Strategy 2021 Draft and Hypothetical pick trade proposals

Lol seriously can we just have a ban on posting things ol clickbait Kornes says…

none of it is interesting and it’s all designed to just stir people up.

Hodgey wants a new rule! Hodgey gets a new rule.

No more clickbait shit from Cornes in here.

Also:
Can we also threadban Rendell quotes. The bloke is senile.
Done ✔️

After reading all this I can say Tyler Durden was on to something and that those saying there’s no interest in our players have no idea what they’re on about. The offers will come, plenty of time left.

Is that an educated opinion or a gut feel? No disrespect just interested.

It feels like more has happened by this stage in past trade weeks. AFL wide, not just Hawthorn related.

Three years, and every minor period of success we've had during that period has conveniently coincided with Chad playing very well

He clearly loves the club, his teammates, is capable of the incredible and has a huge impact whenever his body is right and he can play 75% in the midfield.

He wears his emotion on his sleeves and is committed and passionate about the club and his football, and wants to make those around him better.

He's also very intelligent and will (if he wants) take over the unofficial mantle of indigenous ambassador for the club and any help mentor any of the younger lads coming through who may be moving from interstate (indigenous or otherwise).

Bugger all? Rubbish

Well said mate - the hate that Chad Wingard manages to attract seemingly league wide blows my mind..

Just don’t get it and glad he’s staying.

Haha.

It hasn't be widely reported we were open to offers for anyone over 26?

The club has come out on the front foot and said Chad isn't leaving?

No but flat13sharp9 the club didn't go to GWS and say here's Chad. GWS came to us. Boy you and one other guy here really hates the Chad - did he
repeatedly kill you in fortnite and take your best weapons

Given it doesn't even sound like we will get a good pick for him, and we are not under any salary cap pressure (the opposite), it's hard to interpret that any other way.

Sammy had seen enough of Cegs and he wants to wipe the plate clean - love his work. Sammy and MM doing their best to clean up the mess left by Clarkson and GW. Appreciate and love Clarko for everything he has done but he set us back years by going top up in 2016. Cost us dearly …

I wonder how far off would we be adding in 3 good kids, and keeping the big 4, they still have plenty of footy left in them.
I feel confident saying our big 4, aren’t good enough to take us to the promise land. Especially from now. Our next time competing will be on the back of our current younger players and future players.

I feel the club thinks the same. Hence why the are very happy fielding offers. Saying that we have such a strong culture off field I very much doubt any/many will want to move.

Current team fully healthy, to me is battling for eighth. Too many teams with much higher peaks than us.

Not directed at Chad, and I'm glad he's going to be a Hawk next year, but player movement would be a whole lot easier if clubs could trade contracted players without their agreement... Not sure if I'm in the minority but I think it's a better model. It's very tedious as it is.

Boss: DanielG, take a seat...

Boss: We know how much you love this company. You're from Melbourne. Your wife is from Melbourne, including her parents whom we understand are in palliative care.

We're also aware that both your twin sons are currently undergoing treatment for Hodgkin's Lymphoma at the Royal Children's Hospital, but... we've received a nice little offer from one of our competitors in Perth. We need you to try and see this from our perspective, Daniel - they're giving us a BP fuel voucher for 12 months.

What benefit so we get from moving Cegs on for no pick and paying part of his wage?

Does it just open up another spot on the list?

Would have thought keeping Cegs in as a back up ruck for one more list makes more sense given out ruck stocks are basically just Reeves and a almost cooked Big Boy?

Maybe this means we are confident of picking up another ruck in the trade period?

Last edited by a moderator:
By who? Edmund?
Geelong don't have a good pick, and we won't get a good pick for Ceglar. Bottom line is the club is looking to pay him $200,000 to play for another club, while we have no cap issues, and in exchange for what will most likely be a third round pick. It's not exactly a vote of confidence from the new coach.

Ah well. We’ll just ship off chad next year and he’ll prob get a worse contract outcome and outcome for the club. Yes players don’t have to agree to be traded but no player is bigger than the club and this ‘I’m not f’in leaving’ stuff is childish but in line with some of his on-field stuff this year.

Reckon a few of our overpaid senior players will get a reality check of their football mortality and real football worth over the next 12 months. We’re in a rebuild. Refuse to be traded = you better farkin step up in 2022 and good luck getting a contract extension.
You’d be fun at a party mate

Fox Footy article suggesting we might get involved with Freo and GWS and pay some of Lobb's wage? I assume we get rewarded with a draft-hand boost somehow.

One of the key roadblocks in discussions around Lobb is who pays him if he gets to the Giants. The Dockers will reject any push to pay a portion of his salary, leading to GWS considering whether a third club – such as Hawthorn – could subsidise some of Lobb’s salary.

The AFL permits trades of players and draft picks and allows clubs to pay for players of opposition teams (such as Melbourne with Jack Watts when he went to Port Adelaide and Adam Treloar at the Dogs), but it would be unusual for a club not directly involved in a trade to help ease the salary cap burden.

No but flat13sharp9 the club didn't go to GWS and say here's Chad. GWS came to us. Boy you and one other guy here really hates the Chad - did you repeatedly kill you in fortnite and take your best weapons

I agree with you mate. And I'm not at all saying that the club went to GWS with Wingard.

I am saying that the club has done everything they can, rightfully imo, to make clubs aware our experienced players over 27 are available and that we are hunting quality draft picks in return.

The club is seemingly wanting offers for Wingard, O'Meara, Mitchell or Gunston. But it will depend on what the offers are, and if the players are willing to leave. Of which it's highly unlikely Wingard would be.

Not directed at Chad, and I'm glad he's going to be a Hawk next year, but player movement would be a whole lot easier if clubs could trade contracted players without their agreement... Not sure if I'm in the minority but I think it's a better model. It's very tedious as it is.
The wages in America sport make this feasible. If you don't want the $6m per year, feel free to opt out.

Even if you work for a company, and they say they want to transfer you to a different state, you have the right to say no.

On our salaries, a better model would include the right of the player to become a delisted free agent rather than accept an interstate transfer against his will.

Geelong don't have a good pick, and we won't get a good pick for Ceglar. Bottom line is the club is looking to pay him $200,000 to play for another club, while we have no cap issues, and in exchange for what will most likely be a third round pick. It's not exactly a vote of confidence from the new coach.
Should be pick 34 which is a pretty decent pick.

Fox Footy article suggesting we might get involved with Freo and GWS and pay some of Lobb's wage? I assume we get rewarded with a draft-hand boost somehow.

So now when Lobb plays his one good game every year (against us), we will be paying him for it?

Surely that isn't within the rules though...?

The wages in America sport make this feasible. If you don't want the $6m per year, feel free to opt out.

Even if you work for a company, and they say they want to transfer you to a different state, you have the right to say no.

On our salaries, a better model would include the right of the player to become a delisted free agent rather than accept an interstate transfer against his will.
We're not trading rookies these players are on at least 300k. They can get any house on the market they want, I'm not sure why people act like it's a huge deal or hassle financially .

What benefit so we get from moving Cegs on for no pick and paying part of his wage?

Does it just open up another spot on the list?

Would have thought keeping Cegs in as a back up ruck for one more list makes more sense given out ruck stocks are basically just Reeves and a almost cooked Big Boy?

Maybe this means we are confident of picking up another ruck in the trade period?

Most seem to think Max Lynch will be a Hawk come Wednesday night.

That would mean our rucks for next season are McEvoy, Reeves, Lynch. Mitch Lewis as a chop out if injury strikes.

Last edited by a moderator: