Autopsy 2022 Grand Final

We got it badly wrong at selection. For a start Reid should never have played. Then we picked McLean when Amartey was the man for the job. Then we put Campbell as Medisub, when Mcdonald would have been better. We also should have played Gould. Rampe was totally shite and is past his best. He was murdered today. Although maybe that was as much Longmire's match ups. He was on Stengle for much of the game and Fox played on Cameron. *. I love Foxy, always gives 110%. About our best player I thought.

Longmire put Clarke on Stewart, did he listen to the stupid media for *'s sake, when Wil did the job on him in round 2. Clarke, as much as he tried hard, was giving away 12cm for *'s sake. Who believed that was a good idea?

The mids. The set ups were fu King so stupid. This is coaching at it's worst. Again we allowed them a loose player on the defensive side. I thought we got rid of that. Obviously not. They took advantage. Blitz and Danger thought they were playing school footy they got such easy ball.

This was the worst coaching display ever. Even 2014 pails in comparison. This guy is finished. He can't take this group further. He has no answers. He is cactus. Time to say thank you Horse, no * off.

On JAT-L29 using BigFooty.com mobile app

loss was shit, but Clarke is 4cm shorter than Stewart, and he was ok

You really think Gould should debut?? come on

the rest well hard to argue, except horse isnt finished

Chad was the only mid that turned up. Parker had the number but cant remember any influence he had all game. I can't remember mills doing anything ether but watching his interview post match he seemed crook (hopefully a bug didn't through camp the week before). Rowbottom missed alot of tackle for mine and definitely didn't have the offensive we need to win. Hickey got a bath aswell so not sure of the factors but i think it might be time to go full investment in ladhams :grimacing:.

Forward line was not the problem. They are getting heaps but really the ball just wasn't there for them so i don't know what they could of done.

Any chance the coaches could've had a word to Hickey to just start belting the ball forward once we realised they were absolutely destroying us in the ruck?

It was just so demoralising seeing them bring it out of the middle again and again.

Buddy was clearly not involved at all, have some sympathy for the forwards, but he also couldn't take a mark to save himself or get involved

has been crap in 2 grand finals for us

did more for us in 2012

Getting sick of reading so much about Reid. We lost the game at stoppages. 2 Hawkins goals. That was just weird.

They were mighty in the clearances. If we’re going to point fingers, point them squarely at the bloke who made himself unavailable to replace the injured Reid. Neither McDonald nor Amartey were going to change that result. A proper second ruck might have helped.

The sun, unbelievably, came up this morning. The reality is that we were boys playing against men. That the boys made it so far speaks volumes.

The challenge now is how to properly absorb what we’ve learned.
Spot on Bruce. If you get smashed at stoppages you will never win a GF. Cats knew this and double teamed and worked Hickey over all day.To make it worse, our mids played from behind. Hickey was no chance without real back upbecause as many on here have said, McLean can't ruck to the required standard.

It's got to be our number 1 priority to strengthen our ability to win stoppages.

Sent from my SM-T865 using Tapatalk

Just early before any goals all our play was nervy and rushed, resembled nothing we normally do. We just wanted the boundary a lot. Fox was the only one settled early.
Yeah I had a bad feeling pretty much from the first minute or so. Thought we would settle eventually though and put up a fight. I am still shocked at the performance. Cats were awesome don't get me wrong but I just feel if we did settle and start playing anywhere near our best and kept the score a little closer who knows what could have happened. Couldn't get back to back goals to put any pressure on the Cats. Pretty hard to be in a game when only three players show up to play as well.

when we do lose you can usually look at the patch where Sydney had some sort of fight or comeback

rare we dont

just so happens 2 of those rare times are grand finals

Haven’t read any other posts, and wanted to sleep before posting.

After a week long search I Managed to get a ticket to the game, and stayed around until the cats left the field as my wife and her dad are Geelong supporters and didn’t want them to miss out on the celebrations because I was depressed. They were unbelievable and truly deserved to win and can take nothing away from them.

As far as Sydney goes.

Had a great day until around 240 which I think was when Rowbottom got done for holding the ball when kicking it 25 metres down the ground which then led to Geelongs 4th goal. The game was over. Hawkins had kicked his two from the forward 50 ruck contests, which is just completely demoralising for a time to watch happen. We had already dropped half a dozen marks and fumbled double the amount of times.

Majority of players just genuinely looked like we either didn’t turn up or didn’t want to be there, which i felt was an insult to those who scrounged like hell to be.

Robbie Fox beat arguably the most important player in their team, if not the competition. Ryan Clarke restricted an All Australian Defender to zero influence. Two guys that were clearly desperate to be there because they had to claw their way into the side and hold on for dear life to stay there because any poor game and they would have been turfed because we have so many protected players that get games week in and week out despite output. And Chad, jeez he tries.

