Autopsy 2022 Grand Final

I wonder if living in Sydney outside the afl bubble has a negative effectc psychologically?

The club spends 3/4 of the week escaping alot of the hysteria and intrigue. Get down to Melbourne on Thursday and are thrust straight into the spotlight. Straight into the parade in front of 200k then bam it's gameday.

Vic teams that live in that bubble may get accustomed to the scrutiny and hype sooner during the week, so when the game rolls around they can focus alot better on the job at hand.

If we make a gf again if like the club to get into town on Monday and see if it makes a difference.

Just my crazy theory

I know yesterday was a horrible day for you but you made the Grand Final ahead of all those other teams. You beat the fancied teams to get there and I was nervous before the game. I was impressed by the way Swans supporters stayed on for the presentation. That couldn't have been easy to sit through. Your team and supporters have long had my respect as a classy club. I can remember when you played Hawthorn in a Grand Final and much of Geelong was decked out in red and white (admittedly because we hated Hawthorn but it wouldn't have happened with most opposition teams.) Best of luck to you for the future - except when playing us.

cheers mate, we are pretty shattered. The Cats fans were great at the ground and didn't start crap with us unlike the Dogs did in 16. Thanks for giving us some dignity.

Gotta be straight with you - I was getting off the Frankston line train at the time, reckon i was entitled to evade any additional trauma.

Congrats on your epic victory!

Being outside the footy bubble can be a blessing and a curse. On the one hand you won't get vilified by the local press after a bad performance. Sydney Media is lax with us. No media going after particular players.

On the other hand, coming in on Thursday and then bang bang there is a parade. Suddenly you are surrounded by the press and 20000 fans at the parade on Friday. Must be a shock. Overwhelming experience. Not excusing the performance yesterday.

Positives?

Well, obviously our coaching staff will be going through our performance with a fine tooth comb to find out what went wrong, but I dearly hope they’re savvy enough to really study Geelong’s game, because you will get no better example of how to win a grand final.

We were AWFUL and they were INCREDIBLE. Let’s learn from them.

Positives?

Well, obviously our coaching staff will be going through our performance with a fine tooth comb to find out what went wrong, but I dearly hope they’re savvy enough to really study Geelong’s game, because you will get no better example of how to win a grand final.

We were AWFUL and they were INCREDIBLE. Let’s learn from them.
The coaching panel needs a review as well as the side

For those saying you should never take an injured player into a GF, you all have short memories. Ted Richards went into the 2012 GF under an injury cloud and played well. It’s not always so black and white.
With all due respect Grim, he played on Buddy who strangely stayed deep which played into our hands. Buddy's two goals were when he played on around Richards from outside 50 & goaled. He also kicked 2.5 for the day & the following year was told to play further up the ground by Clarko.
Ted did well, yes, but having watched it plenty of times he & we had some good fortune that day. Ted could not turn at all.

Just gonna be positive.

1. Robbie Fox - I said it a few weeks ago, but it's time this guy is rid of the "unsung hero" label and gets the "gun" label that he deserves. He was moving through traffic and playing with an intensity befitting of the opposition team. Just looked too good for literally everyone near him all game, either teammate or opponent. Felt so sorry for him that he (and his fellow defenders) were under the pump all game but got so little relief. Just constant pressure and he withstood it the best out of them all. What an inspiration he should serve as to so many players in the league.

2. James Rowbottom - Death, taxes, and this kid leaving it all out on the park for this team. He'd had an incredible run really if you think about the two months leading into the GF, but this game was the one where he finally looked like the boy amongst men that he is. He couldn't get his natural hustling and bustling contested game going against the Cats, but I think that's what made his game all the more impressive. He just showed courage, ticker and maturity to refuse to have a poor showing when it would've been so easy to just be another kid struggling on the biggest stage. Actually got a bit emotional seeing him taking all those hits today and then just getting on with it. Unbelievable kid really.

3. Chad Warner - I do think there's a slight issue with the way he fits in our midfield, in that I think there needs to be a stronger correlation between Warner's best and the team's best. They haven't quite synced up yet, which is understandable. But it's simply impossible to not fawn over Warner when he just does not look the part of the kid that he is. In everything but pure experience, he is in his prime and ready to dominate. I felt so sorry for him seeing his emotions post-game knowing how hard he'd worked for us. It was both great and devastating to see, but it was Warner in a nutshell: heart on sleeve, unabashed competitiveness.

Proud of this club and we will be OK.
Well said and 100% agree.

