Teams 2021 Rate My Pre-Season Team

Who are you selecting in your starting Team - Vote Yes to Multiple Players, Votes can be changed

Just something I threw together this afternoon in case we get stuff all rookies for round 1, not my real team.

I honestly think it's an ok team bar the midfield which is a bit light on for star power after Mitchell and Cripps.

Backs, rucks and forwards are pretty solid though...
I can’t get behind anything that involves Rory Atkins.

Kentlemen.

Let me present to you the ultimate MPM team. :moustache::thumbsu:

Feast your eyes on it campaigners and weep. :'(

Only 2 rookies on the ground. LOL! :eek:

$62,800 in the kitty.

View attachment 1033984

Love it - I have a very similar team drafted but it has Preuss>Gawn via Zorko>rookie

like you I won't be starting with it but is a good basis until we see what rookies emerge and which mid-pricers make it through pre-season

Love it - I have a very similar team drafted but it has Preuss>Gawn via Zorko>rookie

like you I won't be starting with it but is a good basis until we see what rookies emerge and which mid-pricers make it through pre-season

If there is a lack of rookies come round 1 would quite happily roll out this team.

Still think that the most rookies that will line up round 1 will be from the mids as usual so if that happens I will make adjustments to my midfield like I have done in the second MPM team that I posted and get some more premo mids.

I can’t get behind anything that involves Rory Atkins.

He'll play every week and he'll score 25-30 ppg more than what he's priced at. Easy enough to turf if somebody like Robertson, Pedlar, Bruhn or Powell looks like playing Round 1, but if they're not (and right now I'm leaning towards that being the case) then he's worth keeping in mind.

Exactly my thinking mate behind the Atkins pick.

At M7 he isn't a total disaster and is just priced a bit more than your first year most expensive rookie.

Easy enough to downgrade to any of the options you listed should they play round 1.

Only thing I'm not happy with is the mids.

I honestly love the rest of the team.

Doesn't have Lloyd, Neale, Oliver, Gawn, Danger though which is a bit of a problem.
Not bad bruz...Mids are the engine room for the points though.

How about this delicious one JM, I call it Meat and Potatoes or version MP for short.

Capture.PNG
capture.gif

Is so juicy...😋

Being serious for a second. Do you recon Yeo will be right for the season? Maybe bring in a bit later as his groin is still dodgy.
And Bunga still??? Sam Butler is getting very jealous now!

I like the structure. Your team made me twitch but not go full rager!

Mmm tell us more about this delicious system.

Well it involves a whole potato, not the sliced ones in plastic you lazy campaigners,
and then a Cow, and here's the catch this is opposite to the potatoes...
you want them sliced preferably and for convince in plastic you savy kents.

Thats it, ezy peezy...oh and fire...fire helps lots.

Being serious for a second. Do you recon Yeo will be right for the season? Maybe bring in a bit later as his groin is still dodgy.
And Bunga still??? Sam Butler is getting very jealous now!

I like the structure. Your team made me twitch but not go full rager!
TBH I havent been on our board much at all this year and would only pick Yeo if he starts preseason early in the year. I'm just looking for value picks through the mids as I see last seasons short quarters effecting a lot of scores and will aim to upgrade to the standouts through out the year.
Best thing about Yeo is he will still be 483k when he finally plays and you get to have a look at his first two scores before commiting.
If Cunnington has a good preseason Ill definitely flip Yeo over to him.

Rucks, set and forget Gawndy and backs and forwards are a lot easier to pick top ten players this year. So midprice in the mids it is.
Also teams tend to recruit mature aged players FWD and BACK. Plus with a year away from footy young MIDS are going to blow up at AFL level so teams are less likely to play rookie MIDS over FWD/BACK rookies come round 1.

As for FWDS
If Danger Dunkley Marshall even Heeney and Sidey, Dusty....Zorko.....Punchy...Gray...Walters...Bolton... dont finish top10 then they're either dead or Im eating my own arse.
Backs arent as clear. Lloyd, Laird, Whitfield, Sicily. Should be top 10 no worries but last years top ten who I could see dropping out would be Ryan, Maynard, Ridley, Mills although one or two of them will probably break out or stay top 10.
Guys further behind like Witherden given freedom, a new role and 22 games, Short, Stewart, McDonald, Doch, Saad at Carlton could easily finish top 10 after role/team changes and good pre seasons.

As for Hurn. Last season he scored 54 points less than Docherty and played the same amount of games. Book end the season with a 152 and a 138.
Him and old man Withers are gonna kick it to each other nine millions times next year. He will make a pretty decent D5/6 at worst.

Butler I think I had in my team for the second half of year after my season had tanked. He was a sexy player but not much good as a SCer.

too many upgrades.
Only 8 if you really look at it

1609337084231.png

Hurn avg 80/85 at D6
Heppell and Cunners avg 90/95 at M7/8
Taranto 100/105 at M6
Get Gawn and Grundy
Ziebell maybe a 85/90 avg but probably too many injuries etc
so upgrade 3 FWDS of which there are many to choose from.

Backs arent as clear. Lloyd, Laird, Whitfield, Sicily. Should be top 10 no worries but last years top ten who I could see dropping out would be Ryan, Maynard, Ridley, Mills although one or two of them will probably break out or stay top 10.
Guys further behind like Witherden given freedom, a new role and 22 games, Short, Stewart, McDonald, Doch, Saad at Carlton could easily finish top 10 after role/team changes and good pre seasons.

Sicily is out for the year you drunk campaigner. ;)

More scotch and cokes = another team.

Backline stays the same which I really like.

I also love F4, F5 and F6 in this team which is really solid.

No Lloyd, Neale and Gawn but you can't fit them all in.

Only 3 rookies on the ground.

Very tempted to go with this team if rookies are scarce come round 1.

teams3.JPG

View attachment 1034106
Bloke who’s not getting a lot of love is Tom Green ..... IIRC finished 4th in a recent time trial (1-4 year players)

Ave 72 in his first year .... had him in one of my version teams and trying to get back in ..... could be better value than Hately, but the question will be JS with Green

If Green gets early games will be a great stepping stone to consider

Only 8 if you really look at it

View attachment 1034096

Hurn avg 80/85 at D6
Heppell and Cunners avg 90/95 at M7/8
Taranto 100/105 at M6
Get Gawn and Grundy
Ziebell maybe a 85/90 avg but probably too many injuries etc
so upgrade 3 FWDS of which there are many to choose from.

6 trades to turn Draper & Preuss into Gawndy though

View attachment 1034106
Doesn't matter but you put Mitch Brown in your team instead of Ben Brown.

Bloke who’s not getting a lot of love is Tom Green ..... IIRC finished 4th in a recent time trial (1-4 year players)

Ave 72 in his first year .... had him in one of my version teams and trying to get back in ..... could be better value than Hately, but the question will be JS with Green

If Green gets early games will be a great stepping stone to consider

Aside from JS my other concern with Tom Green is his lack of TOG, he only had 66% TOG in 2020. GWS's main inside mid Jacob Hopper only averages 74% TOG over his 5 years in the team (75.6% in 2020) Playing them both doesn't help matters as both are primarily inside mids and aren't of much value resting forward. So unless Green can displace Hopper as the Giants #1 inside mid this year, don't expect much more than 70% game time from either.