Resource 2020 Draft Watch (picks 1, 9, 20, 30, 45, 50, 60, 74) - updated R17 15/9/20

Knowing Hamish, I reckon we take a mid at 1 and then go for Callow with our next few picks (probably #20).

Loves his Tassie boys and we desperately need a contested mark up forward.
Interesting exercise - how many Tassie lads have we actually brought in since Hamish became the head recruiter?

I can only think of Siggins, Jones, Greenwood + a bid on Thomas

Interesting exercise - how many Tassie lads have we actually brought in since Hamish became the head recruiter?

I can only think of Siggins, Jones, Greenwood + a bid on Thomas
I wouldn't be be too disappointed if we went with Ollie Davis with a later pick.

And Clarence youngster Sam Banks is a name to we're going to be hearing regularly in the lead up to the 2021 draft...

1599489515485.png

You really think Geoff Parker is that dumb?

I've got some news for you....he's not.
Port’s first pick is pick 25 which will be pushed out again with free agent compo then factor in the NGAs etc it will be around pick 35. So late 2nd early 3rd is around where Borlase is projecting, no?

Then factor in that pick will probably be gone when they match for Jones so their first pick going to be even later.

You really think Geoff Parker is that dumb?

I've got some news for you....he's not.

Just to look at this in reality - where do you rank Borlase in this draft?

We have no idea currently where Port’s first live pick will be given 25 will likely be wiped for Jones.

Just to look at this in reality - where do you rank Borlase in this draft?

We have no idea currently where Port’s first live pick will be given 25 will likely be wiped for Jones.
Seems to be projecting in the 30-40 range on most of the draft boards I've read lately. As is Luke Edwards now.

um... yeah he could
Yes I understand he played some games at Carlton. I was referring to the point that Hately couldn't get a game for GWS, he has played 12 games in less than 2 seasons and is stuck behind more experienced players. Jacobs was in a similar situation at Carlton, he only played 17 games in 2 seasons but was stuck behind their preferred options Kruezer and Warnock.

Just because he wasn't their first choice didn't mean he didn't have talent. Hately clearly has talent but he just can't force his way into the GWS star studded midfield group.

Seems to be projecting in the 30-40 range on most of the draft boards I've read lately. As is Luke Edwards now.
TBH I don't think its a bad thing that the Edwards and Newchurch hype seems to be cooling. The lower their draft stock gets the less chance someone lays an uncomfortably positioned bid on one of them.

We have a strong hand but we should still be looking for maximum value with these bids!

I reckon Borlase will be drafted before Edwards or Newchurch - he looks a quality tall defender, where’s Edwards appears a bog standard half-back flanker and Newchurch a lazy small forward.

[We’ll then turn all three into superstars course]

I reckon Borlase will be drafted before Edwards or Newchurch - he looks a quality tall defender, where’s Edwards appears a bog standard half-back flanker and Newchurch a lazy small forward.

Funny how quickly opinions turn around in here. Not too long ago Newchurch and Edwards had potential 1st round bids coming their way, and people weren't even sure that we should pick up Borlase.

Nobody thought that about Newchurch. Matt Rendell said something and everyone on here jumped off a cliff, he's pushing to be drafted and he's certainly not going in the first round.

AFL Draft Central's September draft rankings.

THE VERDICT is in after another terrific month of football from the latest crop of budding AFL draftees. Victorian prospects remain starved of action, but the best and brightest from around the nation have been stamping their claims, making for some interesting movers and sliders. In Draft Central‘s third Power Rankings edition for 2020, we extend our list out to 25 names, with key adjustments made to our initial July and August analyses. A certain West Australian key forward continues to rise steeply, while the Northern Territory gains a representative in the extended cut. All that, and more in our September Power Rankings update.
Note, the list is ordered purely on our opinion and each players’ ability, not taking into account any AFL clubs’ lists or needs.
#1 Jamarra Ugle-Hagan
Oakleigh Chargers/Vic Country | Key Position Forward
4/04/2002 | 194cm | 84kg

Western Bulldogs fans may not entirely enjoy seeing Next Generation Academy (NGA) product, Ugle-Hagan perched atop the tree given the hefty price that comes with it, but should be buoyed by their club having first dibs on such a remarkable talent. The 194cm key position forward has been compared to champion goalkicker Lance Franklin for his athleticism and left-foot kick, but he plays a little differently. Ugle-Hagan’s pace off the lead and sticky hands overhead set him apart, while elite scores in each of the preseason testing events make him an irresistible prospect alone. He is the consensus number one choice at this point, having delivered on the hype as he moved to the Oakleigh region via a scholarship with Scotch College.
August Ranking: #1
Last Month: Inactive due to lack of NAB League and APS Football.
>> Q&A
>> Draft Watch
>> Marquee Matchup
#2 Elijah Hollands
Murray Bushrangers/Vic County | Forward/Midfielder
25/04/2002 | 188cm | 80kg

Hollands’ placing in these rankings will inevitably prove one of the hardest to call throughout the year, given he is set to sit out the entire 2020 season after tearing his anterior cruciate ligament (ACL). At this point though, he has done more than enough to warrant top five status at the least, and finds a place in second spot once again. While his knack for producing game-defining periods has most significantly been achieved forward of centre, Hollands has the size and skill to warrant his goal of earning more midfield minutes. With clean hands, athleticism, and a booming boot which often finds the goals, Hollands is all you could ever want from a high-ceiling prospect. Not playing shouldn’t hurt his value too much, but it would have been nice to see him get an uninterrupted crack at NAB League level having finished his schooling at Caulfield Grammar.
August Ranking: #2
Last Month: Inactive due to lack of NAB League, and recovery from long-term knee injury.
>> Feature
>> Draft Watch
>> Marquee Matchup
#3 Logan McDonald
Perth/Western Australia | Key Position Forward
4/04/2002 | 196cm | 85kg

A dominant key position forward with terrific endurance is McDonald, who adds to the strong tall and West Australian representation on this list. The high-marking spearhead ran out for his state thrice during last year’s Under 18 National Championships, averaging a goal per game and impressing with his ability to clunk marks leading up the ground. He has terrific hands on the lead and usually has no trouble finding the big sticks, while his high-level endurance confirms his status as a true, modern-day centre half-forward. Having grown and filled out to a more conventional key position size, expect McDonald to better showcase his game-winning ability from forward of centre – something which earned him All-Australian honours as an Under 16s player.
August Ranking: #9
Last Month: McDonald has been arguably the most consistent key position performer of all the players on this list; at the highest possible level, no less. He now sits second in the WAFL League goalkicking charts, having booted 13 goals across his five August/September outings. He boasts 20 goals in seven games overall, and has not yet failed to kick multiple goals. Even if he is having a quiet patch, McDonald has been able to make an impact and take full toll with what the Perth midfielders deliver his way. He will continue to provide a focal point as the Demons push for finals, with his conversion from range, marking on the lead, and one-on-one work deep inside 50 all excellent for his age.
>> Draft Watch
>> Player Focus
#4 Denver Grainger-Barras
Swan Districts/Western Australia | Key Position Defender
14/04/2002 | 195cm | 78kg

Another tall amongst the top five, and a versatile one at that. While he is definitely most comfortable and renowned as a key position defender, the Swan Districts hopeful’s versatility lies in the varying roles he play inside defensive 50. Credit to his athleticism and slender frame, he is able to keep up with medium types at ground level, while also showing form as a lockdown type on the opposition’s best big forward, or as an intercept marking outlet. Grainger-Barras is a cool head in possession too, boasting a sound kick for his size and composure beyond his years. That same level-headedness and footballing IQ makes him a sound reader of the play from the back, and the leading option in his position.
August Ranking: #4
Last Month: Another consistent performer, Grainger-Barras is still capable of delivering some ‘wow’ moments. Most recently, he produced a starring second half against McDonald and the Perth Demons, bouncing back from a lacklustre opening half to help Swan Districts power to victory. While he is still quite light for a key position prospect, Grainger-Barras showed he is not afraid to wear contact on that day, leaping for some incredible intercept marks while directly opposed to his State Under 18s teammate. He may get knocked around a touch, but loves a bit of niggle and stands up against mature bodies. Over the past month, the 18-year-old averaged 11.6 disposals and 5.2 marks per his five games, good enough to hold his spot.
>> Draft Watch
>> Marquee Matchup
>> Player Focus
#5 Will Phillips
Oakleigh Chargers/Vic Metro | Balanced Midfielder
22/05/2002 | 179cm | 78kg

