, and less people talk to her about footy as a Kangas fan, than if she doesn't barrack for any club at all.
I have told this story before but it has always struck me as such a north thing it still makes me laugh.

I worked with a bloke who was a trainer at north and I used to rag him about them having no supporters etc. he said he didn't give a rats as he barracked for Essendon.

giphy.gif

Love that Homer gif

Sent via HAL

Ill chuck in some ring pulls from my jim beam cans.

I don't know who remembers but when I was young at half time at the footy the cheer squads used to walk around the boundary with a blanket asking for people to throw donations in . Back then the had the ring pulls on coke cans that you could fling , we used to find heaps of them on the ground during the first half them aim for the kids as they walked around . I was young but it was great fun . The worst thing they did was get rid of those ring pulls .

Sent via HAL

I don't know who remembers but when I was young at half time at the footy the cheer squads used to walk around the boundary with a blanket asking for people to throw donations in . Back then the had the ring pulls on coke cans that you could fling , we used to find heaps of them on the ground during the first half them aim for the kids as they walked around . I was young but it was great fun . The worst thing they did was get rid of those ring pulls .

Sent via HAL

That was the ring pulls with the notches in them so you would use the tongue to flick them.

We used try and hit them with 2 cent coins.

We also collected 6 empties and put them back into the plastic holder to make step. Wasn't easy seeing the game when standing.

That was the ring pulls with the notches in them so you would use the tongue to flick them.

We used try and hit them with 2 cent coins.

We also collected 6 empties and put them back into the plastic holder to make step. Wasn't easy seeing the game when standing.

Yeah we did that with the cans too , was only way to see . 2 cents was a lot of money back then , lol. Always good when the crowd roared because some member got hit on the head with a coin . It's amazing that no kid lost an eye thinking back . Was a bit of entertainment at half time though.
Remember back then the little league was fair dinkum then too , none of this give every one a game crap , the best kids played every week and you would watch them during the season . There were games when our little league scored more that our seniors lol.

When the Saints played away people used to ring up the footy talk back after the game to ask what the score was in the little league .
I could be wrong but I think they even put the ladder of the little league in the footy record.

Sent via HAL

Yeah we did that with the cans too , was only way to see . 2 cents was a lot of money back then , lol. Always good when the crowd roared because some member got hit on the head with a coin . It's amazing that no kid lost an eye thinking back . Was a bit of entertainment at half time though.
Remember back then the little league was fair dinkum then too , none of this give every one a game crap , the best kids played every week and you would watch them during the season . There were games when our little league scored more that our seniors lol.

When the Saints played away people used to ring up the footy talk back after the game to ask what the score was in the little league .
I could be wrong but I think they even put the ladder of the little league in the footy record.

Sent via HAL
Mate, back then things were so bleak that the little league was our best chance of a win.

Yeah standing on the cans was standard practice southern end forward pocket as a kid, graduated to the stands latter.

They used to get a standing ovation for being in front at half time.

I loved Moorabbin.

It was too , the crowd used to get behind the little league some weeks . More than once the people in the stand gave them a standing ovation after they won because they were the only win for the weekend for the saints . Some years we had a good side in the little league and they won a lot , I remember because it was so unusual for us to win anything.

Sent via HAL

It was too , the crowd used to get behind the little league some weeks . More than once the people in the stand gave them a standing ovation after they won because they were the only win for the weekend for the saints . Some years we had a good side in the little league and they won a lot , I remember because it was so unusual for us to win anything.

Sent via HAL
I remember in the early 1980's there was about a 3 year period when the Saints and Subiaco both won on the same weekend only once. I was ecstatic and celebrated like a mad man!

I had these great seats with my mates for a while, back row right in front of the visiting coaches box.

They would go ape shit and bang on the glass and we would jump up bang back and give them a mouthful.

What a laugh you would probably get kicked out now.

Cold beer in cans, good burgers, loved it.

Yeah standing on the cans was standard practice southern end forward pocket as a kid, graduated to the stands latter.

They used to get a standing ovation for being in front at half time.

I loved Moorabbin.

Yeah I loved it too . Walking to the ground from the station , that tight bit in between the factories where you had to walk through to get to the ground and after to get to the station. Never had to buy a train ticket because there was never anyone at Parkdale station on weekends. We always stood on the outer under the wind socket about half way down . Was great to watch the stand all go up as one when Plugger kicked a goal or we won.

Sent via HAL

I used to play little league at Moorabbin through what used to be Vickick, we always used to win and the crowd loved it. Also remember standing on the beer cans and not caring if we won or lost as long as Plugger kicked a bag or Banger got 35.

Funnily enough Norf were the other team who used to really get behind their little league team. Remember kicking on from 45 out at the 'g, the ball fell about 5m short and bounced over the pack! But the cheer squad got right behind it with their streamers and as much as I care nothing for North, I'll always remember that fondly.

I used to play little league at Moorabbin through what used to be Vickick, we always used to win and the crowd loved it. Also remember standing on the beer cans and not caring if we won or lost as long as Plugger kicked a bag or Banger got 35.

Funnily enough Norf were the other team who used to really get behind their little league team. Remember kicking on from 45 out at the 'g, the ball fell about 5m short and bounced over the pack! But the cheer squad got right behind it with their streamers and as much as I care nothing for North, I'll always remember that fondly.

Wow , what a great memory . I was never good enough to make the little league but we cheered them on every weekend.

Sent via HAL

I remember in the early 1980's there was about a 3 year period when the Saints and Subiaco both won on the same weekend only once. I was ecstatic and celebrated like a mad man!

In those days there was a big joke in Perth that a cop caught a group of blokes climbing the fence of Subiaco Oval while the game was on and made them go back in.

They said prior to the game tonight that Zac Jones is a cert to stay at Sydney. Just a formality.

It may just be that with every club having that extra 20% bigger salary cap next year there won't be anywhere near as many leaving their clubs as there otherwise would have been.

The main exceptions might be those leaving for more opportunity, or because they're homesick, or want to play with their former housemate. ;):D

That will have a domino effect .
Dusty will stay at Richmond .
His contract just went up $500,000 per season

No not at all. The Tigers will just target someone else. Also they are in their window now and so really need someone ready to play in 2018. Schache will not be ready for several years. So say Gunston from the Hawks by trade, or Casboult who is an Unrestricted Free Agent and so is only $$$ to acquire would both be options.

Who knows maybe even Tippet as the Swans need to offload him. I would not go there, but the Tigers might.

If even one of those picks turned out to be as good as Kelly we would be lucky.

What is the strike rate for picking 200 game gauranteed stars in the first round, improving but I doubt it's better than 50%.

So playing the odds you take Kelly every time.
Hang on. If you say there is a 50% strike rate. (I'd argue more these days but for arguments sake). That means there is a 3 in 4 chance of getting at least 1 200 game star. Also possible would be getting 2 of them at only 1 in 4 odds. If I was a betting man I'd take our picks to the draft...