Analysis 2018 List Management discussion Pt 2

We're not going to give up on any of the youngsters that we've drafted in over the past couple of years when there is so much other deadwood on the roster, HARKER .

You need to back in the kids that you've drafted. Polson and Kerr have both shown something at AFL level. It may not be all there yet but there's something.

If you're going to draft a developmental KP as high up in the draft as we did De Koning (second round) then you have to give him a second contract unless he shows that he isn't mentally strong enough to be a professional footballer. He's accounted for himself extremely well by all reports.

I don't have a problem with any of those three extensions. The Polson one came earlier than I would have liked (before he had shown anything at the AFL level) but now that he has I'm supportive of that decision.

Fair enough, but some will have to go.

SOS was very quick to cut the likes of Gowers, Holman, Boekhorst but backing himself with JGM, LeBois, Polson.
You have to take that statement for what it is and not for the discussion of what we've seen of the first grouping against what we haven't seen of the second.

SOS was very quick to cut the likes of Gowers, Holman, Boekhorst but backing himself with JGM, LeBois, Polson.
You have to take that statement for what it is and not for the discussion of what we've seen of the first grouping against what we haven't seen of the second.

We did get rid of Korcheck.:)

without too many issues, hence: We'll lose 8 - 10 players this year....I think.

I've got a feeling it won't be so many (ie 10), depending on FAs we can secure, and if players are traded in.
Unless we trade #1 for more high end picks, I'd think it's likely we only take 4 at the draft, but also depends on what the AFL decide to do with the rookie draft.

None of them were his guys and all were especially easy to clear out. Working in basketball I saw this regularly. A new coach and/or general manager would come in and clean house. This was especially prevalent for those who were in another organisation throughout the drafting of those they're getting rid of. Given that SOS has established relationships since his time back at the club with the NFL and NBA it's easy to see him having the very same philosophies that are all the rage there.

Thus far Gowers is the only potential miss. I still view him as a placeholder on the Dogs until they rebuild their list.

As far as Holman goes, his tackling pressure would have been nice but he's still another extremely low possession, average to poor efficency, midfielder (wannabe small forward) who doesn't have much impact around the ground. He's not that much better than Graham if he even is at all:

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy...d2=4&type=A&pid1=6550&pid2=3847&fid1=S&fid2=S

As for Boekhorst, I was a bit of a fan (thought he'd do well as an icing type player but was horribly miscast on a team who had no time or room for that type to develop), but we've all heard the draft story of SOS's reaction when the Blues announced his drafting. It's a true story.

Players currently without a contract;

Simpson - Likely to go on.
Kerridge - If we still need bigger bodies in the middle, he'll stay
Lamb - 80% gone
Rowe - 50/50, but only one of he and ASilvagni can remain
Graham - 70% gone
Shaw - 90% gone
Thomas - 70% gone
GlassMac - 95% gone

Le Bois - 50/50 but really more likely to remain as he's something we're sorely lacking
ASilvagni - 50/50 Either he or Rowe stay another year, but not both.
Wright - 50/50 Hasn't had a good year, but who has. May depend on what we do at the trade table.

Lobbe - Did we pick him up on one year or two?
O'Shea - Isn't the PSD automatically 2 years?

Think it's fair to say that we have five definite movers and one of Rowe or ASilvagni making 6
Reckon we can pick out another 2 - 4 without too many issues, hence: We'll lose 8 - 10 players this year....I think.

Considering what sos said the other night re senior bodies around our youth in the VFL, id be thinking quite a few of the above have a higher % of staying on the list to play that role.

Seems odd.

24yo, 194cm key defender. Not really what we're crying out for.

Played three years at Box Hill before getting drafted by Freo, so wouldn't be surprised if he worked a little with Bolton there.

www.aflplayers.com.au/article/players-voice-sam-collins/

Makes for interesting reading, and certainly comes across a mature, level-headed type who will put in the work.

If it's Rowe out, Collins in, I can probably get on board though.

What a ripper.

He should feel comfortable training near Melbourne University.

Would be a great guy to have at the club - even if only for VFL.

As for Boekhorst, I was a bit of a fan (thought he'd do well as an icing type player but was horribly miscast on a team who had no time or room for that type to develop), but we've all heard the draft story of SOS's reaction when the Blues announced his drafting. It's a true story.

sorry what is the story?

The thing with Gowers was while he had an occasional fan or two there wasn't a subsequent cry of outrage when he was delisted.

Funny what happens when a young bloke gets the kick up the backside he admits that he needed, goes away and works his ass off, and earns that second chance.

Its far from a certainty he would have come on without that kick.

Holman was the one that got the groans by the majority. And while he's a success story for getting a second chance he hasn't demonstrated that he would be anything more than in the delisting "too limited" conversation thid year anyways.

That's a pretty reasonable perspective - at the same time though, he had a pretty promising first year of (senior) footy and had he had his development in the AFL he'd be a far better player. Would at least be a handy guy to have on the list for a few years to see what he could offer. I know Whiley had a contract for 2016, but kind of astonishing in hindsight he had a year under Bolton instead of Holman. He was dreadful.

Isn't Sam Collins a kpd?
If he is I don't think we need any more.
So ASOS Rowe Jones and Weits are enough?

Rowe and Asos aren’t gonna be around long, Jones is upgradeable and we need more than just Weits. List management is fluid. Almost always need more of everything. Another KPD is pretty vital atm.

Sos did say it was easy to build a list to make 9th,10th etc however he has drafted to hopefully get to the promised land.Unfortunately with the injuries we have had to play the likes of O’Shea,mullet,Rowe etc.Players who are treading water until our younger ones develop.Ive said this quite a few times that this draft is the most important in the clubs history.Will make or break us.

So ASOS Rowe Jones and Weits are enough?

Rowe and Asos aren’t gonna be around long, Jones is upgradeable and we need more than just Weits. List management is fluid. Almost always need more of everything. Another KPD is pretty vital atm.

I consider marchbank, plowman and macreadie as key defenders.

Talk of them being wingmen is a pretty unlikely outcome.

Yeah marchbank might end up more as a third tall but he's still a key defender not a rebounding running defender.

I consider marchbank, plowman and macreadie as key defenders.

Talk of them being wingmen is a pretty unlikely outcome.

Yeah marchbank might end up more as a third tall but he's still a key defender not a rebounding running defender.
I think Macreadie is the likely other key. I don’t see Plow and marchy as key backs. Guess we’ll wait and see.

Players currently without a contract;

Simpson - Likely to go on.
Kerridge - If we still need bigger bodies in the middle, he'll stay
Lamb - 80% gone
Rowe - 50/50, but only one of he and ASilvagni can remain
Graham - 70% gone
Shaw - 90% gone
Thomas - 70% gone
GlassMac - 95% gone

Le Bois - 50/50 but really more likely to remain as he's something we're sorely lacking
ASilvagni - 50/50 Either he or Rowe stay another year, but not both.
Wright - 50/50 Hasn't had a good year, but who has. May depend on what we do at the trade table.

Lobbe - Did we pick him up on one year or two?
O'Shea - Isn't the PSD automatically 2 years?

Think it's fair to say that we have five definite movers and one of Rowe or ASilvagni making 6
Reckon we can pick out another 2 - 4 without too many issues, hence: We'll lose 8 - 10 players this year....I think.

I find it interesting that you and a few others are so certain Lamb will be gone at seasons end. It seems Bolts really likes Jed, he picks him most weeks and he generally gets a good continuous run at it.
I’m not a big fan of his and he does have Limitations but he regurly plays, is in the age group the club has stated we are short on.

I think there are too many ahead of him to be cut and he will survive.

A lot of people in the Draft room had the same reaction when the Carlton called out O’Brien’s name at number 10 in last years draft too.