List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft

Keen to see the ruck battles at champs, actually looking forward to a proper champs actually taking place.
Would pay money to see Barnett v broadbent.

Desperately want to see these kfs go up against better defenders as well, as Scully and keeler are too good for the players they’re coming up against in under 18’s.

Would pay money to see Barnett v broadbent.

Desperately want to see these kfs go up against better defenders as well, as Scully and keeler are too good for the players they’re coming up against in under 18’s.

Broadbent v Barnett throughout here

Right now our list looks way worse than it is. We need a key forward, we need a tall back, we need a ruck and we need an inside ball winner, an accumulator, a classy outside user and a game breaker. Lycett, Jonas and Gray look done, whilst Mayes, Dumont, McEntee, Frederick and skinner are questionable depth. But give it time and some of these things will correct. Wines comes back as the ball winner. Hayes and Visente may come on. Butters, Drew and Mead will add to that midfield, whilst Amon, Farrell, Duursma and Houston can provide class. I still have high hopes that Sinn can also add to the midfield mix.

For mine we still, at season’s end, will need an elite midfielder, a KPF, a tall 195cm+ defender, a small forward and a ruck. We don’t have to correct all of this issues at the draft and may be able to get some good DFAs/trades.

The reality of the draft is that successful KPFs don’t get drafted outside of the first 15-25 live picks. Exclude zones, academy/FS and mature agers. Ie if you want Max King, Harry McKay, Riley Thilthorpe, Logan McDonald, etc, then you need a very early draft pick. Lemmey seems the best KPF in this draft, if we are in a position to get him then we should.

The best Defenders and midfielders are usually taken in the first round also but you’re more like to find them throughout the draft and may be able to trade for them or find a role player later in the draft. Hartigan, Jonas, McKenzie, Henderson, Kolodjashnij, Petty - are all players found late in the draft or via trade/DFA that have been serviceable and played a role. Same for small forwards and midfielders.

Priority one - get Lemmey or similar.
Trade hard to get back in and chase another mid. Later picks for KPD, ruck and lightning quick, athletic small forward.

This years draft should be all about talls for us. There are good mid who can have a short term impact available every year, even later in the first round.

I’d like to see us mid season draft a 19yr old ruck midseason. Lemmey or other key forward with our first pick. Key defender with the Amon pick.

This years draft should be all about talls for us. There are good mid who can have a short term impact available every year, even later in the first round.

I’d like to see us mid season draft a 19yr old ruck midseason. Lemmey or other key forward with our first pick. Key defender with the Amon pick.
Agree especially as SA has the best ever group of talls.

Lots of early assumptions with h “the Amon pick”

Righty oh we are going to probably finish bottom 4 and have a pick in the 1-4 range unless those in charge become drongoes and trade it away.

To those kiddy watchers out there, I'd like your thoughts on non flakey flankers in the draft.

Who would you say are the top 3 mids, ready to go in the midfield and won't spend their first 3 years on a HBF or HFF, and what is their draft range at the moment??

Who would you say is the top 3 195+cm KPFs ready to go as a KPF, maybe a 3rd tall in their first season, and won't spend 5 years putting on only 3-5kgs, already has a decent sized bodied and what is their draft range at the moment??

Who would you say are the top 3 195+cm KPDs ready to go as a KPD, maybe a 3rd tall in their first season, and wont spend 5 years putting on only 3-5kgs, already has a decent sized bodied and what is their draft range at the moment??

Who would you say are the top 3 rucks at the moment, are better footballers than just being over 200+cms, might be a bit skinny at the moment, but looks like they have the frome to put on 15-20kgs in their first 3 preseasons at the club?

Thanks in advance.

Righty oh we are going to probably finish bottom 4 and have a pick in the 1-4 range unless those in charge become drongoes and trade it away.

To those kiddy watchers out there, I'd like your thoughts on non flakey flankers in the draft.

Who would you say are the top 3 mids, ready to go in the midfield and won't spend their first 3 years on a HBF or HFF, and what is their draft range at the moment??

Who would you say is the top 3 195+cm KPFs ready to go as a KPF, maybe a 3rd tall in their first season, and won't spend 5 years putting on only 3-5kgs, already has a decent sized bodied and what is their draft range at the moment??

Who would you say are the top 3 195+cm KPDs ready to go as a KPD, maybe a 3rd tall in their first season, and wont spend 5 years putting on only 3-5kgs, already has a decent sized bodied and what is their draft range at the moment??

Who would you say are the top 3 rucks at the moment, are better footballers than just being over 200+cms, might be a bit skinny at the moment, but looks like they have the frome to put on 15-20kgs in their first 3 preseasons at the club?

Thanks in advance.
You would get more opinions if you went to the d and t boards probably. I’m not sure there’s heaps of draft watchers active here anymore, reckon maccas been busy but he would still have some insights and I’m sure there’s a few others.

On the d and t boards tho it’s a mainly Vic centric view, which is to be expected tho now they do get easier access to footage now than in the past.

If you skim a few of the posters threads tho they cover all these things. It’s also worthwhile to occasionally check other teams draft boards. The crows board might generally be full of Sa great Media pro-crow wank but their draft boards have a couple of very good contributors, who would have quite decent insights. It’s definitely worth checking out (tho I haven’t been there this season yet, I might do that soon)

I can give my opinion.. but I see no wafl / colts so my only vision of wa prospects has been the national type games they’ve played in, I don’t bother with the “allies” states and I’ve not bothered to watch nab this year but have seen some of the vics previously. So my viewing is mostly Sa players. I’ve gone over a bunch of the prospects in this thread.

Thanks in advance.
Top 3 mids by consensus seem to be wardlaw, tsatas and hewett.

And the little I’ve watched of them it’s totally understandable why. I said earlier here all 3 are worthy boak replacements. Do all three start in a midfield from day 1? I don’t know about that, but not far from it. They’re not developmental projects at all. All three are pretty well built that they’ll be up to the task pretty quickly.

They’re all considered in the top 1-4 picks.

The only kf I know that I would say confidently can play from day 1 is lemmey.

I’m not familiar with Jefferson, and Scully is a string bean who will need time. Keeler is skinny as well (tho not Scully skinny) and I wouldn’t say he can play year 1.

*I don’t think we need a kf at port who can play day 1 though. Winning for boak and gray is a fantasy. We just need a kf who can develop and be ready before our next gen (butters etc) peak.

But I’m guessing you just want players who aren’t going to be long term projects to fill out. Lemmey will not be. Reckon keeler is skinny-ish but not alarmingly so (his got the frame to build I think but you want to keep him agile and as a leaper imo) but don’t see any problems getting up to a playing weight (all guesswork tho). Scully is thin as a pencil, but I have no concerns. His frame looks like it will fill out very well.

I couldn’t confidently say any key defenders in this draft would play day 1. Especially not 195cm+ ones. WA’s busslinger is very highly rated, I would recommend asking on the main board how far away from playing firsts he might be. Lewis Hayes (Sam’s bro) is highly rated but I’m not familiar with him. From Sa we have Brodie tuck (193/4ish?) who is playing reserves is a good sign but still I wouldn’t bet on it. Michealnanny another (but under your height requirement). He’s one who gets by with a bit of natural smarts / football IQ and might be able to play as a 3rd or 4th early-ish?

Rucks.

I’m not sure who the top 3 are, all I know is I rate Barnett as a gun. He’s also a natural ruck, and he’s going to be big, and quickly.

Broadbent is famed for his size. Already a beast.

As I’ve said recently I’m not familiar with the Vic rucks.

I’ve spoken to you before about verrall, and how well built he is. Yeah he’s a genuine footballer. I don’t like him nearly as much as Barnett, but he’s a decent prospect.

I played footy will Will's old man. Will have to have a chat to him when the club has an old players reunion game. Usually it's around June long weekend ( the long weekend is a bye for state game). Will have to watch south a bit more this year.

West coast are going to end up with 3 top 25 picks in a damn good draft, lucky campaigners. They’ll just about jumpstart a rebuild off that alone if they draft the right players.

Lucky? Nah, this is what they do.

Only if lycett is thought unlikely to play the remainder of the year. We can’t put Lycett on the LTI, have a mid season draft pick, then bring lycett back.
I was sure I had noted some clubs putting guys on the LTI - and then they came back not long after the bye, after the club had picked up a mid season draftee, or have the rules been tightened recently?

Agree especially as SA has the best ever group of talls.

In those phantom draft things there is a good ruck, KPD and a couple KPF's all top10- these should be our targets, imo starting with KPD.

In mid the next 3-5yrs we have:
- Butters, Rozee, Duursma, Drew, Pep, Houston, Amon, Wines, Bergman, Farrell and Mead.

Maybe Hays is enough in the ruck for the foreseeable future, and whilst its nice to have two we're in a beggars and choosers situation here. Plus we have Marshall who is the Hoff incarnate, can ruck, can go forward and can also go missing :)

Lemmey - 202cm KPF, could make a great batman-robin combo with Georgiades. From West Adelaide. Crows fan and Scotch College boy
Broadbent - 201cm Ruck from the WAFL has ears like Prince Charles. From the WAFL, how does he work in with Hays?
Keeler - 198cm KPF, training with the Camrys NGA, plays for North Adelaide, indigenous lad again could play Batman to Georgiades Robin.
Busslinger - 197cm KPD, from the WAFL, East Perth I think and fills a need on our list that hasn't been filled for many years. Alongside Allir we could finally deal with Gorilla forwards and maybe not dread facing that King boy for the next decade.

I'm sure there's a sweeping left footed rebounding defender but honestly the above 4 are the only one's of real interest imo.

The way we are going the AFL will bring back the priority pick and we'll get two of them.

List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft