Training 2022 Pre-season

Thanks Section 5, i suspect they will give Payne a run in the forward line and relieving ruck in one or two of the trial games. I think you may have mentioned this earlier in the year, that Payne is a chance of being in the best 22 playing forward whilst Hippy is out. The trial games will reveal more. Just had a look on the Lions webpage and Payne weighs 105kg so solid enough to do some relieving ruck work.

Interesting that Fullarton played back, I think Fullarton and Payne forward, might at least give Andrews and co, a little bit of competition in a match sim, although sounds like the B team midfield got smashed. Would not mid seeing Fullarton and Payne on the same team as the A team midfield with Harris and Adams marking them.
Regarding Payne i was only suggesting they should train and play him with the forwards. Get some intraclub matches in that position just to see how he goes.
I thought best trial and play him now to get used to the position in case either Jo or McStay go down before Hippy's return, heaven forbid
It is not an easy position to get thrown into at short notice
However i did slot him into my best 22 very early as a KPF. Not so sure that will happen. Most likely it won't

Was talking with mates, but from what I watched Dan McStay very impressive.
Could be a big year for him I am hoping. One of the mates has a son playing for Melbourne and at one point offered “how clean are their hands.”

I saw Mike Whiting mention Matho as a standout for the Possibles. He most certainly was their best mid (although Jimmy T was also pretty good I thought). But his ball use was absolutely below the expected standard of an AFL footballer. He missed several targets by foot. One was coming out of defensive 50, under no pressure, trying to hit a teammate 30 metres away who was unmarked, and he completely missed it. It just wasn't good enough - he knew it and was filthy at himself but it showed me that there's some aspects of his game that don't seem to have improved enough over the course of his career. As I said, it also wasn't an isolated event.

Guys like Lyons and Neale might turn the ball over in tight but they are generally reliable in the open.

Matho's hard not to love as a character on our team and it looks like he gets everything out of himself. And, regardless of his flaws, he was still the best player on the yellow team. But I suspect he's going to end his career in the twilight zone of too good for the VFL and not good enough for the AFL. If he doesn't get called up to the seniors, he's every chance of winning the Liston, I reckon.

Could be a big year for him I am hoping. One of the mates has a son playing for Melbourne and at one point offered “how clean are their hands.”

I remember when I was 'shouted down' ;) a few years ago for saying that I think McStay will turn into a 40+ goal a season forward and last year I thought we finally saw the player he could be, averaging 1.5 a game despite coming back from an injury (thus ruining his pre season) and getting injured in the first game of the finals. With a full pre season behind him, I reckon he'll top 40 this year.

I think one of Dan's problems in the past has been 'between his ears' when taking set shots. Has missed some really easy shots in front. I believe he has found his role being a link type forward and hopefully he can get to around 30 goals for this year.

I am not getting too excited about individual performances for the A team in the last three match sims as the B team has been getting smashed. The upcoming trial games will be a better indication of how players are performing at this early stage.

I think one of Dan's problems in the past has been 'between his ears' when taking set shots. Has missed some really easy shots in front. I believe he has found his role being a link type forward and hopefully he can get to around 30 goals for this year.

I am not getting too excited about individual performances for the A team in the last three match sims as the B team has been getting smashed. The upcoming trial games will be a better indication of how players are performing at this early stage.

I think last year was the first year we saw what Dan could do with confidence. He broke a few games open and nearly won us the game against the Hawks late in the season. Especially with Hipwood remaining out till at least May, he will flourish with his opportunity IMO.

His kicking for goal accuracy improved substantially last year. Just needs a few more opportunities and he will tear games apart.

Can anyone give some insight into how Kiddy Coleman went today?

On moto g(30) using BigFooty.com mobile app
Kiddy played his role well.
Players looked for him to distribute the ball either with a switch or down the middle
I think he is best 22 just from what he showed when switched to half back very late last year. Then add in his potential/natural improvement
He looked more confident in distributing the ball but of course not much pressure from opposition
We don't have anyone else that plays like him and that sets him apart

In the first and second quarter Zorko on field Kiddy bench
Third quarter Answerth on field Kiddy on bench
Fourth quarter i could not get a shot of the player board and did not think to look at player positions

My early thoughts
I hope Zorko is just getting miles into his legs and will fit back into the F/M role
If not Kiddy gets the spot over Answerth
Answerth possibly moves to the wing/wing rotation along with McCluggage. The other rotation spot to either Robbo, Dev or AhChee

I know who you are talking about and he is sadly a Collingwood supporter as well if I recall correctly, however with a heavy lean to Melbourne now no doubt. :think: ;) He's a good judge of footy though for all his Pies bias

Agree, always been a fan of Dan & his kicking woes now seem to be behind him.

Kiddy played his role well.
Players looked for him to distribute the ball either with a switch or down the middle
I think he is best 22 just from what he showed when switched to half back very late last year. Then add in his potential/natural improvement
He looked more confident in distributing the ball but of course not much pressure from opposition
We don't have anyone else that plays like him and that sets him apart

In the first and second quarter Zorko on field Kiddy bench
Third quarter Answerth on field Kiddy on bench
Fourth quarter i could not get a shot of the player board and did not think to look at player positions

My early thoughts
I hope Zorko is just getting miles into his legs and will fit back into the F/M role
If not Kiddy gets the spot over Answerth
Answerth possibly moves to the wing/wing rotation along with McCluggage. The other rotation spot to either Robbo, Dev or AhChee

Thanks for that S5, much appreciated mate. I've been really impressed with the reports about Kiddy so far this pre season. Zorks and Robbo have both talked him up and think he possesses the tools to play the role really well. Great to see Answerth getting a run on a wing. Thanks for all of the awesome photos also, loving your work as always mate

On moto g(30) using BigFooty.com mobile app

I think last year was the first year we saw what Dan could do with confidence. He broke a few games open and nearly won us the game against the Hawks late in the season. Especially with Hipwood remaining out till at least May, he will flourish with his opportunity IMO.
Dan is coming along nicely from what i have seen this year
Age 26 and turns 27 in June. This is when KPF should come into there peak few years
Huge loss in the two finals even though officially he is registered for playing in the QF
Also Dan did not play in rounds 1 to 4 when the team struggled big time
Dan kicked 14 goals from 12 games up to round 17 (played rounds 5-17 Bye round 13) when Hippy went down
That is an average of 1.16 goals per game
From rounds 18 to 23 he also kicked 14 goals but from 6 games with an average of 2.33 goals per game.
I excluded the Demons QF game as he took no part that day
So, just over double the average.
Of course the more games you play the harder it is to keep your average up. So, 6 games v 12 you may expect an increase average

Note
Jo Daniher also held up his end when Hippy went down
Pre Hippy injury: 16 games for 27 goals with average of 1.687 goals per game
After Hippy injury including finals: 8 game for 19 goals with average increase to 2.375 goals per game

Training 2022 Pre-season