Training 2022 Pre-season

So any word on Zorko's fitness. A poster mentioned he overheard chat on Friday night that he had aggravated an injury?
Not likely we will hear anything from the Club at this stage.
Will be interesting to see if he takes any part in the Match Sim on Friday.

He certainly seems to have had quite a subdued and interrupted off-season.
He said on the Rip Through It Podcast that he had a good run up until Chrissy, but hasn’t been able to do much so far this year.
I think at this stage for the team to be at its absolute best, he needs to be in there getting his hands dirty.

So any word on Zorko's fitness. A poster mentioned he overheard chat on Friday night that he had aggravated an injury?
The club said he would only play 2 quarters last week. He did play the first 2 then came off the ground
My observation from those 2 quarters
His running action did not look right when coming onto and off the ground
However once on the field he showed no signs of anything wrong and played well loose in the backline
After half time he walked past me on his way to massage table showing no signs of a limp.
However he had on some strapping which may/may not have had ice covering his achilles area
The treatment is most likely standard for this type of problem

DSC_0149_01.JPG

As someone who has lived with an inflamed achilles for some years, they are a bugger to get right. Can only imagine how hard it would be as a professional footballer with the running loads they have. Will probably have to manage it all season.

I'm OK with taking as long as it takes to get Zorks Achilles right. Even if it's the first half of the season. We get a look at someone that can slot in, whatever the plan maybe. Lohman might get a shot fwd, add that fwd defensive pressure Zorks brings. We see a bit of 'life without Zorks'. But then we get a fit captain and all he offers, lead us home to the finals. Im all good with that.

Lions’ skipper Dayne Zorko has undergone a minor procedure on his ankle and will be unavailable for the Club’s pre-season games.

The reigning Club champion will be ready to resume training next week and is expected to be fit for the Round 1 clash with Port Adelaide at the Gabba on Saturday, March 19.

Zorko has been troubled by an Achilles complaint throughout the pre-season and has only taken part in one of the Club’s match simulation sessions.

If it only takes a week or so to recover, then l don't know why they wait so long. I assume they are trying to see if it will recover on its own but Achilles is a tricky injury. Get it done early l would have thought

Seeing if it'll recover on its own probably. No surgery > surgery, even if it's minor.

Someone mentioned he played in defence in the past scratch match. I didn't notice him in the one I watched the week before.
Also quite interested in this. Not much mention of him and does not seem to have been in the probables at all unless I am mistaken?

I think he does have some talent and should definitely be persevered with. BUT I don't think he should start the year in the 22. He had a decent run at it last year as a forward and didn't give much. Need to try a different set-up without Hippy. It's a year in which our only focus should be winning the flag, not development of players, IMO. Doesn't mean you can't blood a player in round 10 against a lower ranked side.

That's good news about Zorks. I'm happy to be cautious with him, maybe a round 3 return rather than game 1. To be sure to be sure.

Was just reading about our free agent list. Rich extended a year. I reckon Zorks will as well. Mitch could earn a one yr extension if he has a good year, I hope he does. I'm happy for the over 30's to go one year at a time.
Darcy Gardiner, Dan Mcstay, Ryan Lester and CEY are the others.

I'm offering Darcy 2yrs with a 3rd year option if he comes back fit and fresh this year. I love Darcy down back for us. I think we're best when he and Andrews are working together. Dan Mcstay I'm locking in for 4yrs. I had my doubts about him when he was being messed about playing fwd and back. But he's become a vital cog now. Took a few yrs for him to learn his fwd trade and to gain confidence. Now he has, the best is to come. Just gotta hold on to him. Froggy, I don't know. So many young lads, and good young lads, competing for the same role. Invaluable club man and role model. It's a tough one. I'm saying, Froggy have a look at the market, check your opinions, and if nothing works out we'll give you a vfl contract, and a coaching n development role. He could even earn a year if he has a blinder. CEY, effectively gone I guess. No worries there.

Not an easy job managing a list. With that and those coming off contract, those that you want to sign longer, and the odd one ya get stuck with. I'd love to have a go at it tho, lol.

That's good news about Zorks. I'm happy to be cautious with him, maybe a round 3 return rather than game 1. To be sure to be sure.

Was just reading about our free agent list. Rich extended a year. I reckon Zorks will as well. Mitch could earn a one yr extension if he has a good year, I hope he does. I'm happy for the over 30's to go one year at a time.
Darcy Gardiner, Dan Mcstay, Ryan Lester and CEY are the others.

I'm offering Darcy 2yrs with a 3rd year option if he comes back fit and fresh this year. I love Darcy down back for us. I think we're best when he and Andrews are working together. Dan Mcstay I'm locking in for 4yrs. I had my doubts about him when he was being messed about playing fwd and back. But he's become a vital cog now. Took a few yrs for him to learn his fwd trade and to gain confidence. Now he has, the best is to come. Just gotta hold on to him. Froggy, I don't know. So many young lads, and good young lads, competing for the same role. Invaluable club man and role model. It's a tough one. I'm saying, Froggy have a look at the market, check your opinions, and if nothing works out we'll give you a vfl contract, and a coaching n development role. He could even earn a year if he has a blinder. CEY, effectively gone I guess. No worries there.