We all marvelled at how well Oakleigh graduates Matt Rowell and Noah Anderson have adapted to life in the AFL, and Phillips could be the next Charger in line to do just that having leant on the pair during his bottom-aged campaign. Like Rowell, Phillips is a sub-180cm prospect who consistently finds plenty of the ball and possesses great leadership qualities. He is a well-balanced midfielder too, having plied his trade at times on the outside for Oakleigh en route to premiership glory. Phillips seems to thrive on the inside though, with his hardness and ability to weave through traffic making him an invaluable stoppage asset. The Caulfield Grammar student was set to juggle APS football and NAB League duties in 2020, while standing as a clear leadership candidate for Vic Metro come national carnival time – all before the pandemic hit.
August Ranking: #3
>> Q&A
>> Draft Watch
#6 Riley Thilthorpe
West Adelaide/South Australia | Ruck/Key Position Forward
7/07/2002 | 200cm | 99kg

In a welcome change from last year’s crop, key position prospects will be in abundance at the top end. Thilthorpe is one of them, an athletic ruck/forward who possesses enormous running capacity and can dominate the airways. In his ruck duties, the 200cm West Adelaide product plays more like a fourth midfielder, able to follow up at ground level and cover the ground like a small. He has been utilised in a more forward-oriented role for the Bloods at SANFL League level though, with his goalkicking attributes and diverse skillset already making him a handful for senior players with more mature bodies. Ask any of the South Australian Under 18s who they are most looking forward to playing alongside in 2020, and Thilthorpe is among them. Jot the name down, he should be among those you are most looking forward to watching, too.
August Ranking: #5
Last Month: West Adelaide has managed Thilthorpe over the last two weeks as he nurses a groin complaint, bringing an end to his streak of nine-straight League appearances since Round 1. The bigman had been enjoying some time in a variety of roles; from his usual key forward post, to some added responsibility in the ruck rotation, and even venturing up onto a wing. In his four August outings, Thilthorpe was kept goalless thrice, averaging 11.8 disposals, four marks, and over 12 hitouts to be squeezed just outside of the top five. He still has runs on the board and hopefully gets back into the swing of things to finish off the SANFL season.
>> Feature
>> Draft Watch
>> Player Focus
#7 Braeden Campbell
Sydney Swans Academy/Allies | Balanced Midfielder/Forward
4/02/2002 | 181cm | 72kg

While he has again been squeezed out to number seven, Campbell is a player who could potentially sit among the top five come season’s end. Uncertainty lingers over how much exposure NSW/ACT athletes will be able to gain in 2020 given the NEAFL and NAB League scrappings, but one must only watch last year’s Under 17 Futures All-Star showcase to be reminded of Campbell’s talent. He was best-afield in that game, with electrifying speed, hardness at the ball, and a booming left-foot kick catching the eye of all who bore witness. The Swans Academy product is also apt in the short range as well, and has the invaluable ability to impact games in multiple positions. Whether it be on the inside, outside, or forward of centre, Campbell is a match-winner and should cost the Swans a pretty penny in terms of draft points.
August Ranking: #6
Last Month: Campbell returned to AFL Sydney Premier Division football this past weekend for Pennant Hills, booting a goal in the Demons’ 80-point victory over East Coast. That came after he turned out twice for the Sydney Swans Academy, helping his side claim Academy Series points over the GWS GIANTS Academy on both occasions. He looked a class above in those outings, able to win the ball at will through midfield, while showcasing his versatility and remaining a goalkicking threat going forward.
>> Draft Watch
>> Marquee Matchup
>> Player Focus
#8 Tanner Bruhn
Geelong Falcons/Vic Country | Inside Midfielder
27/05/2002 | 182cm | 73kg

Class with a capital ‘C’ is what Bruhn has been described as, despite his limited on-field opportunities of late. The Geelong Falcons midfielder burst onto the scene as Vic Country’s Under 16 MVP in 2018, but injuries have cruelled him since; having initially required knee surgery after a 2019 preseason incident, and undergone a follow-up procedure that would have had him in doubt to feature early this year. He still managed to add two NAB League outings to his resume towards the end of last season, showcasing his terrific stoppage craft with clean hands and wonderful movement around the ball. Should he eventually enjoy an extended run and put his best form on display, Bruhn could well push to be the premier midfielder of this year’s bunch.
August Ranking: #7
>> Q&A
>> Draft Watch
#9 Nikolas Cox
Northern Knights/Vic Metro | Key Position Defender/Utility
15/01/2002 | 199cm | 82kg

A 199cm player who can run, kick on both sides, and play just about anywhere? It sounds too good to be true, but that is exactly what Cox brings to the table as his region’s most outstanding draft candidate. Cox cut his teeth as a tall wingman and key position swingman in 2019, juggling his time between school football, 10 NAB League outings, and a berth in the Under 18 Vic Metro squad as a bottom-ager. In 2020, the Northern Knights co-captain is set to develop as a centre-half back, with his athleticism and versatility in the role lending to the fact he has an enormous ceiling. He is also set to be a prime candidate to lead Vic Metro should the Vics get on the park, lauded for his professionalism and the example he sets via training standards.
August Ranking: #8
Last Month: Inactive due to lack of NAB League and AGSV Football.
>> Q&A
>> Draft Watch
>> Marquee Matchup
#10 Lachlan Jones
WWT Eagles/South Australia | General Defender
9/04/2002 | 185cm | 89kg

Yet another NGA prospect, Jones is tied to Port Adelaide and features quite highly on this list. His big frame has seen him adjust well to the rigours of SANFL League football, running out against mature bodies in all of the Eagles’ fixtures thus far. As a general defender, Jones possesses obvious hardness at the ball and can compete both aerially and at ground level, remaining relevant going both ways too. His skills are also a big asset, able to spear passes to high percentage options while also breaking games open with his long-range efforts. Jones may well be one to push further up the list as he progresses in 2020, with some solid traits which point to a quick transition into the next level.
August Ranking: #12
Last Month: Jones remains the sole South Australian Under 18 on this list to have turned out at League level for every round this season, as he goes from strength to strength. The Eagles are in the box seat to take out the minor premiership, with the Port Adelaide NGA prospect an established part of the side’s defence in a variety of roles. In his six outings since August 1, Jones has averaged 11.5 disposals, 3.5 marks, and four rebound 50s, returning to his best with 16 touches and eight rebounds against North Adelaide in Round 11. He has consistently been able to intercept, play both tall and small, and rebound effectively against mature bodies, bumping him up to #10.
>> Draft Watch
>> Player Focus Round 3 | Round 8
That settles it.

We take best available.

We take Hollands.

O'Driscoll with the GWS pick.

Nobody thought that about Newchurch. Matt Rendell said something and everyone on here jumped off a cliff, he's pushing to be drafted and he's certainly not going in the first round.
The point is all it takes is 1 rumour, 1 opinion, 1 interview, 1 article and peoples draft stock can drop or rise 30+ positions.

But really, the draft is a crapshoot. And we have no idea how recruiters actually view these kids.

Kristof/Mego Red knows what I’m talking about 😉

I'm still not sure borlase would be viewed that highly. Looks a bit slow imo. He's done well to get league games though. Might be worth a punt bit I don't think it will cost too much.
He's worth a late pick, got a good footy brain and good positioning.

Port’s first pick is pick 25 which will be pushed out again with free agent compo then factor in the NGAs etc it will be around pick 35. So late 2nd early 3rd is around where Borlase is projecting, no?

Then factor in that pick will probably be gone when they match for Jones so their first pick going to be even later.
I would have thought around the 50 - rookie.

They'll trade a player/s for pick/s, I'd be very surprised if they don't given their history.

Edwards was the only ever in contention for a late 1st round pick.
The problem as I see it with Edwards is he's not a very much different player to what he was as an U16, i.e. the general consensus is his rate of progression/improvement has not matched that of quite a few others.

Newchurch is a prime example of why highlight reels should be taken for what they are "highlights".

I doubt that very much, Borlase's lack of pace is a worry when it comes to containing an athletic forward on a fast lead....I'll be very interested to see what he measures in at come the combine as well given most of the forwards these days will have him for height.

A season or 2 with DT on the tricks and body position will help

I reckon he’s grown beyond 191cm but we’ll know soon.

Wow. That's a startlingly bad take.

Any domestic violence incident should be a career-ending crime. Much like any armed robbery incident would be a career-ending crime.

Driving a car drunk when all you do is get pulled over/smash up property is a 4 week ban. Kill someone whilst being drunk behind the wheel and your career is over.

Again, violence again men has a context thing. If its in training, then there is some leeway as the environment has a role and leaves it to the club to sort their sh*t out. Same principle as you can get away with things on a football field that otherwise, you'd probably go to jail for. We saw just last week that outside of the football field, it's 10 weeks (+ internal) for getting into a fight.

Yup. It will have implications on the kids life. Deservedly so.

Any domestic violence incident should be a career-ending crime? I agree, it doesn't matter if he's an 18 year old first time offender and that we don't know the specifics of the dispute or even if he was just defending himself. There's simply no grey area between beating someone to almost death and pushing someone against a wall, it's all the same thing. Career over, no second chances, no counselling.

Now we agree we can move on from this and get back to the trades.