We had no dare, they made us look slow, there were passages of play where we had upwards of 6 handballs coming out of a kick in to the wing before turning it over because either someone refused to take a kick or had nothing to kick to.

Our “superstars” who take all this big money because they are the ones who are going to get us to our next flag are the repeat offenders in big games.

I think 2 of the worst handful of performances I have seen from the club in the last decade have come on Grand Final day which surely has to be looked at.

Apologies for this rant, I just needed to get it all out and most of it has subsided from anger to disappointment. Like many this is the third grand final we’ve been in a row watching us lose, and the fifth all up of 7 in my life. There always has to be a winner and always has to be a loser, but all a supporter wants is to feel like the players gave their all until the final whistle.

No downfield free and shot on goal from 30m for Stewart's late hit on Stephens ? What a joke! Also, how can it be HTB if you actually kick the ball?
One of those games when absolutely nothing went right for us.

I had some small sympathy for Stewart after the Prestia hit. He seemed genuinely remorseful and the media campaign to turn him into the victim kind of worked.

But that bloke is straight up sniper.

West Coast were flogged by Hawthorn in 2015 (the 46 point margin flattered them). They'd win it 3 years later.

Fingers crossed it's just a bump in the road for us.
I haven't waded through all comments, but after the demolition in '14, we made top 4 in '15 (injuries ruined our finals run) and a GF in '16.

Our priorities remain the same over the off season. KPD, a mid (we always get them) and hopefully a KPF. Ruck I imagine we might still go to the academy, but if not rated, then I'd be drafting another.

No reason to suggest we can't challenge again next year.

That moment you wake up the next day after GF loss (an obliteration at that) and the first thought that enters your conscious mind is "That happened ".

Then you realise the 3 straight losses are now etched in history. Sucks.

Three moments I'll never forget from this Grand Final in no particular order:
  1. Joel Selwood running through the banner with Gary Ablett Jnr's son
  2. Joel Selwood crying when he kicked a goal in the last quarter
  3. Rampe's beautiful speech
Absolute class act from your co-captain. One of the most gracious speeches I've ever heard. Just absolute class in every sense of the word.

I know how you are all feeling right now. I really, truly do. I felt the same at the Gabba in 2020 and last year when Melbourne smashed us in the prelim. If you'd told me this time last year we'd be premiers I'd never have believed you in a million years. If we can come back from that prelim and win the next year so can the Swannies.

Thank you all for being so gracious. You're a beautiful club.

Don't need sympathy and I am fine.

My best mate passed away last night.

Puts this shit into perspective. I side I barrack for was annihilated. Meh. That's on them.

Looking at it totally different since 9 last night when I got the call. Now that was a tough one and it hurt.

Only sharing so people take a breath. Game of footy is all it was. The world is still turning for some of us lucky ones. Go for a walk or lunch. Call a friend. Glad I did on Fridsy to talk shit and laugh.

Next day, I am not as emotional as I used to be about these things. I think the fact I was dealing with the loss from about the 15 minute mark has helped. We were uncharacteristically flat, a number of reasons likely, but I do remember Isaac saying on the boat he felt overwhelmed. They played like it.

Boys will have a preseason to remember. We did finish as the second best team for a reason.

What a ride we got, not many would have predicted it. It’s a bit like playing your best round of golf then missing a 2 footer on the last. We always focus on the two footer.

We had plenty of terrific shots to relive through the off season. Another year on and I hope we put ourselves in the position again.

Don’t get too down about it all….we are in good shape.

I hope GUH is well also, haven’t heard from you in bit…

Go Swans

Anyone else get sick of seeing the geelong graphic after every goal they scored? The one with Dangerfield curling his arm in the come on gesture?

Saw it far too often and it was really starting to work me from mid way through.
Haha yes it was overkill!!

What’s the deal with the loudness on the speakers, was drowning out the crowd.

Massive credit to the Swans fans who came from everywhere today, it did sound like we filled our allocation. Everyone around me was up for the game, cheering on the team even when down hard.

What a shame it wasnt the day we wanted though.

Yeah, the cheer squad tried to get us going but the Cats took the wind out of it with that 3 goal burst at the start of the third. I was 3rd row from ths fence behind the goals and i swear you could hear a pin drop after that.

Don't need sympathy and I am fine.

My best mate passed away last night.

Puts this s**t into perspective. I side I barrack for was annihilated. Meh. That's on them.

Looking at it totally different since 9 last night when I got the call. Now that was a tough one and it hurt.

Only sharing so people take a breath. Game of footy is all it was. The world is still turning for some of us lucky ones. Go for a walk or lunch. Call a friend. Glad I did on Fridsy to talk s**t and laugh.
Condolences to you mate.

Autopsy 2022 Grand Final