Autopsy 2022 Rd 8 3rd Quarter Blue Blitz Downs the Crows

Who played well for the Blues in Round 8 vs the Crows?

He needs to find a few goals but he’s a keeper.
Hits hard and fast
One of our most aggressive
The opposition are starting to understand he’s gunna be there hunting them with intent.
He passes the September test big time …

How does anyone pass the September test in May...?

Seems we have tempered with our game play over the last 2 weeks we seem to be accelerating through the mid terms rather than exploding out of the blocks which is a welcome change.

Last 2 weeks we seem to have absorbed the pressure applied by oppo and then turned it up a notch at 3/4 time.

I wonder what Charlie's ceiling actually is.

At his best he may well and truly eclipse Fev (talking purely footy-wise).
The best thing about Charlie is he's football smart and doesn't contest the same balls as Harry. Usually teams have got two blokes who fly for the same marks and spoil each other.

Or our forwards coach is a genius and we should start recognising whoever that is.

Seems we have tempered with our game play over the last 2 weeks we seem to be accelerating through the mid terms rather than exploding out of the blocks which is a welcome change.

Easily the most pleasing aspect for me
That variation in our game is what cost us both times we've lost.
Good to see we are learning and getting better at our weaknesses

Another tough game to get a read on because of how Adelaide capitulated for half the game, but in the end our tactical strengths just walked all over theirs.

It's ridiculous how little attention they gave to Fisher, or made any effort to draw defensive effort from him the other way. Bruise free football from the Crows.
Maybe Fisher just outworked them and played a very good game?

No....couldn't be that...it was the Crows who didn't specifically target him that resulted in him playing well, no credit to Fisher....

It warms my heart to see Carlton play smart footy. No kick and hope involved in so many passages of play except, on occasions, when Curnow is involved. What a freak! He’s a rare talent and I’m so excited for him.

The club should put a sign on Cripps warning the opposition of impending danger if you attempt to tackle him or you’re unfortunately the player being tackled by Cripps. He’s a brute at the minute. And then there’s the class in his game to kick goals and set up goals.

It was a team effort tonight and every one of the twenty-three players had their moments in the game. Boyd’s mark in the first quarter. Newnes goal in the second quarter. Harry’s snap in the second. Fish from distance in the third. Jack’s second goal in the third. Matty K from the boundary. Plenty more as well. Confidence is a wonderful thing so let’s get on a roll.

he has no cap...
I have seen him in a beanie ;)

Curnow is our no.1 forward now. He's taken over from Harry imo as the main man inside 50. Though they complement each other excellently well. Harry a genuine tall marking target, then Charlie who's a big of a hybrid. Plays taller than he is but he's so good at ground level you can't afford to plonk a key defender on him as Charlie is likely to nick 2 or 3 off the deck if you're not careful, but if you put a medium/3rd tall with more mobility on him he plays taller than his height so will out mark/muscle them. Then obviously Harry is liable to take half a dozen contested marks inside 50 and kick 4 himself. Great combo.

Temper that though with the lack of crumbing our small fwds do. That's an area that if we get going then suddenly fwdline gets scary. Right now it's a little feast or famine.

Love the role Fisher is playing. Great to see they've shifted his role from Small Forward where he was in the first month or so to where is he now which is his perfect role. Anywhere from centre wing to the edge of 50 is where Fisher is at his most dangerous

I must admit I didn't see what the club were seeing in Boyd but I see it now. Probably won't give that performance every week but for the first time imo it looked like he believed he should be playing. Might be a simplistic overview but that's how it looks.

Something doesn't seem right with Weiters. He's never been accused of being fast but even by his standards he just looks slow this year. Not sure if he's carrying something or what, but there's no way 2020/2021 Weiters is being outrun by Tex bloody Walker every time on a lead. Walker is a good player, but fast he is not, and he was comfortably 10 metres ahead of Weiters at will.

Cerras best game, finally showed that classy kicking he's renown for. Has looked a little uneasy imo so far this season but last night it was there for all to see.

We dominated O'Brien. Usually reliable to win his position for the Crows or at worst halve it, but he was comprehensively outplayed. Wasn't as though TDK or JSOS had huge games but they completely stymied a structurally important O'Brien.

Drinking game... Whenever Young takes a grab and then points to where the mark is.

Reckon I might need my stomach pumped one day...
Speaking of pointing, how ****ing good was Crippa with ball in hand directing Saad to push out wider so he could draw the defender and dish it off to him?
Made me weak at the knees.

I was harsh on fish earlier in the year. Happy to eat my words now.
Fish looks like he has been asked to remove some of the zigging and zagging from his game.
Much improved player, actually contributes to his team mates now.

Forget about Charlie maybe never getting back to his best.... He's fricking better than ever!
The only thing he's not doing is taking big marks.

As much as it'd be a shame if we never see Charlie taking those belters like he did V Collingwood again this version of him is at least every bit as good in every other respect so I think we can still count ourselves pretty bloody lucky!

Charlie isn't taking the huge screamers, but his marking is still incredible.

He has an amazing ability to take one-handed marks or ones where he is out of position and somehow just makes them stick.

It's like his pre-game routine is jelly wrestling in a pool of grippo....

No Hewett, Pittonet, McGovern, Marchbank, Stocker, Cuningham, Honey, McDonald, Plowman, Ed and Martin subbed out for the second half. No worries.
Yep, our depth is holding up very well .
Obviously they are not all going to fit into our best 22 and we have have gone past Ed and OMac even when right IMO.

You would think Hewy for the unlucky Martin this week. (hopefully only a one weeker)

Marchy for Newman is on the cards in a few weeks, fingers crossed.

Cunners interesting, going to have to put an impressive block in the VFL together. Ditto Honey.

Still think Dow best 22 also when he finally gets an opportunity.

Pitto, Stocks and Gov a long way off sadly.

Plow is too good for VFL and is right on the cusp of best 22, horses for courses with him.

IT IS ALL GOOD though. DEPTH !!!!

And 609m gained for a KPF off 21 disposals if you don't mind. Only 1m less than game leader Kennedy.
The oft-injured KPF and the slow, lumbering, handball heavy mid combining for 1.2km gained!

Autopsy 2022 Rd 8 3rd Quarter Blue Blitz Downs the Crows