List Mgmt. 2021 List Management: Draft, Trade, Free Agency and Academy

Exactly, and I'm expecting covid-19 to run longer in WA than it does in the rest of Australia so a weekend in Perth will take almost three weeks.
3 or 4 months conceivably, I think probably less. By next footy season we'll all be in the same boat for sure. But opinions on the details aside I'm sure everyone would agree it's not going to be a long enough time frame for it to rationally be a primary consideration for a multi year employment contract.

Late update (two weeks-ish)
Haven't bothered adding Neale in, as that cam and went between versions.

CategoryNameNotesValueCurrent Status
INStephen ConiglioPotential Salary / Injury Dump from GWS. They owe us for Hogan. pick 54 seems fair, although maybe they get away with a second rounder. Barrett adding more fuel to the fire last week, still seems unlikelyFut R2SPECULATION (CORNES)
INJordan ClarkStill no official news.
Some word getting around that this has been agreed in principle. Wait for GEE to finish their finals campaign.
~ R375%
INScott PendleburyTalk that he has re-signed with the pies.Free AgentRE-SIGNED
INDarcy CameronPotential Free Agent if Lobb LeavesFree AgentSPECULATION (BF)
INSam Petrevski-SetonLinked via a Cerra deal. In reality only worth a 3rd/4th rounder. Looks like a Galati SpecialR425%
INZac FisherLike SPS, linked through the Cerra deal. Signed a new contract last year so unlikely unless things have turned sour.
No new info, anything would come late
R2-R3UNLIKELY
INLuke Jackson / Luke McDonaldHonestly, some people just like to dream. And that's ok.2x R1 Each +DREAMING
INQuinton NarkleLooking for more opportunity, although more likely to head to Richmond to be with his great mate ShaiR3UNLIKELY
INCharlie ConstableLinked last year, and still unable to break into Geelong's side despite putting up good numbers week in/week out. Link with Brayshaw.R4SPECULATION

IN
Jack BillingsMore than likely stay at the Saints according to mediaFree AgentRE-SIGNED
INMatt CrouchSnuff has randomly dropped hints here. Blame himFree AgentRE-SIGNED
INWill BrodieShowing some interest. GC will need to move on some players to create list spots. Should be pretty cheapF3-F4SPECULATION
INSam WeidemanSome lukewarm interest reported. We have been rumoured to be interested in getting a "lesser" forward into the squad. May be Weids, May be Brander, may be someone we don't see coming.F3SPECULATION

CategoryNameNotesValueCurrent Status
OUTAdam Cerra100% out the door. Question is, is Carlton the only suitor? Melbourne have been linked, but don't have the draft capital to get a deal done.R1 + R2 +++GONE
OUTRory LobbContracted for 1/2 more years. Linked with GC, or a Melbourne club. Freo adamant he's staying so will play hard ball if this eventuatesR1/R2 Depending on clubSPECULATION
OUTDarcy TuckerStill yet to receive a new deal. Mounting speculation that he may leave as part of a Clark / Brodie dealR2SPECULATION
OUTReece ConcaWill not be offered a new contractDELISTEDDELISTED
OUTTaylin DumanLikely not to be offered a new contractDELISTEDDELISTED
OUTNathan WilsonRe-signed for 12 monthsR3?RE-SIGNED
OUTLeno ThomasWill not be offered a new contractDELISTEDDELISTED
OUT#29Who is this? did we even have a number 29 on the list year? Mounting talk from within of his return and at full fitness to boot. R4/R5STAYING
OUTBlake AcresClub may entertain offers if anyone is interested in acquiring a sponge cake.R3/R4UNLIKELY
OUTBrett BewleyMay stay depending on who comes in. More than likely depth and not worth a lotDELISTEDDELISTED
OUTStefan GiroLikely just end being delistedDELISTEDDELISTED
OUTTobe WatsonThis one was a surpriseDELISTEDDELISTED

3 or 4 months conceivably, I think probably less. By next footy season we'll all be in the same boat for sure. But opinions on the details aside I'm sure everyone would agree it's not going to be a long enough time frame for it to rationally be a primary consideration for a multi year employment contract.
I'm expecting covid to be a thing for Australia for another two to three years so making decisions on multi year contracts based off of historically how each state has handled small outbreaks would be a very real thing.