As an aside I hope Robbie got what he deserved in terms of his new contract. I think he was our best yesterday by some margin and is clearly an above average player in the AFL. Deserves to be paid as such, especially given the unders we probably paid him last time.

It was like watching space jam when the Loony Tunes first go against the aliens

space-jamjpg.jpg

A team that's second to the ball all game long will tend to have higher tackle numbers. Unfortunately yesterday that team was the Swans. Absolutely smashed at the contest.
True, but Parker put a right shift in, as he always does.
That we had no taps to advantage, or seeming any midfield plan to either win the ball, or stop them getting it (totally outcoache and outplayed) he toiled extremely well - as we have come to expect.

Our next best tacklers in Rowbottom & Warner had 6.

Parker is an absolute warrior for the Swans. When we get beaten it is never because he is not putting in 100% for the team.

The coaches just told young McDonald that we prefer an injured Sam Reid as a forward over him.
Sam Reid has only been a good forward after resting as our second ruckman.
I though he would still be able to ruck but should he go down McLean would be plan B.
Reid didn't contest one ruck contest. Why was he selected if this was going to be the case?
Ronke would have added more, much, much more.

loss was s**t, but Clarke is 4cm shorter than Stewart, and he was ok

You really think Gould should debut?? come on

the rest well hard to argue, except horse isnt finished
Gould's time is next year. He has to take the spot. Won't be easy still.

He probably should have debuted this year at some stage to manage other players season-long load. Then we'd have had a morer realistic option of him playing yesterday. I think season long loading is going to be looked at given the manic pressure we played at for 6 weeks previous to GF and seemingly ran out of legs for the year half way through last week''s win over the pies.

Be very interesting to see Gould spend a few minutes in the mids on occasion like he did at jnr level too. Likely not the tank for long spells but I like the idea of him either crunching guys, or opponents bouncing off a few times per game if its possible.

Has he spent any time in forwards at jnr level? He's a unit and would be real hard to shift in the contest. Possible Maynard type. Hell a Plugger type.

Just gonna be positive.

1. Robbie Fox - I said it a few weeks ago, but it's time this guy is rid of the "unsung hero" label and gets the "gun" label that he deserves. He was moving through traffic and playing with an intensity befitting of the opposition team. Just looked too good for literally everyone near him all game, either teammate or opponent. Felt so sorry for him that he (and his fellow defenders) were under the pump all game but got so little relief. Just constant pressure and he withstood it the best out of them all. What an inspiration he should serve as to so many players in the league.

2. James Rowbottom - Death, taxes, and this kid leaving it all out on the park for this team. He'd had an incredible run really if you think about the two months leading into the GF, but this game was the one where he finally looked like the boy amongst men that he is. He couldn't get his natural hustling and bustling contested game going against the Cats, but I think that's what made his game all the more impressive. He just showed courage, ticker and maturity to refuse to have a poor showing when it would've been so easy to just be another kid struggling on the biggest stage. Actually got a bit emotional seeing him taking all those hits today and then just getting on with it. Unbelievable kid really.

3. Chad Warner - I do think there's a slight issue with the way he fits in our midfield, in that I think there needs to be a stronger correlation between Warner's best and the team's best. They haven't quite synced up yet, which is understandable. But it's simply impossible to not fawn over Warner when he just does not look the part of the kid that he is. In everything but pure experience, he is in his prime and ready to dominate. I felt so sorry for him seeing his emotions post-game knowing how hard he'd worked for us. It was both great and devastating to see, but it was Warner in a nutshell: heart on sleeve, unabashed competitiveness.

Proud of this club and we will be OK.
Spot on regarding Fox - he was very impressive and on a very strong forward.

Shows what hard work can do an example to the test of the squad on where they can go if they improve even half as much as Fox has.

tbh while the first quarter was s**t, it wasn’t super surprising, and when we steadied the ship in the second I expected the rest of the game to go that way, held off at arm’s length, and lose by about about 30-40.

That 3rd quarter though, boy oh boy, wowee.

As disappointing as Franklin was, it’s not like the ball was kicked near him all game. A player like Heeney though - ouch
Franklin was rendered useless the way the game unfolded in fact it could have been Wayne Carey or Royce Hart out there they would have been Able to do **** all.

The coaching panel needs a review as well as the side

should review every year even if you win really

always gotta look at what worked and what didn't

I'd strongly consider swapping Blakey and jmac.

Jmac has gives us nothing for months.

Blakey speed and footskills would be a weapon in the middle. I believe he has the confidence now to really apply himself.

Blake's ans Stephens on opposing wings will have blistering pace

Autopsy 2022 Grand Final