List Mgmt. 2017 Trade & FA Targets Part 3

I've said it numerous times this year but extreme due diligence would need to be done on any potential Bulldogs recruit. A LOT has been going on down there the last 12+ months.
If we won a flag I wouldn't give a shit if Richo turned up to the next 12 months of pressers like this...

IMG_4166.JPG

Good luck to them.

Melbourne11–16°C

NEWS

SPORT

ENTERTAINMENT

BUSINESS

LIFESTYLE

REALESTATE

VIDEO

CLASSIFIEDS

Magpies swoop on Boyd

Sport

Luke Beveridge and Western Bulldogs went from handball club to party club, writes Jon Ralph

JON RALPH, Herald Sun

September 12, 2017 7:44pm

Subscriber only

LUKE Beveridge seems cut from the same cloth as the AFL’s longest serving coach Mick Malthouse.

A father figure, a confidante and a master motivator who didn’t seem overly fussed if his players burnt the candle at both ends.

LIBBA: DUMPED DOG READY FOR REDEMPTION

If his players wanted a cheeky beer or an odd blowout after a victory, it didn’t matter as long as they went to war for him on a weekly basis.

One of the many take-outs from the Western Bulldogs’ premiership hangover is that an isolated group of his players took that rope and ran with it.

The last time there was this much chatter about the Dogs, the fallout was dramatic.

They sacked their coach, lost their Brownlow Medallist, traded their captain and saw their CEO depart just months later.

Now the club which won a premiership off the back of those dramatic decisions has again become the subject of an off-season whispering campaign.

Jake Stringer looks set to leave the kennel. Picture: Getty Images

They might ship their best forward, there are rumours about administrative changes, the list manager is unsigned, the fan base is unsettled.

The team that started the Handball Club seems more intent on being the Party Club.

The club’s recent history shows events are never as bad as they seem, that one poor season can be the launching pad for success.

But only if those issues are identified and immediately rectified instead of swept under the carpet.

Luke Beveridge’s decision to trade Jake Stringer is the warning shot across the bows of his entire list.

Beveridge’s issues run far deeper than Stringer when it comes to on-field issues.

A simple snapshot: the Dogs were 15th for points for, 18th for goals per inside 50, 18th for kicking efficiency, 18th for centre clearance ranking and 17th for hit-outs to advantage.

Simple question — who kicks all of the Dogs’ goals if Stringer leaves?

The Dogs want a pick for Stringer instead of players, with Essendon and Geelong strong early suitors and St Kilda, Collingwood and North Melbourne interested.

Luke Beveridge hopes his side can quickly rebound. Pic: Michael Klein

But as flighty and inconsistent and infuriating as Stringer is, he is a goalkicker.

Despite being dropped last year, despite a knee and two hamstring issues this year, he has 122 goals from 2015-2017.

In that time Marcus Bontempelli has 63 goals, Liam Picken 54, Jack Redpath 54, Luke Dahlhaus 39 and Tom Boyd 36.

Tory Dickson kicked 101, but at 30 and with just 11 of those goals coming this season, it’s hard to think he picks up the slack.

So Bevo needs to weed out the ratbags, find a better ruck set-up, weigh a trade for Stringer, fix his midfield, find more goalkickers.

A single entry on his resume — 2016 premiership coach — will have him shouted free beer in pubs west of North Melbourne for all his days.

But a long-lasting legacy comes from his capacity to drag this club back up the ladder again.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk

I've said it numerous times this year but extreme due diligence would need to be done on any potential Bulldogs recruit. A LOT has been going on down there the last 12+ months.

Are you suggesting there are a few who are close?...

images-24.jpg

And extreme diligence would be done. Stringer would be a fantastic recruit. Any person who thinks just draft picks will improve our side next year is living in fantasy land. Yes we have some young players that will improve but so does most clubs around us on the ladder and to stay the same we probably need to improve 10 percent.

We need players who have the potential to be stars and whilst Stringer isn't a full time mid he can go in there and is the right size as a forward the way the game is played these days.

And to worry about players actions from other sides is ridiculous. Do you think a person like Bob Murphy would condone crap that some people are writing. They would have their party guys just like any other club but you need to trust your own environment.

Are you suggesting there are a few who are close?...

View attachment 415266

Plenty of players have "social issues" that don't get strikes. I think you would want to enquire about some lifestyle choices before signing any of them. There have ben plenty of rumours since before the Premiership. Remember Libba was found with Heroin on him drugged in a lane in the city a couple of years ago.

Was found with a pocket full of disco biscuits, not heroin.

Stringer is definitely a case of buyer beware. Speaking to a sponsor of the Dogs the other day & quote 'we'll be well rid of that poison'.

Mostly letting you guys know your club is being involved in some serious shit talking.

Sent from mTalk

Operation Invisible Smokescreen complete.

Phase 2: Operation Highly Visable Ridiculous Smokescreen begins.

Maybe the first smokescreen was just a smokescreen... for the REAL smokescreen??

odOC0xzzDBoAPXyemPopFUv2GLvw19oGs6sUoAwky-zufijAeBBRdZXEptY055vXBrqmNybGR0JVP6b9jdGpM6d1oL6lN6zwF9LrygVVYvfY=w435-h245-nc

And extreme diligence would be done. Stringer would be a fantastic recruit. Any person who thinks just draft picks will improve our side next year is living in fantasy land. Yes we have some young players that will improve but so does most clubs around us on the ladder and to stay the same we probably need to improve 10 percent.

We need players who have the potential to be stars and whilst Stringer isn't a full time mid he can go in there and is the right size as a forward the way the game is played these days.

And to worry about players actions from other sides is ridiculous. Do you think a person like Bob Murphy would condone crap that some people are writing. They would have their party guys just like any other club but you need to trust your own environment.

I don't think that Libba, Stringer & co would give two hoots what a silly old self promoting fart like Bob Murphy would condone.

If an afl player was found in a laneway on heroin they would not be an afl player anymore

I presume pick 8's a little high for Naughton?

Jordan Lockyer (Subiaco) named at CHB in the WAFL Team of the Year. Any good? Tall enough for a KPP?

i reckon he might go earlier

lockyer under sized more a HBF, not sure how he'd go at AFL level. solid might not have the legs for AFL

the problem is they havent even been trying to hide. uploading instagram photos with commentary about a 2-3 day bender. geeze the wives at home with the kids most love these blokes. ****in grown ass men too some of them

I don't think that Libba, Stringer & co would give two hoots what a silly old self promoting fart like Bob Murphy would condone.

Well that makes sense if he is a self promoting old fart but he isn't. Anyway when did our club become hollier than any other club. Who gives a stuff what they are like off the field as long as they can play. We know Stringer can play and I trust the club to get the best out of him. Anyway we can continue with our current list and go nowhere fast or slow.

Aidan Corr
#35 GWS Giants
Height: 195cm Weight: 94kg Position: Defender
Last Drafted: Round 1, Pick #14 2012 National Draft by GWS Giants

this is the sort of guy I want the Saints to get.
Isn't this the guy we asked to come join us and he said yes he would, but only if he played midfield? Ameet said pi$$ off Campaigner

We have an oblivious need to bring in A grade targeted talent, apart from the cap implications it's just a disappointment if we don't.

If we get it wrong on a trade for one of these guys it is a disaster that goes well beyond the disappointment of having to hit the draft.

Due diligence yeah it sounds great but in reality what does it mean, the clubs aren't allowed to know how many strikes they have. Who do you ask, who can you trust, I mean depending on who you talk to you might be forgiven for thinking you were talking about two different people.

I don't think the saints can afford to get a trade like this wrong so it's a no from me unless we're 100% sure of our facts. I would ask straight up do you have a problem with gambling, drugs etc will you swear a stat dec to that, the AFL can't tell you but you can ask the player.

The player or his agent may tell you to **** off, I think that tells you all you need to know.

I know SFA about Jackson Trengove, except a vague idea that he was perhaps fairly highly rated a few years back, but now not so much -- and that is it. Couldn't tell you how he plays or what he looks like.

What are people's opinions?

Sonny clearly not a fan, I'd hope he's not a dinosaur...
My mail from P A is he is a flog and hasn't got a mate there

On SM-G930F using BigFooty.com mobile app