Not an easy job managing a list. With that and those coming off contract, those that you want to sign longer, and the odd one ya get stuck with. I'd love to have a go at it tho, lol.

This might give Fages an opening for his traditional Round 1 Surprise draftee selection.

Also quite interested in this. Not much mention of him and does not seem to have been in the probables at all unless I am mistaken?

I think he does have some talent and should definitely be persevered with. BUT I don't think he should start the year in the 22. He had a decent run at it last year as a forward and didn't give much. Need to try a different set-up without Hippy. It's a year in which our only focus should be winning the flag, not development of players, IMO. Doesn't mean you can't blood a player in round 10 against a lower ranked side.
I think that with Darcy Fort making his way onto the list in trade week last year has pretty much sealed Tom’s fate for the start of the season atleast.
A tandom of Oscar and Fort in the ruck and resting forward is more than likely how the season starts Imo.
Fort has looked good when up against Oscar in the ruck in the intraclubs.
And can role forward and Fages does like a dual ruck set up.
If we are firing in the early stages of the year it will be interesting to see what happens when Hippy comes back and whether we revert back to Daniher as backup? In last weeks match sim Daniher went into the ruck on occasions and looked completely disinterested.

Back to Tom though, I actually thought that he didn’t look completely out of place in defense in the match sims being up against Daniher, McStay and a resting ruck on occasions, only the amount of ball coming in was just impossible to stop, on a hiding to nothing really.
Especially when last week in particular, he appeared to be the only tall back there with Payne up forward and other VFL top ups not playing.

The week earlier Harry Arnold played on Daniher mainly with Fullarton on McStay and others.
I quite liked Harry Arnold, I thought he did a really good job on Daniher.

I think that with Darcy Fort making his way onto the list in trade week last year has pretty much sealed Tom’s fate for the start of the season atleast.
A tandom of Oscar and Fort in the ruck and resting forward is more than likely how the season starts Imo.
If we are firing in the early stages of the year it will be interesting to see what happens when Hippy comes back and whether we revert back to Daniher as backup? In last weeks match sim Daniher went into the ruck on occasions and looked completely disinterested.

Back to Tom though, I actually thought that he didn’t look completely out of place in defense in the match sims being up against Daniher, McStay and a resting ruck on occasions, only the amount of ball coming in was just impossible to stop, on a hiding to nothing really.
Especially when last week in particular, he appeared to be the only tall back there with Payne up forward and other VFL top ups not playing.
Every match sim so far this pre-season has been the A team v's the B team which would be a little mundane for some. Once the A team backline is up against the A team forwards, things will get a little more exciting pretty quick.

I definitely agree you there.
R they going to run with that option this week?

Yes A team vs B Team.. Always one sided. although you loose the team connection if you play too much A team forward vs A team backline
Been my thoughts with NEAFL as well.. Was hoping the VFL help with playing against older stronger people.
Then last year was pretty much a bust

The week earlier Harry Arnold played on Daniher mainly with Fullarton on McStay and others.
I watched Tom last week when he was at my end of the ground
I also thought he did reasonably well considering a new role and good opposition
Much easier playing PKD than third tall forward

Regarding Fort. I thought we may go back to a two ruck set up this year. As such i had Fort in my very early best 22 side
However after watching a few intraclub games i am not sure this will happen. He has played well but not good enough yet to replace Oscar
Jo has been doing ruck relief and that may continue
Will have to wait and see if Fort & Oscar named in the same team especially the Suns and Dogs games

Someone mentioned he played in defence in the past scratch match. I didn't notice him in the one I watched the week before.
Apparently he has been playing in defence for some of the match sims, and interestingly Payne has been playing forward and a little ruck. I would have thought Fullarton best position is forward, but he could develop into an intercepting type back. I assume that the club is trying to give Payne an opportunity to cement that 3rd tall forward/relieving ruck whilst Hippy is out. Apparently Payne weighs 105kg so big enough for some relieving ruck work.

I watched Tom last week when he was at my end of the ground
I also thought he did reasonably well considering a new role and good opposition
Much easier playing PKD than third tall forward

Regarding Fort. I thought we may go back to a two ruck set up this year. As such i had Fort in my very early best 22 side
However after watching a few intraclub games i am not sure this will happen. He has played well but not good enough yet to replace Oscar
Jo has been doing ruck relief and that may continue
Will have to wait and see if Fort & Oscar named in the same team especially the Suns and Dogs games
Believe Fort will be tried, but so too will Fullarton and now with Payne playing forward in the match sims, very likely he is given a chance as the third tall forward in the practice games. With the B team getting comprehensively beat in the match sims, likely Payne has been getting poor balls, and not too many opportunities. Hopefully the practice games will answer; can Payne ruck better than Jo? IF so, does he offer more upfront than Fullarton or Fort.

I liked Arnold in the VFL for us last year as well. Just a very solid player who does a job at the back. I think he is 21 or 22 though from memory so not one of our typical top ups.

Training 2022 Pre-season