2020 US Presidential Nominees

Who's gonna be the Veep?

herculez09 is right, Buttigieg is the Tip Top variety of the white bread which makes up 75% of the Democratic candidates at the present. He's one rung above being the homebrand label that Gabbard and Harris currently occupy.

Far too many candidates running on personality and not policy at the moment. At least two of the candidates which aren't in the former category are polling well so there's some hope yet.

herculez09 is right, Buttigieg is the Tip Top variety of the white bread which makes up 75% of the Democratic candidates at the present. He's one rung above being the homebrand label that Gabbard and Harris currently occupy.

Far too many candidates running on personality and not policy at the moment. At least two of the candidates which aren't in the former category are polling well so there's some hope yet.
I think Pete is actually quite wholemeal, with plenty of grain. He has a number of good policies. To even mention him in the same breath as Gabbard is eye opening.

Lol. From someone who actually lived where he was mayor:

Make no mistake: Pete Buttigieg’s failure will not be due to black homophobia. Instead, it will be rooted in him following the time-honored tradition of being a white politician who ignored the black community by and large until their ambitions called for direct contact.

It’s not our fault that thus far, he’s shown himself to be ill-prepared for the moment.

You are being wilfully ignorant now, this is his most obvious and publicly visible weak point.

Buttigieg has often touted South Bend’s diversity and economic success. But the shooting of Eric Logan has exposed the fact whatever economic success South Bend enjoys has been unevenly distributed, with a glaring racial divide persisting.

The Nation

Donald Trump is going to run rings around these candidates.

You've got the geriatric Sanders, the creepy Joe Biden, the female 'native American' Warren, and the gay Pete Butigeg. None of them have any chance in 2020.
Dementia Trump will be 74, not sure with the weight he is carrying will be running very fast at all, maybe a slow waddle.

Lol. From someone who actually lived where he was mayor:

There is much misinformation and biased reporting about the shooting of Eric Logan by a white policeman. I can counteract your article with a Twitter thread from another black American who also lives in South Bend:

You are being wilfully ignorant now, this is his most obvious and publicly visible weak point.

The Nation
I see that the article you've linked to was written in July. It's cleverly done, twisting facts to suit a certain (leftist) agenda. I can tell you that things have changed since then, and with regard to this last paragraph, Pete's campaign is going very well, thanks.

"Buttigieg’s technocratic politics—with its emphasis on his Ivy League education, polyglot speaking skills, and familiarity with the oeuvre of James Joyce—has an intense appeal to one narrow slice of the Democratic Party coalition: college-educated whites. He’s the ultimate wine-track candidate. Unfortunately for him, any conceivable path to victory in the Democratic primaries involves building a much broader coalition. Unless he can figure out how to solve his lack of appeal to black voters, as well as other voters outside the professional middle class, Buttigieg has no future as a presidential candidate. "

While I dont disagree with your whitebread characterisation I would point out that personality is now 90% of a candidates make up

People really dont want policy. This is the Bachelorette generation. Give people a rose every now and then and they will be happy

While I dont disagree with your whitebread characterisation I would point out that personality is now 90% of a candidates make up

People really dont want policy. This is the Bachelorette generation. Give people a rose every now and then and they will be happy
100% this - politics right now is so populist that the electorate will turn off when they hear actual policy and gravitate to the short and sharp catchphrases.

People absolutely vote on policy in the end, even if their understanding is shallow and they are actually voting against their self interest.

Trump for all of his in-your-face personality ran on a whole heap of policy. It wasn’t thought out and he didn’t follow through but at the heart of his success was telling people he would do things to improve their lot.

In the Australian election there was a sense that Morrison won by going after Shorten as a person. It wasn’t really that. The Libs’ campaign attacked Labor’s policies and that is of course a policy position in itself. “Our policy is - not that.”

100% this - politics right now is so populist that the electorate will turn off when they hear actual policy and gravitate to the short and sharp catchphrases.
It is populist but people want populist policy not just popular candidates. Populist policy like save my job, protect my way of life and particular to the US: give me some healthcare. Whether the policies proposed can achieve this is what people need to be more aware of. e.g. Trump tax cuts, Morrison tax cuts.

I was probably a little too absolute in my last comment - in Australia it is a bit different given the complete lack of personality of our pollies leading to populist policies. In the USA, I reckon its around the populist candidate with soundbytes that gets it. Career politician would have no chance against an Oprah Winfrey candidate or Trump as a candidate.

2020 US Presidential Nominees