List Mgmt. 2017 Trade & FA Targets Part 2

I will be calling lifeline if he doesn't nominate them.
Seriously some of them seem like its life or death ffs

I feel sorry for them, I remember when the 2010 GF replay ended and we had that cold feeling that an end of an era had arrived and we had pulled up short. I remember on here people were desperately hoping someone would come in and help us crawl back into contention. Sips, Beau Maister, Saad...all were going to be the next piece of the puzzle that was going to catapult us back up. The North folks have had their heart broken and are desperate. Feel compassion for them.

Seriously tho, it wouldn't surprise me if Richmond traded one of their teens first rounders for Jack Gunston.

You should be their list manager, that's a great call. He would be exactly what they need. They could challenge if he gets there.

If jelly were to nominate us, the best and final price we offer gws isn't decided ENTIRELY on previous trades.

It's a case of things arent worth what they cost...they are worth what you are willing to pay.
I think the treloar deal is a reasonable apples and apples situation with jelly, although jelly has shown higher potential than treloar at his age... so he's worth a bit more.

So start with the treloar value (2 firsts with a 2nd back) and add:

*pies weren't AS desperate for treloar as we are for jelly (they had sidey pendles swan(?) etc).
Gws can and will use our desperation to fill our grand canyon midfield hole against us.

*pies had treloar sewn up pretty well, didnt have massive legit competition.
If we try and play real hardball with gws; dragging out the trade, norf will be right there to tell kelly THEY can get a deal done... change your nomination... like what nearly happened with jake and hawks.
*lack of other options in the marketplace currently or next year. It's basically dusty, jelly or bust for us at the moment. It will be considered a big failure for us if we can't spend the enormous cap space we have cleared.
Sure 2 young guns is a good long term fallback- but we're trying to win a flag in the next few years.
If/when dusty and fyfe re-sign- gws get a stronger bargaining position if jelly wants out.

2 firsts IS overs.
But acceptable overs.

Especially when you remember if it is say pick 4 and 8... we have only SPENT picks 10 and 8 on him, plus chuck in battle and long for free.

I reckon Treloar was showing heaps, when they were average he carried them along with Shiel. Kelly was good in 2016 but this year has really come on but he is only half a season in and that's a pretty small body of work to hang crazy deals on. I would love him but seriously you can't gamble everything on one player who has half an elite season to base his trade value on. If it was two firsts I'd want a future first and hope we play finals then and get the second rounder for Steele back.

Another option could be that they've prioritised him and that his sig will squeeze someone else out, perhaps from their stacked midfield?

Unfortunately that somebody will probably be Kieran Jack or some other washed up fringe player.

I'm not one to subscribe to that theory really, as if they're beating up on those who are smaller than them in the juniors, they will be able to do the same as soon as straight away at AFL level as well. It's not like everyone in the AFL is 193cm and 90kg+. Like we're seeing with Sam Powell-Pepper this year and have seen with guys like Dusty and Wines in recent years.

Reckon he'll probably be gone by our Horks pick if we still have it though.

Yep everyone told me to get over Powell- Pepper because of that theory and he seems to have forgotten he wasn't beating up little kids anymore and done it to men.

If we're giving them 4 & 8 for Kelly, I'd be wanting Himmelberg or Matt Kennedy thrown in as well.

I very much like this idea. Give me Kelly and Himmelberg for those two picks. IMO HH would be worth around a 2nd round pick anyway which is in line with what we've seen for other players taken in similar areas of the draft recently (Steele for example).

I've been big on us finding someone to replace Gilbo with and he'd probably be a good option while not instantly forcing Gilbo out of the team.

Wouldn't mind him as a freebie but Himmelberg would be a very good fit too. The Bunt might be like for like Joey replacement as a small defender but would prefer the Berg. He's like a baby Carlisle who can play front or back half and is nearly 2 meters tall but still quick for his size.

I feel sorry for them, I remember when the 2010 GF replay ended and we had that cold feeling that an end of an era had arrived and we had pulled up short. I remember on here people were desperately hoping someone would come in and help us crawl back into contention. Sips, Beau Maister, Saad...all were going to be the next piece of the puzzle that was going to catapult us back up. The North folks have had their heart broken and are desperate. Feel compassion for them.
Yeah-Nah

Powell-Pepper's actual influence at AFL level this year been over-hyped IMO. He's been good for a first year player, no doubt, but the way some talk about him is pretty over the top.

I have bought the hype, he looks like he's helped them let Wines off the chain a bit. Him and Charlie Dixon have helped them look like a finals side again.

Wouldn't think so f--- em

Wouldn't mind him as a freebie but Himmelberg would be a very good fit too. The Bunt might be like for like Joey replacement as a small defender but would prefer the Berg. He's like a baby Carlisle who can play front or back half and is nearly 2 meters tall but still quick for his size.
S May

I wondered how long it would take for you to twig.

I was originally drawn to north because I like being alone and standing out from the crowd, I walk my own path a solitary figure like Kung fu Caine.

North were the only club that allowed me to do that, go to the football and be alone with my thoughts amongst a sea of opposition supporters.

It's just who I am.
Quite seriously, I know somebody who chose to become a North fan, purely because she hates football, and less people talk to her about footy as a Kangas fan, than if she doesn't barrack for any club at all.

Mate of mine is a kangas supporter. Barely speaks about them.

Hawthorn has GWS's 2nd rounder. GWS have ours & Pies 2nds (currently picks 25 & 26)

Also worth noting that due to a 1000 draft points penalty, GWS's 1st rounder is currently a voided pick, ie: it's been removed from the draft. At present, GWS's first pick in the draft is our pick 25 (for Jack Steele last year)

If we're giving them 4 & 8 for Kelly, I'd be wanting Himmelberg or Matt Kennedy thrown in as well.

4&8 for Kennedy and kelly is excellent value if it can be done. I reckon kennedy will be a real player. Also helps with midfield balance, adding a cave troll and a smooth mover.