Fair point. I think if we get our small forwards right and play Fyfe as a mid forward, that will take pressure off our talls.
Also if we can get the attitude and buy in from the players right it will do wonders. Melbourne have pretty much the same list they have had the last couple of years when they werent going well but they have buy in now from al their B and C graders.

Arguably their greatest skill has been the availability of their team.

They have been very healthy all year.

Arguably their greatest skill has been the availability of their team.

They have been very healthy all year.
Is Darren Burgess still at Melbourne?

Cannot like this enough. When a team is up and about, there's an infectious confidence to the team. Everyone does the 1%'s and there are no passengers, everyone does stuff that makes everyone else look good, everyone starts kicking straight - it's why you see "premiership players" go for way too much to other sides and then they spud it up. Buy in is everything. We've actually got a decent side, and with buy in it wouldn't take too much for us to be where Melbourne are now.

To be fair, if you had of told me 12 months ago a forward line of McDonald, Brown & Fritsch (with Jackson/Gawn occasionally) was going into a GF favourite next year I would have had you committed.
Or that Geelong's forward line in 2021 with the addition of Higgins and Cameron wouldn't have an impact I would have been amazed.

To be fair, if you had of told me 12 months ago a forward line of McDonald, Brown & Fritsch (with Jackson/Gawn occasionally) was going into a GF favourite next year I would have had you committed.
Pickett has been sensational as well, hasn’t missed a beat.

Where do you reckon we rank Josh Rachelle, if he's available at 6/8 do we take him then grab a WA KPF at 8/10

Too small. Would prefer if the first criteria we have this year is no draftee under 190cm except maybe Motlop if we can get him late. .

Here’s my 3 Way Hail Mary
Think Freo paying little overs but seems like we all have a win.

Freo out - Cerra , Lobb , future 2nd
Dees out - Weideman , future 1st
GC out - 3 , 19 , 22

Freo in - picks 3,19,22
decent hand plus our current picks.

Dees - get their man Cerra, with little out.
GC - get two Ready made forwards plus a future first x future 2nd

Lobbs a mercenary will go where the $ is. And hopefully Weideman goes where he can have a fresh start and get $

Here’s my 3 Way Hail Mary
Think Freo paying little overs but seems like we all have a win.

Freo out - Cerra , Lobb , future 2nd
Dees out - Weideman , future 1st
GC out - 3 , 19 , 22

Freo in - picks 3,19,22
decent hand plus our current picks.

Dees - get their man Cerra, with little out.
GC - get two Ready made forwards plus a future first x future 2nd

Lobbs a mercenary will go where the $ is. And hopefully Weideman goes where he can have a fresh start and get $
What will we do with only 17 teams next year when the whole Melbourne club get arrested for highway robbery?

Absolute steal for Melbourne, but sounds like Cerra is keen.
And Freos hands are tied so might be best outcome.
And maybe GC could structure Lobbs salary into their cap over a few years that he’s not going to getting here.

Was my Hail Mary….

took 3rd most contested marks of any player in 2020…. Players like that dont grow on trees don’t unfortunately

actually that's pretty funny - Taberner 2nd most - we had two in the first three and we finished eleventh - definitely our problem not enough tall marking players in the forward line o_O ;)

Absolute steal for Melbourne, but sounds like Cerra is keen.
And Freos hands are tied so might be best outcome.
And maybe GC could structure Lobbs salary into their cap over a few years that he’s not going to getting here.

Was my Hail Mary….
Sorry, was joking around but dont want you to feel dissuaded. Melbourne would bite your hand off for that deal and GC are getting shafted, we are somewhere in between IMO.

Its difficult including Melbourne though because it seems almost impossible without them giving up a best 22 player.

Sorry, was joking around but dont want you to feel dissuaded. Melbourne would bite your hand off for that deal and GC are getting shafted, we are somewhere in between IMO.

Its difficult including Melbourne though because it seems almost impossible without them giving up a best 22 player.

ummm I've decided to keep Lobb - end of discussion:think: :eek: