List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft & Rookie Draft

Should we consider trading with GWS, perhaps 10 & 39 for 15 & 19.
You're meaning 10 + 29, yeah? Good idea for sure. But I think - from what Austin has said - we're looking (above this kind of deal) to:

a. trade up the order if possible
b. trade in another second rounder

We are 100% sniffing around Dons/Suns/North at the business end but no doubt also chatting to Pies about those early 2nds as well.

Perfect result draft wise

2 genuine forward/mids, KPD, KPF/chopout ruck
I’ll take the challenge - with our current picks - 10,29, 49, 66 +

10 - Hayes
29 - George

Either
10 - Bailey Humphrey (can’t really see him being available)
29 - Lachie Cowan
49 - Sam Gilbey or Luke Bailey
66 - James Van Es or Ethan Phillips

Or

10 - Ollie Hollands
29 - Brayden George
49 - Gilbey/Bailey
66 - Van Es/Phillips

The first delisted free agency period runs for seven days from November 3-9.

That window is followed by a deadline on November 10 for players to retire and out-of-contract players to nominate for the draft, with a second window for delisted free agents then running from November 11-15.

Wonder what it would take to get pick 5 off them if that were the case.

Would presumably land us Humphrey or Tsatas, they wouldn't have to reach for Hollands.
Tsatas has tremendous upside and would add a lot of speed but I'm not sure I'd go out of my way to reach for him given he won't have a midfield spot for years to come. He hasn't been seen playing wing for some time now due to his prolific ability inside but I'd be keen to see how he would go there with some more time to dispose of the ball by foot.

Nothing wrong with Stocker. Club make a weak decision.
We should embrace difference and confidence … after all these cookie cutter robots haven’t exactly been a huge success …
This is a funny take.

It wasn’t about him not being a ‘cookie cutter robot’.

10 + F2????

Think it would require more.

Tsatas has tremendous upside and would add a lot of speed but I'm not sure I'd go out of my way to reach for him given he won't have a midfield spot for years to come. He hasn't been seen playing wing for some time now due to his prolific ability inside but I'd be keen to see how he would go there with some more time to dispose of the ball by foot.

Think he’d slot in very nicely on a wing at AFL level early in his career. He’s obviously a midfielder long term but I reckon we’d provide the perfect development for him.

I love(d) the idea of Liam Stocker, the footballer. Reaching this point is up there with missing finals at the death. The bloke is never going to realise his potential. He lives by his own “rules” and does not buy in to team ethos. Recent interview dismissing talk of fitness issues with statement that he ran a 6.30 something 2km pre season. In his mind a mid range standard ten months earlier justified his “abilities”. Other social media club clips showed him with a basically arrogant open stance, laid back saying his piece. Numerous reports of putting team mates offside with attitude both personally and professionally.

How many of the boys do you think quote a historic time reference to justify their physical performance standards. The overwhelming majority are looking to the next time trial and working towards a personal best. Many of us lament the retention of Ed Curnow, but we know he will attack preseason and attempt to compete with his usurper Cotts on the track or to maintain or regain his ascendency over little brother Charlie. An AFL player, particularly a developing one should not be spruiking attaining a minimum standard as being acceptable.

I hate that Stocker is gone, but to suggest the club made a “weak decision” is so far off the mark. They made a very hard, strong decision for the benefit of the group. They have released a kid who could be a “generational player”. Anecdotally many officials and players made the effort to motivate him. Too happy in his own skin, he is more concerned about his social media followers and creating and maintaining a persona.

He doesn’t have the make up to grab the bit between his teeth and excel at another club. He may dig in for a period, but unfortunately will revert to type. His issues are known, and there is no guarantee he gets the opportunity.
How does bs like this attract so many likes.

I love(d) the idea of Liam Stocker, the footballer. Reaching this point is up there with missing finals at the death. The bloke is never going to realise his potential. He lives by his own “rules” and does not buy in to team ethos. Recent interview dismissing talk of fitness issues with statement that he ran a 6.30 something 2km pre season. In his mind a mid range standard ten months earlier justified his “abilities”. Other social media club clips showed him with a basically arrogant open stance, laid back saying his piece. Numerous reports of putting team mates offside with attitude both personally and professionally.

How many of the boys do you think quote a historic time reference to justify their physical performance standards. The overwhelming majority are looking to the next time trial and working towards a personal best. Many of us lament the retention of Ed Curnow, but we know he will attack preseason and attempt to compete with his usurper Cotts on the track or to maintain or regain his ascendency over little brother Charlie. An AFL player, particularly a developing one should not be spruiking attaining a minimum standard as being acceptable.

I hate that Stocker is gone, but to suggest the club made a “weak decision” is so far off the mark. They made a very hard, strong decision for the benefit of the group. They have released a kid who could be a “generational player”. Anecdotally many officials and players made the effort to motivate him. Too happy in his own skin, he is more concerned about his social media followers and creating and maintaining a persona.

He doesn’t have the make up to grab the bit between his teeth and excel at another club. He may dig in for a period, but unfortunately will revert to type. His issues are known, and there is no guarantee he gets the opportunity.

Stocker had a serious injury preseason which was always going to impact his preparation. Anyone else would have got a leave pass but now we are criticising him for running his best numbers ever prior to the injury.

Bizarre commentary regarding his ‘arrogant’ stance … and ‘numerous reports of putting teammates offside’? Show me these reports please and call in a body language expert.

The club did not make a tough call.

They squibbed it, pandering once again to the groupthink which envelopes weak clubs too often.

A strong decision would have been to say to the playing group - and to Stocker himself: We believe in you. And we are going to drive you harder and stronger than ever before. We are going to raise the standards we set for you in terms of preparation and behaviour.
Because we believe you can and will make this team better. And this is the plan. Do you agree? Can we work together to achieve this?

The easy decision is to delist a player because he’s a different cat who doesn’t fit the Carlton mould, whatever the hell that is. That’s why I remain very disappointed.

Listening to him when interviewed he uses the words I or myself enough times to make Dermott Brereton jealous.
Dermott just happens to be one the best CHFs in VFL/AFL history.

It takes all types … why have we all become so idealistic and PC about what personal attributes footballers should exhibit?

A strong decision would have been to say to the playing group - and to Stocker himself: We believe in you. And we are going to drive you harder and stronger than ever before. We are going to raise the standards we set for you in terms of preparation and behaviour.
Because we believe you can and will make this team better. And this is the plan. Do you agree? Can we work together to achieve this?

The easy decision is to delist a player because he’s a different cat who doesn’t fit the Carlton mould, whatever the hell that is. That’s why I remain very disappointed.

He's a top 5 prospect, not sure how he'd be a reach...
If we picked him or anyone else up and they are out performing those first choice players, why wouldn't they get a game?

Dermott just happens to be one the fret CHFs in VFL/AFL history.

It takes all types … why have we all become so idealistic and PC about what personal attributes footballers should exhibit?
I imagine you meant 'best' rather than 'fret' - post was about dermie's commentary not his playing career - zero to do with "pc" whatever that was about

He's a top 5 prospect, not sure how he'd be a reach...
If we picked him or anyone else up and they are out performing those first choice players, why wouldn't they get a game?
Meaning to reach up to grab him as in moving from 11 to 4-5. He's well and truly cemented himself as a top player in this crop. He likely wouldn't out perform any of our starting inside mids but he has shown ability to impact forward of centre which he could lean on early on. I'd be very excited to watch him develop. His pace is electrifying when he finds a pocket of space.

Unless the crop in the top 4-10 is so much better than the rest...
Really don't understand the fascination with wasting 2x 1st rounders to move up...

So now Stocker is a generational talent? I liked Stocker but nothing he has shown has ever come close to warranting such a tag.

Pretty sure that the club judged him on his 28 games over 4 years (-only played in 8 wins) and his 13 disposals per game.

Also judged on the fact that he was recruited as a midfielder but never presented fit enough to play there and never looked like he would.

The rest is just periphery noise and big footy speculation. I wish him nothing but the best in the future and had high hopes for him. However if you look at his output simply based on his actual output and not some romanticised view of what he might be then he was a fringe player not pulling his weight.

Everything to do with it. People are judging Stocker by the way he talks which is quite frankly a joke as it has nothing to do with his ability to play footy.

The way he talks does, perhaps, speak to his attitude though.

And his attitude has plenty to do with his ability to play footy to the required standard.

I wouldn't write a kid off for being arrogant, but if a kid is telling the club that he reckons he's fit enough to play midfield and doesn't need or want to put any effort into improving his tank, then the attitude has just lowered his footy ceiling to an uncomfortably low height.

And his attitude has plenty to do with his ability to play footy to the required standard.

I wouldn't write a kid off for being arrogant, but if a kid is telling the club that he reckons he's fit enough to play midfield and doesn't need or want to put any effort into improving his tank, then the attitude has just lowered his footy ceiling to an uncomfortably low height.
Yeah, it’s not just a ‘he’s a different cat’ thing.

There’s the fitness stuff; his attitude towards it, the remote of rejecting the extras program to get him up to the level and even that ‘yeah but 6 months ago I ran an ok 2km once so what’s the issue?’ response in the media.

I’d also been told a quote from someone who spent some time ‘inside the four walls’, and it’s hardly anything that was open to interpretation or could be perceived in different ways. I’m pretty confident after giving him 4 years the club, staff and players, were just happy to see the back of him.

I've said this before at the kids training session during the July holidays Stocker was telling the likes of Weiters and Saad what to do, where to go, pay attention; they completely ignored him, there was obvious tension even then. He played like that too, he was a disappointment, mental health issues aside he didn't seem to have bought into team ethos, like Cott's for instance who you know would run through a brick wall for his team mates. Reckon the club exhausted every option, not surprised Vossey pointed to the exit.....

This is a furphy leaked out to disguise a weak decision - and is continually perpetuated by people who have no idea on this board.
Stocker's fitness levels prior to his injury were career best. He had a serious injury which hampered his fitness through the remainder season - many other players (ie McGovern, Williams, Martin, Cuningham ...) all suffered from similar fates this year ... all wrapped in kid gloves. All still on the list.

List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft & Rookie Draft