List Mgmt. 2017 Trade & FA Targets Part 3

Mumford had 46 HOs, 1 goal, 11 disposals & 11 tackles v Gawn in that game against Melbourne.

As I said, no Mumford is massive.

McGovern Barrass EMac to cover talls - Patton, Berg, Lobb

Bradd Shepperd to make Lids invisible.
Hurn on Johnson
but who is going to stop Shiel and Kelly ? last time Hutchings tagged Shiel and Kelly put up a 40 possesion BOG game that destroyed WCE , the time befor the tried rotating Hutchings on both and both of them had 20 plus possesions and influenced the game .. Lids might be invisible but WC have Cripps, LaCras, Jetta and Darling who go's missing after half time who will be invisible ...

Share the same sentiments. Am not a fan of Stringer at all.

I just don't get that. I'm sure he's a flog but we're not getting him to have beers with him, just to watch him kick goals. If we could get him for a first-rounder it's a massive bargain IMO, he provides a big POD with the rest of the team. Billings + Membrey + Stringer is a pretty strong and versatile half-forward line.

The only possible downside is if he's not coachable and so undermines the vibe of the group. Without Rooey and Joey I don't know if we have the strength in depth to keep a loose cannon in line, too many of the guys with leadership qualities are still fighting for their own spots in various ways (Newnes, Dunstan, Armo, Gears, Mav, Paddy).

Someone should tell Bevo.

You know him ask him your self.... If you can rouse him from his booze slumber. I don't know about the pills but the rumours are that his a huge piss head. Apparently Stringer might have mentioned it during the exit interview.

I know we like to pick and choose what info we want to hear, but Jon Ralph just said on a live QandA regarding Kelly:

"I reckon we are all guessing with clubs re. Kelly. The most likely outcome is he signs a two year extension there even they crash out of the finals. Six weeks ago he wasn't going to St Kilda but was considering North's money and Carlton's upside. Now North seem out and St Kilda are in the race.

So who knows. He is a kid who wants a flag, his manager says he is "obsessed" with getting his players flags, if he signs for 1.6 over two years he won't eventually lose out with money (even if he passes up the guaranteed cash right now). It's the right play to stay
I reckon we are all guessing with clubs re. Kelly. The most likely outcome is he signs a two year extension there even they crash out of the finals. Six weeks ago he wasn't going to St Kilda but was considering North's money and Carlton's upside. Now North seem out and St Kilda are in the race.

So who knows. He is a kid who wants a flag, his manager says he is "obsessed" with getting his players flags, if he signs for 1.6 over two years he won't eventually lose out with money (even if he passes up the guaranteed cash right now). It's the right play to staY"

I wouldn't worry too much about WB wanting to offload Stringer. A misbehaving player surrounded by impressionable individuals is much more disastrous than a misbehaving player surrounded by individuals that don't care. It could be that Stringer and a few others feed off each other in a self-destructive cycle; with no similar player at St Kilda, this may be a non-issue (or close to it).

Maybe go the other way, a club run by a micro managing Fwit in Gordon who has a long history of burning staff, a coach with as many if not more problems than his players, the club decide to go in boots and all on the end of year review and is so precious that when a player gives in back they throw all the toys out of the cot, because well I'm in charge and no body tells me etc etc ................... seen it too many times .

I like what Stringer brings, and I hope the Saints do due diligence, there are going to be more problems come out of the doggies ad it's time the cub owned up to their failings, all of them not just the players, the fish rots from the head first.

I am in the get Stringer camp, but I am pretty cautious also. I think comparisons to blokes like Carlise and Martin are incorrect. By all reports blokes love playing with Martin and Carlisle. They have some loose tendencies off-field but are otherwise great teammates and fun to be around. They are universally liked within the 4 walls of the club. This is the exact opposite of Stringer. A Dogs poster wrote an interesting post regarding Stringer on this issue. Essentially Stringer has had troubles with every coach right back to his teenage years. The source......

His parents...

Stringer has an extreme case of FIGJAM. I mate of mine worked at the Dogs for a long time. Lovely bloke, never a bad word to say about anyone. Reckons the Dogs are a fantastic bunch of guys with the exception of 3 people. Lake, Cooney & Stringer. He didn't go into great detail, but indicated the ego on both Stringer and Cooney was next level. Couple that with a very thin skin and he is a difficult player to work with.

Despite all that, I actually agree with Plugger for the first time ever. We need to take some MASSIVE risks or we are staring down the barrel of mid table mediocrity for some time IMO. Our game plan and existing list is far too blue collar.

Take a risk Saints, throw some money at the Package and we promise Carlisle won't heckle you about JJ shagging your missus.

Some people take the high road, Carlisle takes the low road.

And Sam Fisher takes the dirt road.

Got a bad feeling Whitfield announced today, Kelly tomorrow in time for the weekends game
What so they sign Whitfield ahead of Kelly & you think they might sign him tomorrow would you sign Whitfield first or Kelly first i know who is the better player & Whitfield had a year on his contract to run were as Kelly is OOC at year end.

So when are GWS going to sign Kelly go ahead i dare you sign him go on do it.

What so they sign Whitfield ahead of Kelly & you think they might sign him tomorrow would you sign Whitfield first or Kelly first i know who is the better player & Whitfield had a year on his contract to run were as Kelly is OOC at year end.

So when are GWS going to sign Kelly go ahead i dare you sign him go on do it.
TEW you are like KISS, johnny farnham and Megadeth. The farewell tour never ends!

Maybe go the other way, a club run by a micro managing Fwit in Gordon who has a long history of burning staff, a coach with as many if not more problems than his players, the club decide to go in boots and all on the end of year review and is so precious that when a player gives in back they throw all the toys out of the cot, because well I'm in charge and no body tells me etc etc ................... seen it too many times .

I like what Stringer brings, and I hope the Saints do due diligence, there are going to be more problems come out of the doggies ad it's time the cub owned up to their failings, all of them not just the players, the fish rots from the head first.
Pot. Kettle. Black.

Moral Decay accusing the Bulldogs of being in moral decay.
;)

It is off-the-charts naive to think that WB would be as keen to offload Stringer as they supposedly are if the "only thing he's done wrong is break up with his missus"! :D

I mean naivety doesn't get any more extreme than that.

He's just 23yo, has made an AA team at 21yo, has won their goalkicking the last 3 years (including in a premiership year) and is a massive fan favourite, so if they are trying to push him out in spite of all that, there have to be serious, serious issues there.

It is buyer beware in a big way and due diligence would absolutely be needed, and I expect, done.

I agree, but I'm facinated by what people are actually imagining what big/extreme/comprehensive due diligence would look like?

Hire a PI to tail him and his mates?
Talk to his neighbours?
Go through his garbage?

Doing 'due diligence', no matter how extreme, isn't going to answer many of the question marks over him.

Sure it would help us steer clear if he is/was benny cousins level messed up...

But unless stringer is as blatant as cuz was- taking him on will be a major leap of faith/risk.
Regardless of how much pre trade checking we can do.